E90Post
 


GTB Performance
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Blinking Brake Force Display??



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-23-2013, 01:26 PM   #67
SharkBait
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2010 E92 335i
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Lost Angeles

Posts: 297
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Thx. Will give it a try and report back.
SharkBait is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-25-2013, 10:33 AM   #68
pepsih
Captain
 
pepsih's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 335i
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Currently NY

Posts: 690
iTrader: (2)

Anyone tested it?
pepsih is offline   France
0
Reply With Quote
      04-28-2013, 11:37 AM   #69
monkey_wrench
Caught the Bimmer-Bug
 
monkey_wrench's Avatar
 
Drives: '06 330i
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Florida

Posts: 660
iTrader: (10)

Garage List
2006 330i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by ******84 View Post
This should work for FRM2, even on US cars:

BFD_1_ALGORITHMUS
nicht_aktiv
BFD2_AKTIV
aktiv
BFD2_BFD
blinkend
BFD2_BL
blinkend
BFD2_BL_M
blinkend
BFD2_ESS_ANZEIGE
aktiv
BFD2_ESS_ENABLE
aktiv
BFD2_NSL
blinkend
BFD2_SL_BL_1
blinkend
BFD2_SL_BL_2
blinkend
WBLG_WBL_ENABLE
aktiv
I assume with my '06 330i I have FRM1.

What do I need to change? What options do I have? I'm a bit confused with the different lights and levels
monkey_wrench is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      04-29-2013, 03:39 AM   #70
pweber84
Banned
 
pweber84's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 330d e91
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Berlin, Germany / PL, Posen

Posts: 347
iTrader: (2)

Send a message via Skype™ to pweber84
HEre is what you need to code:

BFD_1_RL_BL_ERSCH_BILD
wert_03
BFD_1_BL_M_ERSCH_BILD
wert_03
BFD_1_RL_BL_1_ERSCH_BILD
wert_03
BFD_1_RL_BL_2_ERSCH_BILD
wert_03
BFD_1_NSL_ERSCH_BILD
wert_03
pweber84 is offline   Germany
0
Reply With Quote
      04-29-2013, 03:56 AM   #71
335DEE
Captain
 
335DEE's Avatar
 
Drives: 335d
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: England

Posts: 734
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by monkey_wrench View Post
I assume with my '06 330i I have FRM1.

What do I need to change? What options do I have? I'm a bit confused with the different lights and levels
I am only talking about FRM1 here , as I have an 06 E92, later version of FRM have differing values and tags but the gist of it can be applied to other versions of FRM.
To get a better translation of the tags I suggest that you download the latest version of NCSDummy , there has been a lot of work and some great advances in the translations.

For BFD there are 3 levels ..

Level 0 = normal brake lights (as you have now)

Level 1 = Decelerate greater than 4m/s and this triggers level 1 which you choose what you have flashing or just solid illumination by selecting the 'WERT' Value

Level 2 = ABS activation , if your wheels slip under braking even at 2 MPH then BFD2 will activate ( tested in snow !), you choose what you have flashing or just solid illumination by selecting the 'WERT' Value

In both cases especially for FRM 1 you have to activate the Algorithm otherwise it's not going to work. That is explained in post #59
Change 'BFD_1_ALGORITHMUS
nicht_aktiv'

to aktiv !

Same for 'BFD_2_ALGORITHMUS'


I know I said Level 3 earlier on and thats my bad .. as I suggested Level 1 was normal and it should have been Level 0 as above
335DEE is offline   England
0
Reply With Quote
      04-29-2013, 06:48 AM   #72
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 7,067
iTrader: (48)

Anybody has values for frm3?
Frm2 values do not work on frm3. Not even a single blink.
__________________
makkan00 is online now   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      04-29-2013, 09:09 AM   #73
pweber84
Banned
 
pweber84's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 330d e91
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Berlin, Germany / PL, Posen

Posts: 347
iTrader: (2)

Send a message via Skype™ to pweber84
Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00 View Post
Anybody has values for frm3?
Frm2 values do not work on frm3. Not even a single blink.
Did you try this?:

BFD_1_ALGORITHMUS
nicht_aktiv
BFD2_A_LOE
wert_02
BFD2_A_MIN
wert_01
BFD2_AKTIV
aktiv
BFD2_BFD
blinkend
BFD2_BL
blinkend
BFD2_BL_M
blinkend
BFD2_BLINKEN
5_hz
BFD2_ESS_ANZEIGE
aktiv
BFD2_ESS_ENABLE
aktiv
BFD2_NSL
nicht_aktiv
BFD2_T_ABS
wert_01
BFD2_V_MIN
wert_01

dump your TRC NFRM, I will try to help you.
pweber84 is offline   Germany
0
Reply With Quote
      04-29-2013, 10:03 PM   #74
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 7,067
iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ******84 View Post
Did you try this?:

BFD_1_ALGORITHMUS
nicht_aktiv
BFD2_A_LOE
wert_02
BFD2_A_MIN
wert_01
BFD2_AKTIV
aktiv
BFD2_BFD
blinkend
BFD2_BL
blinkend
BFD2_BL_M
blinkend
BFD2_BLINKEN
5_hz
BFD2_ESS_ANZEIGE
aktiv
BFD2_ESS_ENABLE
aktiv
BFD2_NSL
nicht_aktiv
BFD2_T_ABS
wert_01
BFD2_V_MIN
wert_01

dump your TRC NFRM, I will try to help you.

I've exactly the similar values except NSL is activ on my TRC.
Since it was somebody else car and if it comes back, I will try to chang that to nicht akitv and try.

Any other suggestions?
__________________
makkan00 is online now   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      05-02-2013, 08:50 PM   #75
monkey_wrench
Caught the Bimmer-Bug
 
monkey_wrench's Avatar
 
Drives: '06 330i
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Florida

Posts: 660
iTrader: (10)

Garage List
2006 330i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by o0timbo0o View Post
I am only talking about FRM1 here , as I have an 06 E92, later version of FRM have differing values and tags but the gist of it can be applied to other versions of FRM.
To get a better translation of the tags I suggest that you download the latest version of NCSDummy , there has been a lot of work and some great advances in the translations.

For BFD there are 3 levels ..

Level 0 = normal brake lights (as you have now)

Level 1 = Decelerate greater than 4m/s and this triggers level 1 which you choose what you have flashing or just solid illumination by selecting the 'WERT' Value

Level 2 = ABS activation , if your wheels slip under braking even at 2 MPH then BFD2 will activate ( tested in snow !), you choose what you have flashing or just solid illumination by selecting the 'WERT' Value

In both cases especially for FRM 1 you have to activate the Algorithm otherwise it's not going to work. That is explained in post #59
Change 'BFD_1_ALGORITHMUS
nicht_aktiv'

to aktiv !

Same for 'BFD_2_ALGORITHMUS'


I know I said Level 3 earlier on and thats my bad .. as I suggested Level 1 was normal and it should have been Level 0 as above
How about the blinking frequency? Can it be adjusted to blink faster than in the videos posted prior?
monkey_wrench is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      05-03-2013, 01:56 AM   #76
335DEE
Captain
 
335DEE's Avatar
 
Drives: 335d
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: England

Posts: 734
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by monkey_wrench View Post
How about the blinking frequency? Can it be adjusted to blink faster than in the videos posted prior?
...

Quote:
Originally Posted by o0timbo0o View Post
not so sure on NFRM , FRM2 & 3 yes (BFD2_BLINKEN) value 3Hz
As posted earlier.. , on frm1 I don't think its possible . I'm speculating but probably due to the fact that frm1 is pre lci and therefore the rear lights are bulb based so telling it to flash faster will just make it blur which negates the effect.
335DEE is offline   England
0
Reply With Quote
      05-19-2013, 10:48 PM   #77
taranonline
Lieutenant
 
taranonline's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 320D 2010
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: India

Posts: 502
iTrader: (0)

What coding should i try on my e90 2010?

Thanks in advance!!
__________________
2010 320D AW M-Sport - KW V2 - 19" M359
taranonline is offline   India
0
Reply With Quote
      05-20-2013, 08:59 AM   #78
Spasta
New Member
 
Drives: E39
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Belgium

Posts: 17
iTrader: (0)

Hello taranonline, why don't you just try some values?
There are a few different solutions for the different FRM modules.
Try them and you'll see what's working, or not.
Spasta is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-20-2013, 10:36 AM   #79
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 7,067
iTrader: (48)

Bfd only works on frm1.
All the lines for frm2 and frm3 do not work as I have tried it on multiple cars.
__________________
makkan00 is online now   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      09-17-2013, 08:47 AM   #80
sono0312
New Member
 
sono0312's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 325i
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Japan

Posts: 24
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00 View Post
Bfd only works on frm1.
All the lines for frm2 and frm3 do not work as I have tried it on multiple cars.
I would like to resume this discussion as i am trying to activate BFD on FRM2. does anyone know how to get this done on FRM2?
sono0312 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-22-2013, 09:21 AM   #81
cuco
First Lieutenant
 
cuco's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW R80
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Cincinnati OH

Posts: 320
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2008 BMW 328i  [0.00]
Has anyone tried to add the 2 stage brake light option ($5AB) to the VO before performing this coding? I'm thinking thats why the coding is not working on US cars.
__________________
Airheads are far easier to maintain than a E90
cuco is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-22-2013, 01:11 PM   #82
cuco
First Lieutenant
 
cuco's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW R80
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Cincinnati OH

Posts: 320
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2008 BMW 328i  [0.00]
I updated my NFRM (FRM2) per ******84's TRC codes and it works. Fog lights come on and all three stoplights blink! Only thing I did differently is I also added $5AB to my VO.
[u2b]
[/u2b]
__________________
Airheads are far easier to maintain than a E90
cuco is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-24-2013, 06:52 PM   #83
PichaDis11
Captain
 
PichaDis11's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 328i
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: NY

Posts: 900
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cuco View Post
Has anyone tried to add the 2 stage brake light option ($5AB) to the VO before performing this coding? I'm thinking thats why the coding is not working on US cars.
Something I shall try! thnks for the info!

I just wonder if this shall work for US cars tho.
PichaDis11 is online now   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-29-2013, 10:19 AM   #84
sono0312
New Member
 
sono0312's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 325i
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Japan

Posts: 24
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cuco View Post
I updated my NFRM (FRM2) per ******84's TRC codes and it works. Fog lights come on and all three stoplights blink! Only thing I did differently is I also added $5AB to my VO.
[u2b]
[/u2b]
it is great to know that adding $5AB to VO is the solution to have BFD activated with FRM2. However i should first understand how to add $5AB into my VO. i ever only changed the value that was production date in the VO changed from 0305 to 0307 after replacing original FRM1 with FRM2.

does anyone tell me how to change it and where it should be changed?

thanks
sono0312 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-15-2014, 02:22 AM   #85
joepcrepairs
Banned
 
Drives: 09 e92 335
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Norwalk, Ca

Posts: 118
iTrader: (0)

NO LUCK

I Tried Anabling Both Values To Aktiv But Stilll No Luck I Have Frm1 Herres My Trc File If You Guys Can Help Thanks.. I Would Love To Have Rear Fog Blinking On Hard Braking
joepcrepairs is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-15-2014, 02:30 AM   #86
joepcrepairs
Banned
 
Drives: 09 e92 335
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Norwalk, Ca

Posts: 118
iTrader: (0)

TRC

FILE
Attached Files
File Type: txt TRC.txt (234.0 KB, 182 views)
joepcrepairs is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-15-2014, 05:11 AM   #87
335DEE
Captain
 
335DEE's Avatar
 
Drives: 335d
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: England

Posts: 734
iTrader: (1)

You must have frm2/3, 3/4 down the file it there is an entry called BFD_BLINKEN =3_HZ. this option is not available in frm1.
3rd and 4th entry above that are not activated either.
335DEE is offline   England
0
Reply With Quote
      02-15-2014, 12:05 PM   #88
joepcrepairs
Banned
 
Drives: 09 e92 335
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Norwalk, Ca

Posts: 118
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 335DEE View Post
You must have frm2/3, 3/4 down the file it there is an entry called BFD_BLINKEN =3_HZ. this option is not available in frm1.
3rd and 4th entry above that are not activated either.
so how can I make this work on frm1?
joepcrepairs is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
bfd, brake force display

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:57 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST