E90Post
 


GT Haus
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > E91, aftermarket issues



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-04-2013, 12:55 PM   #1
Suzi1
New Member
 
Drives: E91 55 plate Ti silver
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: W-s-m

Posts: 15
iTrader: (0)

E91, aftermarket issues

Hi, am currently installing a aftermarket single din stereo into my E91 55 plate.

I have got the stalk control lead with the can-bus so all works good ( apart from PDC but I have a lead coming for that) when the car is left off for a while the memory on the stereo is wiped and it is reset to default settings. It is fine if you leave it for say 2 mins but it loses memory if left and you come back.

Don't know if maybe I have installed it and missed something? But all I have done is removed the ome stereo and installed the can-bus lead and stereo harness....

Was hoping someone could shed some light on the issue? May be a permanent has to be run?
Suzi1 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-04-2013, 01:32 PM   #2
ctuna
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

Posts: 4,089
iTrader: (0)

FYI

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...ight=head+unit

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...hlight=dynavin

where is W s m
ctuna is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-04-2013, 02:30 PM   #3
bmw325i
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 2006 BMW 325i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States

Posts: 4,010
iTrader: (5)

It's your constant 12 volt. The easiest way to do it is to run a wire to the battery, but you could probably find a constant 12 volt in the fuse box with some effort.
bmw325i is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-04-2013, 05:18 PM   #4
Suzi1
New Member
 
Drives: E91 55 plate Ti silver
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: W-s-m

Posts: 15
iTrader: (0)

Hay thanks for the replies! Well that's good I know I have to run a constant now! Hah

And I realy don't want to have the ome unit in the boot so will prob get the autoleads box.. Has anyone elce used that box? What is it like and is it worth it?

Also what elce do you benefit from having the one unit in the car? Other than the PDC..
Suzi1 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-04-2013, 05:25 PM   #5
ctuna
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

Posts: 4,089
iTrader: (0)

You want to at least hang on to your old OEM HU unit.

You want to at least hang on to your old unit.
Why because if you take your car in an it needs reprogramming or
has a module replaced that needs new software values the BMW diagnostic
computer at the dealership will not be able to update or repair your
car without it mounted and fucntioning.
ctuna is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-05-2013, 02:36 AM   #6
Suzi1
New Member
 
Drives: E91 55 plate Ti silver
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: W-s-m

Posts: 15
iTrader: (0)

Cool, yes a mate at work told me the same yes today so will be keeping it in my tool box .

So the contant that I run, am I right that it goes to the yellow on the stereo?

Thanks,
Suzi1 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-05-2013, 03:37 AM   #7
ctuna
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

Posts: 4,089
iTrader: (0)

You need to be sure that your unit documentation

You need to be sure that your unit documentation says 12 volt constant
for the wire you think it is.
I don't know that the color code is universal for 12 volt constant. Check the info for the particular unit you bought.
The easiest way to know for sure is to measure it with the car turned off and sleeping.

Last edited by ctuna; 11-05-2013 at 03:43 AM.
ctuna is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-05-2013, 10:29 AM   #8
bmw325i
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 2006 BMW 325i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States

Posts: 4,010
iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Suzi1 View Post
Cool, yes a mate at work told me the same yes today so will be keeping it in my tool box .

So the contant that I run, am I right that it goes to the yellow on the stereo?

Thanks,
Yep. That should fix your problem.
bmw325i is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-05-2013, 03:29 PM   #9
Suzi1
New Member
 
Drives: E91 55 plate Ti silver
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: W-s-m

Posts: 15
iTrader: (0)

Thanks! Will give it a go!
Suzi1 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-11-2013, 03:14 AM   #10
Suzi1
New Member
 
Drives: E91 55 plate Ti silver
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: W-s-m

Posts: 15
iTrader: (0)

Fuse box permeant

Right, after putting all my stereo in correctly I an now at a stage were I need to run the permeant live from the fuse box, I have located the fuse Box but am struggling to know which fuse is permeant live...

I have a photo of a bit of my fuse box? Don't know if it's a help..
Attached Images
 
Suzi1 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-11-2013, 03:05 PM   #11
Suzi1
New Member
 
Drives: E91 55 plate Ti silver
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: W-s-m

Posts: 15
iTrader: (0)

Bump!!!!


Also I have unplugged the yellow from the harness and I have it connected direct to the spure fuse on the fuse box? (once I know what fuse it use)
Suzi1 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST