E90Post
 


 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > UK Technical Forum > ** Evolve Switchable Remap - Special forum pricing ** (User/Install Guide in Post #1)



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-14-2013, 12:35 PM   #265
ade330d
Dont take life 2 serious, u will not get out alive
0
Rep
78
Posts

Drives: BMW e92 330d SE
Join Date: May 2013
Location: England

iTrader: (1)

OBD

Apologies, newbie.
Will the unit power the OBD or.... do you need to have the key in the ignition to transfer Maps.
Also, do you know if the computer counts of the number of times its been mapped and restore. As BMW will know.
Talking from a point of programming.
Appreciate 0
      05-15-2013, 08:58 AM   #266
Imran@Evolve
Imran@Evolve's Avatar
United Kingdom
150
Rep
2,378
Posts

Drives: Evolve F10 M5 E750
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bedfordshire UK

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via Skype™ to Imran@Evolve
Quote:
Originally Posted by ade330d View Post
Apologies, newbie.
Will the unit power the OBD or.... do you need to have the key in the ignition to transfer Maps.
Also, do you know if the computer counts of the number of times its been mapped and restore. As BMW will know.
Talking from a point of programming.
Ignition needs to on.

BMW have implemented something recently for diesels where they can tell if the car has been flashed. I do not know anyone that can guarantee a way around this.

If you are worried about warranty then I wouldn't tune the car.
Appreciate 0
      05-15-2013, 09:52 AM   #267
F104
Captain
Belgium
10
Rep
733
Posts

Drives: E92 320D M-sport
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: belgium

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Imran@Evolve View Post
Ignition needs to on.

BMW have implemented something recently for diesels where they can tell if the car has been flashed. I do not know anyone that can guarantee a way around this.
Hi Imran. Any idea what that is? bit count, or an un-erasable max value? Would be interesting to know, as I'm thinking about the F32 and engine options.

PS took my 320d to southern alps / dolomites last week. Managed to get three times 248kph/155mph on the counter (148mph gps) in germany, fairly level road (bugger - I never had safe distance left to see if it would hit 250), and plenty of 2nd/3rd gear overtaking in the mountains. Car returned 5.9/100 or 48 mpg on that trip, that was with me and the wife, associated luggage.., and 48 bottles of wine on the way back. Mileage confirmed by by tank to tank fill up calc.
I've now got 90k mls on it, and think 4+ years with your remap. It must have about paid for itself in fuel savings only
Appreciate 0
      05-15-2013, 09:59 AM   #268
Imran@Evolve
Imran@Evolve's Avatar
United Kingdom
150
Rep
2,378
Posts

Drives: Evolve F10 M5 E750
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bedfordshire UK

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via Skype™ to Imran@Evolve
Quote:
Originally Posted by F104 View Post
Hi Imran. Any idea what that is? bit count, or an un-erasable max value? Would be interesting to know, as I'm thinking about the F32 and engine options.

PS took my 320d to southern alps / dolomites last week. Managed to get three times 248kph/155mph on the counter (148mph gps) in germany, fairly level road (bugger - I never had safe distance left to see if it would hit 250), and plenty of 2nd/3rd gear overtaking in the mountains. Car returned 5.9/100 or 48 mpg on that trip, that was with me and the wife, associated luggage.., and 48 bottles of wine on the way back. Mileage confirmed by by tank to tank fill up calc.
I've now got 90k mls on it, and think 4+ years with your remap. It must have about paid for itself in fuel savings only
Its great to get feedback like this from a customer. Just shows the reliability of our tunes. Thanks!

On the older cars there is probably a work around but since most of them are out of warranty now it is not something that is being worked on.

On the newer cars we do not know what they have implemented. We are unable to flash these newer ECU's at present.
Appreciate 0
      05-28-2013, 05:52 PM   #269
jammy78
Lieutenant Colonel
United Kingdom
42
Rep
1,930
Posts

Drives: E92 330D M Sport
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Hertfordshire

iTrader: (21)

Are you developing a switchable map for the 245bhp 330D?
Appreciate 0
      10-06-2014, 07:13 AM   #270
cpu2008
New Member
0
Rep
14
Posts

Drives: BMW 320d 2011 efficient dynami
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: manchester

iTrader: (0)

I'm new to this forum and new to all this stuff related to remapping etc and will will really appreciate if you can clarify some of the questions/doubts that I have.
I have a bmw 320d efficient dynamic 2011 model with 57k on it. Is it possible to remap this car?
What gains can I see on this car? I am primarily looking for acceleration as there aren't many places where you can take advantage of the full speed; on paper the car goes 0 to 60 in 8 seconds, so in terms of acceleration what would be the estimate gain?
I think mine is 163bhp, what will it be after the remap? and what about the fuel efficiency?
I can see there are different remapping that can be done on the car, what sort of remappings can be done on mine and which one is recommended?

Thank you in advance
Appreciate 0
      03-24-2015, 04:23 PM   #271
///ajd
Colonel
///ajd's Avatar
United Kingdom
60
Rep
2,326
Posts

Drives: BMW 330d Touring
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: ...

iTrader: (1)

Hi,

Are you still mapping 330d 231ps?

Whats the price for a switch these days, at forum prices?
__________________
E91 330d Touring M Sport Auto 2006
225M 19" MV4 + Falken 453
M3 270M 18" rims + Vred Wintrac Extremes
130,000 miles
Appreciate 0
      06-01-2015, 03:34 PM   #272
SteveChester
Steve Roberts
United Kingdom
47
Rep
651
Posts

Drives: F30 330d M Sport
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chester

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
hi I purchased a remap a few years ago ( with the plug in device ) for my e90 330d and I have now sold it and bought a e90 330i tourer - how much is a remap for this?
Steve.
__________________
Steve Roberts
F30 330D.
Appreciate 0
      09-04-2015, 08:25 AM   #273
demig
Enlisted Member
United Kingdom
0
Rep
38
Posts

Drives: BMW 320D MSport (F31)
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Northumberland

iTrader: (0)

Hi all,

I have an F31 now so if anyone wants a cheap evolve switch drop me a pm, Not sure how much cheaper the maps are with the switch but makes it handy to remove the map from the car to send to evolve and for taking it off and on for dealer visits. Don't think you can use the map on their though as they do it specific to your car. Wish the F31 had such a convenient remap option!

Demig
Appreciate 0
      09-23-2015, 08:26 AM   #274
Imran@Evolve
Imran@Evolve's Avatar
United Kingdom
150
Rep
2,378
Posts

Drives: Evolve F10 M5 E750
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bedfordshire UK

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via Skype™ to Imran@Evolve
Quote:
Originally Posted by demig View Post
Hi all,

I have an F31 now so if anyone wants a cheap evolve switch drop me a pm, Not sure how much cheaper the maps are with the switch but makes it handy to remove the map from the car to send to evolve and for taking it off and on for dealer visits. Don't think you can use the map on their though as they do it specific to your car. Wish the F31 had such a convenient remap option!

Demig
The map is 199 inc VAT with a used switch.

Although we are tuning the new F series cars with good effect there is no switchable option as of yet.

Here is a dyno graph from the new 20d engine.

Evolve 1/2/3/420D ECU Remap by Evolve Automotive, on Flickr
Appreciate 0
      09-23-2015, 10:31 AM   #275
richk84
Major
England
32
Rep
1,022
Posts

Drives: e92 LCI 320d
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: All over

iTrader: (0)

Is that the same for the old 184bhp 20d in the e90s?
Appreciate 0
      12-05-2015, 03:42 PM   #276
F104
Captain
Belgium
10
Rep
733
Posts

Drives: E92 320D M-sport
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: belgium

iTrader: (0)

Evolve Switch won't write orginal file back

As a warning: I've a 2009 evolve switch. I can't update my car back to original. According to Evolve (Imran) and Alientech (the supplier of the unit) it's due to a (partial?) dealer update of my car. I'm not happy. The Switch reads my correct VIN number, but it fails over another reference.

So: if you own an early Switch (Alientech calls it a Powergate, easy to find pics) then see if you can re-load your original file. If you can then no problem, and likely you can still stop the process before it starts. I get a mismatch error.

I'm stuck at the moment, Imran has said he can't help me. This is going on for 3 weeks now. Alientech is willing to reset the switch if I send the unit to them, but they don't seem to realize the tuned file is still on my car. The car feels fast, and unless I'm mistaken the E90/92 320d's have a 225kph speed limiter. My car exceeds that easily in germany. Thus if I read-out the 'original' file, it's still the tune one.

I've sold the car with the promise of being able to re-load the original file. I can't, despite having a copy of the original file on my PC. The Xpro program on the Evolve link clearly allows to reset the unit and other things, but it gives a communication error. Both Imran and Alientech don't answer my questions on why I can't use Xpro myselve.

I'll send another very explicit email to Alientech.

Like I said, I'm not happy
Appreciate 0
      12-05-2015, 08:13 PM   #277
Sensible_
Captain
64
Rep
917
Posts

Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by F104
As a warning: I've a 2009 evolve switch. I can't update my car back to original. According to Evolve (Imran) and Alientech (the supplier of the unit) it's due to a (partial?) dealer update of my car. I'm not happy. The Switch reads my correct VIN number, but it fails over another reference.

So: if you own an early Switch (Alientech calls it a Powergate, easy to find pics) then see if you can re-load your original file. If you can then no problem, and likely you can still stop the process before it starts. I get a mismatch error.

I'm stuck at the moment, Imran has said he can't help me. This is going on for 3 weeks now. Alientech is willing to reset the switch if I send the unit to them, but they don't seem to realize the tuned file is still on my car. The car feels fast, and unless I'm mistaken the E90/92 320d's have a 225kph speed limiter. My car exceeds that easily in germany. Thus if I read-out the 'original' file, it's still the tune one.

I've sold the car with the promise of being able to re-load the original file. I can't, despite having a copy of the original file on my PC. The Xpro program on the Evolve link clearly allows to reset the unit and other things, but it gives a communication error. Both Imran and Alientech don't answer my questions on why I can't use Xpro myselve.

I'll send another very explicit email to Alientech.

Like I said, I'm not happy
Why don't you just flash your DDE with winkfp. This will restore BMW maps...
Appreciate 0
      12-06-2015, 03:32 PM   #278
F104
Captain
Belgium
10
Rep
733
Posts

Drives: E92 320D M-sport
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: belgium

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sensible_ View Post
Why don't you just flash your DDE with winkfp. This will restore BMW maps...
Might try that, but as the car is sold I don't have easy access to it.

Does the Bavarian Tech cable (I have) work with winkfp, and where does winkfp get the orginal file from? Are you saying there is a back-up file within the ECU??

thanks,

Martin
Appreciate 0
      12-06-2015, 04:03 PM   #279
Sensible_
Captain
64
Rep
917
Posts

Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by F104
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sensible_ View Post
Why don't you just flash your DDE with winkfp. This will restore BMW maps...
Might try that, but as the car is sold I don't have easy access to it.

Does the Bavarian Tech cable (I have) work with winkfp, and where does winkfp get the orginal file from? Are you saying there is a back-up file within the ECU??

thanks,

Martin
I'm not sure about your bav tech cable. I don't think so though. You need a K+DCAN cable or an ICOM.

Winkfp is a factory piece of software in BMW Standard Tools which is freely available online. With winkfp you can flash any module through the obd port with BMW stock firmware.

It's mainly used in update mode which obviously updates module to a newer version (zb number). This would be the easiest route. If you need to go back to the exact original version you had when you installed the evolve map you can also do this. You'd just have to use INPA to read the current DDE UIF to find which ZB number is installed then find a matching daten set with that file and just flash it back to the DDE...
Appreciate 0
      12-10-2015, 05:38 PM   #280
F104
Captain
Belgium
10
Rep
733
Posts

Drives: E92 320D M-sport
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: belgium

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sensible_ View Post
I'm not sure about your bav tech cable. I don't think so though. You need a K+DCAN cable or an ICOM.

Winkfp is a factory piece of software in BMW Standard Tools which is freely available online. With winkfp you can flash any module through the obd port with BMW stock firmware.

It's mainly used in update mode which obviously updates module to a newer version (zb number). This would be the easiest route. If you need to go back to the exact original version you had when you installed the evolve map you can also do this. You'd just have to use INPA to read the current DDE UIF to find which ZB number is installed then find a matching daten set with that file and just flash it back to the DDE...
Thanks, that's above my head right now and I'm not going to invest more to address this as the car has been sold. The new owner is very pleased with it, and I just hope he won't ask for the original software.
I'm very disappointed with the support level. Evolve (Imran) can't help, Alientech is of no support. Why did I buy a Switch??
Appreciate 0
      12-16-2015, 01:55 PM   #281
mrbubba
Private
7
Rep
60
Posts

Drives: E90 325 M Sport
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

What's the current pricing for E90 maps with the switch? 2008 325D

Thanks
Appreciate 0
      12-17-2015, 07:20 AM   #282
Imran@Evolve
Imran@Evolve's Avatar
United Kingdom
150
Rep
2,378
Posts

Drives: Evolve F10 M5 E750
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bedfordshire UK

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via Skype™ to Imran@Evolve
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrbubba View Post
What's the current pricing for E90 maps with the switch? 2008 325D

Thanks
449 inc VAT if bought this month. This is with the newer Evolve-R OBD cable that works with a Windows based laptop.
Appreciate 0
      12-17-2015, 07:27 AM   #283
Imran@Evolve
Imran@Evolve's Avatar
United Kingdom
150
Rep
2,378
Posts

Drives: Evolve F10 M5 E750
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bedfordshire UK

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via Skype™ to Imran@Evolve
Quote:
Originally Posted by F104 View Post
As a warning: I've a 2009 evolve switch. I can't update my car back to original. According to Evolve (Imran) and Alientech (the supplier of the unit) it's due to a (partial?) dealer update of my car. I'm not happy. The Switch reads my correct VIN number, but it fails over another reference.

So: if you own an early Switch (Alientech calls it a Powergate, easy to find pics) then see if you can re-load your original file. If you can then no problem, and likely you can still stop the process before it starts. I get a mismatch error.

I'm stuck at the moment, Imran has said he can't help me. This is going on for 3 weeks now. Alientech is willing to reset the switch if I send the unit to them, but they don't seem to realize the tuned file is still on my car. The car feels fast, and unless I'm mistaken the E90/92 320d's have a 225kph speed limiter. My car exceeds that easily in germany. Thus if I read-out the 'original' file, it's still the tune one.

I've sold the car with the promise of being able to re-load the original file. I can't, despite having a copy of the original file on my PC. The Xpro program on the Evolve link clearly allows to reset the unit and other things, but it gives a communication error. Both Imran and Alientech don't answer my questions on why I can't use Xpro myselve.

I'll send another very explicit email to Alientech.

Like I said, I'm not happy
I'm really sorry we couldn't help you any further with this issue. It has happened to us a few times on MINI's and the only way we can resolve it is to do a factory ECU update via a dealer. We have never seen this issue on a BMW D.
Appreciate 0
      12-18-2015, 03:53 PM   #284
mrbubba
Private
7
Rep
60
Posts

Drives: E90 325 M Sport
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Imran@Evolve View Post
449 inc VAT if bought this month. This is with the newer Evolve-R OBD cable that works with a Windows based laptop.
How do I go about ordering at this price?
Appreciate 0
      12-21-2015, 07:03 AM   #285
Imran@Evolve
Imran@Evolve's Avatar
United Kingdom
150
Rep
2,378
Posts

Drives: Evolve F10 M5 E750
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bedfordshire UK

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via Skype™ to Imran@Evolve
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrbubba View Post
How do I go about ordering at this price?
Just call us 01582 584 000 or email sales at evolveautomotive.com
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:14 PM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST