E90Post
 


European Auto Source
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > Battery Distribution Block - Tap Location?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-02-2013, 06:17 PM   #1
iamwiz82
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2010 335d / 2012 MCS JCW
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Rochester Hills

Posts: 120
iTrader: (0)

Battery Distribution Block - Tap Location?

I was just cleaning up my amp wiring by connecting to the distribution block via a connector. My block is full except for one spot which is a 50A connection. Now there are two dual connectors, but that have only one wire in each, meaning the other portion of the dual is unused.

Can I tap into these connectors or are they shared power feed? My amp recommends a 60A fuse so I do not want to use the 50A feed.
iamwiz82 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-02-2013, 06:33 PM   #2
ctuna
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

Posts: 4,208
iTrader: (0)

Put in eyelet on the end of the wire

Put an eyelet on the end of the wire an attach it directly to the tightening bolt on the battery lug clamp.

Last edited by ctuna; 02-06-2013 at 12:51 PM.
ctuna is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-06-2013, 07:37 AM   #3
taibanl
Brigadier General
 
taibanl's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NA

Posts: 3,530
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by iamwiz82 View Post
I was just cleaning up my amp wiring by connecting to the distribution block via a connector. My block is full except for one spot which is a 50A connection. Now there are two dual connectors, but that have only one wire in each, meaning the other portion of the dual is unused.

Can I tap into these connectors or are they shared power feed? My amp recommends a 60A fuse so I do not want to use the 50A feed.
Somewhere on here. I think kmarei or myself posted a pic of the internals (showing fuse ratings) the dual connections are individually fused. You can use those. It takes about 20 min or less to take that block apart so you can also look yourself. I hooked my fused 60a lead to an 80a service.
taibanl is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-06-2013, 07:42 AM   #4
taibanl
Brigadier General
 
taibanl's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NA

Posts: 3,530
iTrader: (4)

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showpo...66&postcount=5

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showpo...25&postcount=9
taibanl is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-06-2013, 08:31 PM   #5
iamwiz82
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2010 335d / 2012 MCS JCW
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Rochester Hills

Posts: 120
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by taibanl View Post
Somewhere on here. I think kmarei or myself posted a pic of the internals (showing fuse ratings) the dual connections are individually fused. You can use those. It takes about 20 min or less to take that block apart so you can also look yourself. I hooked my fused 60a lead to an 80a service.
I saw that they were individually fused, are the dual connectors linked on the wire side, anything like that?
iamwiz82 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-06-2013, 08:38 PM   #6
taibanl
Brigadier General
 
taibanl's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NA

Posts: 3,530
iTrader: (4)

Nope. The plastic socket whether one or two places fits the same metal socket part. Google Search for taibanl e90 post running parts list. You will see
taibanl is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-10-2013, 11:09 PM   #7
starbai
Captain
 
starbai's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 335i Sedan
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Orlando FL

Posts: 713
iTrader: (2)

so just to be clear, i have a socket with the two prongs available.... and I have a connector with two female sockets in it. can i run two power cables from that one 'socket' from each of the two connectons it contains to two different amps?
starbai is offline   Guyana
0
Reply With Quote
      03-11-2013, 08:55 AM   #8
taibanl
Brigadier General
 
taibanl's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NA

Posts: 3,530
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by starbai
so just to be clear, i have a socket with the two prongs available.... and I have a connector with two female sockets in it. can i run two power cables from that one 'socket' from each of the two connectons it contains to two different amps?
Yeah. No different electrically than the single sockets. Pay attention to the fusible link ratings for the sockets you want to use and make sure they are greater ratings than your inline fuses.
taibanl is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:45 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST