E90Post
 


GT Haus
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Changing triple turn signal blink count



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-14-2013, 06:25 AM   #111
muhanda1
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 2010 320d E90 MY10
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Australia

Posts: 38
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dluke View Post
yes NFRM/FRM, not CAS.. also it is very likely that the daten file that you need to edit with NCSDummy will differ from the daten file that i edited.. the file you edit should be the file that pops up in the box after you select the 'basic function' 'coapiReadSgGetFswPsw'.. that is the daten file that you need to edit with NCSDummy
Where do you select the 'basic function' 'coapiReadSgGetFswPsw'?
muhanda1 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-14-2013, 06:33 AM   #112
muhanda1
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 2010 320d E90 MY10
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Australia

Posts: 38
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cn555ic View Post
When you read the frm module after the nettodat file pops up, close out the file by pressing X and then look at NCSexpert for the spdaten file that is being used with your car. Copy that frm file and that is the one you will need to edit with ncsdummies
I read the NFRM module but could not see a nettodat file popping up.
I am still trying to figure out which FRM file to edit.
So far tried FRMA.C09,FRMA.C10 and FRMA.C11.
But still no luck.
muhanda1 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-14-2013, 01:27 PM   #113
dluke
Sh!t happens... Deal with it
 
dluke's Avatar
 
Drives: '06 Alpine 330i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Nor Cal

Posts: 63
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
'06 BMW 330i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by muhanda1 View Post
Where do you select the 'basic function' 'coapiReadSgGetFswPsw'?
so you first load your profile, then select f1, then f3, then select your chassis, and then select NFRM.. then you select 'process ecu' (f4) and select FRM, and then select 'read ecu' (i think f4 again?) and then it will read the module.. after it has finished reading the module then hit 'basic functions' (f5), then select 'coapiReadSgGetFswPsw' and hit ok.. once you hit ok a box will pop up, the first field in that box will display the daten file that you need to edit, the first field will say CBD name: and the daten file will follow..... so then once you have the daten file you need you can just click ok and close NCSExpert, because after that is where you would select to code the module but obviously we dont want to do that yet.

Last edited by dluke; 06-14-2013 at 01:58 PM.
dluke is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-15-2013, 04:20 AM   #114
muhanda1
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 2010 320d E90 MY10
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Australia

Posts: 38
iTrader: (0)

thanks to dluke and cn555ic and many others.
Finally managed to change the blink count.
I did some step by step screen shots and try to post it here.
Hoping that someone will benefit from it.
Please correct me If I have explained anything incorrectly.
It was FRM3_E89.C32 that I had to edit in my car.
Attached Images
File Type: pdf Triple turning light coding steps.pdf (2.85 MB, 361 views)
muhanda1 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-15-2013, 01:12 PM   #115
dluke
Sh!t happens... Deal with it
 
dluke's Avatar
 
Drives: '06 Alpine 330i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Nor Cal

Posts: 63
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
'06 BMW 330i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by muhanda1 View Post
thanks to dluke and cn555ic and many others.
Finally managed to change the blink count.
I did some step by step screen shots and try to post it here.
Hoping that someone will benefit from it.
Please correct me If I have explained anything incorrectly.
It was FRM3_E89.C32 that I had to edit in my car.
nice man! glad you got it worked out!
dluke is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-09-2013, 11:17 PM   #116
jc_bmw
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2009 BMW 328i E90
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Markham, Ontario

Posts: 231
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by muhanda1 View Post
thanks to dluke and cn555ic and many others.
Finally managed to change the blink count.
I did some step by step screen shots and try to post it here.
Hoping that someone will benefit from it.
Please correct me If I have explained anything incorrectly.
It was FRM3_E89.C32 that I had to edit in my car.
Tried the method. Didn't seem to work for me but maybe because my iDrive is messed up right now and is not taking in any changes in general. Waiting for the new iDrive to come in before trying again.

Last edited by jc_bmw; 07-10-2013 at 06:31 AM.
jc_bmw is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      07-20-2013, 08:49 PM   #117
jc_bmw
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2009 BMW 328i E90
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Markham, Ontario

Posts: 231
iTrader: (1)

Just got the car back with new iDrive. Followed the PDF instructions again and executed the job but doesn't seem to have done anything. Any help? I was coding with the engine on.

EDIT: Got it working following the instructions! Thanks! Apparently the file I needed to edit was FRM2_E89.C09

Last edited by jc_bmw; 07-20-2013 at 09:24 PM.
jc_bmw is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      12-11-2013, 10:16 PM   #118
JimVR4
Second Lieutenant
 
JimVR4's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 328i M-Sport 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: San Jose, CA

Posts: 289
iTrader: (0)

I found out by accident that this is tied to the specific key that you are using. I took my car in for its last warranty service and gave them the second key. When I get the car back the 6x blinks didn't work. I went back to the original key and thy worked fine. I have comfort access if that matters
__________________
2009 E90 328i ///M-Sport / Blue Water Metallic / Oyster/Black Dakota / PP / 6MT / 194M / Comfort / iPod+USB w/ProClip charging dash mount / $494 /
1995 3000GT Spyder VR4
JimVR4 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-30-2013, 12:32 AM   #119
Rotary Rasp
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Rotary Rasp's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 E92 335i 6MT
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: SoCal - Torrance

Posts: 1,628
iTrader: (6)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimVR4 View Post
I found out by accident that this is tied to the specific key that you are using. I took my car in for its last warranty service and gave them the second key. When I get the car back the 6x blinks didn't work. I went back to the original key and thy worked fine. I have comfort access if that matters

good info
__________________
Rotary Rasp is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-11-2014, 02:06 AM   #120
joepcrepairs
Banned
 
Drives: 09 e92 335
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Norwalk, Ca

Posts: 118
iTrader: (0)

BEFORE YOU DO THIS PROCESS MAKE SURE YOU HAVE YOUR BLINKERS SET TO 3BLINKS . THEN FOLLOW THIS PROCCESS THEN.




for those of you stilll having issues on how to change this on FRM (frm1) the value that you need to look for in your nettodat file is different than on frm2(nfrm)
below imma post a poc of the value you need to change:

instructions are simple

AS USUAL:

1. open ncs
2. load profile
3.press f1
4.press f3
5.choose chassins (e89)
6.press back
7.read ecu (Frm)
8. after you see the screen with bunch of numbers pop up just close it
9.now go to your work folder.
10.open your nettodat.trc file and look for this line:
B 00340300

now look at the picture im about to post and see which value i changed to BB( 6 blinks).. before it used to be 2F=3blinks so iu changed to (BB)
after you change it

11.save file as NEttodat.man (make sure you select all files otherwise it would save as plain text.


now go back to your ncsexpert and hit BAsic functions
select coapiCodeSgByNettoData click ok

now a window should pop up :

the first line should show :Frm.xxx.xx
the second line its blank and you need to input this: NETTODAT.MAN then click ok.. it shoud run its process then if succesfully coded you will see a screen saying BAsic Functions ended Properly..
at this point youre done..
remove key from slot put back in then try your signal blinkers
Attached Images
 
joepcrepairs is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-15-2014, 11:42 PM   #121
joepcrepairs
Banned
 
Drives: 09 e92 335
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Norwalk, Ca

Posts: 118
iTrader: (0)

frm1

heres a video i made to make things easier this is for frm1 module. frm2 value its different

joepcrepairs is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-17-2014, 08:17 AM   #122
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
cn555ic's Avatar
 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

Posts: 18,278
iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Quote:
Originally Posted by ************ View Post
heres a video i made to make things easier this is for frm1 module. frm2 value its different

Video is good but the DIY are already pretty easy and self explanatory
cn555ic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-17-2014, 12:28 PM   #123
joepcrepairs
Banned
 
Drives: 09 e92 335
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Norwalk, Ca

Posts: 118
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cn555ic View Post
Video is good but the DIY are already pretty easy and self explanatory
yes but some people still get confused with ncddummy thats why I made the video to make things easier
joepcrepairs is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-23-2014, 08:10 PM   #124
toicy4ya
First Lieutenant
 
toicy4ya's Avatar
 
Drives: 06 BMW 330XI
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: NYC

Posts: 361
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ************ View Post
BEFORE YOU DO THIS PROCESS MAKE SURE YOU HAVE YOUR BLINKERS SET TO 3BLINKS . THEN FOLLOW THIS PROCCESS THEN.




for those of you stilll having issues on how to change this on FRM (frm1) the value that you need to look for in your nettodat file is different than on frm2(nfrm)
below imma post a poc of the value you need to change:

instructions are simple

AS USUAL:

1. open ncs
2. load profile
3.press f1
4.press f3
5.choose chassins (e89)
6.press back
7.read ecu (Frm)
8. after you see the screen with bunch of numbers pop up just close it
9.now go to your work folder.
10.open your nettodat.trc file and look for this line:
B 00340300

now look at the picture im about to post and see which value i changed to BB( 6 blinks).. before it used to be 2F=3blinks so iu changed to (BB)
after you change it

11.save file as NEttodat.man (make sure you select all files otherwise it would save as plain text.


now go back to your ncsexpert and hit BAsic functions
select coapiCodeSgByNettoData click ok

now a window should pop up :

the first line should show :Frm.xxx.xx
the second line its blank and you need to input this: NETTODAT.MAN then click ok.. it shoud run its process then if succesfully coded you will see a screen saying BAsic Functions ended Properly..
at this point youre done..
remove key from slot put back in then try your signal blinkers
Joe i followed each step but it didnt work. However, because i have comfort access I did not have the key inserted when coding, is it necessary to have the key inserted while coding the car?
__________________
2006 330XI BSM, Terra Cotta Leather Interior, ZSP, ZPP, ZWP, ZCV, Comfort Access, Adaptive Xenon, Steptronic, Logic 7, Nav w/ IDrive

toicy4ya is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-23-2014, 08:31 PM   #125
joepcrepairs
Banned
 
Drives: 09 e92 335
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Norwalk, Ca

Posts: 118
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by toicy4ya View Post
Joe i followed each step but it didnt work. However, because i have comfort access I did not have the key inserted when coding, is it necessary to have the key inserted while coding the car?
this was done on frm1 module

dont need the key inserted .. however i always code with key on slot... so put the key in.. then go into your key menu and change the setting to 3x blinks on cluster first...

now remove the key and put key back in . read your frm module.. then go to your folder open up the nettodat.trc look for the line showing on video and change that 2F to BB then save file as .man.. then follow the resrt of the video.. if you still got issues after this try pm me . ill help you remotely
joepcrepairs is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-25-2014, 09:25 AM   #126
mfish123
Private First Class
 
Drives: 335
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: United States

Posts: 131
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by muhanda1 View Post
thanks to dluke and cn555ic and many others.
Finally managed to change the blink count.
I did some step by step screen shots and try to post it here.
Hoping that someone will benefit from it.
Please correct me If I have explained anything incorrectly.
It was FRM3_E89.C32 that I had to edit in my car.
muhanda1 Thanks - these instructions worked perfectly for me!
__________________
2009 335i Sedan 6AT xdrive
BMS DCI
Cobb Intercooler
Cobb V2
Custom PTF map based on Stage 1+ 4.02 standard throttle
mfish123 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-10-2014, 09:03 PM   #127
joepcrepairs2
Banned
 
joepcrepairs2's Avatar
 
Drives: e92
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Norwalk, Ca

Posts: 128
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by purplecty View Post
Video is GREAT!
did you get them working?? to 6 blinks???

i actually like 7 blinks so i changed mine to 3F

3F Will give you 7 blinks
joepcrepairs2 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-10-2014, 09:39 PM   #128
joepcrepairs2
Banned
 
joepcrepairs2's Avatar
 
Drives: e92
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Norwalk, Ca

Posts: 128
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by purplecty View Post
Yes but how do you do for FRM2?
same way just differnt line
for frm2 is

341500 the 9th digits should be 2f (default 3blinks) just change that to bb for 6blinks ) or 3F For 7 blinks
joepcrepairs2 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-17-2014, 04:58 PM   #129
dbworld4k
Gearhead
 
Drives: E92 335i + E39 M5
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: [X] Chicago [ ] Toronto

Posts: 510
iTrader: (0)

Okay after hours of trying everything I could, I'm still unsuccessful here. My car is a 2009 335i Coupe with iDrive. My Triple blink function has always been active through the iDrive system.

When I load NCSExpert via NFRM (not CAS or FRM in the initial steps to read the car), it reads FRM2_E89.C08 upon loading, and when I hit FA_Read and Execute it goes to FRM2_E89.C09. I started disassembling and reassembling the values in these Daten files (even FRM3_E89.C32) values for wert_01 to 05 using NCS Dummy.

Interestingly, wert_01's default values are 01 despite my triple flash being enabled the whole time (shouldn't it be 03 then?). I recoded the car. When coding is finished, the checkmark next to Triple Flash in my iDrive is gone. I turn the car off and then back on, and it still only blinks 3 times and the checkmark is re-enabled in iDrive. Seems like whatever I did to the Datens did not work.

Also of note: When disassembling the Daten file in NCS Dummy as per muhanda1's PDF, it never asks me for a Configuration file as indicated in the steps of that PDF... It simply saves the txt version of the Daten for editing.

My B 00341500 reads as: 0010,28,24,28,24,28,34,28,2C,28,34,28,34,00,00,00, 00. There is a 2C where you guys reportedly have a 2F :/
__________________

'09 335i Alpine White + Coral Red || '02 ///M5 Imola Red + Imola Red

Last edited by dbworld4k; 04-17-2014 at 05:17 PM.
dbworld4k is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      04-17-2014, 05:34 PM   #130
dbworld4k
Gearhead
 
Drives: E92 335i + E39 M5
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: [X] Chicago [ ] Toronto

Posts: 510
iTrader: (0)

Nevermind, I went the simpler way of modifying the NETTODAT.MAN file and it worked!
__________________

'09 335i Alpine White + Coral Red || '02 ///M5 Imola Red + Imola Red
dbworld4k is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      04-17-2014, 06:57 PM   #131
joepcrepairs2
Banned
 
joepcrepairs2's Avatar
 
Drives: e92
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Norwalk, Ca

Posts: 128
iTrader: (0)

found and easier way to do this and not confuse lots of people

set your blinker to 3x

now edit your daten file (frm/nfrm)

look for this value

MIND_ANZ_ZYKL_TIPP_BLK


modify to whatever blinks you want:
01
02
03
04
05
06
07


07 is the max so dont get too exited.
joepcrepairs2 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-18-2014, 06:55 PM   #132
tman
Major
 
tman's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 E90 330i 6MT RED!
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NOVA in 'Murica!

Posts: 1,477
iTrader: (11)

Garage List
2006 BMW 330i  [4.50]
The instructions below were perfect! Thanks. I changed mine to 5 (value 37) on my 2006 E90 330i.


Quote:
Originally Posted by ************ View Post
BEFORE YOU DO THIS PROCESS MAKE SURE YOU HAVE YOUR BLINKERS SET TO 3BLINKS . THEN FOLLOW THIS PROCCESS THEN.




for those of you stilll having issues on how to change this on FRM (frm1) the value that you need to look for in your nettodat file is different than on frm2(nfrm)
below imma post a poc of the value you need to change:

instructions are simple

AS USUAL:

1. open ncs
2. load profile
3.press f1
4.press f3
5.choose chassins (e89)
6.press back
7.read ecu (Frm)
8. after you see the screen with bunch of numbers pop up just close it
9.now go to your work folder.
10.open your nettodat.trc file and look for this line:
B 00340300

now look at the picture im about to post and see which value i changed to BB( 6 blinks).. before it used to be 2F=3blinks so iu changed to (BB)
after you change it

11.save file as NEttodat.man (make sure you select all files otherwise it would save as plain text.


now go back to your ncsexpert and hit BAsic functions
select coapiCodeSgByNettoData click ok

now a window should pop up :

the first line should show :Frm.xxx.xx
the second line its blank and you need to input this: NETTODAT.MAN then click ok.. it shoud run its process then if succesfully coded you will see a screen saying BAsic Functions ended Properly..
at this point youre done..
remove key from slot put back in then try your signal blinkers
__________________
OMG! I forgot how fun it is to drive a BMW!...

2006 330i E90 ELECTRIC RED 6MT
tman is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:55 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST