E90Post
 


GT Haus
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Coding my e92 335i



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-15-2013, 10:28 PM   #1
phat8186
Second Lieutenant
 
phat8186's Avatar
 
Drives: e92 335i AW / Coral Red
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: CT/NY

Posts: 271
iTrader: (3)

Coding my e92 335i

So I'm thinking of taking the plunge and get all the necessary tools needed to code my e92. I have one simple question, can I really do harm to my car if I coded something wrong. I know my way around a computer and programming languages. So I am no slouch and what not, I also see there is tones of info here in the forum.
I would start off with little things like the key chime noise ( code it off/on ) amber corner delete, window roll down/up via key Fob.
Things like this to get the hang of things.
Is there is a such thing as reset to default setting in case I really fcuk up and what not.
Sorry for the noob question just looking for some insight....
Thanks
phat8186 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-15-2013, 11:11 PM   #2
rentonrider
Banned
 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Renton, WA

Posts: 412
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2011 BMW M3  [3.50]
Bmw coding isn't coding in the traditional sense. But yes there's a chance you can mess up your car if you press the wrong buttons. But if you read, read and read it will be fine.
rentonrider is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-15-2013, 11:41 PM   #3
phat8186
Second Lieutenant
 
phat8186's Avatar
 
Drives: e92 335i AW / Coral Red
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: CT/NY

Posts: 271
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rentonrider View Post
Bmw coding isn't coding in the traditional sense. But yes there's a chance you can mess up your car if you press the wrong buttons. But if you read, read and read it will be fine.
Much appreciated my friend simple answer I was looking for....
phat8186 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-16-2013, 12:28 AM   #4
rentonrider
Banned
 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Renton, WA

Posts: 412
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2011 BMW M3  [3.50]
Quote:
Originally Posted by phat8186 View Post
Much appreciated my friend simple answer I was looking for....
yes there's a way to reset to factory too.
rentonrider is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-16-2013, 09:32 AM   #5
phat8186
Second Lieutenant
 
phat8186's Avatar
 
Drives: e92 335i AW / Coral Red
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: CT/NY

Posts: 271
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rentonrider View Post
yes there's a way to reset to factory too.
Oh that's even better news...
phat8186 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-16-2013, 09:46 AM   #6
floyd923
New Member
 
Drives: 2008 328i
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United States

Posts: 5
iTrader: (0)

I just recently took the plunge. And if you follow the steps, which seem complicated at first, you find out, its pretty darn easy!

Do yourself a favor and buy a reliable cable. I can't tell you how many hours I wasted trying to get the software installed correctly, when to find out, it was just a poorly constructed cable.
floyd923 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-16-2013, 09:51 AM   #7
phat8186
Second Lieutenant
 
phat8186's Avatar
 
Drives: e92 335i AW / Coral Red
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: CT/NY

Posts: 271
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by floyd923 View Post
I just recently took the plunge. And if you follow the steps, which seem complicated at first, you find out, its pretty darn easy!

Do yourself a favor and buy a reliable cable. I can't tell you how many hours I wasted trying to get the software installed correctly, when to find out, it was just a poorly constructed cable.
Where did you get your cable, got a link you wanna through my way...
phat8186 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-16-2013, 09:54 AM   #8
icucCoding
Banned
 
Drives: X5, ALL4S
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Madison, WI

Posts: 96
iTrader: (3)

One Stop Electronics is the place where you can get the most reliable cable.
icucCoding is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-16-2013, 09:55 AM   #9
floyd923
New Member
 
Drives: 2008 328i
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United States

Posts: 5
iTrader: (0)

bought my initial one off of Amazon. I thought surely one cable is as good as the other...well thankfully Amazon has an awesome return policy.

Get the cable from one stop electronics: HERE

It does take a good 10 business days (two-ish weeks) for it to be delivered, so be ready for the wait...
floyd923 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-16-2013, 10:28 AM   #10
phat8186
Second Lieutenant
 
phat8186's Avatar
 
Drives: e92 335i AW / Coral Red
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: CT/NY

Posts: 271
iTrader: (3)

I don't mind the wait it just gives me more time to read up on the task at hand. Thanks for all the much needed help in pointing me in the right direction..
phat8186 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-16-2013, 12:52 PM   #11
wilbur_the_goose
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2010 328xi Coupe
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Metro Philly

Posts: 386
iTrader: (0)

(or - just get in touch with this guy: http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...ghlight=coding Amazingly friendly and everything I asked for was coded in about 15 minutes)
wilbur_the_goose is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-16-2013, 02:25 PM   #12
phat8186
Second Lieutenant
 
phat8186's Avatar
 
Drives: e92 335i AW / Coral Red
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: CT/NY

Posts: 271
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by wilbur_the_goose View Post
(or - just get in touch with this guy: http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...ghlight=coding Amazingly friendly and everything I asked for was coded in about 15 minutes)
If I didn't code stuff myself I was going to hit this guy up since he is 15 mins from my parents house in Brooklyn. Even to have him code stuff for me his price is retarded cheap. I just would love to learn the trade and at the same time learn my cars computer system...
phat8186 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-16-2013, 02:31 PM   #13
wilbur_the_goose
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2010 328xi Coupe
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Metro Philly

Posts: 386
iTrader: (0)

As nice as he is, I'd bet he'd do your initial coding and give you advice on how to go further yourself.
wilbur_the_goose is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-16-2013, 04:42 PM   #14
phat8186
Second Lieutenant
 
phat8186's Avatar
 
Drives: e92 335i AW / Coral Red
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: CT/NY

Posts: 271
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by wilbur_the_goose View Post
As nice as he is, I'd bet he'd do your initial coding and give you advice on how to go further yourself.
Wow that nice huh, I have a netbook that should work just fine for what I need. It's running windows vista which should work fine since its a 32bit operating system....
phat8186 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-16-2013, 08:17 PM   #15
wilbur_the_goose
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2010 328xi Coupe
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Metro Philly

Posts: 386
iTrader: (0)

Yep. Great guy with lots of patience.
wilbur_the_goose is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-16-2013, 08:39 PM   #16
phat8186
Second Lieutenant
 
phat8186's Avatar
 
Drives: e92 335i AW / Coral Red
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: CT/NY

Posts: 271
iTrader: (3)

Excellent great to know...
phat8186 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-16-2013, 10:12 PM   #17
nate5ks
Captain
 
Drives: 2006 BMW 330xi
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Jacksonville Beach, FL

Posts: 609
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by phat8186 View Post
Wow that nice huh, I have a netbook that should work just fine for what I need. It's running windows vista which should work fine since its a 32bit operating system....
32 bit OS is no longer required with BMW Standard Tools 2.12.
nate5ks is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-17-2013, 01:04 AM   #18
phat8186
Second Lieutenant
 
phat8186's Avatar
 
Drives: e92 335i AW / Coral Red
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: CT/NY

Posts: 271
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nate5ks View Post
32 bit OS is no longer required with BMW Standard Tools 2.12.
Excellent keep the usefull info coming...
phat8186 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:05 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST