E90Post
 


ECS BMW
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > DIY Guides > Retrofitting FLA (High Beam Assistant) DIY



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-09-2012, 08:45 AM   #1
Jose_JN
Private First Class
Jose_JN's Avatar
Spain
34
Rep
178
Posts

Drives: e93 330d
Join Date: May 2011
Location: http://www.youtube.com/josejjn

iTrader: (0)

Retrofitting FLA (High Beam Assistant) DIY

Hi all,

I am showing you the most recently retrofit I have done on my e93
I have installed an FLA (High beam assistant).

How does it work?
The FLA sensor is always scanning light sources in front of you.

The high beam will be automatically turned on under certain conditions:
- You are driving with no cars in front of you.
- You have your lights switch in 'Auto' possition
- You are driving over 50km/h (30mph)
- It is dark enough outside.

The FLA will turn your high beam off if:
- There is a car in front of you
- You did not select 'Auto' with the lights switch
- Your speed is under 38km/h (24mph)

Prerequisites
- Your car must have rain/light sensor
- Your car must have auto dim mirror wirings

Here you have how I did it

Any question will be welcomed!
Part list is at the video description



Regards!
__________________
Why don't do it by your self?
Retrofitting is always possible!
Appreciate 0
      10-10-2012, 07:06 PM   #2
srcstc
Major
United_States
38
Rep
1,325
Posts

Drives: 09 TiAg E92 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NJ

iTrader: (8)

So if I have an auto dimming/rain sensing mirror I don't need to buy a new mirror?
__________________
2009 E92 335i M-Sport TiAg|Black|Aluminum -ZMP|ZPP|NAV|CA|Heated Seats|6MT
BMW Performance Exhaust|Rear Fogs|OEM Black Grills|Cobb AP|ETS 5" FMIC|DCI
Installer for BimmerTech

Pioneer AVIC-Z110BT:
Appreciate 0
      10-11-2012, 07:03 AM   #3
Jose_JN
Private First Class
Jose_JN's Avatar
Spain
34
Rep
178
Posts

Drives: e93 330d
Join Date: May 2011
Location: http://www.youtube.com/josejjn

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by srcstc View Post
So if I have an auto dimming/rain sensing mirror I don't need to buy a new mirror?
Unfortunately you have to buy a new mirror always.

You must have rain/light sensor and auto dim wiring for installing this, but the FLA sensor is inside the mirror and you have to change the whole mirror.

Don't worry it is not so much expensive... You can find it on eBay around 150

Install the auto dim wiring is so easy:
Check this if you don't have it

Regards
__________________
Why don't do it by your self?
Retrofitting is always possible!
Appreciate 0
      01-28-2013, 03:53 PM   #4
mose121
Private First Class
13
Rep
184
Posts

Drives: F80 M3 ZCP/X1 2.8iX M Sport
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Pittsburgh

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jose_JN View Post
Unfortunately you have to buy a new mirror always.

You must have rain/light sensor and auto dim wiring for installing this, but the FLA sensor is inside the mirror and you have to change the whole mirror.

Don't worry it is not so much expensive... You can find it on eBay around 150

Install the auto dim wiring is so easy:
Check this if you don't have it

Regards
Do you have the correct part # for the mirror that's needed to do this retrofit? Isn't there a activation button that needs installed as well or will it just be on if you put the HL switch on auto?
Appreciate 0
      01-29-2013, 06:25 AM   #5
Jose_JN
Private First Class
Jose_JN's Avatar
Spain
34
Rep
178
Posts

Drives: e93 330d
Join Date: May 2011
Location: http://www.youtube.com/josejjn

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mose121 View Post
Do you have the correct part # for the mirror that's needed to do this retrofit? Isn't there a activation button that needs installed as well or will it just be on if you put the HL switch on auto?
There are many differente inner mirrors so I need your VIN to ensure what is the suitable for you.

You could have:
- Alarm (DWA)
- Homelink
- Compass
- FLA
- Electrochrom
- Radio (for cabrio and 1 series)
...

There is no button for it, it is always activated (except when you engages the reverse gear)

Regards
__________________
Why don't do it by your self?
Retrofitting is always possible!
Appreciate 0
      01-29-2013, 06:35 PM   #6
mose121
Private First Class
13
Rep
184
Posts

Drives: F80 M3 ZCP/X1 2.8iX M Sport
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Pittsburgh

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jose_JN View Post
There are many differente inner mirrors so I need your VIN to ensure what is the suitable for you.

You could have:
- Alarm (DWA)
- Homelink
- Compass
- FLA
- Electrochrom
- Radio (for cabrio and 1 series)
...

There is no button for it, it is always activated (except when you engages the reverse gear)

Regards
My VIN is WBSKG9C53DJ593894. Although I'll have to think about it as I'm not sure I want it to be active all the time. Even though you didn't have the button on the turn signal stalk (although I'm sure that could be installed/coded as well), wouldn't you have the option to disable in the lighting settings in the iDrive?
Appreciate 0
      01-30-2013, 03:03 AM   #7
Jose_JN
Private First Class
Jose_JN's Avatar
Spain
34
Rep
178
Posts

Drives: e93 330d
Join Date: May 2011
Location: http://www.youtube.com/josejjn

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mose121 View Post
My VIN is WBSKG9C53DJ593894. Although I'll have to think about it as I'm not sure I want it to be active all the time. Even though you didn't have the button on the turn signal stalk (although I'm sure that could be installed/coded as well), wouldn't you have the option to disable in the lighting settings in the iDrive?
But you are talking about the electrochrome feature or the FLA?
Electrochrome is always activated (I tought you was refearing this)

But FLA is NOT always activated. It is activated in this case:
You have the light knob in 'A' mode
You have it activate at the idrive
You push the light stalker (like if you want to switch your high beam on usually)
In this case, you will notice an 'A' at the dash screen and the system starts to work.

You can also deactivate it pushing again your BC stalker or you can totally disable it at iDrive or changing your light knob from 'A' to other position.

Regards.
__________________
Why don't do it by your self?
Retrofitting is always possible!
Appreciate 0
      02-13-2013, 11:20 AM   #8
amilo123
Enlisted Member
9
Rep
38
Posts

Drives: 318i
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Romania

iTrader: (0)

Hello,

You said that the mirror can be found on ebay for 150EUR, but I can't seem to find anywhere but directly from BMW (which is double the price). My car's VIN is VG35101, I have interrior mirror with auto-dip and alarm. Though it seems the auto-dip it's not working, not sure why...

Can you give me a link with a mirror I could buy?
Appreciate 0
      02-13-2013, 02:02 PM   #9
pweber84
Banned
pweber84's Avatar
Germany
7
Rep
347
Posts

Drives: BMW 330d e91
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Berlin, Germany / PL, Posen

iTrader: (2)

Send a message via Skype™ to pweber84
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo123 View Post
Hello,

You said that the mirror can be found on ebay for 150EUR, but I can't seem to find anywhere but directly from BMW (which is double the price). My car's VIN is VG35101, I have interrior mirror with auto-dip and alarm. Though it seems the auto-dip it's not working, not sure why...

Can you give me a link with a mirror I could buy?
I can sell you this kind of rear view mirror FLA/EC/LED if you want. PM me.
Appreciate 0
      02-23-2013, 08:26 AM   #10
smiley32
New Member
0
Rep
27
Posts

Drives: BMW 318D
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: italia

iTrader: (0)

I have the car alarm installed, and i found a mirror with FLA without the alarm LED, if you are going to retrofit to FLA, alarm work without red LED from the mirror?
Appreciate 0
      02-26-2013, 09:17 AM   #11
Jose_JN
Private First Class
Jose_JN's Avatar
Spain
34
Rep
178
Posts

Drives: e93 330d
Join Date: May 2011
Location: http://www.youtube.com/josejjn

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by smiley32 View Post
I have the car alarm installed, and i found a mirror with FLA without the alarm LED, if you are going to retrofit to FLA, alarm work without red LED from the mirror?
Yes it will work.

Install the alarm led is so easy. You have the circuit board and the contact pads at it.

If you want to install the led, you only have to solder it and a resistor. Of course you will have to use your back cover with nose clown too.

Other way is to connect a 12v led at pin 8(+) and 9(-) at the mirror plug and put it wherever you want.

Regards.
__________________
Why don't do it by your self?
Retrofitting is always possible!
Appreciate 0
      03-22-2013, 10:57 AM   #12
N8N
Lieutenant Colonel
N8N's Avatar
United_States
59
Rep
1,643
Posts

Drives: 2009 E92 335i 6MT
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Sterling, VA

iTrader: (2)

Send a message via AIM to N8N Send a message via MSN to N8N Send a message via Yahoo to N8N
This looks not too difficult, but where are you finding the mirrors for 150 euro? Worldwide eBay search gave me nothing; it's a cool feature but not worth $800+ to buy new! thanks...
Appreciate 0
      03-22-2013, 11:11 AM   #13
pweber84
Banned
pweber84's Avatar
Germany
7
Rep
347
Posts

Drives: BMW 330d e91
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Berlin, Germany / PL, Posen

iTrader: (2)

Send a message via Skype™ to pweber84
I have thes mirrors, even cheaper.

PM me if you want.

Last edited by pweber84; 03-29-2013 at 07:38 AM.
Appreciate 0
      03-26-2013, 10:49 AM   #14
Jose_JN
Private First Class
Jose_JN's Avatar
Spain
34
Rep
178
Posts

Drives: e93 330d
Join Date: May 2011
Location: http://www.youtube.com/josejjn

iTrader: (0)

http://www.ebay.de/itm/BMW-E60-E61-E...item51aa527ead

http://www.ebay.de/itm/Original-BMW-...item19cb31d427

http://www.ebay.de/itm/BMW-6er-E63-E...item5d390e77e9

http://www.ebay.de/itm/BMW-Innenspie...item5d360df7e5


You have to search more
__________________
Why don't do it by your self?
Retrofitting is always possible!
Appreciate 0
      03-26-2013, 03:08 PM   #15
N8N
Lieutenant Colonel
N8N's Avatar
United_States
59
Rep
1,643
Posts

Drives: 2009 E92 335i 6MT
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Sterling, VA

iTrader: (2)

Send a message via AIM to N8N Send a message via MSN to N8N Send a message via Yahoo to N8N
All of those sellers only post to DE or EU only unless someone wants to buy for me I'm in USA. And Pawel didn't have the one I needed, never mind that none of those appeared correct for me either... my car is pretty well loaded, I have auto-dim in and out, Homelink, alarm prep (LED) and compass. I believe I have "Radio" as well (does that mean remote? not sure)
Appreciate 0
      03-27-2013, 06:46 PM   #16
smiley32
New Member
0
Rep
27
Posts

Drives: BMW 318D
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: italia

iTrader: (0)

can not mount the camera on your mirror with auto-dim in , Homelink, alarm (LED) and compass?
Appreciate 0
      03-27-2013, 08:45 PM   #17
N8N
Lieutenant Colonel
N8N's Avatar
United_States
59
Rep
1,643
Posts

Drives: 2009 E92 335i 6MT
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Sterling, VA

iTrader: (2)

Send a message via AIM to N8N Send a message via MSN to N8N Send a message via Yahoo to N8N
I don't have know... if i could that would be awesome... then all i'd be missing would be pdc and adaptive cruise (and a bunch of crap i don't care about)
Appreciate 0
      03-28-2013, 12:43 PM   #18
smiley32
New Member
0
Rep
27
Posts

Drives: BMW 318D
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: italia

iTrader: (0)

Jose JN

So you need to connect wires to orange pin 1 (x19594) to pin 2 (x14286) orange

and green pin 2 (x19594) to pin 1 (x14286) ? if I want to cut the wires... or soldered them together
Appreciate 0
      04-01-2013, 03:25 AM   #19
Jose_JN
Private First Class
Jose_JN's Avatar
Spain
34
Rep
178
Posts

Drives: e93 330d
Join Date: May 2011
Location: http://www.youtube.com/josejjn

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by N8N View Post
All of those sellers only post to DE or EU only unless someone wants to buy for me I'm in USA. And Pawel didn't have the one I needed, never mind that none of those appeared correct for me either... my car is pretty well loaded, I have auto-dim in and out, Homelink, alarm prep (LED) and compass. I believe I have "Radio" as well (does that mean remote? not sure)
Hello,

Radio is only for convertibles (because the remote control antenna is inside the mirror instead of near the third brake light)
So do not worry if you dont have a convertible.

Regards.
__________________
Why don't do it by your self?
Retrofitting is always possible!
Appreciate 0
      04-01-2013, 03:28 AM   #20
Jose_JN
Private First Class
Jose_JN's Avatar
Spain
34
Rep
178
Posts

Drives: e93 330d
Join Date: May 2011
Location: http://www.youtube.com/josejjn

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by smiley32 View Post
can not mount the camera on your mirror with auto-dim in , Homelink, alarm (LED) and compass?
I dont think so... I tried to do that and it is very difficult because the camera needs also many circuits for work properly and those circuits are inside the mirror. Maybe you could do that but I do not recommend it.

Better you sell your current mirror and buy another one with all the features you want. (I know this is the most expensive way...)
__________________
Why don't do it by your self?
Retrofitting is always possible!
Appreciate 0
      04-01-2013, 03:30 AM   #21
Jose_JN
Private First Class
Jose_JN's Avatar
Spain
34
Rep
178
Posts

Drives: e93 330d
Join Date: May 2011
Location: http://www.youtube.com/josejjn

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by smiley32 View Post
Jose JN

So you need to connect wires to orange pin 1 (x19594) to pin 2 (x14286) orange

and green pin 2 (x19594) to pin 1 (x14286) ? if I want to cut the wires... or soldered them together
You can do it this way if you prefer but I tried not to modify (cut or slice) the original wirings.
__________________
Why don't do it by your self?
Retrofitting is always possible!
Appreciate 0
      04-01-2013, 08:30 AM   #22
pweber84
Banned
pweber84's Avatar
Germany
7
Rep
347
Posts

Drives: BMW 330d e91
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Berlin, Germany / PL, Posen

iTrader: (2)

Send a message via Skype™ to pweber84
Jose_JN you had really good idea with this bridged wires, no need to cut anything.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:42 AM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST