E90Post
 


Bimmer Retrofit
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > resetting transmission adaptations with BT tool?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-16-2010, 07:17 PM   #1
fotios335i
Major General
 
fotios335i's Avatar
 
Drives: 12 BSM F30 sport/msport 335i
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: cape cod MA

Posts: 6,744
iTrader: (61)

Question resetting transmission adaptations with BT tool?

Has anyone used the bavarian technic tool to reset the transmission adaptations on a 6at 335i? I see this option with the software and want to reset it so it can start over but Im scared of messing something up. Seems like a good idea and they do it at the dealer so it should be fine. It just seems like the tranny has been getting a bit confused lately and I want to reset it. Anyone who has done this Id love to hear your thoughts on it. thanks in advance.
__________________

2012 335i sport to full Msport, M adaptive and vss, sport 8 AT, fully loaded, Black saphire, black dakota leather, mperformance carbon interior with shifter, M performance grills, rear spoiler, front splitter, side sill extensions, MPPK, MPE exhaust, morr alloys vs8.2's with michelin pss, p3 gauge, msport wheel, etc, etc
fotios335i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-16-2010, 07:58 PM   #2
lawwailok
Lieutenant Colonel
 
lawwailok's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 335i, E70 X5
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sacramento, CA

Posts: 1,916
iTrader: (18)

Garage List
i did. when i did it, i had the engine off, ignition on, reset it, then shut off ignition, key off the car. wait for a little bit, then start the car, the car shifts butter smooth after the reset versus i had jerky shift when it comes to a complete stop.
__________________
-eric
E90 335i TiAg *STOCK* see my garage for mod list..
E70 X5 SGM *try to stay stock* :/
lawwailok is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-16-2010, 08:01 PM   #3
fotios335i
Major General
 
fotios335i's Avatar
 
Drives: 12 BSM F30 sport/msport 335i
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: cape cod MA

Posts: 6,744
iTrader: (61)

thats what I was hoping. thanks for the feedback.
__________________

2012 335i sport to full Msport, M adaptive and vss, sport 8 AT, fully loaded, Black saphire, black dakota leather, mperformance carbon interior with shifter, M performance grills, rear spoiler, front splitter, side sill extensions, MPPK, MPE exhaust, morr alloys vs8.2's with michelin pss, p3 gauge, msport wheel, etc, etc
fotios335i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-16-2010, 08:56 PM   #4
lawwailok
Lieutenant Colonel
 
lawwailok's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 335i, E70 X5
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sacramento, CA

Posts: 1,916
iTrader: (18)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by fotios335i View Post
thats what I was hoping. thanks for the feedback.
NP
__________________
-eric
E90 335i TiAg *STOCK* see my garage for mod list..
E70 X5 SGM *try to stay stock* :/
lawwailok is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-16-2010, 11:00 PM   #5
Bimmer This
Major General
 
Drives: 2007 BMW 335i
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Westminster

Posts: 6,480
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by lawwailok View Post
i did. when i did it, i had the engine off, ignition on, reset it, then shut off ignition, key off the car. wait for a little bit, then start the car, the car shifts butter smooth after the reset versus i had jerky shift when it comes to a complete stop.
Thanks for the info. I might have to do this as well as my shifts are getting pretty harsh.
Bimmer This is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-17-2010, 12:36 AM   #6
Perfectus
Major
 
Perfectus's Avatar
 
Drives: e92 335i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: NOVA/MD

Posts: 1,240
iTrader: (10)

OP...let us know how it went.
__________________
2007 e92 335i - Monaco Blue
ZPP, ZSP, iDrive, Comfort Access

Injen DCI w/ Cyba Scoop - M-Tech Rear - ///M3 Rear Lip Spoiler - ///M5 SMG Shift Knob & iDrive Knob - BMW Performance Hand Brake - BMWCCA Member
Perfectus is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-17-2010, 07:57 AM   #7
fotios335i
Major General
 
fotios335i's Avatar
 
Drives: 12 BSM F30 sport/msport 335i
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: cape cod MA

Posts: 6,744
iTrader: (61)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Perfectus View Post
OP...let us know how it went.
will do
__________________

2012 335i sport to full Msport, M adaptive and vss, sport 8 AT, fully loaded, Black saphire, black dakota leather, mperformance carbon interior with shifter, M performance grills, rear spoiler, front splitter, side sill extensions, MPPK, MPE exhaust, morr alloys vs8.2's with michelin pss, p3 gauge, msport wheel, etc, etc
fotios335i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-12-2012, 12:14 PM   #8
Bagelfast
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Bagelfast's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: NY

Posts: 1,532
iTrader: (0)

bringing back a old thread but Has anyone else reset tranny adaptions via the bt?
Bagelfast is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-12-2012, 12:23 PM   #9
enrita
Major General
 
enrita's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i - Big turbos
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Italian in Sweden

Posts: 7,318
iTrader: (0)

yeah countless of times
__________________
07 335i AT - TD St.2 Turbos - COBB (Custom Cobb mapping by http://www.protuningfreaks.com/) - JB4G5 ISO - Okada Coils - NGK 5992 Plugs - E85 Walbro - Injen Intake - Helix IC - Snow Stg. 3 - Stett CP - AR DPs - midpipes 100 HJS Cats - Bastuck Quad - PSS10 - QUAIFE LSD - BMS OCC - Forge DVs - AR OC - ALCON BBK - M3 Chassi - Dinan CP - Velocity M rear Toe arms - Advan RZ-DF - Level 10 AT upgrade - Alpina AT Flash
enrita is offline   Sweden
0
Reply With Quote
      06-12-2012, 12:36 PM   #10
Bagelfast
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Bagelfast's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: NY

Posts: 1,532
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by enrita View Post
yeah countless of times
Good to know as gonna try mine this afternoon, the BT cable gives 3-4 options of types of resets under trans if i remember correctly, but im just going to reset the adapation values.
Bagelfast is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-01-2014, 12:40 PM   #11
jer335
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: San Jose, CA

Posts: 49
iTrader: (0)

don't mean to revive an old thread but I found the same reset adaptions on the Snap On Solus Pro scanner but it warned me to only reset adaptations if there was work done on the transmission or if the transmission was replaced. Is this the same adaptation reset that the BT tool does?
jer335 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-01-2014, 08:23 PM   #12
Ingeniator
Captain
 
Ingeniator's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 335XI(90) 09 135I(82)
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Fort Mac, Alberta

Posts: 777
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jer335 View Post
don't mean to revive an old thread but I found the same reset adaptions on the Snap On Solus Pro scanner but it warned me to only reset adaptations if there was work done on the transmission or if the transmission was replaced. Is this the same adaptation reset that the BT tool does?
My scanner has two resets. one for adaptations. and One to relearn mechanical parts/fluid.
__________________
07 335XI (A008006) 6AT ~94K miles JB4 G5 ISO VSRF DP's
09 135I M (VK80379) 6MT. Race Project car.
1) Rebuild to stock 2) Install Cobb/piggyback? and JRZ suspension. 3) Build parrallel HPFP and highflow intake manifold with multi-port fuel and meth. 4) Build full cage and staged twin setup with twinscroll turbochargers. (BW 7670-1.22 / S374-1.25)
Ingeniator is online now   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      05-05-2014, 11:17 AM   #13
jer335
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: San Jose, CA

Posts: 49
iTrader: (0)

Does the BT tool give a warning before resetting the adaptions stating to only per from a reset if the there has been work done on the transmission/transmission been replaced?
jer335 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-05-2014, 11:21 AM   #14
AlpineSwift
Colonel
 
AlpineSwift's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 335Xi Coupé
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Castle Rock, CO

Posts: 2,061
iTrader: (2)

I still haven't done this yet but apart from the coding software I have and the Cobb, I have no way of doing this.
__________________
E92 '08 335Xi 6AT - Cobb AP V2, ar design DP's, BMW PE w/Race Cats & Cyba Tips, VRSF CP w/Tial BOV, VRSF 7" FMIC, BMS DCI, BMS Cowl, H&R Coilovers, Renn Motorsport RS-51's, Alpina TCU Flash, Turner Boost Gauge, Fully Coded.
Tanya: The Build Thread
Dyno Sheets w/Current Mods
AlpineSwift is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-05-2014, 01:57 PM   #15
1chanc3
Captain
 
Drives: 2010 e92 335i
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Posts: 672
iTrader: (0)

My car feels a bit jerky lately. 42k miles. I want to do this.

Just to be safe, does anyone have step by step instructions on how to do the adaptation reset with BT tool?

Thanks,
__________________
2010 335i Coupe- Monaco Blue Metallic
1chanc3 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-06-2014, 08:20 AM   #16
Andrewe92
enthusiast
 
Andrewe92's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 e92 lci 335xi
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NJ

Posts: 746
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1chanc3 View Post
My car feels a bit jerky lately. 42k miles. I want to do this.

Just to be safe, does anyone have step by step instructions on how to do the adaptation reset with BT tool?

Thanks,
it's easy to do.. just make sure engine is turned off and your ignition is on.. and when you are finished let the ecu go to sleep by letting car rest for 5-10 mins and than enjoy a fresh slate . I usually just use bmw logger to clear dme adaptations.. it's one click
Andrewe92 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-06-2014, 08:43 AM   #17
Stangorang
Major
 
Stangorang's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 E90 335i
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SoCal

Posts: 1,204
iTrader: (9)

I have done it plenty of time with the BT tool. Very straightforward.
Stangorang is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-06-2014, 09:51 AM   #18
munters
Captain
 
munters's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 335XI AT Dakota Black M
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Switzerland

Posts: 675
iTrader: (0)

Just for adaption values you don't need the BT. Ignition on, kick down for 30 sec. done.
__________________
59 Corvette, 72 240Z, 73 Espada, ZXR
munters is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-19-2014, 08:29 PM   #19
GoRomeo
Colonel
 
GoRomeo's Avatar
 
Drives: 330i
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: San Diego CA

Posts: 2,077
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2006 330i  [2.83]
I need to do this. How it went for u OP???
GoRomeo is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-19-2014, 09:35 PM   #20
michael1972
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2007 335i coupe
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Schofield, WI. USA

Posts: 125
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by munters View Post
Just for adaption values you don't need the BT. Ignition on, kick down for 30 sec. done.
Do you mean kickdown as in push the peddal down to where the kickdown switch clicks and hold? Mine is also shifting jerky.
michael1972 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-19-2014, 11:53 PM   #21
1chanc3
Captain
 
Drives: 2010 e92 335i
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Posts: 672
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrewe92 View Post
it's easy to do.. just make sure engine is turned off and your ignition is on.. and when you are finished let the ecu go to sleep by letting car rest for 5-10 mins and than enjoy a fresh slate . I usually just use bmw logger to clear dme adaptations.. it's one click
I might have accidentally did the resets while the engine was on. Will that harm anything?
I've been driving for a week now and no CELs- car is driving smoothly.
__________________
2010 335i Coupe- Monaco Blue Metallic
1chanc3 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-19-2014, 11:54 PM   #22
Andrewe92
enthusiast
 
Andrewe92's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 e92 lci 335xi
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NJ

Posts: 746
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1chanc3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrewe92 View Post
it's easy to do.. just make sure engine is turned off and your ignition is on.. and when you are finished let the ecu go to sleep by letting car rest for 5-10 mins and than enjoy a fresh slate . I usually just use bmw logger to clear dme adaptations.. it's one click
I might have accidentally did the resets while the engine was on. Will that harm anything?
I've been driving for a week now and no CELs- car is driving smoothly.
Yeah you are fine it's just not recommended to clear values they are in use while engine is turned on but it's ok
Andrewe92 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:34 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST