E90Post
 


Lux Angel Eyes
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > UK Technical Forum > More oomph...



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-22-2011, 04:05 PM   #1
rich1068
has left the building
United Kingdom
54
Rep
3,363
Posts

 
Drives: F30 330d M Sport
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

More oomph...

As I understand it my options are limited if not nonexistent. Are there any remaps available for the latest incarnation of the 320d?
Appreciate 0
      05-22-2011, 04:13 PM   #2
QLD
Captain
QLD's Avatar
16
Rep
899
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 LCI E92 - Mineral White
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: ...

iTrader: (0)

Yes, but they have to be applied directly to the ECU - which means removing it from the car.

Job takes about 3 to 4 hrs to fully do (inc removal and replacement).
__________________
.
.



..sweet torquin' diesel!
Appreciate 0
      05-22-2011, 05:13 PM   #3
rich1068
has left the building
United Kingdom
54
Rep
3,363
Posts

 
Drives: F30 330d M Sport
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Ah. That would explain Superchips reply when I spoke to them.
Appreciate 0
      05-16-2012, 07:40 AM   #4
rich1068
has left the building
United Kingdom
54
Rep
3,363
Posts

 
Drives: F30 330d M Sport
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

It's been a year but I'd like to revive this one.

My options are still limited from what I gather. I'd love the official BMW Performance Power thing but at 1k+ it isn't going to happen. A remap from elsewhere would be great but unfortunately flashing via the OBD still isn't possible and I don't fancy the ECU being removed.

That leaves me with tuning boxes. Now a few years ago I'd have laughed at the suggestion but things seem to have come on since my VAG days. I've looked around the DTUK site and their products look good but I'm still unsure. Does anyone have one on their 320d? Or any other feedback about them. Or can anyone suggest another product/box?
Appreciate 0
      05-16-2012, 08:01 AM   #5
xenon
Major General
xenon's Avatar
England
73
Rep
5,036
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 F10 520d M-Sport
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Coventry

iTrader: (0)

I'm interested to know to. DTUK do two boxes for the 184bhp 2.0d, one is simply fuelling and the other also controls boost. The figures look impressive but I've tried neither.
__________________
Ian
Current: 2013 F10 520d M-Sport, Professional Media, Visibility Pack, Reversing Camera, DAB
Previous: 2011 F10 520d M-Sport, 2008 320i M-Sport Coupe, 2002 325i, 2001 318i valvetronic, 1998 318i, 1996 525i, 1990 Porsche 944S2
Appreciate 0
      05-16-2012, 08:37 AM   #6
Initial M
Private First Class
2
Rep
188
Posts

 
Drives: 3 series
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: east london

iTrader: (4)

The DTUK boxes make a big difference. It's not a difference like flicking the Nos switch in Fast and Furious but it makes overtaking effortless and it picks up speed a lot quicker. You'll also notice that the economy will improve providing you don't drive like a hooligan all the time.

I actually have a DTUK Red Tuning for sale at the moment. It's originally for a 318d LCI but can be reprogrammed by the manufacturer as all the units are same except the programs.
Appreciate 0
      05-16-2012, 09:18 AM   #7
IanS100
Colonel
IanS100's Avatar
United Kingdom
32
Rep
2,650
Posts

 
Drives: 320d LCI M Sport Plus
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Southport UK

iTrader: (0)

Do the DTUK boxes still screw up the accuracy of the on-board computer?
Appreciate 0
      05-19-2012, 03:03 PM   #8
mc_blue
Private First Class
4
Rep
159
Posts

 
Drives: BMW 320d M Sport LCI
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Romford and Birmingham

iTrader: (0)

I'm also interested to know warranty implications!
Appreciate 0
      02-24-2013, 11:30 AM   #9
Apl000?
Major
Apl000?'s Avatar
United Kingdom
17
Rep
1,262
Posts

 
Drives: F30 335D
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Putney, London

iTrader: (1)

BUMP!

has anyone got a review for this on a 320d LCI?

I am weary of plug in boxes, but my views may be outdated.

Any info would be good!

I am searching (thats how I found this thread) so please don't eat me if i have not found the best thread yet.

thanks

Antony
Appreciate 0
      02-24-2013, 11:36 AM   #10
magic77
Colonel
magic77's Avatar
United Kingdom
38
Rep
2,764
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Surrey

iTrader: (0)

I run a DTUK box for awhile it was the twin channel, fuel and boost sensors. It worked well but in end went down the root of the performance pack which turned out to be best thing. Its now in my mates 520D auto and he loves it.

At same time if car is out of warranty a simple remap by a reputable firm even if it means ECU out is not end of the world
__________________
F30 335i M Sport
Appreciate 0
      02-26-2013, 08:28 AM   #11
Apl000?
Major
Apl000?'s Avatar
United Kingdom
17
Rep
1,262
Posts

 
Drives: F30 335D
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Putney, London

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by magic77 View Post
I run a DTUK box for awhile it was the twin channel, fuel and boost sensors. It worked well but in end went down the root of the performance pack which turned out to be best thing. Its now in my mates 520D auto and he loves it.

At same time if car is out of warranty a simple remap by a reputable firm even if it means ECU out is not end of the world
Thanks mate, I am swaying towards the DTUK 2 chanel box....
Appreciate 0
      02-26-2013, 03:36 PM   #12
Sword906
New Member
0
Rep
21
Posts

 
Drives: Bmw coupe
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Uk

iTrader: (0)

Hi, i had a remap yesterday with BW Chiptune. I have 330d LCI diesel.They will have no problem removing the encryption from tri-core ECU.

305bhp and 525 ftlbs torque. It cheapest option to upgrade the power
Appreciate 0
      02-26-2013, 03:55 PM   #13
magic77
Colonel
magic77's Avatar
United Kingdom
38
Rep
2,764
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Surrey

iTrader: (0)

Sounds good did they code via OBD or take out the ECU
__________________
F30 335i M Sport
Appreciate 0
      02-26-2013, 05:34 PM   #14
Sword906
New Member
0
Rep
21
Posts

 
Drives: Bmw coupe
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Uk

iTrader: (0)

With all encrypted models like ours the ECU have to be removed and can't be flashed via the OBD port.
Appreciate 0
      02-26-2013, 05:42 PM   #15
magic77
Colonel
magic77's Avatar
United Kingdom
38
Rep
2,764
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Surrey

iTrader: (0)

Yep thats the case with mine have a spare ECU since having the pack fitted considering it giving them to play with to see what can come out of it
__________________
F30 335i M Sport
Appreciate 0
      02-26-2013, 05:56 PM   #16
Sword906
New Member
0
Rep
21
Posts

 
Drives: Bmw coupe
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Uk

iTrader: (0)

He can also make it switchable afterwards via the OBD port. However, he has signed a third party agreement not to do that until they release a switching system. Won't budge on that I'm afraid. I'm told the switch is about three months away.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:04 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST