E90Post
 


Extreme Power House
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > BMW CODING success



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-07-2013, 10:25 AM   #4599
PichaDis11
Captain
 
PichaDis11's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 328i
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: NY

Posts: 860
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheM3Boy View Post
Recently I bought the onestopelectronics cable. Aside of the fact that it took forever to arrive from China I had no issues with the order. The package contained the cable and an adapter (the black box on the picture). Does anyone know what is the adapter for?



Also I got the Standard tools 212 and installed them on a windows 7 machine but when I open the INPA tool I don't see the model numbers on the bottom as shown in the tutorials. The two black dots indicate successful connection but it kind of ends there. Any clues?


You are missing files in INPA/sgdat folder. I am no expert but that is what seems to happen everytime that folder is empty. Should have about 600 or so files.
PichaDis11 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-07-2013, 12:16 PM   #4600
pweber
Banned
 
pweber's Avatar
 
Drives: M57 330D
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Heilbronn

Posts: 258
iTrader: (0)

I sent you PM, TheM3Boy.
pweber is offline   Germany
0
Reply With Quote
      07-07-2013, 12:39 PM   #4601
TheM3Boy
New Member
 
TheM3Boy's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada

Posts: 22
iTrader: (0)

Just got it. I will try it today and let you know.
Thanks a lot ******!
TheM3Boy is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      07-07-2013, 08:57 PM   #4602
TheM3Boy
New Member
 
TheM3Boy's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada

Posts: 22
iTrader: (0)

I was able to select the chasis now but I still cannot read any data from the vehicle. I get an error message like this:
TheM3Boy is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      07-08-2013, 05:01 AM   #4603
pweber
Banned
 
pweber's Avatar
 
Drives: M57 330D
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Heilbronn

Posts: 258
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheM3Boy View Post
I was able to select the chasis now but I still cannot read any data from the vehicle. I get an error message like this:
Copy all files from SP-DATEN\ECU\*.* to C:\EDIABAS\ECU\ and all will be fine. Files are missing.
pweber is offline   Germany
0
Reply With Quote
      07-08-2013, 06:36 PM   #4604
E90305
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: coral springs

Posts: 202
iTrader: (2)

hey guys ive been at this for 5 hours now cant get it working first off the cable light is on but its not connecting and i keep getting this .....
E90305 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-08-2013, 07:31 PM   #4605
hongsc
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2011 BMW 328i
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Los Angeles

Posts: 464
iTrader: (0)

Iím having some issues with installing INPA using a Macbook Air with VMWare Player and Windows XP. Hereís what I did following the DIY. All done in Windows XP. Using INPA 5.02, which came with the K+DCAN cable.
Extract and copy NCSExpert, Ediabas, INPA folders into the C directory and I put it in a folder called INPA_Install. Then make a shortcut of INPALOAD, NCSExpert along with a shortcut of the INPA_Install folder.
Install OBD.exe
Restart Windows XP
Go to Environment Variables and copy to Path ;C:\INPA_Install\EDIABAS\Bin under System Variables
Then go to device manager and under Port use COM1. Set FIFO to 8 and 8. Latency to 1.
Looked like it set it up as a generic COM1, so I tried it and no go.
Installed it manually and get BMW OBD Port COM1. Still no
K+DCAN was plugged in while doing this.
Plug cable into car then hit Push/Start button
INPA I get Battery and Ignition are both Off.
Any ideas? Or am I missing something?

I really only want to code DRL_s or Angel Eyes.
hongsc is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-09-2013, 11:00 AM   #4606
fitzface24
Registered
 
Drives: 2010 BMW 328xi
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Boston, MA

Posts: 1
iTrader: (0)

Coding

I am interested in doing some coding on my e90, particularly DVD in motion. Let me know if anyone is willing to help around Boston. Thanks!
fitzface24 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-10-2013, 08:19 PM   #4607
Delusive
Major
 
Delusive's Avatar
 
Drives: Static E92
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Bay Area, CA

Posts: 1,483
iTrader: (6)

I don't get which ECU to pick when reading the spreadsheet, when I pick my chassis all I get is 3 choices CAS, FRM, NFRM.

Are you always to supposed to read from CAS? then the module you want. What happens if you read from FRM or NFRM?
__________________

Last edited by Delusive; 07-10-2013 at 08:49 PM.
Delusive is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-11-2013, 07:14 AM   #4608
PichaDis11
Captain
 
PichaDis11's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 328i
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: NY

Posts: 860
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JS-NA.E92
I don't get which ECU to pick when reading the spreadsheet, when I pick my chassis all I get is 3 choices CAS, FRM, NFRM.

Are you always to supposed to read from CAS? then the module you want. What happens if you read from FRM or NFRM?
Reading any of those three modules at first gives you trc file of the whole car. Whenever you hit F6 (back) that's when the file is saved to your work folder. This I think is done as a check each and everytime to make sure all is well before writing to any module or such. No errors all is well basically. After you hit F6 then you'll get the option to choose a different module. Do some more reading in this thread though.
__________________
Retrofitted: CIC iDrive System With MULF2 USB & Bluetooth. , Auto-Dimming Interior Mirror.

.. And Some Dipped Pieces
PichaDis11 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-11-2013, 03:04 PM   #4609
lbrsupra
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: m3
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: sf bay area

Posts: 41
iTrader: (1)

subscribed
lbrsupra is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-11-2013, 10:01 PM   #4610
buster84
Captain
 
Drives: 2009 335i E93 & 2007 X5 4.8
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Sacramento

Posts: 652
iTrader: (1)

I just got my cable and just looked at the codes and i was hoping to find the code that allows you to put the convertible top down from the remote. I was told that CA cars came this way stock, but my luck i bought the car from carmax and it wasnt originally from here so i lost out on that feature.

Is that feature in the list? If so what would it be under? i searched convertible and nothing came up.

Also i didnt see this feature either. Is there way to make it so you can start the car with the key in your pocket? I'm tired of it always being forced into the slot. eh. lol
buster84 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-12-2013, 04:13 AM   #4611
Wastegate
New Member
 
Drives: 320d E90
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: 127.0.0.1

Posts: 10
iTrader: (0)

I have just found this topic and watching the video at first post I noticed I skipped to click on bacis functions > coapiReadSgGetswPsw. I followed another tutorial where this step is missing. In spite of this I was able to activate digital_bc.
Is this step necessary? Could I have messed something skipping it?

Thanks
Wastegate is offline   Italy
0
Reply With Quote
      07-12-2013, 04:21 AM   #4612
pweber
Banned
 
pweber's Avatar
 
Drives: M57 330D
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Heilbronn

Posts: 258
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wastegate View Post
I have just found this topic and watching the video at first post I noticed I skipped to click on bacis functions > coapiReadSgGetswPsw. I followed another tutorial where this step is missing. In spite of this I was able to activate digital_bc.
Is this step necessary? Could I have messed something skipping it?

Thanks
Not necessary for digital speed.
pweber is offline   Germany
0
Reply With Quote
      07-12-2013, 05:29 AM   #4613
Wastegate
New Member
 
Drives: 320d E90
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: 127.0.0.1

Posts: 10
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ****** View Post
Not necessary for digital speed.


When this step is necessary?
Wastegate is offline   Italy
0
Reply With Quote
      07-14-2013, 05:12 PM   #4614
hongsc
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2011 BMW 328i
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Los Angeles

Posts: 464
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzface24 View Post
I am interested in doing some coding on my e90, particularly DVD in motion. Let me know if anyone is willing to help around Boston. Thanks!
Here's a PDF on how to do it.
__________________
2011 BMW 328i Space Grey|18" Avant Garde m359|Michelin Pilot Sport A/S2|Eibach Pro-Kit Springs|Koni FSD|Lux Angel Eyes|Philips HID Kit|aFE Race Pipes|BMW PE
hongsc is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-21-2013, 06:58 PM   #4615
bumere90
Grozniy
 
Drives: Carless
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: FL

Posts: 2,588
iTrader: (12)

I am getting COAPI-1020 can not open file for reading
C:\NCSEXPER\WORK\FSW_PSW.MAN

When I hit F1,F3 and then F6 (back) I get this error
bumere90 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-22-2013, 02:51 AM   #4616
pweber
Banned
 
pweber's Avatar
 
Drives: M57 330D
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Heilbronn

Posts: 258
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bumere90 View Post
I am getting COAPI-1020 can not open file for reading
C:\NCSEXPER\WORK\FSW_PSW.MAN

When I hit F1,F3 and then F6 (back) I get this error
Go to Folders Options and de-select "Hide extensions for known files".

Your FSW_PSW.MAN is probably named FSW_PSW.MAN.txt or something like that.
pweber is offline   Germany
0
Reply With Quote
      07-22-2013, 08:56 AM   #4617
bumere90
Grozniy
 
Drives: Carless
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: FL

Posts: 2,588
iTrader: (12)

I did, still not working. Checked my Work folder and there is no file under FSW_PSW.MAN
How do I create one?
bumere90 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-22-2013, 09:19 AM   #4618
pweber
Banned
 
pweber's Avatar
 
Drives: M57 330D
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Heilbronn

Posts: 258
iTrader: (0)

You have to create it
in WORK folder - right click on empty field (white) and select New - Text Document. Then change his name and extension to FSW_PSW.man and all will be fine.
pweber is offline   Germany
0
Reply With Quote
      07-22-2013, 12:59 PM   #4619
bumere90
Grozniy
 
Drives: Carless
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: FL

Posts: 2,588
iTrader: (12)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ****** View Post
You have to create it
in WORK folder - right click on empty field (white) and select New - Text Document. Then change his name and extension to FSW_PSW.man and all will be fine.

thank you
__________________
-fatman
bumere90 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-22-2013, 06:41 PM   #4620
TheM3Boy
New Member
 
TheM3Boy's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada

Posts: 22
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ****** View Post
Copy all files from SP-DATEN\ECU\*.* to C:\EDIABAS\ECU\ and all will be fine. Files are missing.
Filnally got around to it but I see some warnings now. If I click Yes on the error message it still reads the data but the message comes up all the time and I have to continue clicking Yes.
[These message boxes appear in the order shown one after the other. The warnings show up only once, the error message is the one that keeps coming up all the time.]

TheM3Boy is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:30 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST