E90Post
 


GetBMWParts
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > iDrivino is Now Free For All - Open Source!



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-03-2013, 02:11 PM   #23
iDrivino
Private
4
Rep
50
Posts

 
Drives: 535xiT
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexwhittemore View Post
Aww hell, that was my next question . No idrive here. I may just have to dive into the junction box, then, since all the bus terminations there are well documented.
JBE works just fine too.
Appreciate 0
      01-03-2013, 02:22 PM   #24
alexwhittemore
Lieutenant Colonel
24
Rep
1,694
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 Crimson 328i
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by iDrivino View Post
JBE works just fine too.
I suppose that's a useful exercise for making an OBD-II port pinout as well, since everything SHOULD be neatly color coded and documented back there.
Appreciate 0
      02-13-2013, 09:09 AM   #25
Farewell
Enlisted Member
Austria
0
Rep
43
Posts

 
Drives: 325dA
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Austria

iTrader: (0)

i tried to get the oil temp but failed, so i use the coolanttemp.

i use a duo led but with a tweak so i get red, orange and yellow

Appreciate 0
      02-13-2013, 09:37 AM   #26
Transport3r
Maaaaaaaaaaaaaad
Transport3r's Avatar
14
Rep
1,206
Posts

 
Drives: N54 E92 & N52 Z4
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Melbourne, FL

iTrader: (2)

could this be displayed on any screen? I'd love some histogram gauges with live datalogging...
__________________
Josh-

Appreciate 0
      02-13-2013, 10:59 AM   #27
iDrivino
Private
4
Rep
50
Posts

 
Drives: 535xiT
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

Yes, it's simply RCA video out. I've entertained the idea of live histograms or xy graphs, but I am not sure the simple graphics microprocessor is up to the task. I don't think it supports smooth scrolling very well.
Appreciate 0
      02-13-2013, 11:02 AM   #28
Transport3r
Maaaaaaaaaaaaaad
Transport3r's Avatar
14
Rep
1,206
Posts

 
Drives: N54 E92 & N52 Z4
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Melbourne, FL

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by iDrivino View Post
Yes, it's simply RCA video out. I've entertained the idea of live histograms or xy graphs, but I am not sure the simple graphics microprocessor is up to the task. I don't think it supports smooth scrolling very well.
Then use a slightly more powerful one?

I'm not nearly as electronics savvy to do this but it would be awesome!
__________________
Josh-

Appreciate 0
      02-13-2013, 03:33 PM   #29
alexwhittemore
Lieutenant Colonel
24
Rep
1,694
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 Crimson 328i
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Transport3r View Post
Then use a slightly more powerful one?

I'm not nearly as electronics savvy to do this but it would be awesome!
It wouldn't be inconceivable to use a secondary micro as a graphics chip, something a bit beefier.

You could also just switch to an arduino Due, which should still maintain library compatibility, yet has WILDLY more juice to get the graphics tasks done. That's probably the easiest route.
Appreciate 0
      02-13-2013, 03:49 PM   #30
TenshiWingusu
Private First Class
TenshiWingusu's Avatar
United_States
1
Rep
105
Posts

 
Drives: '07 335xi
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: United States

iTrader: (0)

So it still reads the CAN through the USB-Serial Connector? I want to do something similar using LabView that way I can have moving real time graphs of data. No need to log to check a value.
__________________
http://www.e90post.com/forums/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=167262&dateline=13416  03411
Vishnu PROcede 2.5SE, BMS DCI, Evolution Racewerk Charge Pipe, HKS SSQV4
Appreciate 0
      02-13-2013, 03:55 PM   #31
alexwhittemore
Lieutenant Colonel
24
Rep
1,694
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 Crimson 328i
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (0)

Erm... No.
Appreciate 0
      02-13-2013, 04:07 PM   #32
TenshiWingusu
Private First Class
TenshiWingusu's Avatar
United_States
1
Rep
105
Posts

 
Drives: '07 335xi
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: United States

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexwhittemore View Post
Erm... No.
So is it serial data? Im trying to parse through his Arduino code, but there is a lot of it...
__________________
http://www.e90post.com/forums/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=167262&dateline=13416  03411
Vishnu PROcede 2.5SE, BMS DCI, Evolution Racewerk Charge Pipe, HKS SSQV4
Appreciate 0
      02-13-2013, 04:13 PM   #33
alexwhittemore
Lieutenant Colonel
24
Rep
1,694
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 Crimson 328i
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (0)

... not exactly? It's CAN data.

Point is, I'm not sure what you're asking, or if you're actually referring to the idrivino system.

It's an arduino with a CAN shield and video output hardware. The CAN shield talks to the car, and shuffles that data back to the arduino, which does magic and puts stuff on screen (via the aux composite video in it already has the capability for, due to the additional box that makes that so).
Appreciate 0
      02-13-2013, 04:20 PM   #34
TenshiWingusu
Private First Class
TenshiWingusu's Avatar
United_States
1
Rep
105
Posts

 
Drives: '07 335xi
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: United States

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexwhittemore View Post
... not exactly? It's CAN data.

Point is, I'm not sure what you're asking, or if you're actually referring to the idrivino system.

It's an arduino with a CAN shield and video output hardware. The CAN shield talks to the car, and shuffles that data back to the arduino, which does magic and puts stuff on screen (via the aux composite video in it already has the capability for, due to the additional box that makes that so).
Right, that is what I wanted to know is what the data stream from the procede was. I had hoped that the data coming from the PROcede RS232 connector was serial, but it does not appear that way. I am not a fan of the Vishnu tuning software in terms of its live data presentation. I want to take the data coming from the PROcede and graph it real time using LabView. Seeing this thread has motivated me to do so.
__________________
http://www.e90post.com/forums/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=167262&dateline=13416  03411
Vishnu PROcede 2.5SE, BMS DCI, Evolution Racewerk Charge Pipe, HKS SSQV4
Appreciate 0
      02-13-2013, 04:29 PM   #35
alexwhittemore
Lieutenant Colonel
24
Rep
1,694
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 Crimson 328i
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TenshiWingusu View Post
Right, that is what I wanted to know is what the data stream from the procede was. I had hoped that the data coming from the PROcede RS232 connector was serial, but it does not appear that way. I am not a fan of the Vishnu tuning software in terms of its live data presentation. I want to take the data coming from the PROcede and graph it real time using LabView. Seeing this thread has motivated me to do so.
Ahh the data coming in FROM the procede. Yes, that's RS232. The connector and the standard are separate things. The connector is actually called DB-9 (not TECHNICALLY, but everyone knows it as that), which doesn't have to carry RS232 or serial or anything at all. RS232 is the communications standard, which is 'serial' in the sense that you're referring to serial. Serial like the port on the back of your computer.

If all you want to do is graph procede data, labview, an RS232-USB adapter, and an RS232 block in your VI is probably the way to go.

The only aspect in which this project applies is that you can probably look at the code he linked on the first page just to see what messages are getting passed to and from the procede to get the data you're interested in. Then you can apply those messages in labview instead.
Appreciate 0
      02-13-2013, 04:35 PM   #36
TenshiWingusu
Private First Class
TenshiWingusu's Avatar
United_States
1
Rep
105
Posts

 
Drives: '07 335xi
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: United States

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexwhittemore View Post
Ahh the data coming in FROM the procede. Yes, that's RS232. The connector and the standard are separate things. The connector is actually called DB-9 (not TECHNICALLY, but everyone knows it as that), which doesn't have to carry RS232 or serial or anything at all. RS232 is the communications standard, which is 'serial' in the sense that you're referring to serial. Serial like the port on the back of your computer.

If all you want to do is graph procede data, labview, an RS232-USB adapter, and an RS232 block in your VI is probably the way to go.

The only aspect in which this project applies is that you can probably look at the code he linked on the first page just to see what messages are getting passed to and from the procede to get the data you're interested in. Then you can apply those messages in labview instead.
Correct I should have been more specific about the 9 pin D-Sub. Right now an FTDI Serial to USB cable is there which I plan to keep there for tuning using the Vishnu software, doesn't look like I'll have much issue with this Thanks
__________________
http://www.e90post.com/forums/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=167262&dateline=13416  03411
Vishnu PROcede 2.5SE, BMS DCI, Evolution Racewerk Charge Pipe, HKS SSQV4
Appreciate 0
      04-22-2013, 02:38 PM   #37
burrito007
Private First Class
2
Rep
164
Posts

 
Drives: e46 M3
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY

iTrader: (0)

I'm looking to build a simple boost-gauge mountable anywhere in the car with an arduino (going to test it on a mega then move to micro) a can-bus reader, and a simple LCD screen.

Down the road I will move to bluetooth, and maybe plug it in the cigarette lighter but for now i just want to start getting CAN data and displaying it on an LCD.

Can i get boost info right from the OBDII port on an N55 X5? I will not have the vishnu or procede unit to interface with.
Appreciate 0
      04-25-2013, 10:54 AM   #38
PiSCaRGoT
Enlisted Member
PiSCaRGoT's Avatar
0
Rep
37
Posts

 
Drives: E93 335i 2007
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Malaysia

iTrader: (0)

Now when will someone finally make a commercial product out for this?? Its too cool to not have. Take my money already, dammit!!
Appreciate 0
      04-25-2013, 12:12 PM   #39
cuttybuddyox
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
43
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Seattle

iTrader: (0)

Will this be able to work with the JB4 eventually?
Appreciate 0
      04-25-2013, 12:54 PM   #40
NoQuarter
Second Lieutenant
United_States
2
Rep
221
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 530xi / 2008 535xi
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Indiana

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by burrito007 View Post
Can i get boost info right from the OBDII port on an N55 X5? I will not have the vishnu or procede unit to interface with.
You will not be able to get boost from OBD.
Appreciate 0
      04-25-2013, 07:59 PM   #41
iDrivino
Private
4
Rep
50
Posts

 
Drives: 535xiT
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

Well guys, I think it's safe to say this open source thing never really took off like I hoped. I'm not even sure anyone has attempted to build an iDrivino, even though all the source code & simplified schematic were provided.

It will probably take an equally long time, but I've decided to take a stab at the next generation iDrivino using a Raspberry Pi. See you guys in another 6 months.
Appreciate 0
      04-26-2013, 03:16 AM   #42
PiSCaRGoT
Enlisted Member
PiSCaRGoT's Avatar
0
Rep
37
Posts

 
Drives: E93 335i 2007
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Malaysia

iTrader: (0)

2 wishes :

1. You'll take less than 6 months
2. You'll have a plug n play commercial solution
3. Price under $100
4. I lied about 2 wishes

All the best buddy, eyes on you.
Appreciate 0
      04-26-2013, 10:07 AM   #43
vertspeed
Private First Class
vertspeed's Avatar
1
Rep
181
Posts

 
Drives: 08' 335i e93
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: San Diego, CA

iTrader: (7)

Yes please update us on your progress and make it work with the JB4. Thanks for contributing your time and efforts to the community!!
Appreciate 0
      12-22-2013, 11:44 AM   #44
Ascanio
New Member
0
Rep
12
Posts

 
Drives: Mazda MX-5
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Turin, Italy

iTrader: (0)

iDrive standalone

Hi there,

I just stumbled across this thread, maybe you can give me some useful tips.

I am trying to use the iDrive rotary controller as a USB peripheral on a PC.
I am currently trying to set it up with an Arduino Uno R3 and a Sparkfun CAN-bus shield (MPC2515 Controller + MCP2551 Transceiver), which (after having successfully spoken to the iDrive) will be set up to connect as a generic USB Mouse/Keyboard on the PC side.

Now, my application is very different from yours: I'm not tapping into the K-CAN bus, but I need to connect directly to the iDrive rotary device.

I was guessing, since it has a 4 pin connector, the pinout might be CANH, CANL, power (5V or 12V?) and GND.

Obviously I've had no success yet: I'm just starting to learn how CAN works.


The reason why I'm doing this? To be able to prototype/test automotive HMI solutions on my workstation. Eventually I will also implement a development platform with performance closer to the production target hardware (with a Udoo board - iMX6's ARM Cortex A9 chip).

Any help would be GREATLY appreciated
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:09 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST