E90Post
 


Motormavericks
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > Australia > 2007 335i ECU question.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-15-2013, 12:59 AM   #1
WRX-335
Enlisted Member
Australia
1

 
WRX-335's Avatar
 
Drives: M-sport 335i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Melbourne


Posts: 41
iTrader: (0)

2007 335i ECU question.

Hey guys i have taken my 2007 335i bmw to our local BMW mechanic. They have fitted the new ecu we got orded from germany. The mechanic has just called
and he said that the car isnt reading the codes that they are trying to put in.
So i am just wondering why? and also is there any information i can use?
Thanks
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2013, 02:57 AM   #2
_ink
Major
Australia
12

 
_ink's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i 09' DCT M-Sport
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia


Posts: 1,061
iTrader: (0)

newer ecu? details of ecu? why was it replaced? what codes?
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2013, 03:42 AM   #3
WRX-335
Enlisted Member
Australia
1

 
WRX-335's Avatar
 
Drives: M-sport 335i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Melbourne


Posts: 41
iTrader: (0)

We had the ecu replaced because the car was dead it wouldnt open or start.
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2013, 04:57 AM   #4
Drawn05
Captain
Australia
15

 
Drives: Yes
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Left


Posts: 792
iTrader: (0)

From my understanding, all control units (whether FRM, CAS or DME) need to be coded to the VIN of the car - has this been done? Software like WinKFP can write your cars VIN to the module before being coded. I think NCSexpert can even be used to code the DME. I used NCS to code my VIN to a new FRM module before I coded it to my car.
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2013, 05:50 AM   #5
WRX-335
Enlisted Member
Australia
1

 
WRX-335's Avatar
 
Drives: M-sport 335i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Melbourne


Posts: 41
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drawn05 View Post
From my understanding, all control units (whether FRM, CAS or DME) need to be coded to the VIN of the car - has this been done? Software like WinKFP can write your cars VIN to the module before being coded. I think NCSexpert can even be used to code the DME. I used NCS to code my VIN to a new FRM module before I coded it to my car.
Yeah the machanic has done all of that but the car doesnt want to read the codes?
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2013, 06:12 AM   #6
Drawn05
Captain
Australia
15

 
Drives: Yes
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Left


Posts: 792
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by WRX-335 View Post
Yeah the machanic has done all of that but the car doesnt want to read the codes?
Maybe the version of software he is using isnt as new as the DME. Might need to update to the latest Data files. What software is being used, SSS, DIS, autologic?
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2013, 04:57 PM   #7
woosh
Colonel
Australia
34

 
woosh's Avatar
 
Drives: Canyonero SUV
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Sydney


Posts: 2,210
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by WRX-335
We had the ecu replaced because the car was dead it wouldnt open or start.
same happened to our family 7er a few yrs back. wasted 1k on reprogramming its ecu to work again.
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2013, 07:35 PM   #8
Peter@Advan
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Australia
40


 
Peter@Advan's Avatar
 
Drives: 335 coupe ADVAN
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Sydney


Posts: 1,408
iTrader: (0)

All late BMW ECU/DME come blank you need to go to a service shop with Autologic or take it to BMW, these cars are not like your Jap cars where you can simpley plugin a new unit and it will start.
Sorry you have no option there is no other choice

If you were in Sydney i would be happy to help

Welcome to the land of BMW
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2013, 07:44 PM   #9
Peter@Advan
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Australia
40


 
Peter@Advan's Avatar
 
Drives: 335 coupe ADVAN
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Sydney


Posts: 1,408
iTrader: (0)

Have the car towed to Southern BM talk to Andrew
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:33 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST