E90Post
 


TNT Racewerks
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > ConnectedDrive / I-Drive / Navigation Related Discussion > CIC iDrive controller in a CCC unit



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-01-2013, 04:17 PM   #1
adnanm3
Private
 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: NYC

Posts: 92
iTrader: (2)

CIC iDrive controller in a CCC unit

Hey guys. I have a 2007 335i with CCC unit from the factory. I purchased a CIC center console + CIC iDrive controller and installed it today. From what I understand, it should be a plug and play.

Well the unit lights up and all of the buttons work, but the scrolling function on the nob does not. Menu/Radio/Back etc all work but I cannot scroll using the knob.

I took a look at this thread but could not find any information
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...CIC+controller


Does it need to be coded for the new knob? Or is my iDrive controller perhaps dysfunctional?
adnanm3 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-01-2013, 05:04 PM   #2
adnanm3
Private
 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: NYC

Posts: 92
iTrader: (2)

nevermind, I found the answer. I have an early 07, which is why the scrolling isn't working :-/
adnanm3 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-02-2013, 02:31 PM   #3
adnanm3
Private
 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: NYC

Posts: 92
iTrader: (2)

Does anyone know if there is a way to fix this? Does it need coding? Would it work if I swapped in a newer CCC unit?
adnanm3 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-02-2013, 02:33 PM   #4
dylim
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 328xi
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: bay area

Posts: 238
iTrader: (3)

I don't think coding would solve this. A newer CCC unit would work without coding (as far as the controller is concerned; you might still need to code the newer CCC unit to your options).
dylim is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-02-2013, 07:42 PM   #5
zivyn
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: for enjoyment
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: West coast transplant

Posts: 333
iTrader: (12)

You might try getting the dealer to update you to the most recent software? Not sure if it would help, but if you can find someone willing to do it then it's worth a try.
zivyn is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-05-2013, 05:59 PM   #6
damp21plbe
Private First Class
 
damp21plbe's Avatar
 
Drives: 325i touring
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Meulebeke Belgium

Posts: 118
iTrader: (0)

I have the same problem . Please, somebody can ?
damp21plbe is offline   Poland
0
Reply With Quote
      01-21-2013, 02:22 PM   #7
largeproject
New Member
 
Drives: e91
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Holland

Posts: 11
iTrader: (0)

Take contact with BMW Navi (BeeK en Donk)in the Netherlands, he can program it that it will work.
largeproject is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-05-2013, 10:51 AM   #8
cegd
New Member
 
Drives: 2006 E90 325i (Manual)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Switzerland

Posts: 5
iTrader: (0)

Exclamation Help Please!!!!

Hey guys. I have a little problem that I hope someone can clarify for me . I have just purchased a new LCI iDrive controller for my 2006 E90 325i CCC Nav Pro System with voice control. Now I see that the old controller has 2 sockets (4 pin & 8 pin), however the new controller only has a 4 pin connector.

I saw in a thread somewhere that I need to transfer wires 1,2,4,5 from the 8 pin connector to 1,2,3,4 on the 4 pin connector (see attached pic).


My question is what happens to the 4 wires which were originally from the 4 pin connector, and what happens to the remaining 3 wires (3,6,7) from the 8 pin connector .

Any advice would be much appreciated .
Attached Images
 
cegd is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-05-2013, 12:31 PM   #9
terminator2k2
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2006 e90
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: uk

Posts: 161
iTrader: (0)

just a guess here, but the older controller had a kind of force feed back when you turned the controller, so may be they are feeds for the motor or something similar, newer I drive controllers don't have the feedback.....
terminator2k2 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-08-2013, 01:03 PM   #10
ibd12nv
Chief Warrant Officer 4
 
ibd12nv's Avatar
 
Drives: 335I, X5 4.8i
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Back in the US

Posts: 657
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 E90 335i  [5.00]
someone has to know the answer to this.
__________________
http://rapidshare.com/files/36182957/335i_sig2.jpg
ibd12nv is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-24-2013, 03:36 PM   #11
Hartge
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Hartge's Avatar
 
Drives: 330d Sport
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sheffield

Posts: 1,587
iTrader: (0)

Help needed, I installed this on my 2006 and all functions work apart from the scroll

Can this be coded ?

Thanks
__________________
Hartge is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-26-2013, 11:51 PM   #12
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 6,520
iTrader: (46)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shades
Help needed, I installed this on my 2006 and all functions work apart from the scroll

Can this be coded ?

Thanks
Get your ccc software updated.
__________________
makkan00 is online now   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      07-28-2013, 05:28 AM   #13
largeproject
New Member
 
Drives: e91
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Holland

Posts: 11
iTrader: (0)

CCC update only works for the 2008 CCC (with the extra 8 buttons), you need to coded it, then it will work.
largeproject is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-29-2013, 04:28 PM   #14
Hartge
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Hartge's Avatar
 
Drives: 330d Sport
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sheffield

Posts: 1,587
iTrader: (0)

ok thanks, car booked in for coding/software update with bmw specialist using autologic so fingers crossed should be sorted
__________________
Hartge is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-05-2013, 10:29 AM   #15
samulis
New Member
 
Drives: 2006 330i
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: South Jersey

Posts: 12
iTrader: (0)

Shades- did the software upgrade make the new controller work?
samulis is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-06-2013, 04:48 PM   #16
anielsen71
Lieutenant
 
Drives: E91 330dA
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Naestved, Denmark

Posts: 489
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Samulis
I had the same problem. And I got my CCC updated yesterday and that solved the problem :-)
__________________
Brgds
Allan
'06 E91 330dA Sparkling Graphite|19" VMR703 Black Matte|335i brakes|Eibach|Wagner|Ecotune|Turbo Dynamics
anielsen71 is offline   Denmark
0
Reply With Quote
      09-07-2013, 01:38 PM   #17
samulis
New Member
 
Drives: 2006 330i
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: South Jersey

Posts: 12
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by anielsen71 View Post
Samulis
I had the same problem. And I got my CCC updated yesterday and that solved the problem :-)
Cool thanks! Ill have to look into getting my ccc updated soon.
samulis is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-12-2013, 09:50 PM   #18
e90msportmia
Captain
 
e90msportmia's Avatar
 
Drives: e90
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Miami, FL

Posts: 697
iTrader: (6)

Hello Everyone, (SORRY FOR REPOSTING AND BUMPING)

Hate to bring back a thread but it seems like I did not do enough research. So my build date is 01/06 e90 325i with nav.

I went out of the way and bought the center trim LCI, the LCI controller bracket, and the LCI controller. Did the install and low and behold no SCROLL. So after reading all over, texting some locals for coding I AM FREAKING THE F*&K OUT... According to the info on here updating the CCC is a BIG deal and can be expensive. I am going to try troubleshooting at the dealer and see what happens. I am really not hopeful!

If anyone has experience with this please send a PM or post up a comment.

MUCH HELP NEEDED IN MIAMI!

Thank you,
e90msportmia is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-23-2013, 02:24 PM   #19
e90msportmia
Captain
 
e90msportmia's Avatar
 
Drives: e90
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Miami, FL

Posts: 697
iTrader: (6)

ANYONE? Thanks
e90msportmia is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-13-2014, 06:55 PM   #20
Tichx
Private First Class
 
Drives: E92 335D Coupe
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: London

Posts: 103
iTrader: (0)

LCI Controller Knob in Pre-LCI Check List

Guys,

I have been through this pain on my 335D 2007 E92 Coupe, these are the steps you need to make this work:

1) CCC software should be the silver menu, not the old brown menu....if you have brown menu on the main screen you need to update the software at an indy or BMW (Will from TWG can do this for you, leave overnight and pick up next day as it can take 6/7 hours to complete - expect to pay from 100 to 150 for this..)
2) The CCC unit on the dashboard must have the 8 soft touch programmable keys, if you don't have these then you must swap your CCC for a newer one first..
3) After the LCI controller swap you need to program a setting to aviod haptic feedback (change setting to ZBE low with slopes with coding software)
4) After the change if you have idrive you will lose 'Voice Control', as I'm explaining this for people with Pre-LCI cars you can get your recovery FSC DVD from the internet (link here: http://www.rapidshare.com/files/4382...03.rar)...this has all FSC codes for cars up to 03/2007 (find your VIN and save two files).
5) This is the bit I'm currenty at! ;-) I don't know how to get the FSC code into the controller, if anyone has this information please share so I can get my voice control back! I heard you have to use 'Progman' but if anyone can share the steps it would be most appreciated.

NOTE: without step 5 the new controller works fine, only voice control will not work until the FSC code is updated..

Regards,

Tich.
__________________

Last edited by Tichx; 01-13-2014 at 07:04 PM.
Tichx is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-17-2014, 11:52 AM   #21
BOTUS
Private First Class
 
Drives: E90 335d
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: UK

Posts: 181
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tichx View Post
Guys,

I have been through this pain on my 335D 2007 E92 Coupe, these are the steps you need to make this work:

1) CCC software should be the silver menu, not the old brown menu....
1) what's silver menu look like?
2) are you talking business nav or widescreen?
3) lose voice control of ? S620A voice prep is this different to BT using Ulf Hi with voice dialling or ?

Last edited by BOTUS; 01-17-2014 at 12:23 PM.
BOTUS is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-17-2014, 02:15 PM   #22
Tichx
Private First Class
 
Drives: E92 335D Coupe
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: London

Posts: 103
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BOTUS View Post
1) what's silver menu look like?
2) are you talking business nav or widescreen?
3) lose voice control of ? S620A voice prep is this different to BT using Ulf Hi with voice dialling or ?
I have the widescreen CCC, see my pics in my profile of the interior...

When your on the main CCC screen, with the four options the background should be silver/grey.... if it's brown you have the old software.
__________________
Tichx is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:40 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST