E90Post
 


GTB Performance
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > L7 amp upgrade



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-23-2013, 12:33 AM   #1
Thorium
Private
United_States
0

 
Thorium's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: MA


Posts: 55
iTrader: (1)

L7 amp upgrade

Does anyone know aftermarket full range amp that take high level input? like mono amp from JL600/1. Or it have to go through a signal processors like the JL cleansweap , audiocontrol LC7i for example. Im looking to do amp upgrade to drive L7 speaker,without cutting any wire. I also notice that Technic sell sub harness that would come in handy, as i can cut it wire to rca input. Any input will be great.
Appreciate 0
      02-23-2013, 10:45 AM   #2
ctuna
Brigadier General
44

 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca


Posts: 4,294
iTrader: (0)

Do not cut wires use T taps if necessary.

Do not cut wires use T taps if necessary.
Appreciate 0
      02-23-2013, 12:17 PM   #3
kaigoss69
Brigadier General
United_States
63

 
kaigoss69's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 335i
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: JAX


Posts: 3,065
iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kygiabao
Does anyone know aftermarket full range amp that take high level input? like mono amp from JL600/1. Or it have to go through a signal processors like the JL cleansweap , audiocontrol LC7i for example. Im looking to do amp upgrade to drive L7 speaker,without cutting any wire. I also notice that Technic sell sub harness that would come in handy, as i can cut it wire to rca input. Any input will be great.
What is your goal? Unless you want the capability to go crazy loud, one of the easiest and best sounding upgrades for the money would be the addition of a JBL MS-8 which will handle amplification of the OEM speakers, processing of the signal, time alignment, EQ, and provide and RCA out for your sub amp.
__________________
Mobridge DA2 > JBL MS-8 > ARC XDi 600/4 > JBL Gti 408 Mids & Vifa XT19 Tweeters; PG Ti2 1600.5 > Morel HCW-10 & IDMax 15
Appreciate 0
      02-23-2013, 05:44 PM   #4
Thorium
Private
United_States
0

 
Thorium's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: MA


Posts: 55
iTrader: (1)

Im looking to get the signal from oem amp to an after market amp, then back to the existing wired to drive the speaker. If that is possible. Since i cant replace L7 amp.
Appreciate 0
      02-23-2013, 11:08 PM   #5
ctuna
Brigadier General
44

 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca


Posts: 4,294
iTrader: (0)

Its possible but a bad idea for anything but a sub.

Its possible but a bad idea for anything but a sub.
You actually can replace the L7 amp a lot of people do it .
You can do it with a mobridge da2 pre amp or a lot of people reprogram there radio to Hi Fi output
and use and ms-8 and some combination of amps and speakers.
A mobridge da2 pre amp will accept the fiberoptic
output of the L7 head unit as it is.
Appreciate 0
      02-24-2013, 01:36 PM   #6
Thorium
Private
United_States
0

 
Thorium's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: MA


Posts: 55
iTrader: (1)

Thanks a ton guys
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:31 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST