E90Post
 


Heel & Toe Apparel
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > DIY Guides > DIY - BMW MOST iPod Adapter Install



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-20-2009, 02:34 PM   #45
FrankoQ
Deny everything
FrankoQ's Avatar
United_States
157
Rep
11,316
Posts

Drives: 2006 330i
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Laurel, MD

iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2006 330i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to FrankoQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by siscobmw View Post
I 'd like, please, the picture of the bridge you told about the stage 1.....
anyone? please?
Francesco from North Italy
The programming before the install is no longer needed.
I wrote another DIY for the MOST adapter with a few more details and pics.
Hope this helps you.

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=184807
__________________

I need a drink

Appreciate 0
      11-23-2009, 05:55 AM   #46
siscobmw
freude am fahren ....scheiden freude...
siscobmw's Avatar
Italy
8
Rep
299
Posts

Drives: Z4 Sdrive30i tiefseeblau
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Italy

iTrader: (0)

Thank you very much!
My dealer told me that he gave me instructions and there's everything ...not true!
thank you....this is the confirmation you are better than dealers!
thank you again!!!!
Francesco
Appreciate 0
      09-01-2010, 06:38 PM   #47
dlr944
Enlisted Member
dlr944's Avatar
0
Rep
34
Posts

Drives: 335i Coupe
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Austin

iTrader: (0)

Installed ipod interface kit per the instructions above from (Evan and Franok) over the weekend. Installed kit 65 11 0 439 429 and it powers the ipod 3G. Did not pre-load any software. Took it to the dealer today and they coded the radio - charged me 1.5 hours of labor but considering the money saved above, it was well worth it. '07 E92
Appreciate 0
      01-31-2011, 11:43 AM   #48
mjd5
Private
Australia
0
Rep
57
Posts

Drives: white e90
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: australia sydney

iTrader: (0)

great write ups, like pics!
Appreciate 0
      05-11-2012, 01:58 PM   #49
E90cruisin
First Lieutenant
17
Rep
376
Posts

Drives: 330i
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Florida

iTrader: (8)

Does anyone know where I can get a new harness plug? I broke the tab on mine that holds in the fiber optic plug. It is plug X13812 in the instructions. Is this something that is sold separately?
Appreciate 0
      07-09-2013, 05:53 PM   #50
OlagŁe
Brigadier General
OlagŁe's Avatar
Spain
62
Rep
4,444
Posts

Drives: 333i e92
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: New York City

iTrader: (0)

Anyone know if you can update the interface? I connected a usb but the display shows UPDATE. Do not understand why the screen gets update, I need to update the firmware? the ipod works but the usb connector to the pen drive does not work. You can update? I have an ipod and I do not charge the battery and another ipod if I charge the battery.

thanks
Appreciate 0
      11-10-2013, 09:08 PM   #51
EverybodyWildOu
Private First Class
4
Rep
163
Posts

Drives: 2007 335i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: NJ

iTrader: (0)

I hooked mine up but there is no sound coming out from the headunit. And the SOS with the slash came up on the dash. Will the coding fix this?? Or did I botch up the install perhaps?
Appreciate 0
      11-13-2013, 02:47 AM   #52
EverybodyWildOu
Private First Class
4
Rep
163
Posts

Drives: 2007 335i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: NJ

iTrader: (0)

Figured out my issue. The optical input was switched with the optical output cable on the ipod harness itself... Thanks BMW...
Appreciate 0
      03-30-2014, 02:14 PM   #53
Obioban
Major
103
Rep
1,334
Posts

Drives: 05 M3, 95 M3 euro, 01 M5, e91
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: West Chester, PA

iTrader: (0)

Is this all accurate for LCI cars?
Appreciate 0
      07-04-2014, 03:23 PM   #54
Obioban
Major
103
Rep
1,334
Posts

Drives: 05 M3, 95 M3 euro, 01 M5, e91
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: West Chester, PA

iTrader: (0)

I retrofitted the MOST iPod interface to my wife's e91, including adding IPOD to the vehicle order. This was done by me using NCS Expert, and, when that didn't do it, by my shop using auto logic. Every module was also updated to the latest version by the shop when they couldn't get it to work, thinking maybe a newer version was require.

Anyway, this issue: Currently it is still identified on the radio as "CDC" instead of "iPod". Music is played, play/pause and next/previous track works, and meta data (song name) is displayed on the screen...

but

Playlist selection does not work (entire library only), shuffle does not work, and it starts at the beginning of the library every time "CDC" is selected.

Any idea what I could be missing?

Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      11-10-2014, 07:25 PM   #55
Obioban
Major
103
Rep
1,334
Posts

Drives: 05 M3, 95 M3 euro, 01 M5, e91
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: West Chester, PA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Obioban View Post
I retrofitted the MOST iPod interface to my wife's e91, including adding IPOD to the vehicle order. This was done by me using NCS Expert, and, when that didn't do it, by my shop using auto logic. Every module was also updated to the latest version by the shop when they couldn't get it to work, thinking maybe a newer version was require.

Anyway, this issue: Currently it is still identified on the radio as "CDC" instead of "iPod". Music is played, play/pause and next/previous track works, and meta data (song name) is displayed on the screen...

but

Playlist selection does not work (entire library only), shuffle does not work, and it starts at the beginning of the library every time "CDC" is selected.

Any idea what I could be missing?

Thanks!
bump!
Appreciate 0
      11-10-2014, 07:45 PM   #56
enforcerman
The Man
enforcerman's Avatar
United_States
7
Rep
336
Posts

Drives: 2007 328i
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 328i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to enforcerman
It will always show up as the cd changer (CDC). Don't know about the playlist. Never messed w/ those. I just hook mine up and use the music app to play music. I never go through the stereo interface. its WAY to hard to use.
__________________
2007 328i (01/07 Production)
Monaco Blue
Modifications:
Blacked out Kidney Grill || Bluetooth Retrofit || Ipod Retrofit || Rear Power Outlets || Euro Switch || Blacklines
Appreciate 0
      11-30-2014, 04:31 PM   #57
SMOKE EM IF U GOT EM!!
Lieutenant Colonel
SMOKE EM IF U GOT EM!!'s Avatar
United_States
109
Rep
1,762
Posts

Drives: 06 E90 330, 16 So/So F82 M4TMF
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: L.I, NY

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2006 330i SPORT  [3.67]
Put this in years ago when the iPhone 3 first dropped. Now I'm wondering does anyone know if BMW makes a lightning cable to connect to the most interface so we can use 5 or newer phones for this? I bought the lightning to 30 pin connector adaptor but that didn't work. It didn't recognize it at all. Sucks that this is almost useless unless I plug in an absolete phone or iPod.
__________________



LIVE FAST..DRIVE FASTER!!
Appreciate 0
      11-30-2014, 08:03 PM   #58
enforcerman
The Man
enforcerman's Avatar
United_States
7
Rep
336
Posts

Drives: 2007 328i
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 328i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to enforcerman
You have to get an adapter that makes the BMW 30 pin into the "new" 30 pin that charges. Then you get the 30 pin to lightening wire/adaptor. I have this setup and it works just fine. I even ran the wire up to the roof.
__________________
2007 328i (01/07 Production)
Monaco Blue
Modifications:
Blacked out Kidney Grill || Bluetooth Retrofit || Ipod Retrofit || Rear Power Outlets || Euro Switch || Blacklines
Appreciate 0
      12-03-2014, 12:30 PM   #59
SMOKE EM IF U GOT EM!!
Lieutenant Colonel
SMOKE EM IF U GOT EM!!'s Avatar
United_States
109
Rep
1,762
Posts

Drives: 06 E90 330, 16 So/So F82 M4TMF
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: L.I, NY

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2006 330i SPORT  [3.67]
Quote:
Originally Posted by enforcerman View Post
You have to get an adapter that makes the BMW 30 pin into the "new" 30 pin that charges. Then you get the 30 pin to lightening wire/adaptor. I have this setup and it works just fine. I even ran the wire up to the roof.
hey thanks for the reply. would you be able to point me to a link to something. as stated i have the 30 pin to lightning. but i guess you mean i need one before the adapter i bought also. thanks for the help.

I also bought the belkin Bluetooth aux input jack. works great to wirelessly stream with but id also like to be able to use the port in the glovebox to keep an old phone in there too.
__________________



LIVE FAST..DRIVE FASTER!!
Appreciate 0
      12-03-2014, 03:58 PM   #60
enforcerman
The Man
enforcerman's Avatar
United_States
7
Rep
336
Posts

Drives: 2007 328i
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 328i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to enforcerman
I bought mine from cablejive.com years ago. Not sure if they still have it.
__________________
2007 328i (01/07 Production)
Monaco Blue
Modifications:
Blacked out Kidney Grill || Bluetooth Retrofit || Ipod Retrofit || Rear Power Outlets || Euro Switch || Blacklines
Appreciate 0
      02-28-2015, 01:24 AM   #61
NBTBRV8
Captain
NBTBRV8's Avatar
24
Rep
600
Posts

Drives: Cayman GTS
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Australia

iTrader: (0)

Guys,

I have installed my ipod in a E90 with CD changer. I have followed and double checked my install against the instructions, but it won't code, the SSS says that the module isn't responding correctly. I have checked that I have power to the ipod interface, I have checked the fibre optic cable, the input cable is in port 1 on the plug in to the interface (i.e. that is the one with the red light following the arrow pointing to the interface.

There are some posts on here that the fibre optic cables in the retrofit loom are wrong, can somebody explain this a bit better as from what I can tell the cable comes from the car in to the CCC out to the ipod interface and then bridged back in to the car loom.

The ipod shows the BMW roundel. I have also bridged my CD changer out of the loop.

Any clues?
Appreciate 0
      03-02-2015, 04:45 PM   #62
lolligaggins
New Member
United_States
0
Rep
8
Posts

Drives: 2007 E92
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: HouTX

iTrader: (0)

is there a fuse for this? Mine works but only when the ipod is charged. it used to provide power and recharge the ipod but it doesnt anymore. wiring all looks fine, is there a fuse or something i'm missing for this?
Appreciate 0
      03-07-2015, 07:12 AM   #63
NBTBRV8
Captain
NBTBRV8's Avatar
24
Rep
600
Posts

Drives: Cayman GTS
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Australia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by NBTBRV8 View Post
Guys,

I have installed my ipod in a E90 with CD changer. I have followed and double checked my install against the instructions, but it won't code, the SSS says that the module isn't responding correctly. I have checked that I have power to the ipod interface, I have checked the fibre optic cable, the input cable is in port 1 on the plug in to the interface (i.e. that is the one with the red light following the arrow pointing to the interface.

There are some posts on here that the fibre optic cables in the retrofit loom are wrong, can somebody explain this a bit better as from what I can tell the cable comes from the car in to the CCC out to the ipod interface and then bridged back in to the car loom.

The ipod shows the BMW roundel. I have also bridged my CD changer out of the loop.

Any clues?
Bump. Here are my coding issues in the attached screen shots.
Attached Images
    
Appreciate 0
      03-21-2015, 09:02 PM   #64
SMOKE EM IF U GOT EM!!
Lieutenant Colonel
SMOKE EM IF U GOT EM!!'s Avatar
United_States
109
Rep
1,762
Posts

Drives: 06 E90 330, 16 So/So F82 M4TMF
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: L.I, NY

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2006 330i SPORT  [3.67]
Quote:
Originally Posted by enforcerman View Post
You have to get an adapter that makes the BMW 30 pin into the "new" 30 pin that charges. Then you get the 30 pin to lightening wire/adaptor. I have this setup and it works just fine. I even ran the wire up to the roof.
Could you link me up w the right stuff please?
__________________



LIVE FAST..DRIVE FASTER!!
Appreciate 0
      03-29-2015, 02:57 AM   #65
NBTBRV8
Captain
NBTBRV8's Avatar
24
Rep
600
Posts

Drives: Cayman GTS
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Australia

iTrader: (0)

I got mine coded in the end on the SSS. The problem was me not coding it correctly (trying to code the CDC which I had disconnected instead of the retrofitted ipod) and new coding software.

Did anybody work out if it was possible to have the ipod continue on from where it was last stopped instead of starting from the beginning of the track again? I keep 1 hour + sets on my ipod, so this is an issue.
Attached Images
   
Appreciate 0
      07-26-2015, 02:32 PM   #66
EvanL
Private
United_States
11
Rep
56
Posts

Drives: 335i Coupe
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Madison, WI

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by NBTBRV8 View Post
Did anybody work out if it was possible to have the ipod continue on from where it was last stopped instead of starting from the beginning of the track again? I keep 1 hour + sets on my ipod, so this is an issue.
I'd be quite surprised if this were possible; the bridge interface that connects the iPod to the MOST system initializes the iPod and reads its index whenever the car is started.

Interestingly enough, the iPod bridge reinitializes whenever the DME is power-cycled, so if one could spoof the bridge into thinking the DME was still on, it might be possible. Long shot though...
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:53 PM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST