E90Post
 


GTB Performance
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > **Bluetooth Retrofit Guide** for TCU and ULF



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-29-2013, 05:49 AM   #441
fares52
Enlisted Member
 
fares52's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 328i
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Northern Virginia

Posts: 48
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by snoozee View Post
my bad, didn't read properly.

did a search and he has a 2011 car. it might be possible that he has one of those new radios with built in bluetooth which in this case, the mic wiring would be direct to the radio connector instead of the combobox.
Looks like I'm pulling the radio....What would I look for to see if my radio has BT built in?
fares52 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-29-2013, 10:05 PM   #442
bender rodriguez
Major
 
Drives: Audi
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: CA

Posts: 1,458
iTrader: (0)

Guys I broke the cover for the sun roof controls. I can't figure out how to get the rest of it off. Also need name of just the cover or part number. I can't find it.. tested the mic and it worked
bender rodriguez is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-30-2013, 11:04 AM   #443
snoozee
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 318i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Singapore

Posts: 213
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fares52 View Post
Looks like I'm pulling the radio....What would I look for to see if my radio has BT built in?
after you pull the radio, you should see a bluetooth logo on the label if your radio has built in BT.


Last edited by snoozee; 04-30-2013 at 11:34 AM.
snoozee is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-30-2013, 11:14 AM   #444
snoozee
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 318i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Singapore

Posts: 213
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Ritz View Post
Guys I broke the cover for the sun roof controls. I can't figure out how to get the rest of it off. Also need name of just the cover or part number. I can't find it.. tested the mic and it worked
sorry to hear that. there are instructions on how to get the fzd off properly.

what i did was to squeeze my fingers on my right hand through the roof liner and the windscreen, then slide my hand to where the FZD is. i then used my middle finger to feel for the metal clip of the FZD and pushed hard at the clip. once the clip is depressed in, part of the FZD will drop and i used my left hand to keep the part from springing back.

then i slide my hand to feel for the other clip and did the same. once this other clip is depressed, the whole FZD will just drop down.

for part number, realoem is a good site for the exact part you need.
snoozee is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-30-2013, 05:19 PM   #445
bender rodriguez
Major
 
Drives: Audi
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: CA

Posts: 1,458
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by snoozee View Post
sorry to hear that. there are instructions on how to get the fzd off properly.

what i did was to squeeze my fingers on my right hand through the roof liner and the windscreen, then slide my hand to where the FZD is. i then used my middle finger to feel for the metal clip of the FZD and pushed hard at the clip. once the clip is depressed in, part of the FZD will drop and i used my left hand to keep the part from springing back.

then i slide my hand to feel for the other clip and did the same. once this other clip is depressed, the whole FZD will just drop down.

for part number, realoem is a good site for the exact part you need.
Found out that the only way to fix the crack is replace the entire unit..(463 dollars) I am super gluing it now.. I will let you guys know how that turns out.
bender rodriguez is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-01-2013, 12:22 PM   #446
06az330i
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 06 330i
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: scottsdale

Posts: 32
iTrader: (0)

I have BT in my 2006 e90... I have my Iphone set up and the BT works fine... Here is my question. when I run my navigation though my phone it runs through the BT and I can hear the directions though the speaker system but, I cannot figure out how to play my music thought the bt.. I know newer cars can do this and if the navigation can send the signal though BT I should be able to send the pandora or music as well.. Has anyone done this or can tell me if I need something to accomplish this? I hate having to use the dumb cord.
06az330i is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-01-2013, 12:28 PM   #447
alexwhittemore
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: 2009 Crimson 328i
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Los Angeles

Posts: 1,662
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 06az3301 View Post
I have BT in my 2006 e90... I have my Iphone set up and the BT works fine... Here is my question. when I run my navigation though my phone it runs through the BT and I can hear the directions though the speaker system but, I cannot figure out how to play my music thought the bt.. I know newer cars can do this and if the navigation can send the signal though BT I should be able to send the pandora or music as well.. Has anyone done this or can tell me if I need something to accomplish this? I hate having to use the dumb cord.
This has been discussed *a lot* - only the much newer cars with a combox instead of the TCU or MULF support A2DP stereo streaming of music.
alexwhittemore is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-02-2013, 10:33 AM   #448
fares52
Enlisted Member
 
fares52's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 328i
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Northern Virginia

Posts: 48
iTrader: (0)

So I pulled my radio and it does not have the bluetooth logo on it. I'm at a stand still here. It looks like the gods do not want me to have BT in this vehicle

To recap my situation...My vehicle was coded successfully and I was able to pair my phone and make phone calls. I plugged in the factory BT antenna using an SMB Female to Female connector to the Combox. I then plugged the factory BT Mic into the Combox using pins 25 (Mic+) 12 (Mic-) and 11 (Mic Shield).

Tested it out but the Mic was still not working.
Here's my radio
Attached Images
 
fares52 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-02-2013, 01:38 PM   #449
alexwhittemore
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: 2009 Crimson 328i
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Los Angeles

Posts: 1,662
iTrader: (0)

This would be silly, but you're sure the mic cable is plugged in the right way on the mic end? I wish I knew where to find the directional connectors, bit try flipping it over.
alexwhittemore is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-02-2013, 02:54 PM   #450
fares52
Enlisted Member
 
fares52's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 328i
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Northern Virginia

Posts: 48
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexwhittemore View Post
This would be silly, but you're sure the mic cable is plugged in the right way on the mic end? I wish I knew where to find the directional connectors, bit try flipping it over.
I tried that....pretty much tried every possible connection. Maybe my Mic is dead although i bought it brand new from BMW. I noticed most members here who did the BT Retrofit have older cars with either the TCU or Mulf. I'm dealing with a 2011 and a combox. Maybe I should check out the 128 forums. They seem to have similar setups as mine.
fares52 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-02-2013, 02:56 PM   #451
alexwhittemore
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: 2009 Crimson 328i
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Los Angeles

Posts: 1,662
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fares52 View Post
I tried that....pretty much tried every possible connection. Maybe my Mic is dead although i bought it brand new from BMW. I noticed most members here who did the BT Retrofit have older cars with either the TCU or Mulf. I'm dealing with a 2011 and a combox. Maybe I should check out the 128 forums. They seem to have similar setups as mine.
I wonder if perhaps you have to pin it into the CCC or something instead of the combox? That wouldn't make a lot of sense, though.
__________________
alexwhittemore is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-02-2013, 03:16 PM   #452
fares52
Enlisted Member
 
fares52's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 328i
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Northern Virginia

Posts: 48
iTrader: (0)

CCC? isn't that only with idrive vehicles? I don't have idrive. I think I managed to find the most basic bmw on the planet.
fares52 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-02-2013, 03:21 PM   #453
alexwhittemore
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: 2009 Crimson 328i
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Los Angeles

Posts: 1,662
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fares52 View Post
CCC? isn't that only with idrive vehicles? I don't have idrive. I think I managed to find the most basic bmw on the planet.
True, I just assumed you had it having a combox. You've probably even told me otherwise, keeping everyone's configurations straight in my head is impossible .
__________________
alexwhittemore is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-02-2013, 09:15 PM   #454
snoozee
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 318i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Singapore

Posts: 213
iTrader: (0)

this might be a longshot, but could you have damaged the mic wiring during installation?
snoozee is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-03-2013, 12:36 AM   #455
alexwhittemore
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: 2009 Crimson 328i
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Los Angeles

Posts: 1,662
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by snoozee View Post
this might be a longshot, but could you have damaged the mic wiring during installation?
Definitely a longshot, but hey. Might as well test that pinX on the mic side matches up with pinX on the combox side and isn't broken.
__________________
alexwhittemore is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-03-2013, 05:57 AM   #456
fares52
Enlisted Member
 
fares52's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 328i
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Northern Virginia

Posts: 48
iTrader: (0)

nah...that wire is pretty durable. I think I need to replace my head unit with the one that has BT Built in. My car has all sorts of weird things (for instance i have 6fl but it's not the normal one that plugs into the combox from the blue housing connector.
fares52 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-03-2013, 09:14 AM   #457
alexwhittemore
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: 2009 Crimson 328i
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Los Angeles

Posts: 1,662
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fares52 View Post
nah...that wire is pretty durable. I think I need to replace my head unit with the one that has BT Built in. My car has all sorts of weird things (for instance i have 6fl but it's not the normal one that plugs into the combox from the blue housing connector.
You shouldn't need to replace the headunit, there's got to be a way to get this done. There are early E90 combox cars with no iDrive and bluetooth, you can't possibly be the only one. Do you have a coding setup or did you get someone else to do it?

What do you mean weird 6fl that doesn't connect via the normal blue housing? 6FL implies USB port in the armrest, which connects via a circular cable back to the MULF or Combox - the connector is circular with 4 pins inside oriented in a square.
__________________
alexwhittemore is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-03-2013, 06:08 PM   #458
fares52
Enlisted Member
 
fares52's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 328i
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Northern Virginia

Posts: 48
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexwhittemore View Post
You shouldn't need to replace the headunit, there's got to be a way to get this done. There are early E90 combox cars with no iDrive and bluetooth, you can't possibly be the only one. Do you have a coding setup or did you get someone else to do it?

What do you mean weird 6fl that doesn't connect via the normal blue housing? 6FL implies USB port in the armrest, which connects via a circular cable back to the MULF or Combox - the connector is circular with 4 pins inside oriented in a square.
Someone else did the coding.

I have 6fl (USB in armrest and it works with regular iphone cable) however the connecter at the combox (4 pins oriented in a square) is not being used...nothing is plugged into it. I believe my 6fl is connected by the harness in the back of the combox. I'm basing this on wires i see in certain pin locations of that particular harness.
fares52 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-03-2013, 06:10 PM   #459
fares52
Enlisted Member
 
fares52's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 328i
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Northern Virginia

Posts: 48
iTrader: (0)

do you think getting the car coded after i plugged in the mic would have made any difference? because I got my car coded first before i made any hardware changes.
fares52 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-03-2013, 06:57 PM   #460
alexwhittemore
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: 2009 Crimson 328i
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Los Angeles

Posts: 1,662
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fares52 View Post
do you think getting the car coded after i plugged in the mic would have made any difference? because I got my car coded first before i made any hardware changes.
No, and in fact I did the same thing to be sure it was possible before I spent money.

Hmm, just dug this up, perhaps enlightening ?
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=473741
__________________
alexwhittemore is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-04-2013, 08:06 AM   #461
fares52
Enlisted Member
 
fares52's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 328i
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Northern Virginia

Posts: 48
iTrader: (0)

Found this quote in another thread. This would explain why my 4 pin connector is not being used.

Quote:
Originally Posted by deepsrd View Post

AUX with 6FL:
The AUX (again 4 wires)is connected to the 26pin connector on the combox from the centre console. FActopry fitted 6FL comes this way.. When you code the 6FL to your CIC, it will then deactivate the direct AUX and will get the AUX from the combox via the MOST.
fares52 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-04-2013, 03:06 PM   #462
alexwhittemore
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: 2009 Crimson 328i
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Los Angeles

Posts: 1,662
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fares52 View Post
Found this quote in another thread. This would explain why my 4 pin connector is not being used.
But aux =/= USB -what does he mean?
alexwhittemore is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:24 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST