Tirerack
Use the following links to go directly to useful tirerack winter items: Tirerack Winter Tires. Gary's Winter Tire FAQ.
Using the links directly supports E90Post with tirerack sales commision!

  E90Post
 


TireRack

   PLEASE HELP SUPPORT E90POST BY DOING YOUR TIRERACK SHOPPING FROM THIS BANNER, THANKS!
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Wheels and Tires Forum Sponsored by The Tire Rack > TPMS Wont Reset After Tire Change



Wheels and Tires forum Sponsored by The Tire Rack
Please help to directly support e90post by doing your tirerack shopping from the above link. For every sale made through the link, e90post gets sponsor support to keep the site alive. Disclaimer

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-29-2013, 05:46 PM   #1
ign335i
Second Lieutenant
3
Rep
287
Posts

 
Drives: 335i e92
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: CA

iTrader: (3)

TPMS Wont Reset After Tire Change

I got my tires changed earlier today (E92 335is) and immediately the sensors read left rear tire low. I pulled over, reset the tpms, started driving and again the low tire warning came up after about a mile. No matter what I do I cant get this to reset. Anyone got thoughts on what to do here?
Appreciate 0
      01-29-2013, 06:25 PM   #2
CT335xi
First Lieutenant
CT335xi's Avatar
3
Rep
339
Posts

 
Drives: e90 335xi, evo 8, gmc syclone
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Naugatuck,Ct

iTrader: (0)

This may sound like a dumb question ,but did you check that tires air pressure? Maybe you got one bad sensor? This may sound stupid but if all the tires have the correct air pres., I would swap the one thats giving you issues to see if the car says you now have a problem where you swaped it to.That will at least tell its the sensor and not the receiver.
__________________
volk re30 18x8.5 / tc kline coilovers / cobb ap / afe stg 2 sealed cai / afe air scoops / 5" ets fmic
Appreciate 0
      01-29-2013, 06:47 PM   #3
ign335i
Second Lieutenant
3
Rep
287
Posts

 
Drives: 335i e92
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: CA

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by CT335xi View Post
This may sound like a dumb question ,but did you check that tires air pressure? Maybe you got one bad sensor? This may sound stupid but if all the tires have the correct air pres., I would swap the one thats giving you issues to see if the car says you now have a problem where you swaped it to.That will at least tell its the sensor and not the receiver.
Yeah the pressure is at 38psi. When you say swap you mean just switch the whole wheel from one side to another? If I have a bad sensor now I can only imagine that the tire shop broke it or didn't clean the slime shit out (will check to see if it was the same sensor as the one that had a flat).
Appreciate 0
      01-29-2013, 07:01 PM   #4
CT335xi
First Lieutenant
CT335xi's Avatar
3
Rep
339
Posts

 
Drives: e90 335xi, evo 8, gmc syclone
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Naugatuck,Ct

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ign335i View Post
Yeah the pressure is at 38psi. When you say swap you mean just switch the whole wheel from one side to another? If I have a bad sensor now I can only imagine that the tire shop broke it or didn't clean the slime shit out (will check to see if it was the same sensor as the one that had a flat).
Yeah I mean just swap any two wheels. You make a good point , I have heard of the slime for flat repairs can damage the tpms or like you said it could of broke when they mounted your tire. good luck
__________________
volk re30 18x8.5 / tc kline coilovers / cobb ap / afe stg 2 sealed cai / afe air scoops / 5" ets fmic
Appreciate 0
      01-29-2013, 11:57 PM   #5
Hybrid For Life
Banned
Germany
43
Rep
2,119
Posts

 
Drives: Out of Spec
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Santa Barbara, CA

iTrader: (4)

Sounds like your TPMS isn't working.
Sometimes I'm really glad I dont have TPMS sensors in my wheels, on board works flawlessly for me
Appreciate 0
      01-30-2013, 01:19 AM   #6
ign335i
Second Lieutenant
3
Rep
287
Posts

 
Drives: 335i e92
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: CA

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hybrid For Life View Post
Sounds like your TPMS isn't working.
Sometimes I'm really glad I dont have TPMS sensors in my wheels, on board works flawlessly for me
It probably just got gunked up from the slime or needed a reboot. When I turned on my car after work the tpms was reset and all was well.
Appreciate 0
      01-30-2013, 01:40 AM   #7
Hybrid For Life
Banned
Germany
43
Rep
2,119
Posts

 
Drives: Out of Spec
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Santa Barbara, CA

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ign335i View Post
It probably just got gunked up from the slime or needed a reboot. When I turned on my car after work the tpms was reset and all was well.
Good glad to here
Sometimes time is all it takes to fix things
Appreciate 0
      01-30-2013, 07:15 PM   #8
CT335xi
First Lieutenant
CT335xi's Avatar
3
Rep
339
Posts

 
Drives: e90 335xi, evo 8, gmc syclone
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Naugatuck,Ct

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ign335i View Post
It probably just got gunked up from the slime or needed a reboot. When I turned on my car after work the tpms was reset and all was well.
Cool I'm glad it's working for you, I hate seeing stupid warning symbols lit up on the dash. I guess it just needed time to reset.
__________________
volk re30 18x8.5 / tc kline coilovers / cobb ap / afe stg 2 sealed cai / afe air scoops / 5" ets fmic
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:52 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST