E90Post
 


MINHS Auto Care Center
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > FRM3R Retrofit on E91 2006



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-16-2013, 04:29 AM   #1
ChrizLoud
Vtech St2 - 380hp/750nm
ChrizLoud's Avatar
Sweden
1
Rep
73
Posts

 
Drives: BMW E61 535D LCI Touring
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Sweden

iTrader: (0)

Unhappy FRM3R Retrofit on E91 2006

Hi!

Just retrofitted the FRM3R in my E91 with LCI head and tail lights.
Flashed it and changed VIN.

Changed build date to 03/2010 to be sure that NCSExpert chooses the right coding options for FRM3.

Before coding it shows its using a FRM2 file but after coding ended it shows it used the FRM3 file anyways.

The problem i have is that i get fault codes on turn signals (and fast blinks) even after manually disabling "warm", "kalt" and "meld" for turnsignal?

I thought that was not even to need changing the checks since i have the FRM3 module now?
Appreciate 0
      05-16-2013, 05:36 PM   #2
alexwhittemore
Lieutenant Colonel
24
Rep
1,697
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 Crimson 328i
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (0)

I could probably just search this, but while you've already created a new thread: what was the point of retrofitting an FRM3? What'd it get you in terms of coding (I assume coding possibilities were the driving force...)?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      05-16-2013, 06:21 PM   #3
CasperSYTFU
SYTFU Crew
CasperSYTFU's Avatar
No_Country
13
Rep
1,180
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 Toyota FJ
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (8)

Garage List
Coming from FRM1:
AE as DRL
Welcome Lights
Follow Me Home Lights.

Coming from FRM2:
Follow Me Home Lights.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      05-16-2013, 07:18 PM   #4
alexwhittemore
Lieutenant Colonel
24
Rep
1,697
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 Crimson 328i
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (0)

What are follow me home lights? Is that not the same as pathway lighting (click the high beam stock with key out, headlights come on for a configurable time, ~40s)?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      05-17-2013, 02:01 AM   #5
ChrizLoud
Vtech St2 - 380hp/750nm
ChrizLoud's Avatar
Sweden
1
Rep
73
Posts

 
Drives: BMW E61 535D LCI Touring
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Sweden

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexwhittemore View Post
I could probably just search this, but while you've already created a new thread: what was the point of retrofitting an FRM3? What'd it get you in terms of coding (I assume coding possibilities were the driving force...)?
The cause is that i went from Pre-LCI Xenon AHL lights to LCI-Xenon without AHL and i was told that the only way to get my automatic height level adjustment back was to change to a FRM3 or a FMR2 from a car that doesn't have AHL.


Here is my tracefile if it could be of any help: Here is my .trc-file. http://www.filedropper.com/fswpsw Thanks.
Appreciate 0
      05-17-2013, 03:04 AM   #6
alexwhittemore
Lieutenant Colonel
24
Rep
1,697
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 Crimson 328i
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrizLoud View Post
The cause is that i went from Pre-LCI Xenon AHL lights to LCI-Xenon without AHL and i was told that the only way to get my automatic height level adjustment back was to change to a FRM3 or a FMR2 from a car that doesn't have AHL.


Here is my tracefile if it could be of any help: Here is my .trc-file. http://www.filedropper.com/fswpsw Thanks.
Ahh, I see. I was going to say, I totally have pathway lighting in my frm2. Sorry I can't help with the actual problem
Appreciate 0
      05-17-2013, 03:46 PM   #7
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
128
Rep
7,657
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (48)

Which file do you have?
FRM3_E89.C31
or 32?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      05-17-2013, 04:28 PM   #8
ChrizLoud
Vtech St2 - 380hp/750nm
ChrizLoud's Avatar
Sweden
1
Rep
73
Posts

 
Drives: BMW E61 535D LCI Touring
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Sweden

iTrader: (0)

I have them both. I Will try to check tomorrow if its 31 or 32 in the Frm.
I used comfort mode so i guess it choosed the right one?
Do you think it could be flashed with the wrong version?
Appreciate 0
      05-17-2013, 04:39 PM   #9
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
128
Rep
7,657
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrizLoud
I have them both. I Will try to check tomorrow if its 31 or 32 in the Frm.
I used comfort mode so i guess it choosed the right one?
Do you think it could be flashed with the wrong version?
Don't know but when Ncsdummy try to read your file, none of the above accepts your file as valid.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      05-23-2013, 02:54 PM   #10
ChrizLoud
Vtech St2 - 380hp/750nm
ChrizLoud's Avatar
Sweden
1
Rep
73
Posts

 
Drives: BMW E61 535D LCI Touring
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Sweden

iTrader: (0)

It was using .C32

I have with Winkfp flashed the FRM with the FRMPL2 instead of FRM3R. Now coding went ok. i had to change some lines manually, "LED Blinkers" and "LED Lichts" etc. to get rid of errors and hyper blinking.

The main problem still exist with the height adjustment not working. I can not access the frm with INPA since its expecting a FRM1. Is there a way to get a round this?
Appreciate 0
      05-23-2013, 03:11 PM   #11
pweber84
Banned
pweber84's Avatar
Germany
4
Rep
347
Posts

 
Drives: BMW 330d e91
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Berlin, Germany / PL, Posen

iTrader: (2)

Send a message via Skype™ to pweber84
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrizLoud View Post
It was using .C32

I have with Winkfp flashed the FRM with the FRMPL2 instead of FRM3R. Now coding went ok. i had to change some lines manually, "LED Blinkers" and "LED Lichts" etc. to get rid of errors and hyper blinking.

The main problem still exist with the height adjustment not working. I can not access the frm with INPA since its expecting a FRM1. Is there a way to get a round this?
Do you have xenon headlights or halogen?
Appreciate 0
      05-23-2013, 03:15 PM   #12
ChrizLoud
Vtech St2 - 380hp/750nm
ChrizLoud's Avatar
Sweden
1
Rep
73
Posts

 
Drives: BMW E61 535D LCI Touring
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Sweden

iTrader: (0)

I Have LCI Xenon Lights.

Before i had Pre-LCI AHL-Xenon
Appreciate 0
      05-23-2013, 03:18 PM   #13
pweber84
Banned
pweber84's Avatar
Germany
4
Rep
347
Posts

 
Drives: BMW 330d e91
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Berlin, Germany / PL, Posen

iTrader: (2)

Send a message via Skype™ to pweber84
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrizLoud View Post
I Have LCI Xenon Lights.

Before i had Pre-LCI AHL-Xenon
So self-levveling doesn't work?
Appreciate 0
      05-23-2013, 03:27 PM   #14
ChrizLoud
Vtech St2 - 380hp/750nm
ChrizLoud's Avatar
Sweden
1
Rep
73
Posts

 
Drives: BMW E61 535D LCI Touring
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Sweden

iTrader: (0)

Exactly. It does not even go up and down when you start the engine/turn on the lights.

Auto_LWR active etc. cant find any faults in coding, removed the AHL from the VO etc.
Appreciate 0
      05-23-2013, 04:12 PM   #15
pweber84
Banned
pweber84's Avatar
Germany
4
Rep
347
Posts

 
Drives: BMW 330d e91
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Berlin, Germany / PL, Posen

iTrader: (2)

Send a message via Skype™ to pweber84
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrizLoud View Post
Exactly. It does not even go up and down when you start the engine/turn on the lights.

Auto_LWR active etc. cant find any faults in coding, removed the AHL from the VO etc.
Send me a part number of this FRM3 module, I will check something.
Appreciate 0
      05-23-2013, 04:26 PM   #16
ChrizLoud
Vtech St2 - 380hp/750nm
ChrizLoud's Avatar
Sweden
1
Rep
73
Posts

 
Drives: BMW E61 535D LCI Touring
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Sweden

iTrader: (0)



BMW NR. 61359209008
Appreciate 0
      08-07-2013, 04:21 AM   #17
ChrizLoud
Vtech St2 - 380hp/750nm
ChrizLoud's Avatar
Sweden
1
Rep
73
Posts

 
Drives: BMW E61 535D LCI Touring
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Sweden

iTrader: (0)

Still having problems with auto leveling. Sorted everything else out.
Is the problem maybe different wiring?
To clarify i went from PRE-LCI AHL ---> LCI Bi-Xenon without AHL.
Appreciate 0
      09-02-2013, 01:52 PM   #18
konstant
Registered
0
Rep
2
Posts

 
Drives: E90 330xD
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Russia

iTrader: (0)

Try to add +MUEG to FA and don't change manufacturing date.

I also have a problem with FRM3. I have preLCI e90 and changed headlights to LCI also FRM to FRM3.
After that I have some problems:
1) Taillights
Voltage on outer parklights lower than on inner. I think it is
PWM_SL_1_FKT_PARKL parameter, but didn't change it yet.
Brakelights shine bright like a diamond. Two sections works instead of one + one with emergency braking.
Dont know where is this parameter.
2) Additional turn indicators doesnt work. I found parameters only for BLK_H and BLK_V and where is side indicators I cant find.

Last edited by konstant; 09-02-2013 at 02:03 PM.
Appreciate 0
      09-03-2013, 01:29 AM   #19
ChrizLoud
Vtech St2 - 380hp/750nm
ChrizLoud's Avatar
Sweden
1
Rep
73
Posts

 
Drives: BMW E61 535D LCI Touring
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Sweden

iTrader: (0)

Smile

Since i have a FRM3, after som googleing around it looks like +MUH2 (or +MUEH) is the right way to go for me, +MUEG is for FRM2 (or +MUEB)

Thank you for this. I will try this out and get back ASAP.



Regarding you problem: Have you re-wired the cables to the tallights?
Appreciate 0
      09-03-2013, 07:43 AM   #20
konstant
Registered
0
Rep
2
Posts

 
Drives: E90 330xD
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Russia

iTrader: (0)

I still have preLCI taillights. As I know re-wiring needed for inner lights, they works properly. All troubles with outer lights.
+MUEB didnt take effect on my FRM3, turn indicators blinked fast first time and bixenon didnt blink.

I also will try your parameters.

Update:

Taillights
Voltage on outer parklights lower than on inner. I think it is
PWM_SL_1_FKT_PARKL
-Solved with changing of this parameter.

I dont understand why side turn indicators not works. Wiring in WDS the same on preLCI and LCI. With FRM1 they works.
I cant find it in DIS and in fsw_psw

I didnt rewire headligts after changing preLCI xenon non adaptive to LCI xenon non adaptive. Vertical leveling works good.

Last edited by konstant; 09-04-2013 at 03:21 AM.
Appreciate 0
      09-09-2013, 09:33 PM   #21
Dinan335Turbo
Private First Class
Dinan335Turbo's Avatar
2
Rep
193
Posts

 
Drives: 335 Coupe Black/Black
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Texas

iTrader: (8)

I'm planning on doing a lci taillight retrofit on my '07 (production 10/2006) 328i e91 wagon and I need to know what part number FRM3 module I need ?? My car has factory xenons.
__________________
--2007 E91 Touring Wagon--Black on Black--DailyDriver
--2007 E92 335i Sport Coupe--Black on Black--Because Racecar
Appreciate 0
      09-10-2013, 02:22 AM   #22
ChrizLoud
Vtech St2 - 380hp/750nm
ChrizLoud's Avatar
Sweden
1
Rep
73
Posts

 
Drives: BMW E61 535D LCI Touring
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Sweden

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by konstant View Post
I still have preLCI taillights. As I know re-wiring needed for inner lights, they works properly. All troubles with outer lights.
+MUEB didnt take effect on my FRM3, turn indicators blinked fast first time and bixenon didnt blink.

I also will try your parameters.

Update:

Taillights
Voltage on outer parklights lower than on inner. I think it is
PWM_SL_1_FKT_PARKL
-Solved with changing of this parameter.

I dont understand why side turn indicators not works. Wiring in WDS the same on preLCI and LCI. With FRM1 they works.
I cant find it in DIS and in fsw_psw

I didnt rewire headligts after changing preLCI xenon non adaptive to LCI xenon non adaptive. Vertical leveling works good.

Thank you!

Nice it got solved with you taillights.


Can it be that my Side fender indicators are LED and the FRM3 thinks its a bulb out problem and shuts it off even if i coded the bulbchecks out? (maybe the FRM isn't that smart)


Auto leveleing Wiring is different between non and adaptive so i found the problem there,need to re-pin and add 2 wires to each head light from FRM




Quote:
Originally Posted by Dinan335Turbo View Post
I'm planning on doing a lci taillight retrofit on my '07 (production 10/2006) 328i e91 wagon and I need to know what part number FRM3 module I need ?? My car has factory xenons.

You dont need to change the FRM if you dont want to. Just code out the bulb errors on the old one and you good to go. If you want the welcome lights you will need to change to a FRM2 or FRM3 marked XE or XENON (AHL if you have adaptive headlights)
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
frm frm3r nfrm

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:52 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST