E90Post
 


VIBE Motorsports
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > V1 hardwiring through fusebox



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-28-2007, 05:16 PM   #265
HyperM3
Too many Alex's, from now on, call me Beaufort
 
HyperM3's Avatar
 
Drives: See Sig
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lawrenceville, NJ

Posts: 6,169
iTrader: (8)

Send a message via AIM to HyperM3 Send a message via Yahoo to HyperM3
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpsimon View Post
but the V1 stays on even when the car is off (so for now I just turn off the V1 when the car is off)... does this mean I am not using the right fuse?
Not using the right fuse.
__________________
13 HD FatBob
14 Audi S6
Audi Brand Specialist @ Princeton Audi
HyperM3 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-28-2007, 05:46 PM   #266
jpsimon
Team Zissou
 
jpsimon's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 STi
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: CT

Posts: 9,007
iTrader: (5)

i've tried the locations that everyone else has and it still powers the V1 with the car off... Maybe this is an 08 issue?
__________________
2015 STi / 335xi (solid)
www.datazap.me - fast, free, interactive data log viewing

jpsimon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-28-2007, 05:52 PM   #267
Spud07
Registered
 
Spud07's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 335i
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: IL

Posts: 1
iTrader: (0)

Has anyone used an invisicord and valentine-1 combo on the 335? I just purchased a 2007 335i and would like to do the same setup (invisicord and valentine-1 combo) I had in my C5 Vette. BMW is not listed on the invisicord webpage. It only took five minutes to install in my Vette by tapping into the mirror harness…no splicing, cutting or removing anything. Please tell me this is an option on the 335i.
Spud07 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-28-2007, 06:30 PM   #268
hl0m4n
Brigadier General
 
hl0m4n's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NY

Posts: 4,843
iTrader: (41)

Quote:
Originally Posted by HyperM3 View Post
Not using the right fuse.
+1 you need to insert into the accessories on the fuse box panel located in the upper right hand corner.
hl0m4n is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-29-2007, 03:03 AM   #269
jpsimon
Team Zissou
 
jpsimon's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 STi
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: CT

Posts: 9,007
iTrader: (5)

i tried all the ones in the upper right. i guess ill just try every 5amp fuse until i find one that works...
__________________
2015 STi / 335xi (solid)
www.datazap.me - fast, free, interactive data log viewing

jpsimon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-29-2007, 02:36 PM   #270
jpsimon
Team Zissou
 
jpsimon's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 STi
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: CT

Posts: 9,007
iTrader: (5)

and now its working!
__________________
2015 STi / 335xi (solid)
www.datazap.me - fast, free, interactive data log viewing

jpsimon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-29-2007, 03:51 PM   #271
HyperM3
Too many Alex's, from now on, call me Beaufort
 
HyperM3's Avatar
 
Drives: See Sig
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lawrenceville, NJ

Posts: 6,169
iTrader: (8)

Send a message via AIM to HyperM3 Send a message via Yahoo to HyperM3
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpsimon View Post
and now its working!
Congrats, good things!
__________________
13 HD FatBob
14 Audi S6
Audi Brand Specialist @ Princeton Audi
HyperM3 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-31-2007, 10:39 AM   #272
liliej
Private First Class
 
liliej's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 335xi/Graphite/Lemon
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Sandy, Utah

Posts: 120
iTrader: (0)

One question (sorry if this is covered in another thread)... all the pix in this forum have the V1 mounted high on the windshield. I haven't taken delivery of my 335 yet, but was wondering if there was a tinted strip accross the top of the windshield? If so, doesn't this go against the V1 recommendation of not mounting behind any tint strips on the windshield?

FYI... This thread is awesome! I'll be well prepared to hard wire my V1 once my car comes in (should be in the next two weeks)!
__________________
335xi/SGM/Lemon/Walnut/ZCW/ZPP/ZSP/Step
liliej is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-31-2007, 11:55 AM   #273
HyperM3
Too many Alex's, from now on, call me Beaufort
 
HyperM3's Avatar
 
Drives: See Sig
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lawrenceville, NJ

Posts: 6,169
iTrader: (8)

Send a message via AIM to HyperM3 Send a message via Yahoo to HyperM3
Quote:
Originally Posted by liliej View Post
One question (sorry if this is covered in another thread)... all the pix in this forum have the V1 mounted high on the windshield. I haven't taken delivery of my 335 yet, but was wondering if there was a tinted strip accross the top of the windshield? If so, doesn't this go against the V1 recommendation of not mounting behind any tint strips on the windshield?
It doesnt seem to be a metallic type tint, just the regular blue tint found on most windshields. I, along with many others, havent found any sort of decrease in range from having it mounted up there. If it caused problems, Im sure you would have heard about it here several times.
__________________
13 HD FatBob
14 Audi S6
Audi Brand Specialist @ Princeton Audi
HyperM3 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-01-2008, 02:00 PM   #274
liliej
Private First Class
 
liliej's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 335xi/Graphite/Lemon
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Sandy, Utah

Posts: 120
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by HyperM3 View Post
It doesnt seem to be a metallic type tint, just the regular blue tint found on most windshields. I, along with many others, havent found any sort of decrease in range from having it mounted up there. If it caused problems, Im sure you would have heard about it here several times.
Thanks again for all the information! This post is great!
__________________
335xi/SGM/Lemon/Walnut/ZCW/ZPP/ZSP/Step
liliej is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-04-2008, 05:52 PM   #275
Ruff Rider
"posting from my recliner"
 
Ruff Rider's Avatar
 
Drives: twin turbo Prius
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Where the air is thin

Posts: 7,241
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via Yahoo to Ruff Rider
Thanks to all of you for the great DIY on hardwiring my 8500 into my BMW.

It looks 1000 times better then it did with the wire into the lighter. The info on this thread made it possible to do with no involved.

Big thanks again
__________________

Ping Golf Club demo tech
Ruff Rider is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-05-2008, 12:23 PM   #276
Majikthese42
Philosopher-king
 
Majikthese42's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 E91
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: People's Republic of New Jersey

Posts: 1,113
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ettil View Post
How to remove the A-pillar (A pillar) - e90. A-pillar removal pics.



My $0.01 of contribution here is that using a scrap of super-sticky tape, like on the back of the HD Velcro fasteners or 3M trim tape, and pulling out, allows removal of the "Airbag" plastic symbol without any damage.

Now I'm having trouble just removing the cover. Do you need to push up when wiggling or pull out to the center of the car?

It "feels" like there are a couple of blind clips somewhere under the cover.
__________________
E91 6MT Alpine, Terra, Xenons, ZSP, ZCW, ZPP, PDC, CA, alarm, M shifter and M brake handle, Euro rear fog light switch, Euro aspheric mirrors, rear power outlets, Garmin nüvi custom cupholder mount, Lidatek, V-1 built-in remote display, tire pump, jack, floor mats.
Majikthese42 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-05-2008, 08:58 PM   #277
Chowbow
pew pew
 
Drives: 三三五i
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: CA

Posts: 6,714
iTrader: (5)

Pull the cover towards the center of the car, there's a clip at the center of the cover. When that's loose, you can pull towards the roof of the car to get the base out.
__________________

CSL replicas are now CSL counterfeits. Jesus saves, like Valentine1.
Chowbow is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-05-2008, 10:40 PM   #278
Doc E
Surf Caster Extraordinaire
 
Doc E's Avatar
 
Drives: '13 ISF
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: NJ

Posts: 672
iTrader: (2)

Send a message via AIM to Doc E
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpsimon View Post
i've tried the locations that everyone else has and it still powers the V1 with the car off... Maybe this is an 08 issue?

what are you using to tap into the fuse?

I have an '08 and here's what i did.

I used the fuse holder below.


one inlet is for the fuse for the V1,
the other inlet is where the original (homelink or whatever other fuse you are tapping into goes)
then this whole unit goes into the NOW empty (homelink or etc...) fuse slot.

NOW here's the thing, if you did all this and your V1 still stays on the whole time-DO THIS:
switch the places of the fuses in the holder.
I had the same problem, and when i swiched them my V1 only goes one when the car is on.
__________________
335i gone!
Doc E is offline   Ukraine
0
Reply With Quote
      01-06-2008, 01:27 AM   #279
jpsimon
Team Zissou
 
jpsimon's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 STi
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: CT

Posts: 9,007
iTrader: (5)

I got it working last week, i just kept trying different fuses until it worked in one.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bimmbo View Post
what are you using to tap into the fuse?

I have an '08 and here's what i did.

I used the fuse holder below.


one inlet is for the fuse for the V1,
the other inlet is where the original (homelink or whatever other fuse you are tapping into goes)
then this whole unit goes into the NOW empty (homelink or etc...) fuse slot.

NOW here's the thing, if you did all this and your V1 still stays on the whole time-DO THIS:
switch the places of the fuses in the holder.
I had the same problem, and when i swiched them my V1 only goes one when the car is on.
__________________
2015 STi / 335xi (solid)
www.datazap.me - fast, free, interactive data log viewing

jpsimon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-06-2008, 04:31 PM   #280
Majikthese42
Philosopher-king
 
Majikthese42's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 E91
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: People's Republic of New Jersey

Posts: 1,113
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chowbow View Post
Pull the cover towards the center of the car, there's a clip at the center of the cover. When that's loose, you can pull towards the roof of the car to get the base out.
Thanks! I will try that when it warms up tomorrow!
__________________
E91 6MT Alpine, Terra, Xenons, ZSP, ZCW, ZPP, PDC, CA, alarm, M shifter and M brake handle, Euro rear fog light switch, Euro aspheric mirrors, rear power outlets, Garmin nüvi custom cupholder mount, Lidatek, V-1 built-in remote display, tire pump, jack, floor mats.
Majikthese42 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-07-2008, 10:46 PM   #281
328ZSP
Second Lieutenant
 
328ZSP's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 E92 328i
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Killeen TX, Fairfax VT

Posts: 275
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2007 E92 328i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to 328ZSP Send a message via Yahoo to 328ZSP
got my v1 hard wired the other day. i actually put it on a fuse that is always on. not a big deal to me any way as i always shut it off. my dad has an 8500i and his crapped out. escort told him that it is because he didnt shut it off. i noticed that if i put it on a switched fuse, when you start the car, it sort of turns on 2 times in the start up process. i wouldnt think that the quick on/off with partial voltage as the car starts and all that crap is good for it any way.

oh also many thinks to the people in this thread who posted with their installs and help. it only took me a little while and was very easy to do. maybe ill post up some diagrams how i did it if i get time.
__________________
'07 328i E92 | Sparkling Graphite | Saddle Brown | Gray Poplar | ZSP | CA | Heated Seats | BMW Performance Exhaust | BMW performance SSK | Valentine1 |
European delivery - Military Sales
328ZSP is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-11-2008, 09:08 AM   #282
Majikthese42
Philosopher-king
 
Majikthese42's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 E91
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: People's Republic of New Jersey

Posts: 1,113
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chowbow View Post
Pull the cover towards the center of the car, there's a clip at the center of the cover. When that's loose, you can pull towards the roof of the car to get the base out.
That's exactly how it worked! The "clip" is the BMW version of one of those white plastic acorn or bayonet trim fasteners that are used on most all cars. If it stays behind, it would probably simplify replacement to remove it from the A pillar and replace it on the trim. It came out with the trim on mine. Getting the trim piece back in was a little more of a challenge, but eventually it popped back in place.

Thanks!
__________________
E91 6MT Alpine, Terra, Xenons, ZSP, ZCW, ZPP, PDC, CA, alarm, M shifter and M brake handle, Euro rear fog light switch, Euro aspheric mirrors, rear power outlets, Garmin nüvi custom cupholder mount, Lidatek, V-1 built-in remote display, tire pump, jack, floor mats.
Majikthese42 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-11-2008, 11:11 AM   #283
efunroom
Private First Class
 
Drives: E90 325
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: China

Posts: 113
iTrader: (0)

Concealed Display Position

Thanks to this thread, I got a clear instructions to hardwire the V1.

Now the only question left is where to mount the concealed display. I prefer the position in the following pic which post at thread :http://forums.e60.net/index.php?showtopic=23044&st=0

Not sure how to make the concealed case in the pic. any ideas?
Attached Images
   
efunroom is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-11-2008, 12:34 PM   #284
Josh49
Major General
 
Drives: E90 325xi
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Boston, MA

Posts: 6,665
iTrader: (33)

^^^Damn, that's a nice install. Could you post the rest of his pics?
__________________

E90 325XI, MYSTIC BLUE ON BLACK/ALUM, STEP, NAV, PDC, CWP, XENON, SIRIUS, ALARM, MUD GUARDS, CLEARBRA, CHROME GRILLS AND TIPS, VALENTINE 1 (HARDWIRED), HO CERAMIC 40%, 161'S, REAR FOG MOD, LUX 4.0, BLACKLINES, OEM PEDALS, MTEC FOGS, GRUPPE-M REP INTAKE. 156'S AND RUBBER MATS FOR THE WINTER.
Josh49 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-11-2008, 04:25 PM   #285
Majikthese42
Philosopher-king
 
Majikthese42's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 E91
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: People's Republic of New Jersey

Posts: 1,113
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by efunroom View Post
Not sure how to make the concealed case in the pic. any ideas?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Biff Trout

Mount for remote display (RD) and fairing for back end of V1 (to cover display and volume control) were fab'd out of 1" PVC sheet. The stock RD case has been cut down from approx. 1" deep to 0.5" deep to eliminate interference with the auto-rise steering column. The modular socket on the RD was removed and 4 conducter flat cable was soldered directly to the RD's circuit board and potted with dielectric epoxy. Also, the red arrow were buffed with 0000 Scotchbrite to a matte finish to eliminate reflective glare.
I don't smoke, so I'm planning on converting the sunglass holder to a control panel for my electronic countermeasures. I'll post pictures whenever I get it done.

This is how I did it on my Acura. The V1 display replaced the flocked plastic "Not An Ashtray" change bin. The red buttons are "kill" switches.

__________________
E91 6MT Alpine, Terra, Xenons, ZSP, ZCW, ZPP, PDC, CA, alarm, M shifter and M brake handle, Euro rear fog light switch, Euro aspheric mirrors, rear power outlets, Garmin nüvi custom cupholder mount, Lidatek, V-1 built-in remote display, tire pump, jack, floor mats.
Majikthese42 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-11-2008, 04:47 PM   #286
Chowbow
pew pew
 
Drives: 三三五i
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: CA

Posts: 6,714
iTrader: (5)

I preferred putting mine closer to eye level rather than in the ash tray area, although that is quite a convenient place. I also wanted it pretty hidden so that cops don't see if it I get pulled over. I put mine in the A/C vent and it has worked quite well...

__________________

CSL replicas are now CSL counterfeits. Jesus saves, like Valentine1.
Chowbow is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:50 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST