E90Post
 


Bimmer Retrofit
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Windows won't roll down after coding digital speedo



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-03-2013, 04:23 PM   #1
gdgraham
Private First Class
 
gdgraham's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 328i Coupe
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Shell Knob, MO

Posts: 155
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Windows won't roll down after coding digital speedo

Hey guys, I've searched but can't find much except update daten. I've only been coding for about 24 hours so still pretty new. Today I coded the digital speedometer and turned off the door gong without any problems. However, now my windows don't roll up or down when I open and close my door (e92). This is beginning to be a problem as you can imagine, as I have to roll down my window with my FOB before I get in every time. Then I just gently tuck the glass under when I shut the door. Anyone else experience this and know how to fix?
Thanks,

Last edited by gdgraham; 02-03-2013 at 05:37 PM.
gdgraham is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-04-2013, 08:29 PM   #2
gdgraham
Private First Class
 
gdgraham's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 328i Coupe
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Shell Knob, MO

Posts: 155
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Anyone? I've successfully coded out multiple bulb checks, windows up with fob, folding mirrors with fob, disable door gong, front and rear fog lights as welcome lights, and digital speedometer. All without any errors or hiccups. However, windows still don't roll up or down when getting in and out. Fortunately I can use the fob now but I really need this feature back. Any ideas at all? Suggestions?
gdgraham is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-04-2013, 08:57 PM   #3
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
cn555ic's Avatar
 
Drives: 917-939-4980
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

Posts: 18,266
iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Make sure you Start the car. CLose the door...Press the window switch down until it rolls down all the way and hold it pressed down for 10 seconds. Then roll up the window until its all the way up and then hold it for ten seconds. Do this to both sides of the windows but one window at a time...See if it works. Basically your resetting the windows.
__________________

Coding E and F New York 917-939-4980
cn555ic is online now   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-05-2013, 08:16 AM   #4
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
cn555ic's Avatar
 
Drives: 917-939-4980
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

Posts: 18,266
iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Did this work for you or you still have no window control with the switch???
__________________

Coding E and F New York 917-939-4980
cn555ic is online now   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-05-2013, 09:04 AM   #5
gdgraham
Private First Class
 
gdgraham's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 328i Coupe
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Shell Knob, MO

Posts: 155
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
No this didn't work me but it did reset my windows. My dash light came up with each window and there was a ding sound. They both work correctly, just not when I open or close the doors.
gdgraham is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-05-2013, 10:28 AM   #6
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
cn555ic's Avatar
 
Drives: 917-939-4980
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

Posts: 18,266
iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
That's strange it should have worked.
__________________

Coding E and F New York 917-939-4980
cn555ic is online now   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-05-2013, 01:44 PM   #7
Elliott@DetailAddict
Brigadier General
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA

Posts: 4,448
iTrader: (0)

Reset your kombi and nfrm to defaults in expertmode using sgreset and try again.
Elliott@DetailAddict is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-05-2013, 02:28 PM   #8
gdgraham
Private First Class
 
gdgraham's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 328i Coupe
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Shell Knob, MO

Posts: 155
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
I cycled the car on and off and tried holding the window switch again with still no luck. I will try resetting KOMBI and NFRM to defaults tonight when I get off work. I appreciate the help guys, I'll keep you posted.
gdgraham is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-07-2013, 12:37 AM   #9
gdgraham
Private First Class
 
gdgraham's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 328i Coupe
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Shell Knob, MO

Posts: 155
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
I tried resetting the modules tonight but it still won't work. I'm pretty sure I did it correctly but I'm not positive because it didn't appear to reset anything besides my trip and my clock. Everything else I had coded remained. There isn't anyone local that I can take it to besides the dealership and it will be pretty clear to them what I had done. I'm afraid if I have the dealership fix it and then I code it again I'll be right back in the same boat. Think they can/will fix it without changing everything else I have coded?
gdgraham is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-07-2013, 12:41 AM   #10
DUI Elite
///M at Heart
 
DUI Elite's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 SGM E90
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Chicago, IL

Posts: 1,605
iTrader: (4)

Does your check control say anything about the windows?

Mine were glitchy for a second when I turned on my HIDs at the same time I opened the windows. Just after I had coded out my bulb checks.
DUI Elite is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-07-2013, 01:07 AM   #11
gdgraham
Private First Class
 
gdgraham's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 328i Coupe
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Shell Knob, MO

Posts: 155
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
No, control check is ok. I've done some more research and it sounds like it's happened to other people after using ncsexpert, but I haven't found any threads where they actually found a solution yet. One guy said he fixed his by locking the door with the fob, then pressing unlock 3 times quickly and that's all it took to fix it. Seems too easy but I'll give it a shot tomorrow.
gdgraham is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-07-2013, 05:48 PM   #12
gdgraham
Private First Class
 
gdgraham's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 328i Coupe
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Shell Knob, MO

Posts: 155
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Three quick unlocks did not work either...
gdgraham is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-07-2013, 07:06 PM   #13
Wolf 335
Lieutenant
 
Wolf 335's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: GTA

Posts: 490
iTrader: (0)

this makes me think twice about having things coded
Wolf 335 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      02-09-2013, 09:37 PM   #14
gdgraham
Private First Class
 
gdgraham's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 328i Coupe
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Shell Knob, MO

Posts: 155
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
I was able to code everything back to default in expertmode using sgcodieren, not sgreset. When I did this I obviously lost everything I had coded, but my windows did work correctly again so that's a plus. After this, I loaded my fswpsw.man profile and all my codes worked again but my windows did not. I suppose this means it's something in my .man file I've done that the car does not agree with (still no errors). Frustrating.
gdgraham is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-10-2013, 09:12 AM   #15
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
cn555ic's Avatar
 
Drives: 917-939-4980
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

Posts: 18,266
iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Quote:
Originally Posted by gdgraham View Post
I was able to code everything back to default in expertmode using sgcodieren, not sgreset. When I did this I obviously lost everything I had coded, but my windows did work correctly again so that's a plus. After this, I loaded my fswpsw.man profile and all my codes worked again but my windows did not. I suppose this means it's something in my .man file I've done that the car does not agree with (still no errors). Frustrating.
I would say if thats the case your doing something wrong while your edting your trc file...Your old man file that you saved is useless or corrupted.
__________________

Coding E and F New York 917-939-4980
cn555ic is online now   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-10-2013, 10:04 AM   #16
gdgraham
Private First Class
 
gdgraham's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 328i Coupe
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Shell Knob, MO

Posts: 155
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Yeah, definitely doing something wrong because I don't edit my trc file, I edit my man file every time... I thought because everything was working and I had no errors that I was doing it correctly, apparently that is not the case.
gdgraham is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-12-2013, 10:29 PM   #17
gdgraham
Private First Class
 
gdgraham's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 328i Coupe
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Shell Knob, MO

Posts: 155
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
I finally coded everything back to defaults correctly, and then recoded all the features I wanted. Everything is working properly now but I still dont have any idea what went wrong. Looks like I was being lazy and taking shortcuts when I was coding and I wasn't doing it right, even though it did work and never had any errors. The point is, if it seems really easy and a quick process, then you probably aren't doing it right or safely. Make backups and if you follow tutorials, follow them to the T, no exceptions. There are very knowledgeable people on this forum and its unlikely a first time coder found a better way to do things.
gdgraham is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-12-2013, 10:43 PM   #18
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
cn555ic's Avatar
 
Drives: 917-939-4980
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

Posts: 18,266
iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf 335 View Post
this makes me think twice about having things coded
Just because you have read one person or read a couple of threads from somewhat novice coder about errors, shouldn't shy you away from having your car coded for these convience items that makes the car so much better...Dont be afraid.
__________________

Coding E and F New York 917-939-4980
cn555ic is online now   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:51 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST