E90Post
 


Extreme Power House
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Instrument functions are not working



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-22-2013, 09:14 PM   #1
R3D
Private First Class
5
Rep
131
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 E90 328i
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Canada

iTrader: (0)

Question Instrument functions are not working

Today, I turned on my car and none of my instrument functions are responding (gas gauge, speedometer, etc). Also, my clock is displaying dashes.

It does not appear to be a battery issue, because everything else works (radio, power windows, etc).

After doing a bit of research, it appears that this may be a coding problem?

I have not made any coding changes. Will BMW charge me to fix this?
Appreciate 0
      04-22-2013, 10:54 PM   #2
CasperSYTFU
SYTFU Crew
CasperSYTFU's Avatar
No_Country
13
Rep
1,180
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 Toyota FJ
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (8)

Garage List
Only a coding problem if you had your car coded by someone using old data files and it would have happened right away.
The issue may be just a loose connector behind the cluster.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      04-22-2013, 11:30 PM   #3
ctuna
Brigadier General
45
Rep
4,339
Posts

 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

Did you check fuses?

Did you check fuses?
There is one fuse that runs the instrument cluster not sure
which. If you haven't done any coding is more likely a hardware
failure.
Appreciate 0
      04-23-2013, 11:24 AM   #4
pweber84
Banned
pweber84's Avatar
Germany
4
Rep
347
Posts

 
Drives: BMW 330d e91
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Berlin, Germany / PL, Posen

iTrader: (2)

Send a message via Skype™ to pweber84
Quote:
Originally Posted by R3D View Post
Today, I turned on my car and none of my instrument functions are responding (gas gauge, speedometer, etc). Also, my clock is displaying dashes.

It does not appear to be a battery issue, because everything else works (radio, power windows, etc).

After doing a bit of research, it appears that this may be a coding problem?

I have not made any coding changes. Will BMW charge me to fix this?
Do you have OBD cable? It is easy to check. BMW will charge you a lot for this.
Appreciate 0
      04-23-2013, 04:37 PM   #5
R3D
Private First Class
5
Rep
131
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 E90 328i
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Canada

iTrader: (0)

Question

Nope, I don't.

Do you think it perhaps has anything to do with this:
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=804545

I have my appointment on Friday to get that fixed.
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2013, 09:23 AM   #6
pweber84
Banned
pweber84's Avatar
Germany
4
Rep
347
Posts

 
Drives: BMW 330d e91
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Berlin, Germany / PL, Posen

iTrader: (2)

Send a message via Skype™ to pweber84
Quote:
Originally Posted by R3D View Post
Nope, I don't.

Do you think it perhaps has anything to do with this:
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=804545

I have my appointment on Friday to get that fixed.
I doubt it.
Appreciate 0
      04-28-2013, 10:54 PM   #7
R3D
Private First Class
5
Rep
131
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 E90 328i
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Canada

iTrader: (0)

Turns out it was a coding issue after all - kind of weird seeing as I haven't made any coding changes. It was fixed, no charge.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:43 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST