E90Post
 


ECS BMW
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > General E90 Sedan / E91 Wagon / E92 Coupe / E93 Cabrio > Angel Eyes & TPMS Malfunction



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-16-2012, 11:52 PM   #1
Johnnyj525
Private
 
Drives: 2009 BMW 335i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Brooklyn, NY

Posts: 80
iTrader: (0)

Angel Eyes & TPMS Malfunction

Does anyone know if there is a correlation between TGS angel eyes and tpms malfunctions? Ever since I installed them I been getting a TPMS malfunction. Can anyone help??

Thanks
Johnnyj525 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-17-2012, 12:14 AM   #2
fireline43
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2013 Mercedes C250
Join Date: May 2012
Location: South Florida

Posts: 497
iTrader: (0)

Yes there is. I had the problem
fireline43 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-17-2012, 07:06 AM   #3
gpb
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 335i Cabrio
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Atlanta

Posts: 393
iTrader: (0)

Does it go away when you take them out?
gpb is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-17-2012, 07:23 AM   #4
fireline43
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2013 Mercedes C250
Join Date: May 2012
Location: South Florida

Posts: 497
iTrader: (0)

yes it does
fireline43 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-17-2012, 08:44 AM   #5
gpb
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 335i Cabrio
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Atlanta

Posts: 393
iTrader: (0)

Seems you have your answer then.

I e read here that some LEDs can create radio frequency interference sufficient to f up the TPMS system. Looks like you need to have a talk with whomever you bought them from as there's no way I'd put up with that.
gpb is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-17-2012, 01:17 PM   #6
Johnnyj525
Private
 
Drives: 2009 BMW 335i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Brooklyn, NY

Posts: 80
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fireline43
Yes there is. I had the problem
Did you get a refund from TGS?
Johnnyj525 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-17-2012, 03:13 PM   #7
fireline43
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2013 Mercedes C250
Join Date: May 2012
Location: South Florida

Posts: 497
iTrader: (0)

I had a different brand but it's a common problem across the board it seems. Its only with the newer units. I had dtec. I got a refund so id imagine you should also. I went through the trouble of changing out the tpms and everything. Spent like $200 just trying to figure out it was the angel eyes. Took them out and boom, no more problem. I put them back in again also to verify
fireline43 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-17-2012, 08:53 PM   #8
fun2drive
BMWCCA 149159
 
fun2drive's Avatar
 
Drives: E93 335 Vert E36 M3/4
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Florida Panhandle

Posts: 583
iTrader: (1)

If this is the issue I would try using shielding and see if that knocks now the RF output. There are two frequencies that BMW uses for the TPMS so it could be that or a harmonic there in. Initial freq was 315MHz and in I believe 2010 BMW changed to a new freq which I don't recall what that is. Found it 433MHz.
It would be easy to test. Typically tinfold that your wife or gf has wrapped around the power lines from the transformer to the lights can be done (yeah it looks like hell but remember this is just a test) to include the gnd. Some experiementation is in order but if that corrects the issue then you can decide if you want to wrap a proper shield around the issue areas which hopefully will knock the output down of the AE's allowing the TPMS to not be overpowered...
Just a suggestion. It would seem like something the manufacturer should consider doing since it doesn't add a great deal to the cost...

Last edited by fun2drive; 11-17-2012 at 09:05 PM.
fun2drive is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-19-2012, 06:53 PM   #9
Johnnyj525
Private
 
Drives: 2009 BMW 335i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Brooklyn, NY

Posts: 80
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fun2drive
If this is the issue I would try using shielding and see if that knocks now the RF output. There are two frequencies that BMW uses for the TPMS so it could be that or a harmonic there in. Initial freq was 315MHz and in I believe 2010 BMW changed to a new freq which I don't recall what that is. Found it 433MHz.
It would be easy to test. Typically tinfold that your wife or gf has wrapped around the power lines from the transformer to the lights can be done (yeah it looks like hell but remember this is just a test) to include the gnd. Some experiementation is in order but if that corrects the issue then you can decide if you want to wrap a proper shield around the issue areas which hopefully will knock the output down of the AE's allowing the TPMS to not be overpowered...
Just a suggestion. It would seem like something the manufacturer should consider doing since it doesn't add a great deal to the cost...
Yea ill try that. It's ridiculous though. I never though AE's would screw with my car like this!!!
Johnnyj525 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-19-2012, 08:09 PM   #10
fireline43
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2013 Mercedes C250
Join Date: May 2012
Location: South Florida

Posts: 497
iTrader: (0)

yea, I've come to like the originals now because of how much trouble the leds gave me. The led rings are retarded overpriced to me when people are posting a DIY for $150. Im so over the lights I dont care at this point anyway.
fireline43 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-19-2012, 08:16 PM   #11
pupsterdo
Private
 
Drives: 07 e92
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: USA

Posts: 89
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fireline43 View Post
yea, I've come to like the originals now because of how much trouble the leds gave me. The led rings are retarded overpriced to me when people are posting a DIY for $150. Im so over the lights I dont care at this point anyway.
pupsterdo is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-19-2012, 08:59 PM   #12
Karbon
Second Lieutenant
 
Karbon's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 335i
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Southwest Florida

Posts: 281
iTrader: (0)

I bought some LED Angel eyes for my 03 5 series from www.bmwled.net.

Super happy with them and they did not give me any codes at all. They've laster a year and a half so far and no issues.

I'm considering getting them for my e90 but i'm trying to find out if anyone here has tried them or has them in their car. They're under 60 bucks and the site says no codes garunteed.
__________________

2010 Alpine White 335i - Sports Package, Premium Package, Navigation, Comfort Access
Karbon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-20-2012, 09:57 AM   #13
KwlAznKid
Colonel
 
KwlAznKid's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW/MERCEDES/PORSCHE
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Irvine/Fremont, CA/ University of California San Diego Alum

Posts: 2,406
iTrader: (4)

did the tpms light come on right away for you guys? i put some angel eyes in on sunday and it was fine all of sunday and monday and tuesday morning i got a tpms light, haven't had a chance to check if i really do i have low tire pressure but visually the tires look fine
__________________
BMW E92 328I /BMW E46 M3 /Mercedes Benz W209 CLK500 /BMW E92 335I(sold)/Porsche 996 911 C2(sold)/BMW E46 325CI(totaled)
KwlAznKid is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-20-2012, 10:53 AM   #14
KwlAznKid
Colonel
 
KwlAznKid's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW/MERCEDES/PORSCHE
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Irvine/Fremont, CA/ University of California San Diego Alum

Posts: 2,406
iTrader: (4)

so i disconnected the angel eyes and checked and i still get a tpms error which suggests even more that i actually do have a low tire but the werid thing is that i started to get static on my radio on a station i listen to everyday, after i turned the angel eyes off the static went away instantly.. any ideas? going to the gas station at lunch to check my tire pressure but this is bothering me
__________________
BMW E92 328I /BMW E46 M3 /Mercedes Benz W209 CLK500 /BMW E92 335I(sold)/Porsche 996 911 C2(sold)/BMW E46 325CI(totaled)
KwlAznKid is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-20-2012, 11:24 AM   #15
gpb
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 335i Cabrio
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Atlanta

Posts: 393
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by KwlAznKid View Post
going to the gas station at lunch to check my tire pressure but this is bothering me
??? I highly recommend stopping by an Autozone or equivalent and just getting a digital tire pressure gauge. They're cheap and a zillion times more accurate that any gas station air pump gauge I've ever encountered.

Plus, you're supposed to check tire pressure on cold tires; i.e. when they've not been driven on for a few hours. Driving to the gas station is likely to bump up the pressure a couple PSI. Not a big deal when you're looking for one tire being off from the others, but for best results I recommend having your own tire gauge and small compressor at home.

Which wheel is TPMS saying is low pressure?
gpb is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-20-2012, 11:35 AM   #16
KwlAznKid
Colonel
 
KwlAznKid's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW/MERCEDES/PORSCHE
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Irvine/Fremont, CA/ University of California San Diego Alum

Posts: 2,406
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gpb View Post
??? I highly recommend stopping by an Autozone or equivalent and just getting a digital tire pressure gauge. They're cheap and a zillion times more accurate that any gas station air pump gauge I've ever encountered.

Plus, you're supposed to check tire pressure on cold tires; i.e. when they've not been driven on for a few hours. Driving to the gas station is likely to bump up the pressure a couple PSI. Not a big deal when you're looking for one tire being off from the others, but for best results I recommend having your own tire gauge and small compressor at home.

Which wheel is TPMS saying is low pressure?
yeah i was thinking about picking one up, there's a pepboys right by the gas station too, maybe i'll go there instead. i don't know which wheel, i don't have idrive so it just gives me the error message and says low pressure, but not which wheel man i miss the idrive i had on my 335i
__________________
BMW E92 328I /BMW E46 M3 /Mercedes Benz W209 CLK500 /BMW E92 335I(sold)/Porsche 996 911 C2(sold)/BMW E46 325CI(totaled)
KwlAznKid is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-20-2012, 05:18 PM   #17
fireline43
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2013 Mercedes C250
Join Date: May 2012
Location: South Florida

Posts: 497
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by KwlAznKid View Post
did the tpms light come on right away for you guys? i put some angel eyes in on sunday and it was fine all of sunday and monday and tuesday morning i got a tpms light, haven't had a chance to check if i really do i have low tire pressure but visually the tires look fine
Yea the error came up like the next day for me. Then when I did the reinstall, it was immediatly.
fireline43 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-20-2012, 05:56 PM   #18
KwlAznKid
Colonel
 
KwlAznKid's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW/MERCEDES/PORSCHE
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Irvine/Fremont, CA/ University of California San Diego Alum

Posts: 2,406
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fireline43 View Post
Yea the error came up like the next day for me. Then when I did the reinstall, it was immediatly.

lucky for me i was just going crazy for nothing, went down to pepboys just now and bought a tire pressure reader.. was a bit low, added some air and bam the tpms error went away, guess i just really did have a tire that was a bit low lol
__________________
BMW E92 328I /BMW E46 M3 /Mercedes Benz W209 CLK500 /BMW E92 335I(sold)/Porsche 996 911 C2(sold)/BMW E46 325CI(totaled)
KwlAznKid is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-20-2012, 07:13 PM   #19
fireline43
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2013 Mercedes C250
Join Date: May 2012
Location: South Florida

Posts: 497
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by KwlAznKid View Post
lucky for me i was just going crazy for nothing, went down to pepboys just now and bought a tire pressure reader.. was a bit low, added some air and bam the tpms error went away, guess i just really did have a tire that was a bit low lol

haha, glad to hear.
fireline43 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-18-2013, 11:42 PM   #20
reficuliu
Private First Class
 
reficuliu's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 E92 Montego Blue 335i
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: SoCal

Posts: 140
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2007 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by fun2drive View Post
If this is the issue I would try using shielding and see if that knocks now the RF output. There are two frequencies that BMW uses for the TPMS so it could be that or a harmonic there in. Initial freq was 315MHz and in I believe 2010 BMW changed to a new freq which I don't recall what that is. Found it 433MHz.
It would be easy to test. Typically tinfold that your wife or gf has wrapped around the power lines from the transformer to the lights can be done (yeah it looks like hell but remember this is just a test) to include the gnd. Some experiementation is in order but if that corrects the issue then you can decide if you want to wrap a proper shield around the issue areas which hopefully will knock the output down of the AE's allowing the TPMS to not be overpowered...
Just a suggestion. It would seem like something the manufacturer should consider doing since it doesn't add a great deal to the cost...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnnyj525 View Post
Yea ill try that. It's ridiculous though. I never though AE's would screw with my car like this!!!
Did anyone ever try shielding? I'm curious of the final results
reficuliu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-19-2013, 03:07 AM   #21
reficuliu
Private First Class
 
reficuliu's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 E92 Montego Blue 335i
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: SoCal

Posts: 140
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2007 335i  [0.00]
Ok, so since I purchased my LED lights from eBay, I really don't have confidence I will get my money back in full. After uninstalling the lights, i just tried (very skeptically) and wrapped ALL the wire (red and black each individually) with aluminum foil. I did it from the beginning to the end of each wire, as long as it was visible i wrapped it. I reinstalled the lights after doing so, and apparently the aluminum foil really does block the radio frequency interruption. I will drive it around for a few days to see if the TPMS error shows again.

P.S. i left out the Error Cancelling Resistors, and i'm driving a 2007 E92, most likely FRM2
reficuliu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-11-2013, 11:22 AM   #22
tony3series
Private
 
Drives: 6mt 335i coupe BSM/coral red
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Michigan

Posts: 54
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by reficuliu View Post
Ok, so since I purchased my LED lights from eBay, I really don't have confidence I will get my money back in full. After uninstalling the lights, i just tried (very skeptically) and wrapped ALL the wire (red and black each individually) with aluminum foil. I did it from the beginning to the end of each wire, as long as it was visible i wrapped it. I reinstalled the lights after doing so, and apparently the aluminum foil really does block the radio frequency interruption. I will drive it around for a few days to see if the TPMS error shows again.

P.S. i left out the Error Cancelling Resistors, and i'm driving a 2007 E92, most likely FRM2
Did the error show back up after driving for a few days?

I have Alpine HID 6k angel eyes. They came with the car. The TPMS hasn't worked since day one. I wonder if I try shielding my whole set-up if it'll work. I'll probably try unplugging them for a while to see if it's actually the angel eyes causing the problem or if the previous owner did something weird with the TPMS. Bought the car with non runflats on so who knows.
tony3series is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:43 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST