E90Post
 


GTB Performance
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > best remote start option?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-11-2013, 06:23 PM   #1
stadtjunge
Private First Class
United_States
2
Rep
126
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 BMW 335i
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Edmonds, WA

iTrader: (0)

best remote start option?

hoping for something pretty clean/seamless.
__________________

2005 Ultrasport 1.8t 6MT Avant loud car
2007 335i fast car
2012 Touareg TDi Executive new car
Appreciate 0
      11-11-2013, 06:32 PM   #2
bmw325i
Brigadier General
57
Rep
4,465
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 325i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States

iTrader: (6)

I have the viper 5904. The 2 way remote works up to a mile away. You can even get the smartstart module so you can use your smartphone to control the alarm from anywhere.

The install was fairly easy. You'll need a dlpk and kibmw. Using d2d eliminates most of the wiring.
Appreciate 0
      11-11-2013, 08:55 PM   #3
Ali-323i
Lieutenant
Ali-323i's Avatar
Canada
6
Rep
508
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 323i (Cdn) 4dr E90
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toronto, Canada

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 BMW 323i  [0.00]
Any idea of how this works on a 6MT? In the past I've had to do a clutch bypass, same story here?
I wonder how one starts the car without starting the engine if this is the case (currently by hitting start button without foot on clutch).
Appreciate 0
      11-11-2013, 10:46 PM   #4
bmw325i
Brigadier General
57
Rep
4,465
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 325i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States

iTrader: (6)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ali-323i View Post
Any idea of how this works on a 6MT? In the past I've had to do a clutch bypass, same story here?
I wonder how one starts the car without starting the engine if this is the case (currently by hitting start button without foot on clutch).
You need a neutral safety switch. If the car doesn't start without the clutch being pushed you'll have to bypass it. I'm assuming it would be pretty similar to the brake on an automatic. You cut 2 wires from the brake and both ends connect to 4 wires on the alarm. It only does it when you use the remote start. You still need to use the brake or the clutch if your not using it. I wonder if this is possible with coding.

It's fairly simple to install if you use d2d, take a look at the wiring diagram for the kibmw. The only wires that connect to the car are the can wires, power, ground, and brake/clutch wires.
Appreciate 0
      11-12-2013, 02:30 AM   #5
1QuikWS6
No 55mph
1QuikWS6's Avatar
United_States
65
Rep
4,794
Posts

 
Drives: 09 E92 328iX N51 3-Stage
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Blitzburgh, PA

iTrader: (83)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmw325i View Post
I have the viper 5904. The 2 way remote works up to a mile away. You can even get the smartstart module so you can use your smartphone to control the alarm from anywhere.

The install was fairly easy. You'll need a dlpk and kibmw. Using d2d eliminates most of the wiring.
Did you also need to use the RFLUB with that setup?
__________________
2009 328ix E92//SGM//ACS Roof Spoiler//MTech Aero Lip+Trunk Spoiler//M3 Side Skirts//CF Roundels+Grilles//M3 Novillo Interior//Perf Shift Lever+Boot//MPerf DCT Wheel//M3 GT3 eBrake Handle+Boot//ACS Pedals//M3 Mirrors//LCI Tails w/LUX Rev//DTEC V7 AE+MTec 6000K D1S+HPB HID 6000K Fogs//HPB LED Interior//RPI Scoops//CF Euro Airbox+Underhood Hsgs//K&N//BMW PE//MTech Rear Bumper-iS Sport Diffuser//CF Strut Brace//Vishnu OFT//BMW 193M's+Kumho 4X
Appreciate 0
      11-12-2013, 12:19 PM   #6
bmw325i
Brigadier General
57
Rep
4,465
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 325i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States

iTrader: (6)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1QuikWS6 View Post
Did you also need to use the RFLUB with that setup?
No I just used wire like what is shown here http://www.bypasskit.com/Manuals/997_KIBMW_H00_S00_D02_I_ENFR.pdf
Appreciate 0
      11-13-2013, 03:13 PM   #7
shadowinstallz
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
41
Posts

 
Drives: E90
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: NY

iTrader: (0)

just did the install with the idatalink/flashlogic/omega unit, quick and easy No wires to cut, no extra key lost or hiding anywhere. Less than 15 minutes to install.

Last edited by shadowinstallz; 11-15-2013 at 01:17 PM.
Appreciate 0
      11-13-2013, 03:29 PM   #8
Ali-323i
Lieutenant
Ali-323i's Avatar
Canada
6
Rep
508
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 323i (Cdn) 4dr E90
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toronto, Canada

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 BMW 323i  [0.00]
Interested. Can you link to some product info? Cost? It wouldn't happen to come with a smartphone app like the Viper... Would it??
Appreciate 0
      11-13-2013, 06:29 PM   #9
shadowinstallz
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
41
Posts

 
Drives: E90
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: NY

iTrader: (0)

It can be added if u want smartphone Access or separate remote for extended range. Just do a quick Google search for it.....I'm on my mobile at the moment.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:19 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST