E90Post
 


PYSPEED
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > CIC retrofit from CCC



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-13-2013, 09:18 AM   #45
5soko
42
Brigadier General
 
5soko's Avatar
 
Drives: M5
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Brooklyn, NY

Posts: 4,217
iTrader: (4)

Damn! Really updates the interior feel and look of the car! I have to do this on my M5, might look into getting the parts, and maybe get you to code it up!
__________________
Current: ///M5 LCI with Evolve and RPi mods
Previous: E92 335i ||| FBO Heavy modded E90 LCI M-Sport 335i
5soko is offline   Montenegro
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      10-13-2013, 10:15 AM   #46
cn555ic
182
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
cn555ic's Avatar
 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

Posts: 18,286
iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5soko View Post
Damn! Really updates the interior feel and look of the car! I have to do this on my M5, might look into getting the parts, and maybe get you to code it up!
Get the parts for sure, it sooo worth it...I wanted it for the new look as well as playing music videos!
cn555ic is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      10-15-2013, 04:21 PM   #47
cn555ic
182
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
cn555ic's Avatar
 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

Posts: 18,286
iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Okay got a unit with V42 I also retrofitted the CCC screen housing which has the protective clear lens over the screen to my my CID screen! Now it looks awesome and the plastic screen cover will prevent it from getting dust on it and scratches

Next stop is ordering a Media Combox and retrofitting it over.
cn555ic is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      10-15-2013, 04:53 PM   #48
GAaaAR
6
Captain
 
Drives: 2009 E92 335i
Join Date: May 2006
Location: NYC

Posts: 663
iTrader: (1)

Hey Steve, is your screen right now the same one I have on my car or you have a better one?
GAaaAR is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      10-15-2013, 09:13 PM   #49
cn555ic
182
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
cn555ic's Avatar
 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

Posts: 18,286
iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Quote:
Originally Posted by GAaaAR View Post
Hey Steve, is your screen right now the same one I have on my car or you have a better one?
Its the same one thats on your car but mine is just newer! The one I had on it was pretty scratched and the anti-glare layer needed to be buffed out but I needed another screen so I bought one and installed the LCD screen. My screen now looks like it just came off the factory floor especially with the clear lens that I retrofitted from my CCC screen.
cn555ic is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      10-17-2013, 02:24 PM   #50
onesuperboi
13
Major
 
onesuperboi's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 e92 335i COBB 4.01 Stage 1
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bay Area, CA (Alameda)

Posts: 1,342
iTrader: (6)

Do you really need the updated cic center controller? Or, could the regular ccc controller work with the updated cic head unit?

The reason I'm asking is that I can't find the center console trim in dark burl wood trim...
onesuperboi is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      10-17-2013, 02:30 PM   #51
downtowncb
0
Private
 
Drives: E90 M3
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Seattle

Posts: 83
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by onesuperboi View Post
Do you really need the updated cic center controller? Or, could the regular ccc controller work with the updated cic head unit?

The reason I'm asking is that I can't find the center console trim in dark burl wood trim...
There might be some coding to get scrolling working correctly with the CCC controller, some people have reported, but you can use your old controller.

I just did a CIC retrofit in my '08 E90 M3 and it is working fine with the old controller without any coding. YMMV
downtowncb is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      10-17-2013, 02:35 PM   #52
xelion
0
Banned
 
Drives: 320d
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: WA

Posts: 82
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by downtowncb View Post
There might be some coding to get scrolling working correctly with the CCC controller, some people have reported, but you can use your old controller.

I just did a CIC retrofit in my '08 E90 M3 and it is working fine with the old controller without any coding. YMMV
Yes, the old controller also can be replaced with the new one without coding, leaving old CCC, what is cool
xelion is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      10-17-2013, 09:21 PM   #53
cn555ic
182
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
cn555ic's Avatar
 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

Posts: 18,286
iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Quote:
Originally Posted by onesuperboi View Post
Do you really need the updated cic center controller? Or, could the regular ccc controller work with the updated cic head unit?

The reason I'm asking is that I can't find the center console trim in dark burl wood trim...
Yes I had the same issue and couldnt find a matching center console trim especially for a E93. I left it alone with the old controller. Yeah its not 100% a full retrofit but who needs those short cut buttons....I get to play with the knob more!
cn555ic is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      10-17-2013, 10:52 PM   #54
thestein1016
0
Private
 
Drives: BMW 335
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: CA

Posts: 85
iTrader: (2)

Does your car have logic7 ? If so, did you have any issues with no sound ?
thestein1016 is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      10-18-2013, 03:36 PM   #55
cn555ic
182
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
cn555ic's Avatar
 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

Posts: 18,286
iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
I do have logic 7 and like I said every function I had on the car prior to CIC retrofit, I have the same exact functionality. It works perfect.
cn555ic is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      10-20-2013, 08:42 PM   #56
cn555ic
182
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
cn555ic's Avatar
 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

Posts: 18,286
iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Got around to fitting the usb in my glovebox...I had the old BMW rechargeable flashlight fitted from factory but this was the most useless POS I have ever seen! I yanked it out and routed the USB cable to the glove box..I have to get the trim from the dealer to secure the usb port...THere are two types...

One is for just the USB port only and then there is another that has a usb port and a flashlight holder for a LED bmw flashlight...The flashlight is pen shaped..I have to order it from the dealer but at least the usb cable is routed.

Here are the parts to complete your usb retrofit into glovebox:



51168161589 usb port only trim

51169143599 usb port with flashlight holder

63319148677 flash light from BMW ( Not sure if this is even sold anymore)
Attached Images
   

Last edited by cn555ic; 10-20-2013 at 08:49 PM.
cn555ic is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      10-21-2013, 12:26 PM   #57
cn555ic
182
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
cn555ic's Avatar
 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

Posts: 18,286
iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
I went to the dealer early in the morning to order the parts...The usb trim with flash light holder is discontinued but there one one left in the system so I placed a special order for it ($24)..The LED flashlight is also discontinued but I managed to find one on eBay for $36 bucks. It looks as though the only part that can be ordered is the typical usb trim that houses the usb port connector 51168161589
cn555ic is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      10-22-2013, 03:52 AM   #58
alcorte
0
Registered
 
Drives: 335d e92
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Spain

Posts: 3
iTrader: (0)

Thanks for your work.
Can show the change in position of wires to do in the new connectors., of ccc to cic.
Thank you.
alcorte is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      10-28-2013, 09:49 PM   #59
cn555ic
182
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
cn555ic's Avatar
 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

Posts: 18,286
iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Quote:
Originally Posted by alcorte View Post
Thanks for your work.
Can show the change in position of wires to do in the new connectors., of ccc to cic.
Thank you.

First is the CCC connector wiring and the second pic is how the wires should be inserted into the new connector. This is one of my most favorite retrofits that I have done to my car....You have no idea the breath of fresh air it brings to the interior..
Attached Images
  
cn555ic is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      10-29-2013, 02:29 PM   #60
cn555ic
182
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
cn555ic's Avatar
 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

Posts: 18,286
iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Finished my last piece of the retrofit..Nice!!! The flashlight that I had bought was too narrow for the hole so I wrap some tape around it to make it nice and snug...This flashlight is so much better than the POS that the car came with! lol Its not rechargeable but cmon this light hardly ever gets used so adding a AAA battery once in awhile is no biggie!
Attached Images
 
cn555ic is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      11-06-2013, 04:26 PM   #61
gazosnic
6
Captain
 
Drives: bmw m3
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: chicago

Posts: 631
iTrader: (3)

So after you do this:

-Mine was #0307 changed to #0909
-Add $6VA also to VO
-Then you Fa-write the VO to CAS and FRM module...
-Default code the CIC module which should show up in NCS after changing the production date.

Is there any additional coding that is needed for the CIC to get basic operation e.g. match up sound (hifi, logic 7, standard) etc? If so what specifically needs to be changed?
gazosnic is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      11-06-2013, 06:16 PM   #62
cn555ic
182
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
cn555ic's Avatar
 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

Posts: 18,286
iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Quote:
Originally Posted by gazosnic View Post
So after you do this:

-Mine was #0307 changed to #0909
-Add $6VA also to VO
-Then you Fa-write the VO to CAS and FRM module...
-Default code the CIC module which should show up in NCS after changing the production date.

Is there any additional coding that is needed for the CIC to get basic operation e.g. match up sound (hifi, logic 7, standard) etc? If so what specifically needs to be changed?
Nope Basically default coding the CIC unit will add or remove any options your car has or doesnt have...Simple
cn555ic is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      11-07-2013, 02:08 PM   #63
pcamera123
0
Private
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dallas TX

Posts: 68
iTrader: (0)

Good luck combox retrofit is fairly easy just gathering the parts takes the time. It is well worth it in the end though I would go the non snap in adapter route however saves you alot more money and is just as functional. Only thing is you'll need a iphone 4 or 4s something that DOESN'T use the new lightning connector.
pcamera123 is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      11-07-2013, 02:11 PM   #64
pcamera123
0
Private
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dallas TX

Posts: 68
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cn555ic View Post
I do believe so!
Yes My cic retrofit was from a 5 series 2011 all fits.
pcamera123 is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      11-07-2013, 02:29 PM   #65
cn555ic
182
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
cn555ic's Avatar
 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

Posts: 18,286
iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Quote:
Originally Posted by pcamera123 View Post
Yes My cic retrofit was from a 5 series 2011 all fits.
If thats the case then you can program the cic unit automatic day and nights since you have the sensor on the CID screen...Your lucky..I am trying to source one at the moment..
cn555ic is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      11-07-2013, 03:30 PM   #66
pcamera123
0
Private
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dallas TX

Posts: 68
iTrader: (0)

eBay brother man I got mine for 1000 from a totaled 5 series.
pcamera123 is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:50 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST