E90Post
 


GetBMWParts
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > E90 HIFI Aftermarket Headunit Wiring Diagram



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-26-2013, 10:46 PM   #1
gte460z
Private
 
Drives: 2008 328xi
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Boston, MA

Posts: 68
iTrader: (0)

E90 HIFI Aftermarket Headunit Wiring Diagram

After searching long and hard for a semi complete wiring diagram (for an aftermarket headunit install into an E90 w/ Hifi audio) and just not finding all the information in a single location, I decided to whip one up. I know some of you already know all of this but I hope this will save some people time in the future and maybe convince a few more people to upgrade their headunits.

This diagram was made specifically (with Visio) for my 2008 328xi with Hifi Audio but should work for most with the hifi package and an e90/92/93 chassis. The diagram shows the connections required to maintain steering wheel controls with an ASWC and the fuse location to connect to get 12V battery unswitched with no sleep timer (without having to run a wire directly to the battery). I recommend using an "add a fuse" to tap into the fuse box btw. I can also confirm that the ASWC auto detected my steering wheel buttons, all of them are functional. Please feel free to comment, critique or offer suggestions.

Cheers!

P.S. Special thanks to Garagemethods and whoever provided the link to the fuse box diagram

For people having trouble viewing the pics, click these direct links:
http://imgur.com/bKboRpb -> Wiring Diagram **Has been edited, changed from speaker level input to line level input (using RCA jacks on headunit). Results in much cleaner sound.
http://imgur.com/JSHf81R -> Fuse locations for 2007 e90
http://imgur.com/MtVZA2d -> Fuse locations for 2008 e90, I used fuse 73 for my installation.

Here is a picture of my 08 e90 fuse box with 12V non switched battery locations indicated with red arrows and a link listing my findings and the fuse numbers:
http://imgur.com/IDbtezH.jpg
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showpo...82&postcount=6

Be sure to check YOUR car's fuse box diagram as the fuse locations change depending on month/year and transmission type. Look for the car door with the key inside of it symbol to see the fuses that are constant live (no sleep mode cutoff)


Last edited by gte460z; 03-01-2013 at 04:57 PM.
gte460z is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-26-2013, 10:55 PM   #2
ctuna
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

Posts: 4,164
iTrader: (0)

Nice that you layed it out

Nice that you layed it out .
The one thing that I was thinking of is this runs the
speaker outs from the new head unit instead of the low level RCA's
to the Hi Fi amp or Hi Fi amp wiring . So maybe you should include a way to route the low level outputs to whatever amp is at the end of the cable.
Or maybe I am wrong. Please comment.
It would be nice to get an aftermarket sticky going with all the things
you need to do to get it to work cleanly and suppress error signals and retain alarms by model year and options.
ctuna is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-26-2013, 11:03 PM   #3
gte460z
Private
 
Drives: 2008 328xi
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Boston, MA

Posts: 68
iTrader: (0)

The OEM Hifi amplifier will accept speaker level inputs. There should be no need to wire RCA plugs into the Metra adapter with the stock BMW Hifi audio package.
__________________
Georgia Tech Graduate, BS in Electrical Engineering
gte460z is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-26-2013, 11:39 PM   #4
garagemethods
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: '08 328i Sport
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Dallas, Tx

Posts: 37
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2008 BMW 328i  [0.00]
Can't see the pics, just little thumbnails of "broken pictures".

Did you confirm the fuse location after sleep? and did that ASWC work for you without manual programming?

Appreciate the thanks!
garagemethods is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-27-2013, 12:05 AM   #5
gte460z
Private
 
Drives: 2008 328xi
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Boston, MA

Posts: 68
iTrader: (0)

ASWC is still in the mail, should be installed by Thursday. I'll let you know if it auto detects or I have to manually program it. The wiring was taken directly from the Metra installation instructions for a 2008 328i and independently confirmed via you, lol.

As for the fuse location for the non sleep power. The central locking system fuses are always live (so you can remote/fob unlock your car). Apparently these fuse locations change depending on year and AT vs MT so just check your fuse box diagram and look for the fuse numbers listed next to the door with the key symbol in it to find the always live fuses. I'll check my fuse box tomorrow to see exactly what fuse I used.
__________________
Georgia Tech Graduate, BS in Electrical Engineering

Last edited by gte460z; 02-27-2013 at 12:15 AM.
gte460z is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-27-2013, 10:43 AM   #6
gte460z
Private
 
Drives: 2008 328xi
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Boston, MA

Posts: 68
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by garagemethods View Post
Can't see the pics, just little thumbnails of "broken pictures".

Did you confirm the fuse location after sleep? and did that ASWC work for you without manual programming?

Appreciate the thanks!
The fuse location I used was fuse 73 which I can confirm works.
__________________
Georgia Tech Graduate, BS in Electrical Engineering
gte460z is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-27-2013, 10:40 PM   #7
Agentphish
Lieutenant
 
Drives: '08 328i
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: South Bay

Posts: 584
iTrader: (0)

gte460z - can you get full sized fuse box images uploaded for the 2008 e90?

Thanks!
Agentphish is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-27-2013, 11:46 PM   #8
gte460z
Private
 
Drives: 2008 328xi
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Boston, MA

Posts: 68
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agentphish View Post
gte460z - can you get full sized fuse box images uploaded for the 2008 e90?

Thanks!
Here is a picture of my 08 e90 fuse box (to complement the diagram in my first post) with 12V non switched battery locations indicated with red arrows and a link listing my findings and the fuse numbers:
http://imgur.com/IDbtezH.jpg
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showpo...82&postcount=6

This was also added to my first post.
__________________
Georgia Tech Graduate, BS in Electrical Engineering
gte460z is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-28-2013, 03:35 AM   #9
soupey
New Member
 
Drives: 2006 325xi
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Canada

Posts: 11
iTrader: (0)

my cigarette lighter only turns on when the car is switched on, is there a way to get power when the keyfob is in (engine not turned on)?
soupey is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-28-2013, 08:39 AM   #10
Agentphish
Lieutenant
 
Drives: '08 328i
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: South Bay

Posts: 584
iTrader: (0)

Thanks for the photo, I should have been more clear, I meant the diagram you posted as the image itself is pretty small.

Thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by gte460z View Post
Here is a picture of my 08 e90 fuse box (to complement the diagram in my first post) with 12V non switched battery locations indicated with red arrows and a link listing my findings and the fuse numbers:
http://imgur.com/IDbtezH.jpg
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showpo...82&postcount=6

This was also added to my first post.
Agentphish is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-28-2013, 10:18 AM   #11
gte460z
Private
 
Drives: 2008 328xi
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Boston, MA

Posts: 68
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agentphish View Post
Thanks for the photo, I should have been more clear, I meant the diagram you posted as the image itself is pretty small.

Thanks!
I increased the size and sharpened it. That any better?

http://imgur.com/MtVZA2d

Also, I changed the link in the first post. I will try to scan a better quality version in today.

Quote:
Originally Posted by soupey View Post
my cigarette lighter only turns on when the car is switched on, is there a way to get power when the keyfob is in (engine not turned on)?
I didn't check for a fuse that switches on when just the keyfob is in since I don't use the radio unless the car has been started. I will check for a fuse that meets your condition next time I am in the car with the multimeter.
__________________
Georgia Tech Graduate, BS in Electrical Engineering

Last edited by gte460z; 02-28-2013 at 10:28 AM.
gte460z is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-28-2013, 03:17 PM   #12
Agentphish
Lieutenant
 
Drives: '08 328i
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: South Bay

Posts: 584
iTrader: (0)

awesome. thanks very much.
Agentphish is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-01-2013, 12:14 PM   #13
gte460z
Private
 
Drives: 2008 328xi
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Boston, MA

Posts: 68
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by garagemethods View Post
and did that ASWC work for you without manual programming?
The ASWC did auto detect my settings.

Also, I am getting some weird static at times with my current wiring, I am going to try the RCA line level route and see if that helps. If it does, I'll update the wiring diagram.
__________________
Georgia Tech Graduate, BS in Electrical Engineering
gte460z is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-01-2013, 01:34 PM   #14
soupey
New Member
 
Drives: 2006 325xi
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Canada

Posts: 11
iTrader: (0)

thanks for taking a look for me!, i like to have the car off sometimes with the music on (like the OEM unit would allow). I'm having a hell of a time looking for an accessory wire to allow it to happen though.

the rest of the info you've given is gold though. I did have a feedback problem with the oem amp harness wiring. i ended up making a new ground for it in the trunk that solved all the engine noise/hissing issues.
soupey is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-01-2013, 04:29 PM   #15
gte460z
Private
 
Drives: 2008 328xi
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Boston, MA

Posts: 68
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by soupey View Post
thanks for taking a look for me!, i like to have the car off sometimes with the music on (like the OEM unit would allow). I'm having a hell of a time looking for an accessory wire to allow it to happen though.

the rest of the info you've given is gold though. I did have a feedback problem with the oem amp harness wiring. i ended up making a new ground for it in the trunk that solved all the engine noise/hissing issues.
The cigarette lighter under the radio on my car turns on when the fob is inserted and the car is turned on (engine not started, quick stab of the start button). So I can confirm that I can listen to the radio with the engine off.

Also, sound is much better with the harness wired up to RCA plugs (line level) instead of speaker level. The noise floor is too high after the speaker level outputs get amplified at the trunk amp resulting in a faint static (can't hear it while driving, only when parked for me). I am going to update the wiring diagram.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctuna View Post
So maybe you should include a way to route the low level outputs to whatever amp is at the end of the cable.
Or maybe I am wrong. Please comment.
I retract my statement that speaker level outputs are the way to go. They will work but you will get much cleaner sound using the RCA plugs (low level outputs) as you mentioned.

**Edit** The diagram has been updated.
__________________
Georgia Tech Graduate, BS in Electrical Engineering

Last edited by gte460z; 03-01-2013 at 04:54 PM.
gte460z is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-01-2013, 09:54 PM   #16
ctuna
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

Posts: 4,164
iTrader: (0)

I was wondering what that BS in electronics meant.

I was wondering what that BS in electronics meant.
I didn't want to start a war but I notice a lot of the head unit change
guys make this mistake.
Did you figure out a easy way to reroute the low level signals to the
harness cleanly.
ctuna is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-01-2013, 10:04 PM   #17
soupey
New Member
 
Drives: 2006 325xi
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Canada

Posts: 11
iTrader: (0)

edit:
well you're right about the cig lighter turning on after i hit the start button. Thanks!

I have another problem now, are you having any problems with the stock wiring adapted to RCA cables giving any kind of interference? Im considering wiring 3 sets of RCA's to the trunk at this point...feel like im progressively getting more and more noise now

Last edited by soupey; 03-02-2013 at 09:49 AM.
soupey is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-03-2013, 06:49 PM   #18
gte460z
Private
 
Drives: 2008 328xi
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Boston, MA

Posts: 68
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctuna View Post
I was wondering what that BS in electronics meant.
I didn't want to start a war but I notice a lot of the head unit change
guys make this mistake.
Did you figure out a easy way to reroute the low level signals to the
harness cleanly.
The Alpine head unit I used has a separate harness for the low level outputs (instead of RCA jacks on the back of the head unit). I wired my harness directly to the Alpine low level harness after cutting the RCA plugs off.

Quote:
Originally Posted by soupey View Post
edit:
I have another problem now, are you having any problems with the stock wiring adapted to RCA cables giving any kind of interference? Im considering wiring 3 sets of RCA's to the trunk at this point...feel like im progressively getting more and more noise now
The RCA cables I spliced into were coax. The OEM BMW harness is twisted pair. Both of these cable runs should have pretty good noise suppression. I have no noise issues after wiring to the low level RCAs. I did however twist my metra harness speaker wires (negatives twisted to positives for each channel) to continue the twisted pair from the BMW harness all the way up to the coax.
__________________
Georgia Tech Graduate, BS in Electrical Engineering

Last edited by gte460z; 03-03-2013 at 07:02 PM.
gte460z is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-19-2013, 10:15 AM   #19
soupey
New Member
 
Drives: 2006 325xi
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Canada

Posts: 11
iTrader: (0)

Just tried to wire up the metra adapter as diagrammed and I can't get the damn thing to work. It turns down the volume on my pioneer hu during the automatic setup process but then nothing works. Is metra supposed to be compatible with all e90's?
soupey is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-19-2013, 11:31 AM   #20
gte460z
Private
 
Drives: 2008 328xi
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Boston, MA

Posts: 68
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by soupey View Post
Just tried to wire up the metra adapter as diagrammed and I can't get the damn thing to work. It turns down the volume on my pioneer hu during the automatic setup process but then nothing works. Is metra supposed to be compatible with all e90's?
If it is hooked up the correct way (as shown in the diagram), to get your buttons to work you have to reset your ASWC so the next time you turn it on it will auto discover your buttons and radio. Turn your car on, immediately after, repeatedly press your volume up button on your steering wheel for 10-15 seconds while its auto detecting (this is also mentioned in the ASWC manual). This is what I had to do to get the ASWC to recognize my steering wheel buttons. Auto detect mode without doing this will result in the radio being recognized and the steering wheel buttons not working (happened to me too!). When I had a pioneer headunit the volume would go down a couple of notches when the ASWC does its auto detection mode so I think that part was normal.
__________________
Georgia Tech Graduate, BS in Electrical Engineering
gte460z is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-20-2013, 12:24 AM   #21
soupey
New Member
 
Drives: 2006 325xi
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Canada

Posts: 11
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gte460z View Post
If it is hooked up the correct way (as shown in the diagram), to get your buttons to work you have to reset your ASWC so the next time you turn it on it will auto discover your buttons and radio. Turn your car on, immediately after, repeatedly press your volume up button on your steering wheel for 10-15 seconds while its auto detecting (this is also mentioned in the ASWC manual). This is what I had to do to get the ASWC to recognize my steering wheel buttons. Auto detect mode without doing this will result in the radio being recognized and the steering wheel buttons not working (happened to me too!). When I had a pioneer headunit the volume would go down a couple of notches when the ASWC does its auto detection mode so I think that part was normal.
hmm i think i kept my car on while trying to get it to work and just hit the reset button on the ASWC module. I'll try to reset it, then turn off power, then turn on the car and hit the volume up button right away and see if that makes a difference, hopefully i can get this thing working this time.

thanks again for all your help!
soupey is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-20-2013, 06:18 AM   #22
soupey
New Member
 
Drives: 2006 325xi
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Canada

Posts: 11
iTrader: (0)

Turns out I was sold an aswc unit that was outdated. Going to have to get a newer one (no way to get an update cable for cheap) figured I'll go for the updated aswc-1 unit instead and hope I don't run into any issues this time.
soupey is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:33 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST