E90Post
 


TNT Racewerks
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > UK Technical Forum > Air Con Strange problem? Need help please



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-14-2013, 05:02 PM   #1
balbains324
New Member
0

 
Drives: BMW E91 2007 320d 163PS MSport
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Wolverhampton


Posts: 13
iTrader: (0)

Air Con Strange problem? Need help please

Hi all,
I have a 320d E91 2007.

I took my car for inspection at BMW dealer in oldbury and they charged me 50 to tell me why the air con is not working.

300 later they changed the valve and said I need a new compressor for which they charge 1150 for. I done the compressor change myself with a reconditioned compressor.

However the air con still does not work. The air compressor is not kicking in when the button is pressed inside the car.

So there is a communication problem between the controls and the compressor.

I have today changed the climate control console inside the car for a different known working one and it has also made no difference.

I'm stumped??? Any ideas on how this can be diagnosed or resolved?

Is there any way I can power the ac compressor to see of the clutch engages?
Thanks
Appreciate 0
      08-14-2013, 05:20 PM   #2
KrisM79
Major
Scotland
10

 
KrisM79's Avatar
 
Drives: F32 435D Msport
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Scotland


Posts: 1,069
iTrader: (0)

Did you empty then refill the AC system yourself??
Appreciate 0
      08-14-2013, 08:12 PM   #3
CustomColours
Banned
7

 
Drives: 335i SE
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Hertfordshire


Posts: 792
iTrader: (0)

Are there any codes that you know of?
Appreciate 0
      08-14-2013, 08:16 PM   #4
index1489
Colonel
United_States
29

 
index1489's Avatar
 
Drives: Out of warranty BMW
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Chino, CA


Posts: 2,106
iTrader: (7)

Compressor is clutch-less.
__________________
Gotta pay to play.
Appreciate 0
      08-14-2013, 10:37 PM   #5
oldbilly
Second Lieutenant
4

 
Drives: 330d e91 M Sport
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: cambridgeshire


Posts: 236
iTrader: (2)

if the gas pressure in the system has dropped it will not work, it may just be a faulty pressure solenoid
Appreciate 0
      08-15-2013, 03:44 AM   #6
balbains324
New Member
0

 
Drives: BMW E91 2007 320d 163PS MSport
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Wolverhampton


Posts: 13
iTrader: (0)

Hi thanks for replies,
Gas was emptied and refilled by BMW and by halfords.
There are no codes
It might be the pressure solenoid can you tell me where that is located please?
Appreciate 0
      08-15-2013, 07:32 AM   #7
xenon
Brigadier General
England
64

 
xenon's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 F10 520d M-Sport
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Coventry


Posts: 4,956
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by index1489 View Post
Compressor is clutch-less.
No it isn't - it has a magnetic clutch which is engaged / disengaged with the air-con on/off switch on the panel.
__________________
Ian
Current: 2013 F10 520d M-Sport, Professional Media, Visibility Pack, Reversing Camera, DAB
Previous: 2011 F10 520d M-Sport, 2008 320i M-Sport Coupe, 2002 325i, 2001 318i valvetronic, 1998 318i, 1996 525i, 1990 Porsche 944S2
Appreciate 0
      08-15-2013, 09:48 AM   #8
makkan00
Major General
United Kingdom
116

 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex


Posts: 7,409
iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by balbains324 View Post
Hi thanks for replies,
Gas was emptied and refilled by BMW and by halfords.
There are no codes
It might be the pressure solenoid can you tell me where that is located please?
Has it been coded by anybody or updated by indy at any stage?

I had the same issue after updating the AC module, and later I had to reset the AC module and it worked again.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      08-15-2013, 04:14 PM   #9
balbains324
New Member
0

 
Drives: BMW E91 2007 320d 163PS MSport
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Wolverhampton


Posts: 13
iTrader: (0)

Not been coded by anyone but was changed by me recently because I thought it might be the switch. Can anyone near wolverhampton code it for me?
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:46 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST