E90Post
 


E92 Lighting
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > DIY Guides > DIY: Retrofitting a Professional HU with USB and Bluetooth



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-05-2013, 06:22 AM   #221
Jose_JN
Private First Class
Jose_JN's Avatar
Spain
26
Rep
178
Posts

Drives: e93 330d
Join Date: May 2011
Location: http://www.youtube.com/josejjn

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gav-d3 View Post
Hi
I have a 2007 e90 pre LCI with the Professional HU
It doesn't have USB or bluetooth just the AUX input with old style gong !

Can I upgrade this without too much work ?

Any help would be great !
You have to follow the whole DIY...

1- Swap the HU
2- Install the USB wire and the USB socket
3- Install the MIC with its wire
4- Recode the new HU cheating your production date
5- Recode your kombi for getting the new DONG style.

Regards.
__________________
Why don't do it by your self?
Retrofitting is always possible!
Appreciate 0
      07-05-2013, 06:34 PM   #222
Motronic
New Member
0
Rep
14
Posts

Drives: e90
Join Date: May 2013
Location: il

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by taibanl View Post
I am guessing this US head unit (with HD radio) would work?

http://realoem.com/bmw/partxref.do?part=65129268822
http://realoem.com/bmw/partxref.do?part=65129268818 (with MOST)
Does anyone know if this is possible with newer US radio? I checked realoem and it looks like the newer US radio had specific P/N depending on whether it has bluetooth and/or USB?
Appreciate 0
      07-06-2013, 09:20 AM   #223
Frankieflow
New Member
Frankieflow's Avatar
0
Rep
22
Posts

Drives: E92 325i
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Cork,Ireland

iTrader: (0)

Thank you Jose.Exactly the help I needed.

Frank.
Appreciate 0
      07-31-2013, 11:07 AM   #224
isiarj20
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: 118D
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Spain

iTrader: (0)

Hi, I bought a professional radio with built-in bluetooth and usb from ebay, but I have a problem, when I first take the car at the morning, the radio only sound for 15 seconds, after that I wan't to hear something I need to put off the key, stand for 2,5 minutes (until the car cut the power totally) and start another time the car, then the radio works fine for all the time, can someone tell me if this, it's a problem of coding? I have the HIFI audio system, and the radio maybe comes of a car without this audio system, how can I code the radio for tell that my car has HIFI system(I coded some things of my car with the usb cable and NCSEXPERT, this is not a problem for me...).
Appreciate 0
      08-15-2013, 08:00 AM   #225
flinchy
Brigadier General
63
Rep
3,040
Posts

Drives: 130i
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: QLD, Australia

iTrader: (0)



i have the pro head unit.. new PDC noise, old dash cluster bong

bah! haha
Appreciate 0
      08-23-2013, 06:02 AM   #226
beppemilani
New Member
Italy
0
Rep
7
Posts

Drives: 118d E87 LCI
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Italy

iTrader: (0)

Good morning folks!!

Thank you Jose for the very great DIY!!!

I have an E87 LCI car manufactured on may 2011 (production level #0311 on VO), with business headunit fitted from factory.

Following this DIY I've bought an used professional headunit with USB ad BT, same part number of Jose's one (65129263465), who I can't find in realoem and in webetk. I'm still waiting for the microphone and cables.
So I put the headunit in place and USB listed ad the menu (I can't try it), BT is present, I am able to pair the phone and to listen calls (I can't speak because I haven't the microphone). The only minor problem are that Voice Command are in english and sound don't hear very well.
Then I proceed to coding, I've added $663, $6FL and $6NN to the VO at CAS and NFRM. Magically 2RAD take the place of 1RAD in the ECU list, but in NCSExpert I'm not able to do CODIERDATEN_LESEN and SG_CODIEREN jobs with 2RAD, they return an error. The only job Who run without problem is SG_RESET, when I run it the headunit display goes down for a couple of second and then it return up showing hour and date.
Now the sound is better, I can hear PDC and VC become in italian (according to the VO).

All seems to work fine, but I can't read and write 2RAD ECU.
Problem is very similar to this: http://babybmw.net/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=47019&start=60 but BT and USB seem ok!

This was my VO before the coding:
Code:
E87_#0311&EAAT%0354*UD71$1CA$1CB$1CC$1CD$230$249$255$2BT$2PA$302$321$411$431$441$473$4CG$502$507$520$521$522$534$540$548$563$698$7RS$845$855$877$884$8TL$8TN-A080+KRAD
and is my VO now:
Code:
E87_#0311&EAAT%0354*UD71$1CA$1CB$1CC$1CD$230$249$255$2BT$2PA$302$321$411$431$441$473$4CG$502$507$520$521$522$534$540$548$563$663$698$6FL$6NN$7RS$845$855$877$884$8TL$8TN-A080+KRAD
(about +KRAD service code I started a topic at: http://bmwcoders.com/forum/showthrea...ted=1#post7203)

Daten files are up to v.49 and NCS EXPERT seems to be ok, I have done some jobs at CAS, KOMBI, HKKA ecus without problem...

Also I would like to write my car's VIN in the Headunit who still has the VIN of the old car (the VIN is readable in INPA and the last 5 digit are the same of the Bluetooth device name that appears in the phone)


Any help is appreciated!
Thank you!

Beppe

Last edited by beppemilani; 08-23-2013 at 06:29 AM.
Appreciate 0
      08-26-2013, 04:19 PM   #227
teaston
Lieutenant General
teaston's Avatar
United Kingdom
2101
Rep
15,196
Posts

Drives: 335d M Sport Plus
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Norfolk 'n' Good

iTrader: (1)

Can someone please tell me where i can buy this head unit?

I have searched everywhere, ebay etc. but cannot find one!!
Appreciate 0
      08-26-2013, 07:24 PM   #228
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
323
Rep
8,805
Posts

Drives: F10 Sold
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (55)

Quote:
Originally Posted by teaston View Post
Can someone please tell me where i can buy this head unit?

I have searched everywhere, ebay etc. but cannot find one!!
Hi matey
Just sold one 2 days ago matey.
Appreciate 0
      08-28-2013, 02:30 PM   #229
beppemilani
New Member
Italy
0
Rep
7
Posts

Drives: 118d E87 LCI
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Italy

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by beppemilani View Post

....

Also I would like to write my car's VIN in the Headunit who still has the VIN of the old car (the VIN is readable in INPA and the last 5 digit are the same of the Bluetooth device name that appears in the phone)
...
The problems with CODIERDATEN_LESEN and SG_CODIEREN jobs in NCS EXPERT are still present, but with FGNR_SCHREIBEN + SG_RESET jobs I was able to store my VIN in the headunit (I checked it the values stored with INPA).

I tried to use tool32 for changing values in RAD2 and I was surprised that with tool32 no errors were throwing, so I did changed BMW's service numbers that appear on the headunit's display!
Appreciate 0
      10-06-2013, 07:50 AM   #230
houlty
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: BMW E82 120d
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

hi, just after a bit of help.

i have done this retrofit of pro HU w/bluetooth. Installed mic, HU and everything works perfect. The headunit was already coded for PDC, Bluetooth.

Since then i have swapped 'Aux' socket for a 'USB & Aux' socket and hooked that up, but the HU is not coded for USB, so at the minute it only charges ipod nothing else.

Is there an easy way for me to just code the USB directly to headunit?
Or
Do i have to recode the entire headunit for all features (bluetooth, USB, PDC)? If doing this i would have to cheat production date as i have a 2009 E82.

Thanks.
Appreciate 0
      10-06-2013, 03:47 PM   #231
4EST
Private
4EST's Avatar
0
Rep
83
Posts

Drives: E90 320d LCI
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Brasov, RO

iTrader: (0)

yes, you have to
__________________
GPS Navigation: www.g-p-s.ro
Appreciate 0
      10-10-2013, 07:20 AM   #232
teaston
Lieutenant General
teaston's Avatar
United Kingdom
2101
Rep
15,196
Posts

Drives: 335d M Sport Plus
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Norfolk 'n' Good

iTrader: (1)

Thanks so much for this guide Jose, I now have this head unit installed and fully working.

One thing which I don't think has been mentioned is that if you currently have Bluetooth with mulf you need to disconnect it for the new Bluetooth to work, i.e. disconnect both plugs on the mulf and change the most connections behind the back seat so the mulf plug is not in the loop. At least this was the case for me.
Appreciate 0
      10-27-2013, 03:22 PM   #233
choka
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: 2007 e90 335i
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Hong Kong

iTrader: (0)

hi, i got 07 e90 335i, i replace my HU(CD 73) to Proffesional unit(With build in Bluetooth and USB), After coding Bluetooth work fine but USB no work, i follwing all the procedure of the video already, what i still missing??
PLEASE HELP.
Appreciate 0
      11-04-2013, 06:29 PM   #234
Ludwing Omar
Registered
Colombia
0
Rep
2
Posts

Drives: f25 X3 x28i 2014
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Bogota

iTrader: (0)

Hola José
Tengo un e90 mod 2008 (320i) Actualmente tiene una unidad CD73 la cual anexo en la foto. Estoy buscando la HU 65129263465 pero no la encuentro en ningún lado. Podrías enviarme el link donde la pueda conseguir?. Tengo las sgtes preguntas

1. Puedo reemplazar la actual por esta (si es que la consigo) ?
2. Es compatible 100% con el modelo de mi carro? Es decir, la puedo instalar sin problema? (ni necesidad de codificarle nada a la computadora de abordo?

Agradezco tu ayuda or the someone else's help!
Attached Images
  
Appreciate 0
      11-05-2013, 09:31 AM   #235
Jose_JN
Private First Class
Jose_JN's Avatar
Spain
26
Rep
178
Posts

Drives: e93 330d
Join Date: May 2011
Location: http://www.youtube.com/josejjn

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ludwing Omar View Post
Hola José
Tengo un e90 mod 2008 (320i) Actualmente tiene una unidad CD73 la cual anexo en la foto. Estoy buscando la HU 65129263465 pero no la encuentro en ningún lado. Podrías enviarme el link donde la pueda conseguir?. Tengo las sgtes preguntas

1. Puedo reemplazar la actual por esta (si es que la consigo) ?
2. Es compatible 100% con el modelo de mi carro? Es decir, la puedo instalar sin problema? (ni necesidad de codificarle nada a la computadora de abordo?

Agradezco tu ayuda or the someone else's help!
Buenos días,

Yo he conseguido la mia en eBay. Hay varios part numbers, no busques solamente ese, con que tenga la pegatina de Logotipo Bluetooth te vale.
Es 100% compatible con todos los series 1, 3 x1 z4... de las series E9x y E8x.
Lo de codificar depende de si viene activado el USB y el BT o no. Si no viene activada (a veces pasas)
**********
Hi,

I bought mine at eBay. You don't have to buy my same part number, anything with bluetooth logo on the sticker is suitable for this DIY.

Dont worry about compatibility. It will fit in all e9x (3-series) e8x (1-series) and X3/X1. Also it will fit in Z roadster models with HardTop (since they have the same modules than a e93 one)

If you are lucky maybe you wont have to code it but in many cases some features such as Bluetooth or USB could be disabled and you will have to code it. This depends on your unit.

Regards.
__________________
Why don't do it by your self?
Retrofitting is always possible!
Appreciate 0
      11-12-2013, 03:32 PM   #236
Charge
New Member
0
Rep
7
Posts

Drives: E90 M3
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Israel

iTrader: (0)

Hello sir, i have a 2010 E90 with a built in professional HU, if i want to add it a USB option all i need to buy is:

61119129360 x1 -> Coaxial fakra wire for USB
84109237653 x1 -> USB/Aux Socket

wire it up and then code it? or should i do anything more?

thanks!
Appreciate 0
      11-30-2013, 06:08 AM   #237
genie56150
New Member
0
Rep
5
Posts

Drives: BMW 320d M SPORT
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: LONDON

iTrader: (0)

Hi Jose,

I currently have option 6FL in my 2008 320d E92. if i upgrade to the LCI head unit which has built in bluetooth and usb, will i still have to buy a usb socket if i already have one under my armrest?

Thanks for your advice.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Jose_JN View Post
They don't come with the mic... You have to buy all the spare pieces.
Keep in mind that if you dont have a e93 or e88 the mic reference is different!
Because convertibles have the mic at the steering wheel column but others have it at the roof lights module!

For e93/e88:
61138377072 x1 -> 3 pins Connector
61130005197 x4 -> Female Pin
61138384550 x1 -> 12 pins Female Connector
61138387206 x1 -> Connector housing
61316950266 x1 -> Steering wheel column cover
84316977740 x1 -> mic
61119129360 x1 -> Coaxial fakra wire for USB
84109237653 x1 -> USB/Aux Socket

Other e9x and e8x:
61138377072 x1 -> 3 pins Connector
61130005197 x4 -> Female Pin
61138384550 x1 -> 12 pins Female Connector
61138387206 x1 -> Connector housing
84316938762 x1 -> mic
84106936148 x1 -> Mic housing
61119129360 x1 -> Coaxial fakra wire for USB
84109237653 x1 -> USB/Aux Socket
Appreciate 0
      11-30-2013, 08:23 PM   #238
taibanl
Brigadier General
taibanl's Avatar
133
Rep
4,012
Posts

Drives: BMW
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NA

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by teaston
Can someone please tell me where i can buy this head unit?

I have searched everywhere, ebay etc. but cannot find one!!
Dealer
__________________
WTB - Used - 1x Blizzak LM-60 225/45/17
Appreciate 0
      12-01-2013, 04:08 PM   #239
csaboable
Registered
0
Rep
2
Posts

Drives: BMW 330D E92
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Budapest, Hungary

iTrader: (0)

hey guys,

I have a little problem with the new dong. The problem is, when I code radiostufe_3_4 my dong disappears .
Any idea?

I have a 2007/02 e92, and purchased a professional HU w/o bt and/or usb.

Thanks in advance!

//Csabi
Appreciate 0
      12-06-2013, 02:16 PM   #240
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
323
Rep
8,805
Posts

Drives: F10 Sold
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (55)

Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00 View Post
Hi matey
Just sold one 2 days ago matey.
I have another of these HU for sale now. It comes with fiber optic connector at the back so compatible with hi-fi and L7 sound systems.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      12-07-2013, 07:26 PM   #241
Jose_JN
Private First Class
Jose_JN's Avatar
Spain
26
Rep
178
Posts

Drives: e93 330d
Join Date: May 2011
Location: http://www.youtube.com/josejjn

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by csaboable View Post
hey guys,

I have a little problem with the new dong. The problem is, when I code radiostufe_3_4 my dong disappears .
Any idea?

I have a 2007/02 e92, and purchased a professional HU w/o bt and/or usb.

Thanks in advance!

//Csabi
You need a professional head unit from 2007/09 or newer...
In other case, it wont work.

Regards
__________________
Why don't do it by your self?
Retrofitting is always possible!
Appreciate 0
      12-09-2013, 04:39 AM   #242
csaboable
Registered
0
Rep
2
Posts

Drives: BMW 330D E92
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Budapest, Hungary

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jose_JN View Post
You need a professional head unit from 2007/09 or newer...
In other case, it wont work.

Regards
Thanks Jose. Then it's weird. The guy, who sold me the HU said, it came out from a 2008 e92. Maybe the HU is older. I have to check the label on the HU.

Btw. Thanks for your awsome retrofit DIYs.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:56 PM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST