E90Post
 


ECS BMW
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > All COBB Tuning AccessPORT Flash for N54 335i Discussion Here



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-02-2014, 07:55 PM   #8383
mfish123
Private First Class
7
Rep
164
Posts

Drives: 335
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: United States

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffman View Post
Sounds normal for somebody with Cobb and Alpina TCU flash. I have it too and that is how it behaves. It goes away and acts fine in a few minutes.
I've flashed Cobb maps with a variety of TCU flashes already in place (not just Alpina). I don't have any clunks or anything like that.

However, right after I flash a map and drive off the car seems to stay in 3rd gear until I get going fast enough for it to up shift to 4th. I see this behavior regardless of TCU flash. After it completes the first up shift to 4th then it reverts back to normal shifting behavior from there on out. I have a feeling this is standard behavior right after a new map is flashed. I have an 09 AT x drive.
__________________
2009 335i Sedan 6AT xdrive w/ 7601494 Trans Flash
MHD Stg 2+ Custom 93 Octane Tune
FBO + Rb inlets
Appreciate 0
      03-02-2014, 08:40 PM   #8384
Mit_Boost
Lieutenant
Germany
22
Rep
540
Posts

Drives: E90 335
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: NJ

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by lfpontes View Post
How can I measure data log, boost etc on Cobb? I am really a newbie with the system.
Double check the default data log list, but here's a video done by COBB

__________________

Results >
Appreciate 0
      03-07-2014, 09:29 AM   #8385
lfpontes
New Member
0
Rep
5
Posts

Drives: 335i E90 - AMS DP, COBB, BOV
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Brazil

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mfish123 View Post
I've flashed Cobb maps with a variety of TCU flashes already in place (not just Alpina). I don't have any clunks or anything like that.

However, right after I flash a map and drive off the car seems to stay in 3rd gear until I get going fast enough for it to up shift to 4th. I see this behavior regardless of TCU flash. After it completes the first up shift to 4th then it reverts back to normal shifting behavior from there on out. I have a feeling this is standard behavior right after a new map is flashed. I have an 09 AT x drive.
Thats exactly what happens with my car, and it did occur before I did the TCU flash.
But instead of upshifting to 4th, my car abruptly downshifts to 1st when a higher speed is achieved. After this, everything goes back to normal.

The "clunk" that I heard was exactly after I flashed my ECU, and the car was stuck in 3rd gear, and I had to reverse to be able to leave my driveway.

After I reached a higher speed, everything went back to normal.


I am going to check the data log this weekend. I drove a friendīs 335 with a custom map, and the behaviour of the car is completely different. My car seems stronger at the top end, with a bit of lag down the rev band, while his car maintains the characteristic of the 335, being strong down-mid rev, and loosing a bit top end.
Appreciate 0
      03-07-2014, 09:58 AM   #8386
Chromey
First Lieutenant
Canada
25
Rep
382
Posts

Drives: 09 335i coupe
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Victoria bc

iTrader: (0)

Just realized this is were I should be posting perhaps my latest data log pulls ... Just a question too I hit default a bunch of times on the v3 in regards to data logs and it was 20 and it won't do more than 16 items to log. Therefore I had to delete 4 and I just guessed on which would be not be necessary. Anyhow once again traffic was a issue but I'm hoping there are one or two pulls that capture it. One thing I will say is if not wot the car feels like it loses a lot of pressure when it shifts gears at mild throttle then it builds and hits but feels like a slight miss right away then , NEW LINK HOPE IT WORKS....

http://datazap.me/u/chromey/3-pulls-...&data=1-2-3-10

Last edited by Chromey; 03-07-2014 at 11:30 AM. Reason: Bad link
Appreciate 0
      03-07-2014, 10:10 AM   #8387
135Pats
Major General
135Pats's Avatar
United_States
241
Rep
6,386
Posts

Drives: A few BMWs
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Maryland

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chromey View Post
Just realized this is were I should be posting perhaps my latest data log pulls ... Just a question too I hit default a bunch of times on the v3 in regards to data logs and it was 20 and it won't do more than 16 items to log. Therefore I had to delete 4 and I just guessed on which would be not be necessary. Anyhow once again traffic was a issue but I'm hoping there are one or two pulls that capture it. One thing I will say is if not wot the car feels like it loses a lot of pressure when it shifts gears at mild throttle then it builds and hits but feels like a slight miss right away then boom boost..

http://datazap.me/u/chromey/3-pulls-...&data=1-2-3-10
The link just takes me to the datazap front page.
__________________
E88 N54 Alpinweiss/Coral Red/Motiv HTA 3586r Tial .82AR/Other stuff...652WHP

F30 N55 XDrive EBII
Appreciate 0
      03-07-2014, 10:14 AM   #8388
chepy24
Captain
chepy24's Avatar
19
Rep
778
Posts

Drives: 2009 alpine white 335i xdrive
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: denver

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 135Pats View Post
The link just takes me to the datazap front page.
+1
Appreciate 0
      03-07-2014, 11:30 AM   #8389
Chromey
First Lieutenant
Canada
25
Rep
382
Posts

Drives: 09 335i coupe
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Victoria bc

iTrader: (0)

New link

http://datazap.me/u/chromey/3-pulls-...&data=1-2-3-10
Appreciate 0
      03-10-2014, 12:32 AM   #8390
Jonnyeg93
New Member
United_States
0
Rep
16
Posts

Drives: 2008 335xi 6spd
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Belmont, MA

iTrader: (0)

error

So i recently just bought a used v2 Accessport, flashed my car and then decided to see if any updates were available for ap. After downloading on my laptop the Ap got stuck on "do not disconnect" screen and when trying to reconnect it using accessport manager, it says "unable to find access port". Whats going on? It has been like this all day and won't let me close it or reconnect it.
Appreciate 0
      03-10-2014, 08:40 AM   #8391
deeLow
DOPE
deeLow's Avatar
71
Rep
697
Posts

Drives: Probably a 335i
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: 732

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonnyeg93
So i recently just bought a used v2 Accessport, flashed my car and then decided to see if any updates were available for ap. After downloading on my laptop the Ap got stuck on "do not disconnect" screen and when trying to reconnect it using accessport manager, it says "unable to find access port". Whats going on? It has been like this all day and won't let me close it or reconnect it.
What system, Mac or windows?

I had similar issue using OSX, hooked it up to windows and it straightened itself out.

Highly recommended using windows when updating the AP.
Appreciate 0
      03-12-2014, 10:23 AM   #8392
AWD Addict
Chief Executive
AWD Addict's Avatar
60
Rep
2,564
Posts

Drives: 2008 335xi 6spd Coupe
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Boston

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2008 335xi  [0.00]
Is anyone still running v203?

I've searched like crazy, but I can't find a meaningful description of what's changed compared to the v401.

Can someone sum it up?
Appreciate 0
      03-12-2014, 10:39 AM   #8393
135Pats
Major General
135Pats's Avatar
United_States
241
Rep
6,386
Posts

Drives: A few BMWs
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Maryland

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by AWD Addict View Post
Is anyone still running v203?

I've searched like crazy, but I can't find a meaningful description of what's changed compared to the v401.

Can someone sum it up?
Whoa thatís an old revision. V403 maps have significantly revised duty cycle tables, 3D scalar ability depending on fuel, revised VANOS mapping for better response, Iíve found fuel usually comes on a bit earlier and the maps target a bit richer, Iím sure there are numerous other changes. When Cobb does a wholesale revision, itís usually for good reason. The boost curve for one is much smoother than the V3xxx maps. IMO.
__________________
E88 N54 Alpinweiss/Coral Red/Motiv HTA 3586r Tial .82AR/Other stuff...652WHP

F30 N55 XDrive EBII
Appreciate 0
      03-12-2014, 11:26 AM   #8394
AWD Addict
Chief Executive
AWD Addict's Avatar
60
Rep
2,564
Posts

Drives: 2008 335xi 6spd Coupe
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Boston

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2008 335xi  [0.00]
Alright. Thanks for the intel.
Appreciate 0
      03-15-2014, 05:00 PM   #8395
rashad.mashtoub
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
47
Posts

Drives: bmw 335i
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Saudi Arabia

iTrader: (0)

Guys when I want to switch maps in my bmw 335i from stage 2+fmic to stage 1+fmic let's say do I need to turn off my car ? Plus do u guys think I need to replace my oem charge pipe when using the stage 2+fmic?

Thanks
Appreciate 0
      03-15-2014, 05:12 PM   #8396
e90Mark
Captain
e90Mark's Avatar
Philippines
9
Rep
730
Posts

Drives: 2008 BMW 335xi
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Detroit

iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2008 BMW 335xi  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by rashad.mashtoub View Post
Guys when I want to switch maps in my bmw 335i from stage 2+fmic to stage 1+fmic let's say do I need to turn off my car ? Plus do u guys think I need to replace my oem charge pipe when using the stage 2+fmic?

Thanks
OEM charge pipe always has a chance of cracking. It's really up to you.

When you switch maps, you should be an ignition off, engine off state. So yes, turn off your engine. No "on the fly" switching.
Appreciate 0
      04-03-2014, 03:49 PM   #8397
alwayseuro
Private
alwayseuro's Avatar
1
Rep
50
Posts

Drives: 09 335i Xdrive
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: CNJ

iTrader: (0)

So I only looked threw a few pages on this post and could not find my answer. Im sure it was asked already so sorry in advance for asking. Can 2 step be set up on AP v2?
Appreciate 0
      04-03-2014, 04:00 PM   #8398
Ingeniator
Major
Ingeniator's Avatar
Canada
20
Rep
1,112
Posts

Drives: 07 335XI(90) 09 135I(82)
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Fort Mac, Alberta

iTrader: (1)

You would need a 2step box or stack a piggyback.
__________________
07 335XI (A008006) 6AT ~94K miles JB4 G5 ISO VSRF DP's
09 135I M (VK80379) 6MT. Race Project car. 1) Install Cobb/piggyback? and Motiv 600 Kit[HTA3076R w/ tial .82] 2) JRZ or Moton suspension. 3) Build high flow intake manifold with multi-port fuel and relocate OFH 4) Build full cage 5) Complete staged twin setup with HTA4205R [w/Tial 1.16] 6) Complete dry sump system
Appreciate 0
      04-07-2014, 02:31 AM   #8399
alwayseuro
Private
alwayseuro's Avatar
1
Rep
50
Posts

Drives: 09 335i Xdrive
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: CNJ

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ingeniator
You would need a 2step box or stack a piggyback.
Thanks. Going to start looking into it.
Appreciate 0
      04-07-2014, 05:07 AM   #8400
Allen@MOTIV
21
Rep
634
Posts

Drives: 135i
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: VA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by alwayseuro View Post
Thanks. Going to start looking into it.
A WOTbox is your best bet.
Appreciate 0
      04-07-2014, 07:24 AM   #8401
Lawton438
First Lieutenant
8
Rep
322
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Stoke on trent

iTrader: (2)

wondering if anyone could help.

last night my car threw p30ff and went into limp, which i beleive to be a boost leak of somekind. i cleared the code drove it home, and then today had a look for any leaks on the pipework and vac lines. couldnt find any so decided to go do some logs. could some please take a look and see what you think?

thanks much appreciated
http://www.datazap.me/u/lawton438/3r...a=1-2-3-7-8-20
Appreciate 0
      04-07-2014, 09:43 PM   #8402
Jeffman
Lieutenant
Jeffman's Avatar
10
Rep
457
Posts

Drives: 2008 335xi E90
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Somewhere in America

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Here's the intel on your code:
30FF:
30FF Exhaust fume turbocharger low side
EXPLANATION: ECU boost under ECU target
FIX: Often caused by boost leaks, leaky DVs, broken vacuum lines, etc. Also possibly tuning related. If using a TMAP tune (SSTT/JB+) it may be a sign you need to reduce your boost level, or perform the solenoid bypass.
__________________
MHD Self-Tuned E20 Map | Helix IC | Fuel-It Stage 2 LPFP | BMS DCI | BMS Thermostat Delete | CP-E Charge Pipe | Forge DV | Apex Arc-8 Hyper Silver | Michelin PSS | Cool Carbon Brake Pads | SS Brakelines | Z4 35is 2-Piece Front Rotors | Alpina B3 TCU Flash | KW-V1 Coilovers | Strut Brace | Lux Angel Eyes | CF Kidneys | Scoops | Rockford Fosgate P300-2 | Earthquake SWS-8xi | iStreamer DAC | BavSound Stage 1 Speaker Upgrade
Appreciate 0
      04-08-2014, 05:14 AM   #8403
Allen@MOTIV
21
Rep
634
Posts

Drives: 135i
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: VA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lawton438 View Post
wondering if anyone could help.

last night my car threw p30ff and went into limp, which i beleive to be a boost leak of somekind. i cleared the code drove it home, and then today had a look for any leaks on the pipework and vac lines. couldnt find any so decided to go do some logs. could some please take a look and see what you think?

thanks much appreciated
http://www.datazap.me/u/lawton438/3r...a=1-2-3-7-8-20
That log isn't typical of a car suffering from a boost leak. In fact, there is some substantial overboosting and resulting throttle closures down low. While boost is below target in the higher rev range that is common on OTS maps and WGDC isn't excessive.

N54's can be very fickle and it is possible that your 30FF code was a fluke occurrence.
Appreciate 0
      04-08-2014, 05:56 AM   #8404
Lawton438
First Lieutenant
8
Rep
322
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Stoke on trent

iTrader: (2)

Thanks Allen , I did think this myself but as I'm relatively new to all this I thought ide ask on here for a better opinion, is the throttle closure and overboosting between gears something you can sort via a Protune then?
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
135i cobb, 335i cobb, 535i cobb, accessport n54, bmw cobb, bmw cobb tuning, cobb 135i, cobb 335i, cobb 535i, cobb ap, cobb bmw, cobb n54, cobb tuning bmw, cobb tuning n54, cobb tuning n55, flash n54, flash n55, n54 accessport, n54 cobb, n54 cobb tuning, n54 flash, n54 flash tune, n55 cobb, n55 flash, n55 flash tune

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:59 AM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST