E90Post
 


200MPH
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > retrofitting '08+ "gong" into 07 e92



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-01-2013, 09:23 PM   #1
kpcoupe
Captain
 
kpcoupe's Avatar
 
Drives: 328i Coupe
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Illinois

Posts: 778
iTrader: (0)

retrofitting '08+ "gong" into 07 e92

so as most of you attempt to disable all the annoying warning chimes that the car emits, I have been searching for years as to how I can change my stupid old chime to the newer gong. As stupid as it sounds, I think it makes the car feel so much more upscale, which BMW realized one year after I bought my coupe. I have a 07 e92 without nav and finally found that it is possible to change the sound as proven by the video shown here. Apparently this guy had to upgrade his radio to professional, which I already have since its standard in America and mess around with the coding. I was wondering if anyone can decipher what he meant by what he said needs to be coded in his comments section.

"You need to install a HU from 09/2007 or newer. (It doesn't matter if it is professional or business)
Then you have to recode the KOMBI module. It is which sends the dongs to the HU."

"yo have to recode your kombi module:
Just change the value HU_VERBAUT_C08 to radiostufe_3_4"

"USB to DCAN interface and the proper software like NCS Expert, INPA, Ediabas...
This is the cheapest way but you won't be able to code some modules like combox, MULF... because the use optic fiber conexion instead of CAN.
If you want to code all modules you need an ICOM interface with the latest software, but this way is very expensive."

I bought my car in october 2006 and i think it was a sept 06 build. So from what i can gather, i need a 09/07 head unit and coding. Thoughts? TIA

__________________
kpcoupe is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      04-01-2013, 10:24 PM   #2
rich123321
Captain
 
rich123321's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 325i E90
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: South Florida

Posts: 795
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2006 BMW E90  [4.17]
Get the new HU and then code like he said. Simple as that
rich123321 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-02-2013, 02:27 PM   #3
kpcoupe
Captain
 
kpcoupe's Avatar
 
Drives: 328i Coupe
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Illinois

Posts: 778
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rich123321 View Post
Get the new HU and then code like he said. Simple as that
will my current radio not work since its still a bmw professional? that way all i need is to code it.
__________________
kpcoupe is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      04-03-2013, 10:01 AM   #4
rich123321
Captain
 
rich123321's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 325i E90
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: South Florida

Posts: 795
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2006 BMW E90  [4.17]
Quote:
Originally Posted by kpcoupe
Quote:
Originally Posted by rich123321 View Post
Get the new HU and then code like he said. Simple as that
will my current radio not work since its still a bmw professional? that way all i need is to code it.
It will have to be from 2007 because that's when the new gong was put in on all HUs and not just the upgraded ones. Upgraded from below 2007 will not make a difference
rich123321 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-14-2013, 03:29 AM   #5
WickedB
Second Lieutenant
 
WickedB's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 335i Sedan
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Detroit, MI

Posts: 250
iTrader: (0)

Didn't work for my 10/06 build 2007 e90, after changing it was just silent.. I must not have a new enough HU?
WickedB is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-20-2013, 04:48 PM   #6
kpcoupe
Captain
 
kpcoupe's Avatar
 
Drives: 328i Coupe
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Illinois

Posts: 778
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by WickedB View Post
Didn't work for my 10/06 build 2007 e90, after changing it was just silent.. I must not have a new enough HU?
did you code it properly after installing a new head unit?
__________________
kpcoupe is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      04-20-2013, 06:02 PM   #7
WickedB
Second Lieutenant
 
WickedB's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 335i Sedan
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Detroit, MI

Posts: 250
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kpcoupe View Post
did you code it properly after installing a new head unit?
I believe so... it was last week... What line(s) do I change?

EDIT: it was this one... I read it from here.. lol

"yo have to recode your kombi module:
Just change the value HU_VERBAUT_C08 to radiostufe_3_4"

My default was radiostufe_2 If I recall correctly..
WickedB is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-21-2013, 03:06 PM   #8
rich123321
Captain
 
rich123321's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 325i E90
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: South Florida

Posts: 795
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2006 BMW E90  [4.17]
Quote:
Originally Posted by WickedB View Post
I believe so... it was last week... What line(s) do I change?

EDIT: it was this one... I read it from here.. lol

"yo have to recode your kombi module:
Just change the value HU_VERBAUT_C08 to radiostufe_3_4"

My default was radiostufe_2 If I recall correctly..
SO it worked? How much was the new HU and where from? Easy install?
rich123321 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-23-2013, 10:06 AM   #9
kpcoupe
Captain
 
kpcoupe's Avatar
 
Drives: 328i Coupe
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Illinois

Posts: 778
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rich123321 View Post
SO it worked? How much was the new HU and where from? Easy install?
+1
__________________
kpcoupe is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      05-17-2013, 12:07 PM   #10
BMW..
Lieutenant
 
Drives: E46 M3 /E90
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Boca Raton FL

Posts: 432
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kpcoupe View Post
+1
Just an update

I got the radio for 155 from a member here. It is produced January 2009. I swapped the HU's without issue and works perfectly. I even have newer menus and settings. I havent coded it yet because my cable is being borrowed but in the menu there is a gong setting and it is audible when you change it around (but the old gong is still set). Thanks OP
BMW.. is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-02-2013, 01:38 PM   #11
sankohuy
Private First Class
 
sankohuy's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: norcal

Posts: 195
iTrader: (0)

Are you saying your 07 e92 has the old gong? Weird, mines an 07/07 build and has the new one.
__________________
sankohuy is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-06-2013, 07:36 AM   #12
kpcoupe
Captain
 
kpcoupe's Avatar
 
Drives: 328i Coupe
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Illinois

Posts: 778
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sankohuy View Post
Are you saying your 07 e92 has the old gong? Weird, mines an 07/07 build and has the new one.
all the 08's have the new gong i think. i bought my car in october of 2006 and it was a 06 build.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BMW.. View Post
Just an update

I got the radio for 155 from a member here. It is produced January 2009. I swapped the HU's without issue and works perfectly. I even have newer menus and settings. I havent coded it yet because my cable is being borrowed but in the menu there is a gong setting and it is audible when you change it around (but the old gong is still set). Thanks OP
awesome! let me know how it works out
__________________
kpcoupe is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:56 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST