E90Post
 


Lux Angel Eyes
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > No throttle response after adjusting procede



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-29-2013, 09:59 PM   #1
james008
Lieutenant
 
Drives: AW 09 335i
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Charlotte

Posts: 578
iTrader: (3)

No throttle response after adjusting procede

My state inspection is due and I need emmisions to show ready with no CEL. I tried setting o2 modifier to 80, then 60, then 50, now 40 and still getting CEL. I clear the codes each day and still after 40 miles or so they come back. Any help would be great. I sold my dp fix cause I thought the procede had this capability? I really don't want to put stock dps back in for inspection.

NC state inspection.
__________________

Last edited by james008; 10-01-2013 at 02:13 PM.
james008 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-30-2013, 07:27 AM   #2
scottp999
Brigadier General
 
scottp999's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i - E92 - 6MT & 4runner SR5
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: MD

Posts: 4,626
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2007 BMW 335  [4.50]
Read this: http://www.e90post.com/forums/showpo...6&postcount=26
__________________
Rob Beck Turbos, PROcede Rev. 3, Procede Fueling Flash (via OpenFlash Tablet), PPS Methanol System (Devil's Own 12 GPH Nozzle/Aquamist Flow Sensor/Labonte VC25), DCI, Quaife LSD, BMW Performance Suspension, Autobahn Exotics Exhaust, Helix FMIC, AR Design Downpipes, BSH Catch Can, Forge Diverter Valves, P3cars Vent Boost Gauge, Alufelgen CSL Reps, Lux 5.1 H8 Angel Eyes, HPB HID Fogs, LTBMW M3 Side Skirts, BMW M3 Rear Spoiler, BMW Front Aero Lip, BMW Pedal Kit, BMW M Shift Knob, Autotecknic Matte Black Grilles.
scottp999 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-30-2013, 03:35 PM   #3
james008
Lieutenant
 
Drives: AW 09 335i
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Charlotte

Posts: 578
iTrader: (3)

Thank you, piece of cake. Will have to wait a few miles till o2 shows readiness but I am pretty sure it did the trick.
__________________
james008 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-01-2013, 09:37 AM   #4
james008
Lieutenant
 
Drives: AW 09 335i
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Charlotte

Posts: 578
iTrader: (3)

It never ends!!!

Drove to work this morning after reverting to the old harness setup for state inspection and catless dp's and have very bad throttle response.

I thought at first it was a boost leak because it showed no boost then after foot on pedal for a few seconds boost shot up to normal and car took off, shifted gears waited for the lunge and nothing then few seconds later took off again.

So in neutral I tried reving and nothing, just mush, hold the pedal and eventually reved up.

All I did was replace the two red wires with the original wires in the harness to allow the O2 modifier to work so I can pass inspection.

Maybe I will just get inspection done and then put the harness back the way it was...

Any thoughts??

AND lastly my radiator fan is going at mach speed... I opened the hood and it was like a wind tunnel, my oil temps were really low for just driving 40 miles highway and 5 miles city.
__________________
james008 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-01-2013, 02:14 PM   #5
james008
Lieutenant
 
Drives: AW 09 335i
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Charlotte

Posts: 578
iTrader: (3)

bump
__________________
james008 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-01-2013, 04:13 PM   #6
scottp999
Brigadier General
 
scottp999's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i - E92 - 6MT & 4runner SR5
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: MD

Posts: 4,626
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2007 BMW 335  [4.50]
Triple check the wiring you did. It is on the harness that is numbered 1-13 and 14-26? Are you not getting codes anymore? CanClear is off? Then throw it in map 0. Drive for a couple of days like that or until you know all the readiness flags are set, then get done what you need to get done. Undo the wiring changes and settings after.

That part of the harness is the fuel control, so it will have an impact on that area when you adjust the 02 modifier.

Just do it temporarily for what you need to get done, then undo it. If you have more questions, then email or call vishnu support.
__________________
Rob Beck Turbos, PROcede Rev. 3, Procede Fueling Flash (via OpenFlash Tablet), PPS Methanol System (Devil's Own 12 GPH Nozzle/Aquamist Flow Sensor/Labonte VC25), DCI, Quaife LSD, BMW Performance Suspension, Autobahn Exotics Exhaust, Helix FMIC, AR Design Downpipes, BSH Catch Can, Forge Diverter Valves, P3cars Vent Boost Gauge, Alufelgen CSL Reps, Lux 5.1 H8 Angel Eyes, HPB HID Fogs, LTBMW M3 Side Skirts, BMW M3 Rear Spoiler, BMW Front Aero Lip, BMW Pedal Kit, BMW M Shift Knob, Autotecknic Matte Black Grilles.

Last edited by scottp999; 10-01-2013 at 04:21 PM.
scottp999 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-01-2013, 04:47 PM   #7
james008
Lieutenant
 
Drives: AW 09 335i
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Charlotte

Posts: 578
iTrader: (3)

Thank you,

Doing the wiring was a piece of cake because my wires that needed to be changed were the only two red wires in the yellow harness and the o2 modifier wires were purple and wrapped in electrical tape.
__________________
james008 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-01-2013, 05:11 PM   #8
Jeff@TopGearSolutions
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Jeff@TopGearSolutions's Avatar
 
Drives: C6 Z06, GSXR-750, 09 335i
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: TopGearSolutions.com

Posts: 16,474
iTrader: (31)

Send a message via AIM to Jeff@TopGearSolutions
Are the fans still running at full speed even after you turn the car off and turn it back on?
Jeff@TopGearSolutions is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-02-2013, 07:07 AM   #9
james008
Lieutenant
 
Drives: AW 09 335i
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Charlotte

Posts: 578
iTrader: (3)

No, I hooked up the laptop and reset my procede and everything ran normal. Then I hit the cruise control stalk on accident and kicked it into map 1 and it got bad throttle again and the fan went into high gear and CEL came on. I put back in map 0 and reset the procede gonna drive it for two days and make sure to keep in map 0.

Theoretically I should be able to use the O2 modifier and be in different maps without issue though shouldn't I?

I may drop a line to Vishnu and see what they have to say...



Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff@TopGearSolutions View Post
Are the fans still running at full speed even after you turn the car off and turn it back on?
__________________
james008 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-06-2013, 08:53 AM   #10
james008
Lieutenant
 
Drives: AW 09 335i
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Charlotte

Posts: 578
iTrader: (3)

Okay got a new code this morning but the Procede keeps clearing it so I may turn can clear off to get codes.

Code this morning was 12003 or 2EE3 Coolant temp plausibility which, in my head, might make sense of the issues I have had.

My radiator fan will run a mach speed and I lose all throttle response which might be limp mode I haven't ever had limp mode before. My oil temp drops like a rock. So maybe my coolant temp is busted and the car thinks it's running hot??

Would that make sense?
__________________
james008 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-06-2013, 10:15 AM   #11
Dmacc
Colonel
 
Drives: 2010 135i
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Nor Cal

Posts: 2,617
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by james008
Okay got a new code this morning but the Procede keeps clearing it so I may turn can clear off to get codes.

Code this morning was 12003 or 2EE3 Coolant temp plausibility which, in my head, might make sense of the issues I have had.

My radiator fan will run a mach speed and I lose all throttle response which might be limp mode I haven't ever had limp mode before. My oil temp drops like a rock. So maybe my coolant temp is busted and the car thinks it's running hot??

Would that make sense?
Just finished trouble shooting this code after around a year. What software are you running from the dealer? Update your software first. If the problem is still there it could be due to a small boost leak. Mine was in my stock dv's. As soon as I updated my software and swapped in my ER chargepipe and Forge Dv's, the code never showed again.

I would get the code at partial throttle cruising on the freeway, I always knew it was the same code because the fan would always kick on high, oil temps would plummet, and I would have 1/4 of the normal power I normally have, I could barely even downshift.

Also when you are resetting the adaptations with the procede, be sure to wait around 10 seconds after resetting the dme before moving to the next command, sometimes that can throw the same code if reset too quickly.
__________________

thanks to MGallop
Dmacc is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-06-2013, 04:38 PM   #12
scottp999
Brigadier General
 
scottp999's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i - E92 - 6MT & 4runner SR5
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: MD

Posts: 4,626
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2007 BMW 335  [4.50]
Did you already pass inspection? I ask because if you had canclear on, turning it off is one of the first steps before getting inspected.
__________________
Rob Beck Turbos, PROcede Rev. 3, Procede Fueling Flash (via OpenFlash Tablet), PPS Methanol System (Devil's Own 12 GPH Nozzle/Aquamist Flow Sensor/Labonte VC25), DCI, Quaife LSD, BMW Performance Suspension, Autobahn Exotics Exhaust, Helix FMIC, AR Design Downpipes, BSH Catch Can, Forge Diverter Valves, P3cars Vent Boost Gauge, Alufelgen CSL Reps, Lux 5.1 H8 Angel Eyes, HPB HID Fogs, LTBMW M3 Side Skirts, BMW M3 Rear Spoiler, BMW Front Aero Lip, BMW Pedal Kit, BMW M Shift Knob, Autotecknic Matte Black Grilles.
scottp999 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-06-2013, 05:24 PM   #13
james008
Lieutenant
 
Drives: AW 09 335i
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Charlotte

Posts: 578
iTrader: (3)

Not sure what dealer software I am running? It is an 07/2009 build and is probably original software. My issues are exactly the same as yours. I am going to completely remove the procede reset adaptations reload firmware and software on procede with most recent updated maps and then reinstall. Making sure to pause and hit every step.

The dealer doesn't like me, current mods: AA BOV, AA signature exhaust, Raceland DP's, Er sport Oil Cooler, Procede 2.5, BMS DCI, AA Race Intercooler will be installed by end of the week.

When I do the Intercooler I am going to triple check Boost leaks but I haven't noticed poor boost conditions.

All of this happened when I re-wired the harness for O2 modifier to pass inspection. I am through that so I re-wired the procede back to eliminate the O2 wires but it's still acting up.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dmacc View Post
Just finished trouble shooting this code after around a year. What software are you running from the dealer? Update your software first. If the problem is still there it could be due to a small boost leak. Mine was in my stock dv's. As soon as I updated my software and swapped in my ER chargepipe and Forge Dv's, the code never showed again.

I would get the code at partial throttle cruising on the freeway, I always knew it was the same code because the fan would always kick on high, oil temps would plummet, and I would have 1/4 of the normal power I normally have, I could barely even downshift.

Also when you are resetting the adaptations with the procede, be sure to wait around 10 seconds after resetting the dme before moving to the next command, sometimes that can throw the same code if reset too quickly.
__________________
james008 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-06-2013, 06:30 PM   #14
jdbretz
Captain
 
jdbretz's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 E92 335i, '07 E70 X5 4.8i
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Florida

Posts: 787
iTrader: (9)

Are you sure your water pump isn't failing? That would explain the codes, limp mode with lack of throttle response, and fan running at full speed. It could be the change to the harness and this issue are completely unrelated. My water pump went out without any warning at all. I had just completed a 900 mile road trip, and the following day it stopped working after driving about 10 miles from the house. There were no codes or signs of failure prior.
jdbretz is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-06-2013, 09:28 PM   #15
james008
Lieutenant
 
Drives: AW 09 335i
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Charlotte

Posts: 578
iTrader: (3)

It is certainly at the forefront of my mind. I adjusted my waste gates to 40% for the drive home no codes and no limp mode did a few pulls close to home. It doesn't feel like its running great, just feels off. I did notice louder exhaust and lag going into wot which I did not like. I am gonna try pulling process out and start from scratch , might be worth driving with no tune for a few days to see if the codes comes back that would probably be a sign that the water pump really is going.

Last edited by james008; 10-07-2013 at 12:15 PM.
james008 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:47 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST