E90Post
 


Bimmer Retrofit
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Model detection in NCS, INPA and other softwares



View Poll Results: What do you think...?
This will cost a leg, two arms and a mortgage to get fix! 0 0%
BMW dealers don't know squat and they will try to bleed my dry with this. 1 50.00%
ECU is trashed, must reflash, upgrade, recode and start over! 0 0%
Easy fix, cost is low and the dealer should upgrade/reflash the ECU for free (or low costs) 1 50.00%
Voters: 2. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-14-2013, 08:31 PM   #1
SINasTER
Second Lieutenant
SINasTER's Avatar
Canada
2
Rep
253
Posts

 
Drives: 335xi 2008 E90
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Laval, Qc.

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2008 BMW 335xi  [5.00]
Exclamation Model detection in NCS, INPA and other softwares

Hello everyone,

I have been trying to code something on my 335xi. The thing is that I can't seem to be able to go into any modules in any programs because it is detecting my 335xi (E90) as an "E89"...

Aren't E89 suposed to be a Z4?!?

I called at my local dealer and he said that it could be that the previous owner had it coded with a another flash from an E89 or even got it moded with an ecu from an E89. Is that even possible??

In about a week, I will get the factory alarm installed and they will have to recode/update my ecu to be able to enable the alarm fonctions. Could that be a problem if the ecu isn't an E90??

I'm really shooting in the dark over here and I dont want to get an invoice for 2000$ just to put in an alarm system
Appreciate 0
      05-14-2013, 08:55 PM   #2
nate5ks
Captain
United_States
8
Rep
620
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 330xi
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Jacksonville Beach, FL

iTrader: (0)

E89=e90, e91, e92 etc.
Appreciate 0
      05-15-2013, 02:53 AM   #3
pweber84
Banned
pweber84's Avatar
Germany
4
Rep
347
Posts

 
Drives: BMW 330d e91
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Berlin, Germany / PL, Posen

iTrader: (2)

Send a message via Skype™ to pweber84
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=642883
Appreciate 0
      05-15-2013, 03:23 AM   #4
_ink
Major
_ink's Avatar
Australia
12
Rep
1,084
Posts

 
Drives: 335i 09' DCT M-Sport
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia

iTrader: (0)

You clearly have not read the DIY manual/guide.
__________________
... Check out the garage
Appreciate 0
      05-15-2013, 07:45 AM   #5
J-Spec Dan
shamone
J-Spec Dan's Avatar
United_States
36
Rep
2,652
Posts

 
Drives: E90 330i
Join Date: May 2011
Location: C H I C A G O

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2006 E90 330i  [4.08]
Quote:
Originally Posted by _ink View Post
You clearly have not read the DIY manual/guide.
Option 5: Re-read the chassis code family list
__________________
BMW CCA Member 483866
Appreciate 0
      05-15-2013, 09:10 AM   #6
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
cn555ic's Avatar
United_States
246
Rep
18,287
Posts


 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
No worries man...Just use the E89 and your good. Make sure you read and do some research as to having the updated SPdaten files.
__________________
917-939-4980 CODING E and F Series New York Area

Appreciate 0
      05-15-2013, 11:42 AM   #7
SINasTER
Second Lieutenant
SINasTER's Avatar
Canada
2
Rep
253
Posts

 
Drives: 335xi 2008 E90
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Laval, Qc.

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2008 BMW 335xi  [5.00]
Thumbs up

Well, thanks guys

Seems like the BMW Tech at the dealer knows less than most on this forum...

I will try the updated SPDaten files before coding, but I will wait until my alarm is installed since they will update to the latest version of the ECU at the same time and do some programing for the alarm as well.

Thanks goes to pwebber84, J-Spec Dan and cn555ic for their help and info
Appreciate 0
      05-15-2013, 12:24 PM   #8
J-Spec Dan
shamone
J-Spec Dan's Avatar
United_States
36
Rep
2,652
Posts

 
Drives: E90 330i
Join Date: May 2011
Location: C H I C A G O

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2006 E90 330i  [4.08]
Quote:
Originally Posted by SINasTER View Post
Well, thanks guys

Seems like the BMW Tech at the dealer knows less than most on this forum...

I will try the updated SPDaten files before coding, but I will wait until my alarm is installed since they will update to the latest version of the ECU at the same time and do some programing for the alarm as well.

Thanks goes to pwebber84, J-Spec Dan and cn555ic for their help and info
Best of luck!
__________________
BMW CCA Member 483866
Appreciate 0
      05-15-2013, 01:45 PM   #9
Elliott@DetailAddict
Brigadier General
United_States
81
Rep
4,448
Posts

 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA

iTrader: (0)

I got the chassis family guide stickied for a reason. Lol
Appreciate 0
      05-15-2013, 03:57 PM   #10
SINasTER
Second Lieutenant
SINasTER's Avatar
Canada
2
Rep
253
Posts

 
Drives: 335xi 2008 E90
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Laval, Qc.

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2008 BMW 335xi  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coding@DetailAddict View Post
I got the chassis family guide stickied for a reason. Lol
Yeah i noticed, but than, when I tried to code or just check for error codes I couldn't get any of the programs to get pass the test phase. They tell me that the chasis/ecu is not an E90 and I dont have the E89 in the selection list from any programs (INPA, NCS or any other) so I'm stuck and cannot code!

Is it because I don't have a proper install of the softwares (disc came with cable and automatically installed everything on my HDD)?
Appreciate 0
      05-15-2013, 04:34 PM   #11
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
cn555ic's Avatar
United_States
246
Rep
18,287
Posts


 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
It's weird. With NCS the chasis to use is e89. But for INPA the correct one to use for your car is E90. Don't ask but that's how it is done.
Appreciate 0
      05-15-2013, 05:03 PM   #12
SINasTER
Second Lieutenant
SINasTER's Avatar
Canada
2
Rep
253
Posts

 
Drives: 335xi 2008 E90
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Laval, Qc.

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2008 BMW 335xi  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by cn555ic View Post
It's weird. With NCS the chasis to use is e89. But for INPA the correct one to use for your car is E90. Don't ask but that's how it is done.
I'll try again with NCS, maybe I gave up a bit early
Appreciate 0
      05-22-2013, 07:11 PM   #13
bigdnno98
Major
bigdnno98's Avatar
United_States
13
Rep
1,144
Posts

 
Drives: Saving $$ for an F82 M4 :0
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Clarksville, TN

iTrader: (7)

I'm kind of in this boat. Although I successfully coded my 335i last year I'm having difficulty coding a 135i. INPA reads the ECU adn i get the two black dots. I select e90 as e89 or e82 are not options and it says something mismatch. something to the affect that i'm not coding an e90. any ideas?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SINasTER View Post
Yeah i noticed, but than, when I tried to code or just check for error codes I couldn't get any of the programs to get pass the test phase. They tell me that the chasis/ecu is not an E90 and I dont have the E89 in the selection list from any programs (INPA, NCS or any other) so I'm stuck and cannot code!

Is it because I don't have a proper install of the softwares (disc came with cable and automatically installed everything on my HDD)?
__________________
99 Eclipse GSX dyno numbers soon
12 Maxima Slow
03 EVO 8 600HP Sold
09 e92 335i 440hp Sold
Appreciate 0
      05-23-2013, 04:17 PM   #14
SINasTER
Second Lieutenant
SINasTER's Avatar
Canada
2
Rep
253
Posts

 
Drives: 335xi 2008 E90
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Laval, Qc.

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2008 BMW 335xi  [5.00]
Thumbs up

Just got back from the dealer (had a problem with the alarm)...

They had to recode the entire car and had a couple problems, first 3 times the coding didn't take, on the fourth they were able to code it.

I have to go back on Monday though because they coded it like horse sh!t and now my automatic headlights aren't fonctioning properly... They will code it like it's suposed to be and then some

For my troubles, they will code my DRL's as the AE's with corner delete

I will only have to find out how to code the auto fold in mirror upon locking and auto fold out mirrors when unlocking... Could use a good step by step guide just about now
Appreciate 0
      05-23-2013, 04:23 PM   #15
pweber84
Banned
pweber84's Avatar
Germany
4
Rep
347
Posts

 
Drives: BMW 330d e91
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Berlin, Germany / PL, Posen

iTrader: (2)

Send a message via Skype™ to pweber84
Quote:
Originally Posted by SINasTER View Post
I will only have to find out how to code the auto fold in mirror upon locking and auto fold out mirrors when unlocking... Could use a good step by step guide just about now
CAS

KOMFORTSCHLIESSUNG_FB
aktiv

FH_KOMFORTF_MIT_SUBST
aktiv

NFRM

SPIEGEL_KOMFORT_EINKLAPP
aktiv

Instruction here:
http://forums.bimmerforums.com/forum...ith-NCS-Expert
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
coding problems, e89, e90, ecu version

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:00 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST