E90Post
 


PYSPEED
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > NA Engine (non-turbo) / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications > Using Simon Tool for AA tune



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-17-2013, 09:08 AM   #1
MonsterM
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 09 328i SP
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: NJ

Posts: 312
iTrader: (0)

Using Simon Tool for AA tune

For those of you that used this setup. I am just about to upload my ECU file using the Simon tool for the AA tune. Please excuse some of the "noob" questions but I just want make sure I do not damage anything in the process. What is the best and easiest way to connect a battery charger? Is there a particular one I should use? Is it absolutely necessary to use a battery charger? Should the battery charger be connected during the entire process? Anything else I should look out for? I have been real busy lately and I have very limited time to do this. I really appreciate any input from you guys. Thanks in advance.
MonsterM is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-17-2013, 09:34 AM   #2
Delta0311
Brigadier General
 
Delta0311's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 BMW 335xi E92
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NJ

Posts: 3,391
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MonsterM View Post
For those of you that used this setup. I am just about to upload my ECU file using the Simon tool for the AA tune. Please excuse some of the "noob" questions but I just want make sure I do not damage anything in the process. What is the best and easiest way to connect a battery charger? Is there a particular one I should use? Is it absolutely necessary to use a battery charger? Should the battery charger be connected during the entire process? Anything else I should look out for? I have been real busy lately and I have very limited time to do this. I really appreciate any input from you guys. Thanks in advance.
Yes you should use a battery charger because the tune process can go anywhere from 10-20min, so there is a good chance your car will cut power before the flash finishes.
You hook up the charger to the terminals under your hood. They are on passenger side, the + is covered with a red plastic tab and the - is just a metal rod connected to the side of the car. When you find the + terminal just look slightly below it and to the left, its connected to the body of the car.

Get this charger

http://www.bimmerzone.com/BMW_Access...110406881.html

DO NOT get the one that plugs into the car lighter port.
And shop around I was able to find the charger for a about $60 new.
__________________
Space Gray 2011 335xi E92
Delta0311 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-17-2013, 11:36 AM   #3
hurricane56
First Lieutenant
 
hurricane56's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 325xi
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Bay Area, CA

Posts: 389
iTrader: (5)

I also used the Simon tool to flash my 325. My charger is a CTEK model that works quite well. You can hook up the charger through the jump start terminals, an if you want a nice quick side project get a short metric bolt with "m5" size and use the supplied hard wire leads to install the direct plug-in cable that comes with the charger.

http://www.amazon.com/CTEK-Multi-700...s=ctek+charger
hurricane56 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-17-2013, 02:01 PM   #4
Ivan@PYSpeed.com
 
Ivan@PYSpeed.com's Avatar
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: San Jose, CA

Posts: 3,953
iTrader: (4)

Also see the following link to see where to connect the battery charger / tender if you don't know where to connect it.
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showpo...3&postcount=15
Ivan@PYSpeed.com is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-18-2013, 09:14 AM   #5
MonsterM
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 09 328i SP
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: NJ

Posts: 312
iTrader: (0)

Thanks for the quick replies guys! Now I just have to find some spare time to do this.
MonsterM is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-18-2013, 12:49 PM   #6
Route 16
I got lei'd
 
Route 16's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 E90 328i
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: BayArea

Posts: 4,007
iTrader: (22)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hurricane56 View Post
I also used the Simon tool to flash my 325. My charger is a CTEK model that works quite well. You can hook up the charger through the jump start terminals, an if you want a nice quick side project get a short metric bolt with "m5" size and use the supplied hard wire leads to install the direct plug-in cable that comes with the charger.

http://www.amazon.com/CTEK-Multi-700...s=ctek+charger
How often have you reflashed your car already?
Route 16 is offline   Philippines
0
Reply With Quote
      01-18-2013, 02:24 PM   #7
Delta0311
Brigadier General
 
Delta0311's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 BMW 335xi E92
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NJ

Posts: 3,391
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Route 16 View Post
How often have you reflashed your car already?
I had to do it once.
__________________
Space Gray 2011 335xi E92
Delta0311 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-18-2013, 03:07 PM   #8
Route 16
I got lei'd
 
Route 16's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 E90 328i
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: BayArea

Posts: 4,007
iTrader: (22)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Delta0311 View Post
I had to do it once.
For warranty work? Dealer had no idea?
Route 16 is offline   Philippines
0
Reply With Quote
      01-19-2013, 12:10 PM   #9
MonsterM
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 09 328i SP
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: NJ

Posts: 312
iTrader: (0)

How many AMPS should I set the battery charger to?
MonsterM is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:32 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST