E90Post
 


Bimmer Retrofit
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > Center channel and MS-8 issue



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-10-2013, 12:34 PM   #1
tmac01
Private First Class
1

 
Drives: 2008 328i
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Texas


Posts: 139
iTrader: (0)

Center channel and MS-8 issue

So my car is at the shop again and I get a call "Hey man your 16 pin connector only has front right and left and rear right and left it doesn't have 8 channels so how do I hook up your center channel ?" WTH !!!! So is the center channel hooked up from the MS-8 through the 16 pin connector or through Technics harness ? Thanks
Appreciate 0
      06-10-2013, 12:43 PM   #2
kaigoss69
Brigadier General
United_States
63

 
kaigoss69's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 335i
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: JAX


Posts: 3,065
iTrader: (5)

I am assuming you are referring to the output connector?! Why would it not have 8 channels?
__________________
Mobridge DA2 > JBL MS-8 > ARC XDi 600/4 > JBL Gti 408 Mids & Vifa XT19 Tweeters; PG Ti2 1600.5 > Morel HCW-10 & IDMax 15
Appreciate 0
      06-10-2013, 12:50 PM   #3
tmac01
Private First Class
1

 
Drives: 2008 328i
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Texas


Posts: 139
iTrader: (0)

Yes the output on the MS-8 I sent you a PM Kaigoss ! Thank you
Appreciate 0
      06-10-2013, 01:52 PM   #4
Technic
Lieutenant General
United_States
162

 
Technic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida


Posts: 11,153
iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmac01 View Post
So my car is at the shop again and I get a call "Hey man your 16 pin connector only has front right and left and rear right and left it doesn't have 8 channels so how do I hook up your center channel ?" WTH !!!! So is the center channel hooked up from the MS-8 through the 16 pin connector or through Technics harness ? Thanks
As stated before... the MS-8 includes 16-pin input and output harnesses. Your seller kept those. You need to solve that with your MS-8 seller.
__________________
-2015 F30 320i, Imperial/Oyster, 8AT: August 2014 ED
-2012 E92 M3 Jerez Black/Rust Brown, M-DCT: Gone
-2008 E90 M3 Melbourne Red/Bamboo, 6MT: Gone
-2007 MK5 GTI United Grey/Grey, DSG: Gone
-2004 E46 M3 Carbon Black/Cinnamon, 6MT: Gone
Appreciate 0
      06-10-2013, 03:03 PM   #5
tmac01
Private First Class
1

 
Drives: 2008 328i
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Texas


Posts: 139
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
As stated before... the MS-8 includes 16-pin input and output harnesses. Your seller kept those. You need to solve that with your MS-8 seller.
I already did Technic he sent them to me and I have them and have the car back in the shop. The funny thing is that this is your old MS-8 according to the guy I bought it off of here on E90
Appreciate 0
      06-10-2013, 03:16 PM   #6
bmw325i
Brigadier General
56

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 325i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States


Posts: 4,406
iTrader: (6)

The ms8 has 8 channels and you can set them up however you want. If your installer can't figure that out, you might want to take it somewhere else.
Appreciate 0
      06-10-2013, 03:29 PM   #7
tmac01
Private First Class
1

 
Drives: 2008 328i
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Texas


Posts: 139
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmw325i View Post
The ms8 has 8 channels and you can set them up however you want. If your installer can't figure that out, you might want to take it somewhere else.
BMW I live in Podunk, TX if this doesn't work I don't have many choices : (
Appreciate 0
      06-10-2013, 03:30 PM   #8
tmac01
Private First Class
1

 
Drives: 2008 328i
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Texas


Posts: 139
iTrader: (0)

One question is the wire that is ran from the MS-8 out of the 16 pin high output just speaker wire or something else ? Maybe that's the issue !!!!!!
Appreciate 0
      06-10-2013, 03:31 PM   #9
tmac01
Private First Class
1

 
Drives: 2008 328i
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Texas


Posts: 139
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmw325i View Post
The ms8 has 8 channels and you can set them up however you want. If your installer can't figure that out, you might want to take it somewhere else.
And everything works fine other than the center channel.
Appreciate 0
      06-10-2013, 07:55 PM   #10
Technic
Lieutenant General
United_States
162

 
Technic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida


Posts: 11,153
iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmac01 View Post
I already did Technic he sent them to me and I have them and have the car back in the shop. The funny thing is that this is your old MS-8 according to the guy I bought it off of here on E90
The harnesses went with it then.

Regardless, you should have been informed prior to the sell if the MS-8 was missing parts.
__________________
-2015 F30 320i, Imperial/Oyster, 8AT: August 2014 ED
-2012 E92 M3 Jerez Black/Rust Brown, M-DCT: Gone
-2008 E90 M3 Melbourne Red/Bamboo, 6MT: Gone
-2007 MK5 GTI United Grey/Grey, DSG: Gone
-2004 E46 M3 Carbon Black/Cinnamon, 6MT: Gone
Appreciate 0
      06-10-2013, 08:12 PM   #11
tmac01
Private First Class
1

 
Drives: 2008 328i
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Texas


Posts: 139
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
The harnesses went with it then.

Regardless, you should have been informed prior to the sell if the MS-8 was missing parts.
I agree Technic the seller has kept in contact with me and has done everything to make it right. Thank you
Appreciate 0
      06-14-2013, 11:16 PM   #12
tmac01
Private First Class
1

 
Drives: 2008 328i
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Texas


Posts: 139
iTrader: (0)

So I worked all night on the MS-8 center channel issue and no luck it just wont work running it from the Hi balanced output. I even hooked my ipod up to the 16 pin harness and it worked but once you plug that sucker back in the MS-8 no center channel.
Appreciate 0
      06-15-2013, 12:51 AM   #13
bmw325i
Brigadier General
56

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 325i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States


Posts: 4,406
iTrader: (6)

The internal amp might be defective.
Appreciate 0
      06-15-2013, 02:09 AM   #14
makkan00
Major General
United Kingdom
116

 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex


Posts: 7,408
iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tmac01
So I worked all night on the MS-8 center channel issue and no luck it just wont work running it from the Hi balanced output. I even hooked my ipod up to the 16 pin harness and it worked but once you plug that sucker back in the MS-8 no center channel.
You have to calibrate again!
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-15-2013, 11:16 AM   #15
tmac01
Private First Class
1

 
Drives: 2008 328i
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Texas


Posts: 139
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00 View Post
You have to calibrate again!
What do you mean calibrate again ? I've calibrated this thing easily 100 times is there something else I'm missing ? Your talking about running through the whole calibration process correct ? Thanks Makkan00 ......
Appreciate 0
      06-15-2013, 11:20 AM   #16
tmac01
Private First Class
1

 
Drives: 2008 328i
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Texas


Posts: 139
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmw325i View Post
The internal amp might be defective.
Well the guy I bought it from said he had no issues running it the same way I did he even sent me pictures. I am just tired of spending so many hours on this one issue so I'm just going to get a small amp to run the center and be done.
Appreciate 0
      06-15-2013, 01:01 PM   #17
makkan00
Major General
United Kingdom
116

 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex


Posts: 7,408
iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tmac01
Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00 View Post
You have to calibrate again!
What do you mean calibrate again ? I've calibrated this thing easily 100 times is there something else I'm missing ? Your talking about running through the whole calibration process correct ? Thanks Makkan00 ......
Yes, during the calibration ms-8 identifies whether you are using ms-8 internal amp or external amp.
Once calibration is done and if you switch from one source of output to other, it does not work.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-15-2013, 07:07 PM   #18
tmac01
Private First Class
1

 
Drives: 2008 328i
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Texas


Posts: 139
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00 View Post
Yes, during the calibration ms-8 identifies whether you are using ms-8 internal amp or external amp.
Once calibration is done and if you switch from one source of output to other, it does now work.
Really ? It's never asked me that plus I'm using both internal and external when does it ask that I've calibrated so many times and its never asked me that. Hmmmm back to the garage I go : )
Appreciate 0
      06-15-2013, 07:19 PM   #19
kaigoss69
Brigadier General
United_States
63

 
kaigoss69's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 335i
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: JAX


Posts: 3,065
iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tmac01
Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00 View Post
Yes, during the calibration ms-8 identifies whether you are using ms-8 internal amp or external amp.
Once calibration is done and if you switch from one source of output to other, it does now work.
Really ? It's never asked me that plus I'm using both internal and external when does it ask that I've calibrated so many times and its never asked me that. Hmmmm back to the garage I go : )
It doesn't ask you, it apparently identifies the output automatically. I had forgotten about that, until Mak reminded me .
__________________
Mobridge DA2 > JBL MS-8 > ARC XDi 600/4 > JBL Gti 408 Mids & Vifa XT19 Tweeters; PG Ti2 1600.5 > Morel HCW-10 & IDMax 15
Appreciate 0
      06-15-2013, 08:49 PM   #20
tmac01
Private First Class
1

 
Drives: 2008 328i
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Texas


Posts: 139
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaigoss69 View Post
It doesn't ask you, it apparently identifies the output automatically. I had forgotten about that, until Mak reminded me .
Well then I'm just getting a small external amp then just to run the center. I've got everything running great other than the center and a small separate amp will fix that. I've tried everything and I mean everything and I know it's hooked up right. I've got it on channel 7 and it's coming out of the hi output using the 16 pin adapter and its running all the way to the center speaker it's should be that easy. It's funny how when I hook my iPod up to the 16 pin adapter music comes through the center but as soon as I plug it into the MS-8 Nothing !!!!! So small external amp here I come !!!!!
Appreciate 0
      06-15-2013, 11:54 PM   #21
makkan00
Major General
United Kingdom
116

 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex


Posts: 7,408
iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tmac01 View Post
Well then I'm just getting a small external amp then just to run the center. I've got everything running great other than the center and a small separate amp will fix that. I've tried everything and I mean everything and I know it's hooked up right. I've got it on channel 7 and it's coming out of the hi output using the 16 pin adapter and its running all the way to the center speaker it's should be that easy. It's funny how when I hook my iPod up to the 16 pin adapter music comes through the center but as soon as I plug it into the MS-8 Nothing !!!!! So small external amp here I come !!!!!
Your frustration is normal.
Few things for you to consider.
1- Check in the MS-8 menu if your L7 channels is turned on.
2- During the calibration, do you hear the noise through central channel?
3- Is there any RCA cable connected to channel 7 and if yes, MS-8 will assume that you have connected it to external amp and signals will go to that RCA. Take out any RCA if connected to channel 7.
4- If answer to 1 is yes, 2 is yes and 3 is no, and still no joy, connect the central speaker to CH8 through internal amp of MS-8 and re-calibrate.

I am not soliciting you not to use the external amp but suggesting you to treat the root cause and then do what you like.
All the best.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-16-2013, 12:37 AM   #22
tmac01
Private First Class
1

 
Drives: 2008 328i
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Texas


Posts: 139
iTrader: (0)

Hey Makkan,
First off I have to say after tonight I go this system sounding amazing even without the center working. My buddy who has installed for years swears it sounds and looks competition ready. I know I will have issues come up but for now its this one with the center so let me answer your questions:
1. Yes Logic 7 is on
2. No noise through calibration setup all other channels good
3. No RCA in channel 7

I actually ran the center through channel 5 and recalibrated and it didn't work I didn't try 8 that's where my sub is that a specific channel you think I should tryor just another channel like I did? As far as you not soliciting me to get another amp please solicite I greatly appreciate your help and all the others on here. I have an amazing stereo now and I'm down to one major issue and several small ones without you guys I'd be lost. Thank you so much Makkan : )




Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00 View Post
Your frustration is normal.
Few things for you to consider.
1- Check in the MS-8 menu if your L7 channels is turned on.
2- During the calibration, do you hear the noise through central channel?
3- Is there any RCA cable connected to channel 7 and if yes, MS-8 will assume that you have connected it to external amp and signals will go to that RCA. Take out any RCA if connected to channel 7.
4- If answer to 1 is yes, 2 is yes and 3 is no, and still no joy, connect the central speaker to CH8 through internal amp of MS-8 and re-calibrate.

I am not soliciting you not to use the external amp but suggesting you to treat the root cause and then do what you like.
All the best.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:35 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST