E90Post
 


Evolve Automotive
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Alpina D3 software - Remove Cobb?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-19-2013, 09:09 PM   #1
Gemballa1980
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Canberra, Australia

Posts: 281
iTrader: (0)

Alpina D3 software - Remove Cobb?

Hi guys,

Quick question, and I think the title says it all.

I'm considering doing the Alpina D3 software flash on my 335i and am curious as to whether I'd need to remove (unpair) the Cobb tune prior to flashing or not?

Also, do most put a battery charger / trickle charger on while flashing? And if so - do you connect to the battery itself (boot) or the terminals under the bonnet?

Thanks!
Gemballa1980 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-19-2013, 10:01 PM   #2
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
cn555ic's Avatar
 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

Posts: 18,275
iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gemballa1980 View Post
Hi guys,

Quick question, and I think the title says it all.

I'm considering doing the Alpina D3 software flash on my 335i and am curious as to whether I'd need to remove (unpair) the Cobb tune prior to flashing or not?

Also, do most put a battery charger / trickle charger on while flashing? And if so - do you connect to the battery itself (boot) or the terminals under the bonnet?

Thanks!
You are doing the Alpina B3 flash right? If you battery is suspect then a battery charger would be necessary and you can use both the front or the back, if not just make sure all accessories are turned off...YOu have no issues coding with Cobb and no need to unmarry it...If your using JB4 and Procede just make sure you put it on Valet mode and you should be fine...
__________________
917-939-4980 CODING E and F Series New York Area

cn555ic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-20-2013, 05:52 AM   #3
pweber84
Banned
 
pweber84's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 330d e91
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Berlin, Germany / PL, Posen

Posts: 347
iTrader: (2)

Send a message via Skype™ to pweber84
I think that is quite dangerous to do it without additional power supply. If voltage will drop down the flashing process will be stopped. It's not worth to take this risk. Every ECU in your car should be flashed using battery charger or second car as a power donor.
pweber84 is offline   Germany
0
Reply With Quote
      03-20-2013, 07:53 AM   #4
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
cn555ic's Avatar
 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

Posts: 18,275
iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Quote:
Originally Posted by ******84 View Post
I think that is quite dangerous to do it without additional power supply. If voltage will drop down the flashing process will be stopped. It's not worth to take this risk. Every ECU in your car should be flashed using battery charger or second car as a power donor.
I would agree to disagree but i have flashed over 40 Alpina flashes without battery charger and it went fine...But for added insurance it cant hurt. Other modules like DME, CIC as such I totally agree
__________________
917-939-4980 CODING E and F Series New York Area

cn555ic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-20-2013, 08:10 AM   #5
pweber84
Banned
 
pweber84's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 330d e91
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Berlin, Germany / PL, Posen

Posts: 347
iTrader: (2)

Send a message via Skype™ to pweber84
Perhaps you right, but Better safe than sorry.

Once I did flash KOMBI module with no additional power supply and It had stopped on 7% (beautiful Christmas Tree in my cluster, take a look below), from this time I always use the cables from the other car or battery charger and everything is going smoothly

Fortunatelly I did flash it again and everything came back to life

pweber84 is offline   Germany
0
Reply With Quote
      03-20-2013, 04:03 PM   #6
Elliott@DetailAddict
Brigadier General
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA

Posts: 4,448
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ******84 View Post
Perhaps you right, but Better safe than sorry.

Once I did flash KOMBI module with no additional power supply and It had stopped on 7% (beautiful Christmas Tree in my cluster, take a look below), from this time I always use the cables from the other car or battery charger and everything is going smoothly

Fortunatelly I did flash it again and everything came back to life

How long did the KOMBI flash take you? Minutes, hours?
Elliott@DetailAddict is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-20-2013, 04:21 PM   #7
DESI4life10
Banned
 
DESI4life10's Avatar
 
Drives: Coding: Desi4life10@gmail.com
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: West of Toronto, Canada

Posts: 3,365
iTrader: (18)

Kombi flash for me was quick. 5 minutes to update.
DESI4life10 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      03-20-2013, 04:33 PM   #8
pweber84
Banned
 
pweber84's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 330d e91
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Berlin, Germany / PL, Posen

Posts: 347
iTrader: (2)

Send a message via Skype™ to pweber84
It took me about 8 minutes.
pweber84 is offline   Germany
0
Reply With Quote
      03-21-2013, 05:54 PM   #9
miguex@ecuprogram
Second Lieutenant
 
miguex@ecuprogram's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 X5 M
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Calgary, AB

Posts: 206
iTrader: (3)

Send a message via Skype™ to miguex@ecuprogram
Quote:
Originally Posted by DESI4life10 View Post
Kombi flash for me was quick. 5 minutes to update.
I didnt know that the kombi can be updated. What are the changes?
miguex@ecuprogram is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      03-23-2013, 08:04 AM   #10
pweber84
Banned
 
pweber84's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 330d e91
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Berlin, Germany / PL, Posen

Posts: 347
iTrader: (2)

Send a message via Skype™ to pweber84
I know about new ICON on a Dash when your DSC is OFF
pweber84 is offline   Germany
0
Reply With Quote
      03-31-2013, 11:36 PM   #11
Gemballa1980
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Canberra, Australia

Posts: 281
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cn555ic View Post
You are doing the Alpina B3 flash right? If you battery is suspect then a battery charger would be necessary and you can use both the front or the back, if not just make sure all accessories are turned off...YOu have no issues coding with Cobb and no need to unmarry it...If your using JB4 and Procede just make sure you put it on Valet mode and you should be fine...
Thanks for that! One more quick question: as part of the update, im updating to SP-Daten 49.0. I haven't looked what i'm running at the moment (been a while since it's been in for an update).

My question (again relating to COBB): Do I need to unpair the COBB so it's standard, or can I just update SP-Daten with cobb paired??

Thanks!

Gemballa1980 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:23 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST