E90Post
 


TNT Racewerks
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Dcan or Kcan?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-02-2013, 07:14 PM   #1
Evilarexeven
Private
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: LosT Angeles

Posts: 56
iTrader: (4)

Dcan or Kcan?

Is there a definitive way to determine whether I have Kline or Dcan interface? I have a e92 335i MY2007, 07/07 build date. I've searched but I can't find the info.
Evilarexeven is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-02-2013, 07:27 PM   #2
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
cn555ic's Avatar
 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

Posts: 18,278
iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
You have KLINE for sure if its early 2007.
cn555ic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-02-2013, 07:50 PM   #3
Evilarexeven
Private
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: LosT Angeles

Posts: 56
iTrader: (4)

Is 07/07 considered "early 07" for dcan/kline purposes? Looking for a concrete way to tell which my car uses.
Evilarexeven is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-02-2013, 09:12 PM   #4
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
cn555ic's Avatar
 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

Posts: 18,278
iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Yes its KLINE. Your asking and I am giving you a definitive answer. Dcan was implemented late 08

What are you trying to do anyways?

Last edited by cn555ic; 09-02-2013 at 09:26 PM.
cn555ic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-02-2013, 09:56 PM   #5
Evilarexeven
Private
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: LosT Angeles

Posts: 56
iTrader: (4)

That's a definitive answer; the "if it's early 2007" response was not. But thank you! I'm deciding whether to flash with a BT cable, but based on the KLine issues I'm seeing on the other forum, I may pass. I'm not interested in purchasing a new computer for it to work properly.
Evilarexeven is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-02-2013, 10:21 PM   #6
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
cn555ic's Avatar
 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

Posts: 18,278
iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evilarexeven View Post
That's a definitive answer; the "if it's early 2007" response was not. But thank you! I'm deciding whether to flash with a BT cable, but based on the KLine issues I'm seeing on the other forum, I may pass. I'm not interested in purchasing a new computer for it to work properly.
Mine is a 3/07 and it kline...I read my I8AOS ROM with BT cable and no issues using a battery charger and AMD processor. The ones that I seen with KLINE having issues seem to correlate to using another processor, but that is not definitive yet, but those that did have issues solved it by changing laptop and it so happened to be AMD processor
cn555ic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-02-2013, 10:26 PM   #7
Evilarexeven
Private
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: LosT Angeles

Posts: 56
iTrader: (4)

I have a Macbook Pro and an old Dell (~2006 model). The Dell is a core 2 duo processor. I think I'm out of luck :/.
Evilarexeven is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-03-2013, 07:46 AM   #8
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
cn555ic's Avatar
 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

Posts: 18,278
iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
So far I have read and wrote one car that had Kline and the other dcan. No issues with my Acer aspire one using AMD processor.
cn555ic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-03-2013, 09:16 PM   #9
nate5ks
Captain
 
Drives: 2006 BMW 330xi
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Jacksonville Beach, FL

Posts: 614
iTrader: (0)

I would just get a K+Dcan and be covered either way. They aren't too much more expensive. The cars just preceding the transition to Dcan will work with both as does mine (9/05).
nate5ks is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-04-2013, 08:15 AM   #10
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 7,077
iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nate5ks
I would just get a K+Dcan and be covered either way. They aren't too much more expensive. The cars just preceding the transition to Dcan will work with both as does mine (9/05).
What cables are you guys using with late 2011?
For some reasons, HUs on those cars cannot be read with D+Kcan cables.
Thanks.
__________________
makkan00 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      09-04-2013, 09:23 AM   #11
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
cn555ic's Avatar
 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

Posts: 18,278
iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Guys he is speaking of something totally different. It's about flashing the DME with this open source software. It has nothing to do with the coding cable.
cn555ic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-04-2013, 05:28 PM   #12
nate5ks
Captain
 
Drives: 2006 BMW 330xi
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Jacksonville Beach, FL

Posts: 614
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00
Quote:
Originally Posted by nate5ks
I would just get a K+Dcan and be covered either way. They aren't too much more expensive. The cars just preceding the transition to Dcan will work with both as does mine (9/05).
What cables are you guys using with late 2011?
For some reasons, HUs on those cars cannot be read with D+Kcan cables.
Thanks.
That probably requires MOST connection with opps or icom.
nate5ks is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-05-2013, 04:19 AM   #13
xelion
Banned
 
Drives: 320d
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: WA

Posts: 82
iTrader: (0)

Yes, that's correct, it also can't be read for cars from 2010 with RAD2.

Last edited by xelion; 09-05-2013 at 06:04 AM.
xelion is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-05-2013, 05:31 AM   #14
cyrano
Banned
 
Drives: E61 530XD chipped
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Poland

Posts: 145
iTrader: (0)

Of course it can read even 2011 models as long its E series not F series. MOST is required only for programing modules that requires optical connection , once again PROGRAMING ( update ) not coding/reading.

Kolega xelion powinien sie troche podszkolic zanim zacznie wszedzie w dziale kodingu "madrosci" prawić
cyrano is offline   Poland
0
Reply With Quote
      09-05-2013, 11:16 AM   #15
nate5ks
Captain
 
Drives: 2006 BMW 330xi
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Jacksonville Beach, FL

Posts: 614
iTrader: (0)

MOST is required for the 2URAD module, even to code. You will get errors if you try to code it with dcan but you will be able to code modules not on the MOST bus. That is why Bluetooth coding on late models must be done through vo coding followed by sg_reset on the 2URAD. It will throw an error but will be successful.
nate5ks is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:17 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST