E90Post
 


Bimmer Retrofit
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > UK Technical Forum > Batteries? What's the lowdown on replacement



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-12-2013, 06:42 PM   #1
shrink
Captain
shrink's Avatar
United Kingdom
8
Rep
752
Posts

 
Drives: E90 325i SE
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Edinburgh (UK)

iTrader: (2)

Batteries? What's the lowdown on replacement

So I have a 2005 325i

It's clearly on its original battery, and is now complaining about very low charge any time the car is sat for more than 2-3 mins with the engine off. So looks like the battery is dying.

I've searched high and low on this and other forums, but can't get a properly clear picture of my options here.

Some suggest I can just replace it and get on with my life, others say it needs reset by a dealer for a new battery, meaning nonsense costs.

So what's the deal? Has something as simple as a battery really become a dealer replacement part, if so, BMW really don't miss a trick do they.
Appreciate 0
      03-12-2013, 06:46 PM   #2
GoRomeo
Colonel
GoRomeo's Avatar
26
Rep
2,366
Posts

 
Drives: 330i
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: San Diego CA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2006 330i  [2.83]
You havent found the info on this yet....keep reading....
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2013, 02:43 AM   #3
shrink
Captain
shrink's Avatar
United Kingdom
8
Rep
752
Posts

 
Drives: E90 325i SE
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Edinburgh (UK)

iTrader: (2)

Oh plenty info, but no real consensus. Too much confusion out there.

Looking for someone that really knows what they are doing to suggest a more difinitive answer
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2013, 03:56 AM   #4
Dan-danGT
Lieutenant
Dan-danGT's Avatar
United Kingdom
6
Rep
527
Posts

 
Drives: E90 330d M-Sport
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Nottinghamshire

iTrader: (0)

I dont know lots on the battery issue, But i do have a snap on solus pro diagnostic machine. If i go into the engine ecu i can programme a new battery to the vehicle.
So yes it does need to be programmed but i imagine if you found a indy locally they should do that for you.
Only reason i can see why it needs programming is so the battery management system knows its a new battery and wont drain so fast as a old one, and will also not need some many amps to charge it either. Someone will be along soon to correct a few things im sure
Dan
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2013, 04:26 AM   #5
doughboy
Major General
doughboy's Avatar
United Kingdom
85
Rep
6,384
Posts

 
Drives: E91 335i Sold.
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK

iTrader: (2)

Just take it to a good garage (any one) they will check its not your alternator first of all.

They will have autologic or similar and be able to do diagnostics / resetting via that.

No BMW Dealer shafting required.
__________________
335i gone E63 AMG here at last!

Last edited by doughboy; 03-13-2013 at 05:35 AM.
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2013, 04:42 AM   #6
chesney72
First Lieutenant
chesney72's Avatar
Scotland
6
Rep
378
Posts

 
Drives: JB4 G5 335i Sport Touring
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Scotland

iTrader: (1)

If you want to drive up to me I'll register it for you but I'm 100 miles away from Edinburgh and there's bound to be an indy in Edinburgh that can do it. It takes a few minutes.

I registered my 2nd battery with Tool32 (BMW Standard Tools) and its been fine since. My first one I simply changed and it started failing within a month!!

I think what Shrink is asking is whether his car is old enough not to need it as there is some talk saying some pre 2006 cars might not need it. My suggestion would be to ask the dealer to check but you take a chance that you call somebody with a clue!

WHatever you do make sure its the exact same spec of battery as if the amp is different you need to code it as well as register it.

EDIT: indy/bmw also use DIS/GT1 and there are online guides for both methods.

Last edited by chesney72; 03-13-2013 at 04:53 AM.
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2013, 07:38 AM   #7
a11y
Second Lieutenant
a11y's Avatar
Scotland
7
Rep
291
Posts

 
Drives: E90 330i M Sport
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Central Scotland

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
I replaced the battery in my 2007/57 330i without any sort of battery coding to the vehicle. I determined what replacement battery I needed (I didn't realise car batteries had codes in the same way that AA/D size batteries do) and fitted it myself. No problems after 2k more miles.

I had similar symptoms to you: got warnings about low battery charge then it refused to start after I was fannying around with audio with the engine off for a while.
__________________
BMW e90 330i M Sport
Appreciate 0
      03-15-2013, 06:44 PM   #8
shrink
Captain
shrink's Avatar
United Kingdom
8
Rep
752
Posts

 
Drives: E90 325i SE
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Edinburgh (UK)

iTrader: (2)

Thanks guys... So still some thinking to do!

God bless over complicated cars!
Appreciate 0
      03-17-2013, 05:59 PM   #9
Terryk
Private First Class
Terryk's Avatar
United Kingdom
1
Rep
165
Posts

 
Drives: E90 Montego Blue 320i N46B20
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Hertfordshire, UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shrink View Post
Thanks guys... So still some thinking to do!

God bless over complicated cars!

tell it again mate...I think we 'll start reminisce the e30s

Why we can't have the simplicity of those cars with the benefits (in safety and efficiency) of a modern car?

in few years time from now, if we 'll decide to use a different shampoo or wax than the manufacturer will advice, we 'll be forced to code it first in order the car's body panels to accept it.
__________________
E90 Montego Blue 320i N46B20
Appreciate 0
      03-17-2013, 06:02 PM   #10
shrink
Captain
shrink's Avatar
United Kingdom
8
Rep
752
Posts

 
Drives: E90 325i SE
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Edinburgh (UK)

iTrader: (2)

Absolutely, and some of the tech is needless. You can't help but feel the only requirement that a battery charging monitoring system fills, is that of giving BMW something else to charge for. I'm fairly sure other companies don't make it such a pain to replace a battery.

I'm also sure that batteries worked just fine in my e46 without these systems in place!
Appreciate 0
      03-24-2013, 02:31 AM   #11
Dr Dave
Zummerzet Zyder Drinker!
Dr Dave's Avatar
United Kingdom
63
Rep
5,541
Posts

 
Drives: '06 330D Le Mans Blue
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Somerset

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
Just replace the battery with a new one with the same rating as the old, job done, happy days no need for dealer shafting.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      03-25-2013, 12:59 PM   #12
skybox
Private First Class
skybox's Avatar
1
Rep
122
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335i Dinan II
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Dacula, GA

iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to skybox
Hi Guys, Is this the get around for new battery replacement with out the need to register it? Let me know your thoughts.



Appreciate 0
      03-26-2013, 09:03 AM   #13
shrink
Captain
shrink's Avatar
United Kingdom
8
Rep
752
Posts

 
Drives: E90 325i SE
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Edinburgh (UK)

iTrader: (2)

well not what i'd call a "workaround" as all he does is replace the battery.

what he's done is come up with a "workaround" for not having to reset your clocks and windows etc!
Appreciate 0
      03-26-2013, 09:04 AM   #14
shrink
Captain
shrink's Avatar
United Kingdom
8
Rep
752
Posts

 
Drives: E90 325i SE
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Edinburgh (UK)

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr Dave View Post
Just replace the battery with a new one with the same rating as the old, job done, happy days no need for dealer shafting.
and what about the charging system potentially knackering the new battery?
Appreciate 0
      05-31-2013, 08:26 AM   #15
Greg330
Captain
Greg330's Avatar
12
Rep
835
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: South Coast

iTrader: (0)

I'm looking at this now as mine will get replaced before the next winter....

The dealer has quoted 125 for the battery and 87.50 to register it.

Now I've found the battery on BMMINIPARTS for 102.28 delivered so thats a win! Next up I emailed BMTECHNIC which I have a Diagnostic Kit from and he emailed me the process of registering a new battery which seemed pretty simple!

I agree registering a battery seems crazy but I think its just another way to keep you tied to the dealership!!
Appreciate 0
      05-31-2013, 01:46 PM   #16
crypticc
Captain
United Kingdom
7
Rep
650
Posts

 
Drives: e92 M3 DCT + Comp
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: London, UK

iTrader: (0)

You do need to register a new battery of the same rating as the OEM one. That's to reset charge cycles and learning and such.

You only need to code and register a battery if it is a different capacity rating to the old one. That is to prevent over or under charge as found by the guy above who needed to buy a second within months.

can be achieved with odb cable and laptop with bmw software.
registering can be done with other tools, handheld scanners, and standalone software on your pc
Appreciate 0
      05-31-2013, 04:29 PM   #17
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
127
Rep
7,600
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (48)

If the battery comes with the warranty, don't waste your money or resetting the battery coding.
__________________
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:18 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST