E90Post
 


TireRack
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Mechanical Maintenance: Break-in / Oil & Fluids / Servicing / Warranty > AC not working - BIG problem



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-04-2013, 11:24 AM   #1
Busha
First Lieutenant
 
Busha's Avatar
 
Drives: Jet Black 320d
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Croatia

Posts: 311
iTrader: (0)

AC not working - BIG problem

Hello to all,

I have some serious problems with my car and my mechanic does not know how to fix it. Air condition compressor is ok, gas is not leaking, complete system is ok but compressor does not get impulse to turn ON ever, all LEDs on air condition in the car are working but the car is simply not reacting on temperature that I give, it does blow but air is from the outside. On diagnostic laptop it gives some error like "Comunnication of the main computer with air condition computer error". Something like that. Can anyone help me or maybe someone had this stupid problem ? Could it be that air condition part with wheels inside the cabin is not working ? I am really lost and even in BMW garage they dont know what it is. They all thought that it is compressor but my mechanic connected it directly with a wire and then the AC works, air is cold. But when connected on the car it does not trigger anything. And also he says that the car shows zeros on AC pressure but the gas and pressure is there. He tried to change indicator of gas pressure on compressor and still nothing. My car is BMW 320d E90 Year 2007.

Thanks a lot
__________________
2007 BMW 320d | Jet Black | M6 wheels | Eibach Pro-Kit | BlackLines | Chrome grill | H&R spacers | Alpine HiFi
Busha is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-04-2013, 11:42 AM   #2
Chris_506
RIP Paul Walker; True Enthusiast
 
Chris_506's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 335i
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: SCar

Posts: 2,462
iTrader: (13)

sorry about your problem and hope you get it resolved before it REALLY starts getting hot
__________________
Chris_506 is offline   Costa Rica
0
Reply With Quote
      05-04-2013, 01:16 PM   #3
Busha
First Lieutenant
 
Busha's Avatar
 
Drives: Jet Black 320d
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Croatia

Posts: 311
iTrader: (0)

Yea I really hope that I will fix it and I hope that someone had this problem before.
__________________
2007 BMW 320d | Jet Black | M6 wheels | Eibach Pro-Kit | BlackLines | Chrome grill | H&R spacers | Alpine HiFi
Busha is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-04-2013, 03:43 PM   #4
e90pilot
Freight Dawg
 
e90pilot's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 325i
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Oakland, CA

Posts: 2,090
iTrader: (3)

Check the wires to the AC. You may need a new compressor. I'm not sure if the control module is actually on the compressor.
__________________
--Marcelo
'06 Arctic Metallic 325i | Sport Package | 6MT | Dinan Stage III suspension | Dinan exhaust | 330i manifold swap! Click here! | Active Autowerke tune | 135i Brake Calipers | Deiselboost caliper brackets | E46 M3 front rotors
e90pilot is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-04-2013, 03:47 PM   #5
Busha
First Lieutenant
 
Busha's Avatar
 
Drives: Jet Black 320d
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Croatia

Posts: 311
iTrader: (0)

Compressor is ok, when I connect compressor directly with wires and give him + it starts immediately and the AC is working, cold air comes from the vents. Is that cable from main computer to AC one piece and can be bought separately ? Can you give me photo and location of that cable ?

Tnx
Busha is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-04-2013, 03:50 PM   #6
nate5ks
Captain
 
Drives: 2006 BMW 330xi
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Jacksonville Beach, FL

Posts: 604
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Busha
Yea I really hope that I will fix it and I hope that someone had this problem before.
Ihka module is probably bad. Here's a used one

http://shop.mobileweb.ebay.com/searchresults?kw=E90+ihka&cmd=SREF&fads=All&call=A ll&sort=BestMatch&mfs=GOCLK&acimp=0&isNewKw=true

It will need to be programmed and coded, I can do it through the Internet if the dealer tries to screw you over. You can try running it without the coding, it could work...
nate5ks is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-04-2013, 04:11 PM   #7
DUI Elite
///M at Heart
 
DUI Elite's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 SGM E90
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Chicago, IL

Posts: 1,597
iTrader: (4)

Sounds like a relay isn't getting its signal if compressor isn't kicking on either. I would trace where it is supposed to get its signal, and also check the relay. (dunno if its a module or not)
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Built My Way View Post
Rule #1 when you own "The Ultimate Driving Machine". Always have $$$ in "The Automatic Teller Machine"
DUI Elite is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-04-2013, 08:23 PM   #8
nate5ks
Captain
 
Drives: 2006 BMW 330xi
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Jacksonville Beach, FL

Posts: 604
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DUI Elite
Sounds like a relay isn't getting its signal if compressor isn't kicking on either. I would trace where it is supposed to get its signal, and also check the relay. (dunno if its a module or not)
Oh yeah, do check the relay first. It's a lot cheaper lol.
nate5ks is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-05-2013, 07:45 AM   #9
Busha
First Lieutenant
 
Busha's Avatar
 
Drives: Jet Black 320d
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Croatia

Posts: 311
iTrader: (0)

Where is that relay located exactly ? And also where is this IHKA part ? Is there german name or serial number for that because Im from Croatia and probably would buy it in Germany. I think that the mechanic told me that those wires which go on compressor to turn it ON have no electricity, that is why it wirks when connected on + on the battery.

Thanks a lot
Busha is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-05-2013, 09:02 AM   #10
DUI Elite
///M at Heart
 
DUI Elite's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 SGM E90
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Chicago, IL

Posts: 1,597
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Busha View Post
Where is that relay located exactly ? And also where is this IHKA part ? Is there german name or serial number for that because Im from Croatia and probably would buy it in Germany. I think that the mechanic told me that those wires which go on compressor to turn it ON have no electricity, that is why it wirks when connected on + on the battery.

Thanks a lot
http://www.bmw-planet.com/diagrams/r.../e90/index.htm

1) Component and Signal Information
2) Components
3) Relays
4) K19 Relay A/C Compressor

Now the trick is finding where that relay is.

I'll see if I can find it myself, but this is where you would probably want to look.

The + signal just magnetizes the fan clutch to "engage it" so that the drive belt spins it under load. When it doesn't have a signal, it (in a perfect world) has no load on the drive belts.

If it didn't engage when you hit with power, I would have said the clutch is bad because it doesn't engage (which in my experience means your replacing the compressor).

welcome
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Built My Way View Post
Rule #1 when you own "The Ultimate Driving Machine". Always have $$$ in "The Automatic Teller Machine"
DUI Elite is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-05-2013, 02:38 PM   #11
Busha
First Lieutenant
 
Busha's Avatar
 
Drives: Jet Black 320d
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Croatia

Posts: 311
iTrader: (0)

Mechanic told me that he had checked fuses and relays. Where are those located, maybe I should swap AC fuse with new one. How to check if the relay is ok ?

Tnx
__________________
2007 BMW 320d | Jet Black | M6 wheels | Eibach Pro-Kit | BlackLines | Chrome grill | H&R spacers | Alpine HiFi
Busha is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-05-2013, 04:10 PM   #12
nate5ks
Captain
 
Drives: 2006 BMW 330xi
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Jacksonville Beach, FL

Posts: 604
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Busha
Mechanic told me that he had checked fuses and relays. Where are those located, maybe I should swap AC fuse with new one. How to check if the relay is ok ?

Tnx
Swap it with an identical relay that is working properly
nate5ks is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-06-2013, 01:48 PM   #13
Busha
First Lieutenant
 
Busha's Avatar
 
Drives: Jet Black 320d
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Croatia

Posts: 311
iTrader: (0)

Thank you very much guys for helping me, today I was again in BMW garage and they flashed new software on the car and the AC is working like nothing happened ! They have never seen this kind of malfunction, main computer seems to have lost ability to control the AC, for him the pressure in the AC was 0 and not 6.5 bar like it should. After flashing new software everything is back to normal. Only I need to go to my mechanic to turn off that passenger seat foil warning again.

Hope it will help someone else when everything is ok but the AC is not cooling.

Cheers from Croatia
__________________
2007 BMW 320d | Jet Black | M6 wheels | Eibach Pro-Kit | BlackLines | Chrome grill | H&R spacers | Alpine HiFi
Busha is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-06-2013, 02:58 PM   #14
GoRomeo
Colonel
 
GoRomeo's Avatar
 
Drives: 330i
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: San Diego CA

Posts: 2,090
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2006 330i  [2.83]
Thank YOU for sharing!
GoRomeo is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-06-2013, 03:01 PM   #15
Busha
First Lieutenant
 
Busha's Avatar
 
Drives: Jet Black 320d
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Croatia

Posts: 311
iTrader: (0)

Np, thats why we are here for It costed me 50$ for fixing it and 10 days driving with no AC on 30 degree celsius and 2 visits to my mechanic and 2 visits to BMW garage 70 km from me. I am so happy to have cold car today, like I got a new one
Busha is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-04-2013, 01:17 PM   #16
xquizitdjx
Private First Class
 
xquizitdjx's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Central Florida

Posts: 110
iTrader: (0)

Im lost here. Is the k19 for a 2007 e92 located behind the glove box?
xquizitdjx is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-30-2014, 08:08 AM   #17
hoodsta310
Registered
 
Drives: bmw e91 msport individuale
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: rome italy

Posts: 2
iTrader: (0)

i have the same exact issue as busha the only problem is that the person that sold me the car put in the new i drive with the 8 buttons and I'm afraid if i do the software update it will block the drive since it doesn't belong to that year

no power to the compressor changed the ihka module same issue changed pressure indicator same issue computer reads failure communication with ecu also reads no pressure in climate but there is same exact issue as busha help please its 32 celsius here and i have hyperhidrosis which means i sweat from my head constantly

Last edited by hoodsta310; 06-30-2014 at 08:18 AM. Reason: being more specific
hoodsta310 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-30-2014, 06:10 PM   #18
hoodsta310
Registered
 
Drives: bmw e91 msport individuale
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: rome italy

Posts: 2
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Busha View Post
Hello to all,

I have some serious problems with my car and my mechanic does not know how to fix it. Air condition compressor is ok, gas is not leaking, complete system is ok but compressor does not get impulse to turn ON ever, all LEDs on air condition in the car are working but the car is simply not reacting on temperature that I give, it does blow but air is from the outside. On diagnostic laptop it gives some error like "Comunnication of the main computer with air condition computer error". Something like that. Can anyone help me or maybe someone had this stupid problem ? Could it be that air condition part with wheels inside the cabin is not working ? I am really lost and even in BMW garage they dont know what it is. They all thought that it is compressor but my mechanic connected it directly with a wire and then the AC works, air is cold. But when connected on the car it does not trigger anything. And also he says that the car shows zeros on AC pressure but the gas and pressure is there. He tried to change indicator of gas pressure on compressor and still nothing. My car is BMW 320d E90 Year 2007.

Thanks a lot
hey I hope u can help me out I have the same exact issue that u had but the guy that sold it to me added the new I drive with the 8 button from the 2011 model and I'm afraid that if I update the car software it would block the I drive since it wad coded by a third party tech and not an official Bmw network please I need to fix this problem because it's really hot in here in Rome and I'm from canada it's like 33 celsius out here thanks
hoodsta310 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:58 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST