E90Post
 


ECS BMW
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > ConnectedDrive / I-Drive / Navigation Related Discussion > Sirius radio CIC?!



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-27-2013, 04:03 PM   #23
wepio
Private
 
Drives: 2009 E92 335i M-Sport 6MT
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: USA

Posts: 59
iTrader: (0)

Hey guys,

I checked my VIN, and it shows I have the following:

S693A SATELLITENTUNER VORBEREITUNG (Preparation BMW satellite radio)

The car is June build, 2009 e92 335i with CIC Nav Pro.

I'm understanding this right?

- It's already prepped for Sirius
- Needs to have retro-fit coding, to activate Sirius (Can this be DIY, or do I have to pay dealer/retro-fit shop?)
- Need to pick up Sirius receiver

Thanks!

Last edited by wepio; 06-27-2013 at 04:09 PM.
wepio is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-27-2013, 04:29 PM   #24
Dracon
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Drives: 2006 330i E90
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Nashville, TN

Posts: 904
iTrader: (14)

Quote:
Originally Posted by wepio View Post
Hey guys,

I checked my VIN, and it shows I have the following:

S693A SATELLITENTUNER VORBEREITUNG (Preparation BMW satellite radio)

The car is June build, 2009 e92 335i with CIC Nav Pro.

I'm understanding this right?

- It's already prepped for Sirius
- Needs to have retro-fit coding, to activate Sirius (Can this be DIY, or do I have to pay dealer/retro-fit shop?)
- Need to pick up Sirius receiver

Thanks!
You should have the wires in your trunk for the Sirius receiver. Under the mat cover on the left hand side.

You will need retrofit coding and you will need to move some fibre optic cables around. If you have the tools to code yourself, it's pretty easy. The hardest part is reconfiguring the MOST (fibre optic) loop to loop in the satellite radio box.
Dracon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-27-2013, 04:54 PM   #25
wepio
Private
 
Drives: 2009 E92 335i M-Sport 6MT
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: USA

Posts: 59
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dracon View Post
You should have the wires in your trunk for the Sirius receiver. Under the mat cover on the left hand side.

You will need retrofit coding and you will need to move some fibre optic cables around. If you have the tools to code yourself, it's pretty easy. The hardest part is reconfiguring the MOST (fibre optic) loop to loop in the satellite radio box.
Thanks for the quick reply. I have NCS Expert/Dummy. Is that enough?

I simply don't have a point of reference for how much the dealer charges for the unit, the hardware installation, and the retrofit coding. I'd have to figure what's the best ease/cost ratio depending on the cost of combinations...

- dealer install / dealer code
- DIY install / dealer code
- DIY install / DIY code
wepio is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-27-2013, 08:33 PM   #26
Dracon
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Drives: 2006 330i E90
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Nashville, TN

Posts: 904
iTrader: (14)

Quote:
Originally Posted by wepio View Post
Thanks for the quick reply. I have NCS Expert/Dummy. Is that enough?

I simply don't have a point of reference for how much the dealer charges for the unit, the hardware installation, and the retrofit coding. I'd have to figure what's the best ease/cost ratio depending on the cost of combinations...

- dealer install / dealer code
- DIY install / dealer code
- DIY install / DIY code
NCS Expert will do the job, you'll remove the $693 from the VO and add $655 to the VO and then recode the car. (You can probably get away with just recoding the CCC/Radio, but I prefer to code the whole car when changing the VO in case there's coding changes elsewhere).

Hardware installation isn't too terrible, just screw the satellite radio receiver to the bracket and install the bracket and connect the cables. You just need to understand how the MOST loop works, but you'll connect in the MOST cables for the Satellite into the active MOST block and you're golden.
Dracon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-28-2013, 03:47 PM   #27
wepio
Private
 
Drives: 2009 E92 335i M-Sport 6MT
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: USA

Posts: 59
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dracon View Post
NCS Expert will do the job, you'll remove the $693 from the VO and add $655 to the VO and then recode the car. (You can probably get away with just recoding the CCC/Radio, but I prefer to code the whole car when changing the VO in case there's coding changes elsewhere).

Hardware installation isn't too terrible, just screw the satellite radio receiver to the bracket and install the bracket and connect the cables. You just need to understand how the MOST loop works, but you'll connect in the MOST cables for the Satellite into the active MOST block and you're golden.
Awesome! I haven't tried to code in VO items, just toggle aktiv/nicht aktiv itmes. But, I'm sure I can figure it out from e90post and coding forums.

Thank you!
wepio is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-30-2013, 11:16 AM   #28
N8N
Major
 
N8N's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 E92 335i 6MT
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Sterling, VA

Posts: 1,443
iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to N8N Send a message via MSN to N8N Send a message via Yahoo to N8N
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dracon View Post
Yes, you should be able to tune to channel 184 on the Sat Radio, even if it doesn't have Sirius service. It's the preview channel and it works on all Sirius satellite radios (used to sell you Sirius if you don't have a subscription and used for diagnostics purposes because you should always get that channel).

It really sounds like there's something wrong with the Sirius module in the truck, or the antenna.

I would check in the trunk, under the panel. On the left hand side there's the satellite radio box, it should have two cables. A large black connector and a smaller pink connector. Make sure the pink connector is fully connected to the box. That's the antenna coming from the sharkfin.

Otherwise, it could be the sharkfin itself and it might need to be replaced.
Actually channel 184 is now subscription only, I went through this around Thanksgiving when I retro'd my Sirius module. I wanted to make sure the tuner was working before I paid for service, but there is NO channel that you can tune to now without having a subscription! SiriusXM, your stupidity amazes me, but fortunately the day I got the coding done, I had a four hour drive, a phone with Bluetooth, and a stubborn disposition, so I ended up getting three months free
N8N is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-16-2013, 08:21 PM   #29
FL335
Your Drinkin' Buddy!
 
FL335's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 335i
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Florida Beaches

Posts: 143
iTrader: (0)

I am picking up my new (to me) 335i tomorrow and have done some research on this...I have had sat. since 2006 and really enjoy it. The car i'm buying has the sat prep...found a sirius unit on ebay and bought the retrofit kit from Tischer. I suspect install will be easy and an hour of coding...I'm done? The unit I bought ends in s/n 273 which is made in 09. Does anyone know if we can still get the most up to date content regardless of age of unit?
FL335 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-18-2014, 02:33 PM   #30
gazosnic
Lieutenant
 
Drives: bmw m3
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: chicago

Posts: 583
iTrader: (2)

do the Euro CIC units have sirus built in as well?
gazosnic is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-23-2014, 04:14 AM   #31
MSport_Jon
Private First Class
 
Drives: BMW 335i E90 N54 (Stock)
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Bavaria, Germany

Posts: 107
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gazosnic View Post
do the Euro CIC units have sirus built in as well?
from what i understand, the Euro CIC unit and the US CIC are different... the US Spec CIC has Sirus built in and can get HD radio where are the Euro can not... i wonder if some of this is codable as the units look identical other than the button layout... the stickers are the same as well...
MSport_Jon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-23-2014, 06:59 AM   #32
gazosnic
Lieutenant
 
Drives: bmw m3
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: chicago

Posts: 583
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MSport_Jon View Post
from what i understand, the Euro CIC unit and the US CIC are different... the US Spec CIC has Sirus built in and can get HD radio where are the Euro can not... i wonder if some of this is codable as the units look identical other than the button layout... the stickers are the same as well...
I would love to know as well. If someone was able to turn either on by coding that would be huge for me.
gazosnic is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-23-2014, 12:37 PM   #33
MSport_Jon
Private First Class
 
Drives: BMW 335i E90 N54 (Stock)
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Bavaria, Germany

Posts: 107
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gazosnic View Post
I would love to know as well. If someone was able to turn either on by coding that would be huge for me.
No.... dont think it is possible..! there is a daughter card inside the Infotainment unit that allows for HD Radio... since the EU does not have HD radio it would be useless to add that in...
MSport_Jon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-16-2014, 09:40 AM   #34
yEBMW
Lieutenant
 
yEBMW's Avatar
 
Drives: '11 BMW 335i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Florida

Posts: 544
iTrader: (17)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrys@BimmerTech View Post
A 2009 335i does not have Sirius integrated in the head unit. You need to install an external Sirius tuner which is pretty expensive unless you find a used one.

From 2010 model BMW cars with the SA693 Sat Radio prepration option have Sirius tuner integrated into the head unit and we can do a remote activation of Sirius with free 1-year subscription
I would like to have this done can you please get in touch with me? Thanks

I sent you a pm
__________________
U.S. Army Veteran/Iraqi Freedom

11' 335i -M-Sport/LeMans Blue Metallic/Sport/Premium/AT - Current
06' 325i -Base/Arctic Metallic/MT - Retired
yEBMW is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-05-2014, 02:54 AM   #35
gazosnic
Lieutenant
 
Drives: bmw m3
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: chicago

Posts: 583
iTrader: (2)

Buying a 2011 cic unit for sat. I have a 08 w sat prep option. Can I use the antenna cable in the trunk to the new cic unit? If so what connection types do I need to run the extension?
gazosnic is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-23-2014, 11:29 AM   #36
PichaDis11
Captain
 
PichaDis11's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 328i
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: NY

Posts: 834
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gazosnic View Post
Buying a 2011 cic unit for sat. I have a 08 w sat prep option. Can I use the antenna cable in the trunk to the new cic unit? If so what connection types do I need to run the extension?
You def should as that would give you factory connection to the Antenna in the Shark-fin.. as far as the type of cabling, my first guess is SMB connection (as they all look alike anyway). Connections are only keyed different it seems.
__________________
08 E90- 6FL Retrofit. new features by coding.
PichaDis11 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-30-2014, 07:57 PM   #37
jezzy
First Lieutenant
 
jezzy's Avatar
 
Drives: 06 E91 325xi Black Wagon
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Montreal, Canada

Posts: 301
iTrader: (6)

Bumping this thread, looking for advice too. Retrofitted a cic from 2009, added a Sirius tuner p/n 65126948064 to my trunk using the cd-changer wiring + MOST black plug. My car didn't have Sirius pre-wiring but the cd-changer is the exact same plug. Can anyone confirm if the wire outputs from cd-changer to Sirius tuner are the same?

Reason why I'm asking : once plugged in, there's no life in my Sirius tuner (bought it used), I'm assuming the wiring pin out might not be the same?

I added $655 to my VO and see Sirius in my Radio options, but no ESN appears, and have subscribed as of an hour ago.

thanks!
__________________
2006 BMW E91 Wagon
Black / Beige interior
18" Fast wheels / Azentis Staggered Setup
CIC Retrofit / Combox
jezzy is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      07-31-2014, 07:29 PM   #38
FL335
Your Drinkin' Buddy!
 
FL335's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 335i
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Florida Beaches

Posts: 143
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jezzy View Post
Bumping this thread, looking for advice too. Retrofitted a cic from 2009, added a Sirius tuner p/n 65126948064 to my trunk using the cd-changer wiring + MOST black plug. My car didn't have Sirius pre-wiring but the cd-changer is the exact same plug. Can anyone confirm if the wire outputs from cd-changer to Sirius tuner are the same?

Reason why I'm asking : once plugged in, there's no life in my Sirius tuner (bought it used), I'm assuming the wiring pin out might not be the same?

I added $655 to my VO and see Sirius in my Radio options, but no ESN appears, and have subscribed as of an hour ago.

thanks!
Not sure about the CD and Sirius plug compatibility but I DO know it needs to be coded for the module to work.
__________________
Cobb tuned, Mishimoto FMIC..a solid DD.

2003 E46 M3 6MT, weekends and occaisonal work car...
FL335 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-31-2014, 08:28 PM   #39
jezzy
First Lieutenant
 
jezzy's Avatar
 
Drives: 06 E91 325xi Black Wagon
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Montreal, Canada

Posts: 301
iTrader: (6)

Can we even code the sirius module? or you mean add the vo for the sirius $655 and play with the .trc file for the SDARS activate, etc..?

thanks
__________________
2006 BMW E91 Wagon
Black / Beige interior
18" Fast wheels / Azentis Staggered Setup
CIC Retrofit / Combox
jezzy is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      08-12-2014, 09:09 PM   #40
jezzy
First Lieutenant
 
jezzy's Avatar
 
Drives: 06 E91 325xi Black Wagon
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Montreal, Canada

Posts: 301
iTrader: (6)

Quote:
Originally Posted by matebo View Post
Hi Dracon:

So I took some pictures of the module. I tried to tighten both connectors and got the same result. And when I put my key in (before ignition), and select Sirius Radio, I notice the fan of the module seems not blowing.

Any ways, here are the photos:

Attachment 862025
Attachment 862026
Attachment 862027
Attachment 862028

Might take her to dealer this Thursday or next Tuesday.

pulling my hair off....
did you ever get this fixed? i have no power / fan movement on my sirius tuner also, wondering how you fixed it.
__________________
2006 BMW E91 Wagon
Black / Beige interior
18" Fast wheels / Azentis Staggered Setup
CIC Retrofit / Combox
jezzy is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      08-13-2014, 02:31 PM   #41
PichaDis11
Captain
 
PichaDis11's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 328i
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: NY

Posts: 834
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gazosnic View Post
Buying a 2011 cic unit for sat. I have a 08 w sat prep option. Can I use the antenna cable in the trunk to the new cic unit? If so what connection types do I need to run the extension?
Quote:
Originally Posted by PichaDis11 View Post
You def should as that would give you factory connection to the Antenna in the Shark-fin.. as far as the type of cabling, my first guess is SMB connection (as they all look alike anyway). Connections are only keyed different it seems.
I take it back man.. The connectors are all Fakra themed. "Fakra H" is the one you will be looking for.
__________________
08 E90- 6FL Retrofit. new features by coding.
PichaDis11 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:42 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST