E90Post
 


Extreme Power House
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N55 Turbo Engine Tuning and Exhaust Modifications - 335i Tuning > N55 jb4 update and now car is effed.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-22-2012, 03:12 PM   #1
Sam335ix
Major
 
Sam335ix's Avatar
 
Drives: 335 ix performance edition
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Redskin Country

Posts: 1,276
iTrader: (0)

N55 jb4 update and now car is effed.

My buddy came over with his laptop and we tried to update my firmware to the newest version for n55 (he has n54). He used his same interface to upload the new firmware for n55... I am going to install the harness and do the ISO. Well we decided to take the car for a spin first after updating and now the car is running at 19 psi boost at 2nd gear with hardly pressing the gas... WTF did we do wrong?
__________________
2011 e90 KW V1, JB4, BMS Dp, BMS Intake, CP, Alpina Flash, ISO, E85

Coming soon to the garage: 2014 M3 Maybe M5
Sam335ix is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-22-2012, 03:55 PM   #2
Sam335ix
Major
 
Sam335ix's Avatar
 
Drives: 335 ix performance edition
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Redskin Country

Posts: 1,276
iTrader: (0)

This is what I have done now... I uninstalled the interface and reinstalled with the latest version...and I updated firmware to 12/21/2012.

So: Interface 12/14/2012
Firmware 12/21/2012
I selected N55 135/335

I have not installed the harness nor have I done the ISO. I drove the car again and the same problem with boost and check engine light is on with the following two codes:

2E4C
28AO
__________________
2011 e90 KW V1, JB4, BMS Dp, BMS Intake, CP, Alpina Flash, ISO, E85

Coming soon to the garage: 2014 M3 Maybe M5
Sam335ix is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-22-2012, 04:03 PM   #3
madmanhiker
Lieutenant Colonel
 
madmanhiker's Avatar
 
Drives: '11 E92 335i
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Jacksonville, Fl

Posts: 1,561
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
did you cut the diode? I didn't see where you stated that...... yes/no

also...

are these your settings?

--> Lagfix = 'Default Wastegate Position' - should be between 50-80
--> PID Gain = 'PID Gain' should be at 25
--> PID Damper = 'Auto Shift Boost Reduction' - should be at 60
--> [SETTINGS] tab should have option 7) 135/335 N55 ISO
__________________
-madmanhiker jax,fl
madmanhiker is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-22-2012, 04:04 PM   #4
Mike@N54Tuning.com
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Drives: 07335i
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Earth

Posts: 14,587
iTrader: (86)

The directions are pretty clear on how to update to ISO. If you loaded ISO firmware and did not remove the diodes first your engine is not going to be happy. Don't press the gas pedal down again until you correct it.

Mike
Mike@N54Tuning.com is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      12-22-2012, 04:06 PM   #5
PR3CI5N
need4speed
 
PR3CI5N's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 E90 M 335i
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: West Coast

Posts: 1,187
iTrader: (15)

Make sure you cut the DIODES off. Without that you'll definitely have problems.

And did your N54 buddy load the N55 settings when he updated your firmware?
__________________
N54
PR3CI5N is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-22-2012, 04:08 PM   #6
madmanhiker
Lieutenant Colonel
 
madmanhiker's Avatar
 
Drives: '11 E92 335i
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Jacksonville, Fl

Posts: 1,561
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
^^ not DIODE(S)..... just 'diode' as in singular.

__________________
-madmanhiker jax,fl
madmanhiker is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-22-2012, 04:13 PM   #7
Sam335ix
Major
 
Sam335ix's Avatar
 
Drives: 335 ix performance edition
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Redskin Country

Posts: 1,276
iTrader: (0)

I am the idiot I know... No I didnt cut the diode off first, I thought I was just updating the firmware not knowing its really updated for ISO purposes. My first time really. Going out to the garage to cut it off... I hope I didnt eff up my car :-(

I loaded the 135/335 n55 BUT NOT where it states ISO where is option 7. My question is why would I have an issue if I just updated the 135/335 (option 3) since I didnt load option 7?
__________________
2011 e90 KW V1, JB4, BMS Dp, BMS Intake, CP, Alpina Flash, ISO, E85

Coming soon to the garage: 2014 M3 Maybe M5
Sam335ix is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-22-2012, 04:44 PM   #8
Abear
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2011 335i
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Houston

Posts: 151
iTrader: (3)

You still loaded the ISO hex file. It doesnt matter what you choose in the drop down menu if you dont choose the correct hex file. Things wont go together that arent meant to.
Abear is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-22-2012, 05:11 PM   #9
Sam335ix
Major
 
Sam335ix's Avatar
 
Drives: 335 ix performance edition
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Redskin Country

Posts: 1,276
iTrader: (0)

Ok so I cut the Diode off, I am getting a message when I click on updating the system that I need N55 firmware for N55 board... WTF man I installed the firmware exactly per the instructions, I am selecting option 7 for ISO and Hex file for N55... What am I doing wrong? I just drove the car and same shit after cutting the diode off and boost is going crazy!

Getting the following codes:

2E4C
28AO
3392
__________________
2011 e90 KW V1, JB4, BMS Dp, BMS Intake, CP, Alpina Flash, ISO, E85

Coming soon to the garage: 2014 M3 Maybe M5

Last edited by Sam335ix; 12-22-2012 at 05:24 PM.
Sam335ix is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-22-2012, 08:13 PM   #10
Sam335ix
Major
 
Sam335ix's Avatar
 
Drives: 335 ix performance edition
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Redskin Country

Posts: 1,276
iTrader: (0)

All fixed up, needed to reset defaults manually and now up and running. Thanks for everyone responding.
__________________
2011 e90 KW V1, JB4, BMS Dp, BMS Intake, CP, Alpina Flash, ISO, E85

Coming soon to the garage: 2014 M3 Maybe M5
Sam335ix is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-23-2012, 02:00 PM   #11
Hoody335
Private
 
Drives: Black 335i xDrive '13
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Kentucky

Posts: 51
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam335ix View Post
All fixed up, needed to reset defaults manually and now up and running. Thanks for everyone responding.
Glad you got it fixed! How is she pulling?
__________________
Black on Black we call that murder
Hoody335 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-23-2012, 09:02 PM   #12
SRT14PimPin07
Captain
 
SRT14PimPin07's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 335i Coupe
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Los Angeles

Posts: 903
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam335ix View Post
All fixed up, needed to reset defaults manually and now up and running. Thanks for everyone responding.
Exactly how did you manually reset the defaults manually? Please go into detail, I don't mind reading a lot.
__________________
2011 Alpine White E92 335i M-Sport N55 Engine
SRT14PimPin07 is offline   Armenia
0
Reply With Quote
      12-23-2012, 09:07 PM   #13
Sam335ix
Major
 
Sam335ix's Avatar
 
Drives: 335 ix performance edition
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Redskin Country

Posts: 1,276
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SRT14PimPin07 View Post
Exactly how did you manually reset the defaults manually? Please go into detail, I don't mind reading a lot.
Terry was right on, once you update the car you have the option to reset defaults from the file option (drop down menu) and select it manually...
__________________
2011 e90 KW V1, JB4, BMS Dp, BMS Intake, CP, Alpina Flash, ISO, E85

Coming soon to the garage: 2014 M3 Maybe M5
Sam335ix is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-23-2012, 11:59 PM   #14
SRT14PimPin07
Captain
 
SRT14PimPin07's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 335i Coupe
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Los Angeles

Posts: 903
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam335ix View Post
Terry was right on, once you update the car you have the option to reset defaults from the file option (drop down menu) and select it manually...
Humm ok, i'll redo the update and look out for that. thanks
__________________
2011 Alpine White E92 335i M-Sport N55 Engine
SRT14PimPin07 is offline   Armenia
0
Reply With Quote
      12-24-2012, 01:13 AM   #15
Sam335ix
Major
 
Sam335ix's Avatar
 
Drives: 335 ix performance edition
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Redskin Country

Posts: 1,276
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SRT14PimPin07 View Post
Humm ok, i'll redo the update and look out for that. thanks
Once you have finished uploading, it automatically resets the defaults but you still have to do it manually.
__________________
2011 e90 KW V1, JB4, BMS Dp, BMS Intake, CP, Alpina Flash, ISO, E85

Coming soon to the garage: 2014 M3 Maybe M5
Sam335ix is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-24-2012, 01:14 AM   #16
Sam335ix
Major
 
Sam335ix's Avatar
 
Drives: 335 ix performance edition
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Redskin Country

Posts: 1,276
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoody335 View Post
Glad you got it fixed! How is she pulling?
Like a mule lol... The car is more linear and I can tell the difference for sure. Once I install the e85 harness I am hope it will be even faster.
__________________
2011 e90 KW V1, JB4, BMS Dp, BMS Intake, CP, Alpina Flash, ISO, E85

Coming soon to the garage: 2014 M3 Maybe M5
Sam335ix is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-25-2012, 05:29 PM   #17
Hoody335
Private
 
Drives: Black 335i xDrive '13
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Kentucky

Posts: 51
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam335ix
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoody335 View Post
Glad you got it fixed! How is she pulling?
Like a mule lol... The car is more linear and I can tell the difference for sure. Once I install the e85 harness I am hope it will be even faster.
Post a video soon
__________________
Black on Black we call that murder
Hoody335 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-02-2013, 03:17 PM   #18
xnfsx
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: NY

Posts: 554
iTrader: (3)

did the code 28A0 every come back?

what was causing it? I am getting that now.
xnfsx is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-02-2013, 04:42 PM   #19
Sam335ix
Major
 
Sam335ix's Avatar
 
Drives: 335 ix performance edition
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Redskin Country

Posts: 1,276
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by xnfsx View Post
did the code 28A0 every come back?

what was causing it? I am getting that now.
I have not logged my car lately... Don't remember what the 28ao exactly is but it's a tuner code.
__________________
2011 e90 KW V1, JB4, BMS Dp, BMS Intake, CP, Alpina Flash, ISO, E85

Coming soon to the garage: 2014 M3 Maybe M5
Sam335ix is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:43 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST