E90Post
 


N54Tuning.com
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > HD Radio Retro?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-20-2009, 08:45 PM   #1
cwhitpan
Private First Class
cwhitpan's Avatar
2
Rep
147
Posts

 
Drives: E90 335XI LCI - Tasman Green
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Awesomeville, PA

iTrader: (5)

HD Radio Retro?

Did a little Search, but only found old info.

I have an 09 E90, Professional radio, Blue tooth, SOS, iPod MOST

Is there an easy way to retrofit the HD radio option like there is the Sirrius?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      05-20-2009, 10:10 PM   #2
amlebede
Guest
amlebede's Avatar
United_States
12
Rep
612
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 330i
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to amlebede Send a message via Skype™ to amlebede
Yes it is possible. You will need to purchase a receiver for it.
Appreciate 0
      05-21-2009, 06:31 AM   #3
cwhitpan
Private First Class
cwhitpan's Avatar
2
Rep
147
Posts

 
Drives: E90 335XI LCI - Tasman Green
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Awesomeville, PA

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by amlebede View Post
Yes it is possible. You will need to purchase a receiver for it.
Thanks! Any idea of the parts? I searched tischer and all I saw was Sirrius stuff. and I would assume I would have to flash the radio after install?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      05-21-2009, 03:06 PM   #4
JayKay335i
Banned
Egypt
77
Rep
5,047
Posts

 
Drives: ///M323 DCT
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North Dakota; its best DUHHHHHH

iTrader: (1)

Most likely. Call Tischer, they'll tell you what you need.
Appreciate 0
      11-02-2009, 02:39 PM   #5
aquaanox
First Lieutenant
United_States
5
Rep
307
Posts

 
Drives: e92 328, e90 335
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: rockville md

iTrader: (6)

Did you ever figure this out ? my 328 coupe has hd-radio and i love it. But the new 09 e90 LCI does not. Can i swap the radio from the 328 to the 335 ? or is there a add-on reciever that will do the job ? TIA
Appreciate 0
      03-06-2010, 06:25 PM   #6
Tiago@VRSF
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Tiago@VRSF's Avatar
United_States
109
Rep
7,589
Posts


 
Drives: E92 335i, F30 328i, F82 M4
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Hudson, MA

iTrader: (95)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to Tiago@VRSF
Quote:
Originally Posted by aquaanox View Post
Did you ever figure this out ? my 328 coupe has hd-radio and i love it. But the new 09 e90 LCI does not. Can i swap the radio from the 328 to the 335 ? or is there a add-on reciever that will do the job ? TIA
+1
Appreciate 0
      03-06-2010, 06:41 PM   #7
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
174
Rep
11,205
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
There's no official HD Radio retrofit like there is for Sirius, although you can replace your OEM HU with the MY2010 OEM HU with HD Radio and Sirius tuners built in.
Appreciate 0
      03-06-2010, 06:43 PM   #8
Tiago@VRSF
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Tiago@VRSF's Avatar
United_States
109
Rep
7,589
Posts


 
Drives: E92 335i, F30 328i, F82 M4
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Hudson, MA

iTrader: (95)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to Tiago@VRSF
Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
There's no official HD Radio retrofit like there is for Sirius, although you can replace your OEM HU with the MY2009 version which has HD Radio built in or with the MY2010 OEM HU with HD Radio and Sirius tuners built in.
Very informative thank you.

I figured there was an HD radio module but replacing the receiver is just as easy. Anyone know if these are plug and play?
Appreciate 0
      03-06-2010, 06:46 PM   #9
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
174
Rep
11,205
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvieira24 View Post
Very informative thank you.

I figured there was an HD radio module but replacing the receiver is just as easy. Anyone know if these are plug and play?
I made a mistake above, only the MY2010 OEM HU has HD Radio built in. The MY2009-on iDrive has HD radio built in.

Repalcing the radio could require coding depending of your sound system and options.
Appreciate 0
      07-11-2010, 11:42 PM   #10
ergoyo
Lieutenant
ergoyo's Avatar
9
Rep
433
Posts

 
Drives: F30 335i
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Miami

iTrader: (7)

Technic, further to this last post of yours, if I replace my 08 e90 L7 headunit with a 2010 MY2010 OEM HU which has the sirius and hd logos on the outside labels, see below:

(http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/10-20...fAudioQ5fVideo)

it should be all that's needed to have HD and Sirius ready? Assume it needs recoding at the dealer, but nothing else, such as trunk sirius module, etc? Can this recoding be done by the Audiologic tool too?
Appreciate 0
      11-24-2012, 02:42 AM   #11
starbai
Captain
starbai's Avatar
Guyana
9
Rep
715
Posts

 
Drives: 09 335i Sedan
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Orlando FL

iTrader: (2)

Did anyone ever confirm or try this? I too have an 09 e90 LCi, Professional Radio with HiFi speaker setup... Sirius is there but no HD. All I would need is a 2010+ Professional radio and do a basic swap?

Do i need to be careful to ensure that the radio came from an HiFi optioned car?
Appreciate 0
      11-24-2012, 08:11 AM   #12
roadkillrob
Brigadier General
United_States
58
Rep
3,913
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 335Cic, 2011 X5 35i
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston

iTrader: (14)

It is the Head Unit that has the HD radio - it isn't a separate part, so you would need to get an entire head unit. I am pretty sure it doesn't matter if it is a hifi car or not, I think the hifi is all in the amps and speakers and the signal from the head unit is the same. The head unit doesn't specifically say hifi or logic7 right on it like it will say HDRadio on it, but don't quote me on it. When I replaced my Nav to upgrade from CCC to CIC, the only difference in head units was HDRadio or Not (as europe didn't get hdradio)
__________________

2008 E93 335i, GIAC Stage 2, HPF IC, Injen Intake, Defective AR Design DP's with useless cats
2014 X3 35i JB Stage 1
Appreciate 0
      11-24-2012, 01:52 PM   #13
SunyD
Enlisted Member
United_States
1
Rep
47
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 e90 335i MSport
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (3)

Actually, it depends on the model year. In the recent years, the tuners have been included in the head unit as the other guys have said. However, before 2009-10 there was separate IBOC HD radio tuner module. If it was an option at the time of purchase, you should be able to retrofit it easily.

I was in the same boat as you and bought a tuner actually. Never ended up installing it as I got a 2009 that had the tuner in the receiver.

The tuner is up for sale here: http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=642548

I think all you would need after that is the mounting bracket, antenna splitter, an open fiber optic port, and programming of course.

Remember, where there's a will there's a way.
Good Luck!
Appreciate 0
      11-24-2012, 02:54 PM   #14
ctuna
Brigadier General
45
Rep
4,334
Posts

 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

fyi

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=687463
Appreciate 0
      01-25-2013, 05:57 PM   #15
Ducati848R
Captain
7
Rep
762
Posts

 
Drives: 06 325i
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Oregon

iTrader: (23)

I just installed a professional radio from an 10 with HD built in and installed in my 06. Everything works fine except volume is very low. Other than that the HD works just fine with no coding.
Appreciate 0
      01-25-2013, 08:54 PM   #16
ctuna
Brigadier General
45
Rep
4,334
Posts

 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

FYI

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=687463
Appreciate 0
      01-25-2013, 09:09 PM   #17
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
174
Rep
11,205
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ducati848R View Post
I just installed a professional radio from an 10 with HD built in and installed in my 06. Everything works fine except volume is very low. Other than that the HD works just fine with no coding.
You ned to code that unit to HiFi.
__________________
-2015 F30 320i, Imperial/Oyster, 8AT: August 2014 ED
-2012 E92 M3 Jerez Black/Rust Brown, M-DCT: Gone
-2008 E90 M3 Melbourne Red/Bamboo, 6MT: Gone
-2007 MK5 GTI United Grey/Grey, DSG: Gone
-2004 E46 M3 Carbon Black/Cinnamon, 6MT: Gone
Appreciate 0
      01-25-2013, 09:57 PM   #18
ctuna
Brigadier General
45
Rep
4,334
Posts

 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

Technic,Why would the volume be Low?

Why would the volume be Low?
Since the only other possibility for analog output
would be stereo which basically means a higher output voltage?
Have you seen this before ? Do you use the same programming files
or do you have to change the build date and use the newer ones after
removing the old one?
Or do you just do a simple parameter change inside the existing file?
Just curious.

Last edited by ctuna; 01-25-2013 at 10:43 PM.
Appreciate 0
      12-27-2013, 09:30 AM   #19
Debacle of Mass Eruption.
Enlisted Member
Debacle of Mass Eruption.'s Avatar
United_States
1
Rep
37
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 BMW 335i e90, Sports Pkg
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Bay Area, California

iTrader: (0)

I have a 2007 E90 with bluetooth and Logic 7, I was looking to upgrade to a newer stock HU with HD Radio and built-in USB. How would I know what radio will or wont work on my car?

UPDATE
I just found this HU on eBay, might it work for my car?
__________________
2007 BMW 335i, My new commuter
1984 Oldsmobile Cutlass Calais, My pride and joy

Last edited by Debacle of Mass Eruption.; 12-28-2013 at 07:36 AM. Reason: Update
Appreciate 0
      12-27-2013, 11:13 AM   #20
ctuna
Brigadier General
45
Rep
4,334
Posts

 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

It requires some complicated programming.

It requires some complicated programming.
It needs to be done by a coder, BMW won't do it
for a car in the year the radio wasn't issued or maybe
even a US car.
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=687463

also something on it in last portion of this thread.

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=928243
like where to get one. If you get one for and L7 you need one
with Most Bus.

Last edited by ctuna; 12-27-2013 at 11:24 AM.
Appreciate 0
      12-28-2013, 06:30 AM   #21
Debacle of Mass Eruption.
Enlisted Member
Debacle of Mass Eruption.'s Avatar
United_States
1
Rep
37
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 BMW 335i e90, Sports Pkg
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Bay Area, California

iTrader: (0)

Thanks for the prompt response, ctuna

I know there are a few tutorials, but they don't really specify if the HU has HD Radio as well. The 2010 HU, from what I was told, came with HD Radio stock. Would you happen to know a model# so I can start searching online?
Please let me know if you can
__________________
2007 BMW 335i, My new commuter
1984 Oldsmobile Cutlass Calais, My pride and joy
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:37 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST