E90Post
 


GT Haus
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > 335i - m3 cluster retrofit?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-06-2014, 12:57 PM   #1
Lawton438
Private First Class
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Stoke on trent

Posts: 151
iTrader: (1)

335i - m3 cluster retrofit?

Is there anyone in the uk that can do this
Conversion?

If so how much would it be?

Thanks
Lawton438 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-06-2014, 03:51 PM   #2
M4rius
Private First Class
 
M4rius's Avatar
 
Drives: e92
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Sussex

Posts: 195
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 bmw e92  [4.00]
I guess it will involve abit of coding. Other that that it will be straight swap.
M4rius is offline   Lithuania
0
Reply With Quote
      02-07-2014, 04:26 AM   #3
drjekl
Captain
 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Oz

Posts: 722
iTrader: (0)

Its essentially a straight swap, but i had a few issues

1: The mileage was correct albeit it had the tamperage dot (different vin # which can be done by coding)

2: The oil level monitor doesnt appear to work (when the car is fully warmed, i get that clock symbol which doesn't dissapear

3: I got a cruise control malfunction as soon as i installed the M3 cluster, I'm guessing this is due to the difference of the scroll featur eon the tacho (on the m3 the redline moves as the car warms up, whereas the 335i uses this for cruise)

I havent managed to have my cluster coded yet, it may resolve all my issues, but apparentley if you install a new cluster it is pnp.
drjekl is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-07-2014, 06:39 AM   #4
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 6,076
iTrader: (37)

Quote:
Originally Posted by drjekl View Post
Its essentially a straight swap, but i had a few issues

1: The mileage was correct albeit it had the tamperage dot (different vin # which can be done by coding)

2: The oil level monitor doesnt appear to work (when the car is fully warmed, i get that clock symbol which doesn't dissapear

3: I got a cruise control malfunction as soon as i installed the M3 cluster, I'm guessing this is due to the difference of the scroll featur eon the tacho (on the m3 the redline moves as the car warms up, whereas the 335i uses this for cruise)

I havent managed to have my cluster coded yet, it may resolve all my issues, but apparentley if you install a new cluster it is pnp.
So much is wrong there bud.

I do not know anybody who does it in UK. I know few people in europe who can do it and they charge 500-550 euro and it is PNP.

There are lots of complications to get it done properly and its not a matter of just 'coding'.
__________________
<img src=http://i1259.photobucket.com/albums/ii559/makkan00/New-6_zpscbec0353.jpg border=0 alt= />
RETROFITS: LCI Conversion - LCI Xenons - LCI Tail lights - Memory heated seats
- Folding mirrors with auto-dip - CIC DAB Plus - Combox - 6FL - 6NF - 6NR - BMW
live & Internet MODS: Eibach Sportsline - AluFelgens CS7 - MS-8 - SWS-8 - Gladen
makkan00 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      02-07-2014, 08:57 AM   #5
Lawton438
Private First Class
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Stoke on trent

Posts: 151
iTrader: (1)

This is what I thought myself, and was hoping someone had cracked it in the uk. Makkan have you not ever attempted it?
Lawton438 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-10-2014, 01:25 AM   #6
drjekl
Captain
 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Oz

Posts: 722
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00 View Post
So much is wrong there bud.

I do not know anybody who does it in UK. I know few people in europe who can do it and they charge 500-550 euro and it is PNP.

There are lots of complications to get it done properly and its not a matter of just 'coding'.
Well im just going on my personal experience, and have had a few other forum members state they have done simple coding to get the vin# matched with the cluster? I'm definately no expert
drjekl is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-10-2014, 07:18 AM   #7
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 6,076
iTrader: (37)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lawton438 View Post
This is what I thought myself, and was hoping someone had cracked it in the uk. Makkan have you not ever attempted it?
Bud
It requires a lot of work removing the chip and installing new one. The device for that alone is more than 200.

And then there is some (nearly) illegal work involved and hence I never looked into it.

And after all that few things hardly work.
__________________
<img src=http://i1259.photobucket.com/albums/ii559/makkan00/New-6_zpscbec0353.jpg border=0 alt= />
RETROFITS: LCI Conversion - LCI Xenons - LCI Tail lights - Memory heated seats
- Folding mirrors with auto-dip - CIC DAB Plus - Combox - 6FL - 6NF - 6NR - BMW
live & Internet MODS: Eibach Sportsline - AluFelgens CS7 - MS-8 - SWS-8 - Gladen
makkan00 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:03 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST