E90Post
 


ECS BMW
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Dyno Tach Source???



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-29-2007, 09:34 PM   #1
scalbert
Major General
 
scalbert's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 E90 M3, '13 Volt, '08 Ody
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Woodstock, GA

Posts: 5,707
iTrader: (7)

Dyno Tach Source???

I would assume that one could just clamp across one of the ignition coils but wanted to verify. Any suggestion on where to grab the signal?
scalbert is online now  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-30-2007, 06:22 PM   #2
scalbert
Major General
 
scalbert's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 E90 M3, '13 Volt, '08 Ody
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Woodstock, GA

Posts: 5,707
iTrader: (7)



Come on, someone had to watch them sourcing a tach signal on the dyno. I just want to be prepared when I get on the rollers soon.
scalbert is online now  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-30-2007, 07:06 PM   #3
RiXst3r
 
RiXst3r's Avatar
 
Drives: www.p3cars.com
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Ohio

Posts: 6,459
iTrader: (14)

Send a message via AIM to RiXst3r
just clamp onto an ignition coil... undo a few screws on the plastic cover so that you can lift it up and see under it... then clamp.

pretty much like any other car
RiXst3r is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-30-2007, 07:10 PM   #4
scalbert
Major General
 
scalbert's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 E90 M3, '13 Volt, '08 Ody
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Woodstock, GA

Posts: 5,707
iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RiXst3r View Post
just clamp onto an ignition coil... undo a few screws on the plastic cover so that you can lift it up and see under it... then clamp.

pretty much like any other car
Thanks for the confirmation. That is what I thought; just looking for validation. I didn't want to search for it while on the rollers. Also, at one session a couple of years ago, they were unable to get a solid reading with an M Roadster we had.
scalbert is online now  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-30-2007, 07:52 PM   #5
RPIpower
Captain
 
Drives: 135i, 996tt, e60 M5, tundra
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: So Cal

Posts: 669
iTrader: (0)

What kind of dyno are you going to use? Most dynos now will let you set the rpm/gear ratio. It makes things much easier, especially if you are going to dyno with the hood closed.
RPIpower is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-30-2007, 08:22 PM   #6
itsbrokeagain
 
itsbrokeagain's Avatar
 
Drives: E28 535, 1996 Dodge Ram Diesel
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Valley Stream, NY

Posts: 15,737
iTrader: (7)

Send a message via AIM to itsbrokeagain
why would you dyno with the hood closed? That just superheats things. And just clamp a brown wire running off any coil under the plastic cover and the dyno should pick up the source...did that with mine. I took the long way out and removed my microfilter covers and tray right in front of the wipers for easier access to the plastic engine cover..
__________________
AUTOCouture Motoring: Handling reflector installs to turbo upgrades and superchargers, and everything in between
15-01 Pollitt Drive, Fairlawn NJ 201-666-3500

<-Official Vehicle Transport for AUTOCouture
itsbrokeagain is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-30-2007, 08:31 PM   #7
scalbert
Major General
 
scalbert's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 E90 M3, '13 Volt, '08 Ody
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Woodstock, GA

Posts: 5,707
iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by itsbrokeagain View Post
why would you dyno with the hood closed? That just superheats things. And just clamp a brown wire running off any coil under the plastic cover and the dyno should pick up the source...did that with mine. I took the long way out and removed my microfilter covers and tray right in front of the wipers for easier access to the plastic engine cover..

Thanks, I may just pre-remove the cover as this will be a group dyno.
scalbert is online now  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-30-2007, 08:32 PM   #8
scalbert
Major General
 
scalbert's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 E90 M3, '13 Volt, '08 Ody
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Woodstock, GA

Posts: 5,707
iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RPIpower View Post
What kind of dyno are you going to use? Most dynos now will let you set the rpm/gear ratio. It makes things much easier, especially if you are going to dyno with the hood closed.
This will be a Dynojet and since it is a group session, I want to expedite the process.
scalbert is online now  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-30-2007, 10:38 PM   #9
hl0m4n
Brigadier General
 
hl0m4n's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NY

Posts: 4,838
iTrader: (41)

so this is for the rpm readout on the dyno print out? so if you want your dyno sheet to look like the dyno sheets from like vishnu for example with rpm and hp/tq graph you need this plug in?
hl0m4n is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-30-2007, 10:54 PM   #10
RPIpower
Captain
 
Drives: 135i, 996tt, e60 M5, tundra
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: So Cal

Posts: 669
iTrader: (0)

Each dyno is going to be different so take that into consideration when you get your final numbers.

Why dyno with the hood closed? I always do to make sure its a more accurate reading. If you are only concerned about bragging rights on a dyno plot, then yeah, you can dyno with your hood open. On the street, air flows form the front and bottom of the car. If the dyno facility is properly equiped, they will have a fan specially made for dyno sessions, not just a box fan that you buy from home depot or something.



People dyno with the hood open because they want high numbers or they dont have the right fan. This happens a lot when an intake manufacturer wants to show a gain with their intake systems. Dyno with the hood closed stock, slap on the intake and dyno with the hood open and a fan blowing on the induction filter.
RPIpower is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-31-2007, 06:56 AM   #11
RiXst3r
 
RiXst3r's Avatar
 
Drives: www.p3cars.com
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Ohio

Posts: 6,459
iTrader: (14)

Send a message via AIM to RiXst3r
Quote:
Originally Posted by RPIpower View Post
Each dyno is going to be different so take that into consideration when you get your final numbers.

Why dyno with the hood closed? I always do to make sure its a more accurate reading. If you are only concerned about bragging rights on a dyno plot, then yeah, you can dyno with your hood open. On the street, air flows form the front and bottom of the car. If the dyno facility is properly equiped, they will have a fan specially made for dyno sessions, not just a box fan that you buy from home depot or something.


People dyno with the hood open because they want high numbers or they dont have the right fan. This happens a lot when an intake manufacturer wants to show a gain with their intake systems. Dyno with the hood closed stock, slap on the intake and dyno with the hood open and a fan blowing on the induction filter.
Some would disagree...

Quote:
Originally Posted by shiv@vishnu View Post
If you don't have a good fan in front of the radiator/intercooler, the underhood temps will get too hot and a low boost limp mode can be triggered. The 1.45 and 1.47 maps are no different in this respect. FWIW, I always dyno with the hood open and giant, high velocity fans butted right up against the intercooler. And another one up higher, blowing onto the top of the engine. Without this, it's hard to simulate the cooling effects you would otherwise see on the road, in the real world.

Shiv
RiXst3r is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:16 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST