E90Post
 


GTB Performance
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > Canada > Navigation Update!



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-07-2013, 09:26 AM   #1
BRAISKI
Colonel
 
BRAISKI's Avatar
 
Drives: '11 335xi e92 M-Pak
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: GTA/KW, Canada

Posts: 2,378
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2011 BMW 335xi  [3.50]
Angry Navigation Update!

So some of the 2011 owners have had issues with the Navigation including myself!

Some time ago I made a thread about it and realized it was more common than just my car.

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...ght=navigation

Anyways I went last Friday for a service, and I asked about if they have an update to fix my navigation. Yes they do!!! But I thought it was free (wishful thinking)! To upgrade the map its going to cost me $200! WTF! Since they changed to a new provider, Tom Tom.

I paid $2000 for the navigation option and I EXPECT it to work if not properly I EXPECT them to fix it for FREE!

I should be suing them for unnecessary making me drive longer than it should have! Its fine for places I'm very familiar with but for areas where I'm not!? I'm wasting extra gas too! Are they going to reimbursed me?

end of rant...

Anyways I'm going to make a formal letter of complaint, any ideas the best way to send it? Mail or email?
Maybe call CBC's Go Public
BRAISKI is offline   Spain
0
Reply With Quote
      10-07-2013, 10:32 AM   #2
MrPig
Major
 
MrPig's Avatar
 
Drives: '11 STI, '90 325iS
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Posts: 1,186
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
1990 BMW 325is  [5.00]
The only issue I've ever experienced with my nav giving me stupid directions was when I had the "avoid toll road" filter enabled and was trying to get onto Rainbow Bridge (from US Niagra side). Instead of directing me to Ft. Erie, the GPS sent me east bound towards the Gananoque area, a 1300km detour.

You paid $2000 for the entire media unit (HDD, screen, iDrive buttons etc.) not just the satnav. Regardless, sueing and sending a letter of complaint is a bit much, no? My Garmin got me lost once, so did my iPhone built in maps app. It was kind of annoying, but not lawsuit worthy. At least not to me.
__________________
MrPig is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      10-07-2013, 12:20 PM   #3
BRAISKI
Colonel
 
BRAISKI's Avatar
 
Drives: '11 335xi e92 M-Pak
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: GTA/KW, Canada

Posts: 2,378
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2011 BMW 335xi  [3.50]
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrPig View Post
The only issue I've ever experienced with my nav giving me stupid directions was when I had the "avoid toll road" filter enabled and was trying to get onto Rainbow Bridge (from US Niagra side). Instead of directing me to Ft. Erie, the GPS sent me east bound towards the Gananoque area, a 1300km detour.

You paid $2000 for the entire media unit (HDD, screen, iDrive buttons etc.) not just the satnav. Regardless, sueing and sending a letter of complaint is a bit much, no? My Garmin got me lost once, so did my iPhone built in maps app. It was kind of annoying, but not lawsuit worthy. At least not to me.

Well not suing really that was just a rant lol but ya I would do a formal complaint. Yes I paid $2000 for the entire system but still regardless I expect it to work. Its not about paying $200, its about principle, paying something that should be "working" and its not.
Just like buying a TV everything works but if the HDMI2 input button doesnt work, would you return it or just keep it and say its ok?

I'm sure if a person is on a road trip somewhere and he/she gets called to go home for an emergency, I'm sure that person would want to use the quickest/fastest route without taking you to a "scenic" route.

Its fine for certain roads and what not but a route that makes you go to a direction and then go back again where you came from.



BRAISKI is offline   Spain
0
Reply With Quote
      10-07-2013, 10:00 PM   #4
MineF10
Private First Class
 
MineF10's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 F10 M5
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Hamilton ON

Posts: 197
iTrader: (0)

Nav

May be of topic,
but those pictures really made me lough ! ( Yeah sure, I'll take that road ! Just watch me ! )

Must say that once I planned my route and the stupid thing wanted to take me for ride around the city, the good thing was that I have insisted on going the main route, and then eventually it recalculated to where it should be going, but.... Technology, beautiful thing.
MineF10 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      10-07-2013, 10:52 PM   #5
jc_bmw
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2009 BMW 328i E90
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Markham, Ontario

Posts: 231
iTrader: (1)

Never had the problem you have, but I have the 2009. Only issue I had was the radio/nav would constantly reboot. I think the Nav portion crash which caused my radio to constantly reboot... so annoy, just give me the on state or off state not this reboot! They had to replace my whole iDrive (at their cost).

Anyway I have updated my maps to 2013 through the forum for much less than dealer price.
jc_bmw is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      10-07-2013, 11:00 PM   #6
lilez19
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2011 335i sedan
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Houston

Posts: 256
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jc_bmw
Never had the problem you have, but I have the 2009. Only issue I had was the radio/nav would constantly reboot. I think the Nav portion crash which caused my radio to constantly reboot... so annoy, just give me the on state or off state not this reboot! They had to replace my whole iDrive (at their cost).

Anyway I have updated my maps to 2013 through the forum for much less than dealer price.
Where and how much?
lilez19 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-07-2013, 11:07 PM   #7
jc_bmw
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2009 BMW 328i E90
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Markham, Ontario

Posts: 231
iTrader: (1)

Check out the navigation section of this forum. The 2014 just came out (see the thread).
jc_bmw is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      10-08-2013, 08:58 PM   #8
drevil2k2
First Lieutenant
 
drevil2k2's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 B8.5 S4
Join Date: May 2012
Location: GTA

Posts: 393
iTrader: (4)

If it helps, I have the OEM USB 2013 navi update stick - free to use.

As you know, you just need the FSC code.

Cheers
__________________
Organized crime is alive and well: It's called auto insurance
drevil2k2 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      10-09-2013, 10:33 AM   #9
BRAISKI
Colonel
 
BRAISKI's Avatar
 
Drives: '11 335xi e92 M-Pak
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: GTA/KW, Canada

Posts: 2,378
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2011 BMW 335xi  [3.50]
Thanks I will try my luck with BMW but I doubt I will go anywhere. I will see if I can DL it, someone from the forums posted a link t get it.
BRAISKI is offline   Spain
0
Reply With Quote
      10-09-2013, 11:15 PM   #10
drevil2k2
First Lieutenant
 
drevil2k2's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 B8.5 S4
Join Date: May 2012
Location: GTA

Posts: 393
iTrader: (4)

OP PM'ed

hehe post # = model #
__________________
Organized crime is alive and well: It's called auto insurance
drevil2k2 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      10-10-2013, 12:04 PM   #11
iMedic
New Member
 
Drives: 335xi coupe
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toronto

Posts: 11
iTrader: (0)

I have the 2013 updated for my 2011 335. One thing that is annoying is that if I'm on the QEW it constantly tells me to stay on the highway whenever I approach an exit.
iMedic is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-21-2013, 10:26 PM   #12
kamandohl
Registered
 
kamandohl's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 328i
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Stuttgart Germany

Posts: 2
iTrader: (0)

Greetings from Germany

So..long time viewer [2012]. Have to post reply to activate account. However since I am here, could use some help on who can generate the FSC code. I see Dracon is no longer generating them, can some one please point me in the right direction? Thanks
__________________
2011 328i | Alpine White
kamandohl is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-22-2013, 05:13 PM   #13
adriang
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2011 BMW 335d
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Nobleton

Posts: 597
iTrader: (0)

I too have problems around that area! Probably when the map software was being developed that section was under construction/closed. It always tells me to get off 401 at dixon and then go back on the highway....

One time I had the map really zoomed in, and was distracted I ended up getting off... it was quite annoying..
__________________
2011 BMW 335d
adriang is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      10-23-2013, 02:35 AM   #14
Treize
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2009 BMW 335i Coupe
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Toronto

Posts: 164
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by kamandohl View Post
So..long time viewer [2012]. Have to post reply to activate account. However since I am here, could use some help on who can generate the FSC code. I see Dracon is no longer generating them, can some one please point me in the right direction? Thanks
Message Alex@Alpine (http://www.e90post.com/forums/member.php?u=83193)
Treize is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      10-25-2013, 12:17 PM   #15
kamandohl
Registered
 
kamandohl's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 328i
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Stuttgart Germany

Posts: 2
iTrader: (0)

Okay..Dracon hooked it up and I am proud to say that I now have the 2014 European Premium installed.
__________________
2011 328i | Alpine White
kamandohl is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-25-2013, 12:28 PM   #16
d-burn
Private First Class
 
Drives: '11 e92 335i xDrive M-Sport
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Toronto

Posts: 157
iTrader: (0)

If Navigation is updated, does it update the whole i-drive? Isn't it all interconnected, or can navi just be updated separately?

If there is a 2013 version floating around and is relatively easy and risk free to update, would be interested for a small fee. 2011 version frustrates me, as it says so many places do not exist..not sure if this is fixed in the 2013...but come on...how can blue mountain not be in the points of interest for collingwood?
d-burn is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-25-2013, 12:51 PM   #17
playground
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: E90 ///M3
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Causeway Bay & North York

Posts: 264
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by d-burn View Post
If Navigation is updated, does it update the whole i-drive? Isn't it all interconnected, or can navi just be updated separately?

If there is a 2013 version floating around and is relatively easy and risk free to update, would be interested for a small fee. 2011 version frustrates me, as it says so many places do not exist..not sure if this is fixed in the 2013...but come on...how can blue mountain not be in the points of interest for collingwood?
A friend of mine did my update to 2014. It was quick and easy through the usb then he had to generate a code and I plugged it in on my navi and it worked fine. He's one of the local coders in the GTA.
__________________
LAPTORR|ESS|GruppeM|BILSTEIN|BBS
playground is online now   Hong Kong
0
Reply With Quote
      10-25-2013, 02:42 PM   #18
BigFoig
Banned
 
Drives: e92 335is
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Toronto

Posts: 249
iTrader: (2)

It always tells me to get on the 409 to get back on the 401 when I'm already on the 401
BigFoig is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-25-2013, 02:53 PM   #19
D's Bimmer
Captain
 
Drives: 2011 335i Sedan
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Toronto

Posts: 824
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigFoig View Post
It always tells me to get on the 409 to get back on the 401 when I'm already on the 401
I get the 409 redirect as well. There are a few other ones that make me laugh. Hopefully the 2014 update will fix that sh*t.

Who in the GTA can do this update for me? Rather pay a local coder than the dealer.
D's Bimmer is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      10-25-2013, 03:00 PM   #20
dtea604
Lieutenant
 
dtea604's Avatar
 
Drives: 06 E90 325i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Vancouver

Posts: 534
iTrader: (0)

Not from GTA but usually hear ppl setting dim sum to do it
dtea604 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      11-13-2013, 07:04 PM   #21
quantuz
zzz
 
Drives: 2009 e93 335i
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

Posts: 33
iTrader: (0)

I've had the same issues... after a control unit change in 2010, my Nav could not be trusted. After complaining for 3 years, they told me to upgrade to 2013 so they could trouble shoot. Hah... useless... they now say I had to contact the Nav software provider.

With the 2013 update, going down the QEW, every exit, I'm told to stay to the left.

Next time ... a garmin gps will be cheaper and more effective.
quantuz is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      11-15-2013, 01:24 PM   #22
2kaccordocoupe
Colonel
 
2kaccordocoupe's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 335i E92 Coupe
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: GTA

Posts: 2,721
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2009 e92 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by quantuz View Post
I've had the same issues... after a control unit change in 2010, my Nav could not be trusted. After complaining for 3 years, they told me to upgrade to 2013 so they could trouble shoot. Hah... useless... they now say I had to contact the Nav software provider.

With the 2013 update, going down the QEW, every exit, I'm told to stay to the left.

Next time ... a garmin gps will be cheaper and more effective.
I have the same issue on 2013.1A
__________________
2009 335i E92 Coupe
Manual/Navigation/Executive/Audiophile/Sport/19s
Alpine White/Coral Red Dakota
2kaccordocoupe is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:16 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST