E90Post
 


Lux Angel Eyes
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > UK Technical Forum > Updating Sat Nav to 2012 - CIC iDrive



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-28-2013, 07:19 AM   #243
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 6,789
iTrader: (47)

Thats weird.
__________________
makkan00 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      07-28-2013, 07:55 AM   #244
mob17
Brigadier General
 
mob17's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335D
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: East Middle Land, UK

Posts: 3,621
iTrader: (4)

Its a sign.
__________________
2008 E92 335D SE
2010 E90 320D SE
1994 E36 318I SE
1996 E36 316I SE
mob17 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      07-28-2013, 08:50 PM   #245
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 6,789
iTrader: (47)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mob17
Its a sign.
__________________
makkan00 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      08-02-2013, 04:56 AM   #246
mob17
Brigadier General
 
mob17's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335D
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: East Middle Land, UK

Posts: 3,621
iTrader: (4)

Anyone know the part number for the 2013 v2 dvds?
__________________
2008 E92 335D SE
2010 E90 320D SE
1994 E36 318I SE
1996 E36 316I SE
mob17 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      08-03-2013, 12:46 PM   #247
mob17
Brigadier General
 
mob17's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335D
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: East Middle Land, UK

Posts: 3,621
iTrader: (4)

Im selling the 2013-2 DVDs in the classifieds if anyones interested.
__________________
2008 E92 335D SE
2010 E90 320D SE
1994 E36 318I SE
1996 E36 316I SE
mob17 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      08-15-2013, 06:06 PM   #248
Robin330i
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: E90 330i M Sport
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Cheshire

Posts: 362
iTrader: (2)

I will be fitting my cic unit next week to replace the ccc unit I currently have.

As I have an emulator i assume that I won't need the FSC code when updating the maps?

Also as for the maps if I buy this http://bit.ly/1a9Ae3h I guess other members can borrow it and update their cic unit and then send it to the next member etc?
__________________
E90 330i M Sport - Mk4 Golf R32 - Mk3 Polo G40
Robin330i is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-16-2013, 05:25 AM   #249
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 6,789
iTrader: (47)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robin330i View Post
I will be fitting my cic unit next week to replace the ccc unit I currently have.

As I have an emulator i assume that I won't need the FSC code when updating the maps?

Also as for the maps if I buy this http://bit.ly/1a9Ae3h I guess other members can borrow it and update their cic unit and then send it to the next member etc?
Read that listing again. It clearly tells you that you will require FSC code to update your maps.

And if you have professional CIC, then you will need premium maps and not move (do not know what they are).

For the record, I update the maps as well with the FSC coded insertion if the car is with me.
Or can provide the FSC codes if somebody has working coding cable.
__________________
makkan00 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      08-16-2013, 05:44 AM   #250
Robin330i
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: E90 330i M Sport
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Cheshire

Posts: 362
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00 View Post
Read that listing again. It clearly tells you that you will require FSC code to update your maps.

And if you have professional CIC, then you will need premium maps and not move (do not know what they are).

For the record, I update the maps as well with the FSC coded insertion if the car is with me.
Or can provide the FSC codes if somebody has working coding cable.
But as i am fitting an emulator doesn't that mean i will need the FSC code?
__________________
E90 330i M Sport - Mk4 Golf R32 - Mk3 Polo G40
Robin330i is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-16-2013, 06:09 AM   #251
IanS100
Colonel
 
IanS100's Avatar
 
Drives: 320d LCI M Sport Plus
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Southport UK

Posts: 2,561
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00 View Post
And if you have professional CIC, then you will need premium maps and not move (do not know what they are).
Move are the smaller & less comprehensive maps included with Business Nav as fitted to my e90

What exactly is the emulator, what does it do & why is it needed? - If I had my LCI Business Nav upgraded to Professional would I need the emulator?
IanS100 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      08-16-2013, 06:22 AM   #252
thaking
Private First Class
 
Drives: E90 FL
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Europe

Posts: 182
iTrader: (0)

You need FSC code and period.
thaking is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-16-2013, 06:31 AM   #253
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 6,789
iTrader: (47)

Robin and Ian (thanks Ian for explaining the move maps),

Navigation and voice commands only work if CIC has matching vin to your car's CAS.
So rather paying somebody mega money to change VIN of CIC (which revert backs to original vin of donor car on each software update) you buy emulator.
It reads the vin of CIC and matches it to the VIN stored in your car.
So your car thinks that CIC has same VIN as of your car and navigation and voice commands work.
However it does not entitles you to update the maps for free of charge.
You still require FSC code to update the maps.

Ian, you'll require emulator due to the reasons explained above and I hope Robin has got the answer for his question too.
__________________
makkan00 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      08-16-2013, 07:06 AM   #254
Robin330i
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: E90 330i M Sport
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Cheshire

Posts: 362
iTrader: (2)

Super thanks for clearing that up :-)
Robin330i is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-16-2013, 09:11 AM   #255
IanS100
Colonel
 
IanS100's Avatar
 
Drives: 320d LCI M Sport Plus
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Southport UK

Posts: 2,561
iTrader: (0)

Thanks once again Sam, you learn something new every day! - I'm still seriously tempted to upgrade my Business Nav if I can find a very late model Pro Nav
IanS100 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      08-21-2013, 12:48 AM   #256
dj219957
Private
 
dj219957's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 e90, cic idrive pro
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: staffs

Posts: 98
iTrader: (0)

Hi, what is the minimum firmware number required to use 7 didgit post code search on a 2009 cic pro e90 please? I have had the OBD update but dont want to go to the trouble of updating the maps if i cant have 7 digit postcode search. Also, is anyone able to offer a FSC code for free now please?

Andy

Last edited by dj219957; 08-21-2013 at 12:54 AM.
dj219957 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      08-21-2013, 10:01 AM   #257
thaking
Private First Class
 
Drives: E90 FL
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Europe

Posts: 182
iTrader: (0)

FSC for free, haha you wish !
thaking is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:16 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST