E90Post
 


Bimmer Retrofit
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > 335i - m3 cluster retrofit?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-06-2014, 12:57 PM   #1
Lawton438
Second Lieutenant
2
Rep
246
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Stoke on trent

iTrader: (2)

335i - m3 cluster retrofit?

Is there anyone in the uk that can do this
Conversion?

If so how much would it be?

Thanks
Appreciate 0
      02-06-2014, 03:51 PM   #2
M4rius
Banned
Lithuania
6
Rep
512
Posts

 
Drives: e92
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Sussex

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 bmw e92  [4.50]
I guess it will involve abit of coding. Other that that it will be straight swap.
Appreciate 0
      02-07-2014, 04:26 AM   #3
drjekl
Captain
11
Rep
788
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Oz

iTrader: (0)

Its essentially a straight swap, but i had a few issues

1: The mileage was correct albeit it had the tamperage dot (different vin # which can be done by coding)

2: The oil level monitor doesnt appear to work (when the car is fully warmed, i get that clock symbol which doesn't dissapear

3: I got a cruise control malfunction as soon as i installed the M3 cluster, I'm guessing this is due to the difference of the scroll featur eon the tacho (on the m3 the redline moves as the car warms up, whereas the 335i uses this for cruise)

I havent managed to have my cluster coded yet, it may resolve all my issues, but apparentley if you install a new cluster it is pnp.
Appreciate 0
      02-07-2014, 06:39 AM   #4
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
124
Rep
7,587
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by drjekl View Post
Its essentially a straight swap, but i had a few issues

1: The mileage was correct albeit it had the tamperage dot (different vin # which can be done by coding)

2: The oil level monitor doesnt appear to work (when the car is fully warmed, i get that clock symbol which doesn't dissapear

3: I got a cruise control malfunction as soon as i installed the M3 cluster, I'm guessing this is due to the difference of the scroll featur eon the tacho (on the m3 the redline moves as the car warms up, whereas the 335i uses this for cruise)

I havent managed to have my cluster coded yet, it may resolve all my issues, but apparentley if you install a new cluster it is pnp.
So much is wrong there bud.

I do not know anybody who does it in UK. I know few people in europe who can do it and they charge 500-550 euro and it is PNP.

There are lots of complications to get it done properly and its not a matter of just 'coding'.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      02-07-2014, 08:57 AM   #5
Lawton438
Second Lieutenant
2
Rep
246
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Stoke on trent

iTrader: (2)

This is what I thought myself, and was hoping someone had cracked it in the uk. Makkan have you not ever attempted it?
Appreciate 0
      02-10-2014, 01:25 AM   #6
drjekl
Captain
11
Rep
788
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Oz

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00 View Post
So much is wrong there bud.

I do not know anybody who does it in UK. I know few people in europe who can do it and they charge 500-550 euro and it is PNP.

There are lots of complications to get it done properly and its not a matter of just 'coding'.
Well im just going on my personal experience, and have had a few other forum members state they have done simple coding to get the vin# matched with the cluster? I'm definately no expert
Appreciate 0
      02-10-2014, 07:18 AM   #7
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
124
Rep
7,587
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lawton438 View Post
This is what I thought myself, and was hoping someone had cracked it in the uk. Makkan have you not ever attempted it?
Bud
It requires a lot of work removing the chip and installing new one. The device for that alone is more than 200.

And then there is some (nearly) illegal work involved and hence I never looked into it.

And after all that few things hardly work.
__________________
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:19 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST