E90Post
 


GT Haus
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Coding Help - Right Turn Signal Lamp Malfunction



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-30-2011, 03:48 PM   #1
spera23
Second Lieutenant
4
Rep
207
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (3)

Coding Help - Right Turn Signal Lamp Malfunction

I am getting an error on my iDrive screen stating:

"Right Turn Signal Lamp Malfunction". All my turn signals front/back are working fine.

A mechanic friend of mine told me that there was a loose wire inside the front right headlamp housing that was loose/damaged that was causing this error.

I dont really want to pay to fix/replace the headlight, but does anyone know if it is possible to code the warning off so that it does not check for the error?

I tried coding the warm and cold bulb tests, but it doesn't seem to help, since it is a wiring issue and not just a burnt out bulb.

Any ideas?
Appreciate 0
      05-30-2011, 05:49 PM   #2
Jose_JN
Private First Class
Jose_JN's Avatar
Spain
9
Rep
178
Posts

 
Drives: e93 330d
Join Date: May 2011
Location: http://www.youtube.com/josejjn

iTrader: (0)

Why dont you try to replace the lamp for a new one?
Or clean the contacts. Many times, contacts get dirty and they cause a bad conection that throws the error.
You can try with cleaner for electronic circuits or polish the contacts with soft sandpaper.

If you want, you can disable check forever too by coding NFRM module
Appreciate 0
      05-30-2011, 06:50 PM   #3
spera23
Second Lieutenant
4
Rep
207
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (3)

Well I could always try replacing the bulb/cleaning the contacts, but if I am not mistaking then I have to jack the car up and take off the wheel lining to get at the front turning signals....correct?

This is a pain in the ass, so I figure it would be easier to just diable the check all together.

I tried disabling the check in the NFRM module. I changed the cold/hot check of the front right lamp to nicht_aktiv.

No luck....

Is this what you were referring to?
Appreciate 0
      05-30-2011, 08:03 PM   #4
Elliott@DetailAddict
Brigadier General
United_States
81
Rep
4,448
Posts

 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA

iTrader: (0)

Got to stop the error reporting as well. PM me.
Appreciate 0
      05-30-2011, 08:18 PM   #5
spera23
Second Lieutenant
4
Rep
207
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (3)

What do you mean exactly?
Appreciate 0
      05-30-2011, 08:22 PM   #6
Elliott@DetailAddict
Brigadier General
United_States
81
Rep
4,448
Posts

 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA

iTrader: (0)

I'll edit your trace for you and tell you what I changed. PM'ed you back.
Let's get your car error free
Appreciate 0
      05-31-2011, 03:37 PM   #7
Elliott@DetailAddict
Brigadier General
United_States
81
Rep
4,448
Posts

 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA

iTrader: (0)

Hmm turns out this is different than the Turn Signal BULB error.
Appreciate 0
      08-04-2011, 12:30 PM   #8
AcExSpades
Lieutenant
AcExSpades's Avatar
Peru
9
Rep
485
Posts

 
Drives: 11 MW E92 M3
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: CNJ

iTrader: (6)

Garage List
2011 BMW M3  [0.00]
2006 Subaru WRX STi  [0.00]
Was this ever fixed? I have the exact same error when I switched to LCI tails.... The tails work perfectly is just that damn error.
Appreciate 0
      09-06-2011, 07:30 PM   #9
FstAzzWhip
Private
United_States
1
Rep
55
Posts

 
Drives: E93 335i
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: PA/NJ

iTrader: (1)

I am getting this same darn issue and all lights are working fine
Appreciate 0
      10-05-2011, 09:48 AM   #10
whip_lash
Lieutenant
whip_lash's Avatar
4
Rep
403
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (3)

I just got the same issue last night, came out of nowhere.. its saying right and left turn signal malfunction and two stage brake lamp malfunction. But thing is my brake lights work fine and the signals all work except they flicker really fast. Any ideas what could be the issue? thanks guys.
Appreciate 0
      10-07-2011, 09:06 PM   #11
NiVeDh
Major General
NiVeDh's Avatar
United_States
158
Rep
8,014
Posts

 
Drives: '08 E90 335i, '99 E36 M3
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston, TX & Atlanta, GA

iTrader: (132)

Garage List
Try turning off bulb checks for the hyper-blinking lights.
Appreciate 0
      09-06-2013, 05:45 PM   #12
danzio2020
New Member
0
Rep
26
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335i Coupe 6MT
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Edmonton AB

iTrader: (0)

Bumping this thread because maybe now someone knows the answer.

I've tried coding almost every hot and cold bulb checks and announcements and still cannot get this error to go away!

Anyone have some insight?
Appreciate 0
      09-07-2013, 07:49 AM   #13
xelion
Banned
0
Rep
82
Posts

 
Drives: 320d
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: WA

iTrader: (0)

Dump your FSW_PSW.trc and I can tell you what you need to change.
Appreciate 0
      09-07-2013, 08:01 AM   #14
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
cn555ic's Avatar
United_States
246
Rep
18,287
Posts


 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
It has to do with the cornering bulbs...WHen you make a turn your high beams light up on that side....Thats the bulb in question and not the turn signal bulb.
Appreciate 0
      09-18-2013, 08:37 AM   #15
carlosa_garcia
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
34
Posts

 
Drives: BMW 135i
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Spring, TX

iTrader: (0)

Anybody figure this out yet? I'm getting the same message, but only on startup. It goes away after a couple minutes.
Appreciate 0
      10-01-2013, 12:15 PM   #16
ethok
New Member
0
Rep
12
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 328i Sedan
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Orlando, FL

iTrader: (0)

I am new to this forum. My issue is my front passenger side low beam was out (2007, 328i). It had the stock headlamp housing from Valeo. The headlamp was fine except that the wires were kind of exposed. I replaced the headlamp assembly with an aftermarket product. Still the front passenger side low beam will not turn on. So I think the issue is with my FRM. Is it possible that FRM had anticipated the short circuit in the stock headlamp assembly and cut off the power? SO it is still thinking I have the stock one?

Or it is possible that I need to replace my FRM.

Sorry for my ignorance, but some questions come to my mind.

1) where is the FRM located?
2) How i check whether it is damaged or it just need to be recoded.
3) How do i do the recoding?
4) If i have to buy a new FRM, which model/part number should i get?

Please help me
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:17 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST