E90Post
 


Motormavericks
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > Pics of Clean Aftermarket Navigation Instructions? {E90}



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-23-2008, 05:55 PM   #45
Chunga
Captain
Denmark
11

 
Chunga's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 black saphire 2008
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Denmark, sealand


Posts: 903
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via MSN to Chunga Send a message via Skype™ to Chunga
You joined 2008 i se - almost like me. I have a 2008 model. There are no flash light outlet in it. They changed it. Not its complicated to wire without removing the dashboard.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      01-23-2008, 05:57 PM   #46
E92Vancouver
First Lieutenant
12

 
E92Vancouver's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 E92 328, 2011 Acura MDX
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Vancouver


Posts: 316
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chunga View Post
You joined 2008 i se - almost like me. I have a 2008 model. There are no flash light outlet in it. They changed it. Not its complicated to wire without removing the dashboard.
I use that spot for my Sat Radio:

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showpo...22&postcount=9
Appreciate 0
      01-23-2008, 06:05 PM   #47
Chunga
Captain
Denmark
11

 
Chunga's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 black saphire 2008
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Denmark, sealand


Posts: 903
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via MSN to Chunga Send a message via Skype™ to Chunga
Quote:
Originally Posted by E92Vancouver View Post
Nice - but from where did you get the power?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      01-23-2008, 06:26 PM   #48
E92Vancouver
First Lieutenant
12

 
E92Vancouver's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 E92 328, 2011 Acura MDX
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Vancouver


Posts: 316
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chunga View Post
Nice - but from where did you get the power?
Hardwired it into the fusebox. Pictures of the complete install are in that post.

Here is the complete post:

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=108674
Appreciate 0
      01-23-2008, 06:42 PM   #49
Chunga
Captain
Denmark
11

 
Chunga's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 black saphire 2008
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Denmark, sealand


Posts: 903
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via MSN to Chunga Send a message via Skype™ to Chunga
This is to nice done. I did not know there where power in the empty fuse holes.
I will look into it tomorrow. Its 00.55 and night over here.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      01-29-2008, 12:42 AM   #50
jaceaholic
thestream.tv
United_States
32

 
jaceaholic's Avatar
 
Drives: e92 sparkling graphite
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: irvine


Posts: 3,104
iTrader: (7)

is there a DIY to install a garmin and hardwiring it to the car with out showing the wires?? i been lookin but i only find pictures of everyones installation.. but no DIY..
__________________
http://img152.imageshack.us/img152/1087/carsu.jpg
Appreciate 0
      01-29-2008, 02:55 AM   #51
Chunga
Captain
Denmark
11

 
Chunga's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 black saphire 2008
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Denmark, sealand


Posts: 903
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via MSN to Chunga Send a message via Skype™ to Chunga
Ï could need one 2. I am not good in car electronic but there is some here who conected it to the fuse box. Donno if its kind og dangerous. It must be possible to connect the possible to the behind the radio.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      01-29-2008, 01:04 PM   #52
E92Vancouver
First Lieutenant
12

 
E92Vancouver's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 E92 328, 2011 Acura MDX
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Vancouver


Posts: 316
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaceaholic View Post
is there a DIY to install a garmin and hardwiring it to the car with out showing the wires?? i been lookin but i only find pictures of everyones installation.. but no DIY..
Here you go:

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showpo...2&postcount=13
Appreciate 0
      01-29-2008, 03:06 PM   #53
flyer333
GSS CORP.
Taiwan
20

 
flyer333's Avatar
 
Drives: E90/E93
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada


Posts: 1,599
iTrader: (3)

hey guys will hardwiring it void my warrenty?
Appreciate 0
      01-29-2008, 05:56 PM   #54
Chunga
Captain
Denmark
11

 
Chunga's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 black saphire 2008
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Denmark, sealand


Posts: 903
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via MSN to Chunga Send a message via Skype™ to Chunga
Quote:
Originally Posted by flyer333 View Post
hey guys will hardwiring it void my warrenty?
Of course it will. If something happend - just remove it and then call the workshop
__________________
Appreciate 0
      01-29-2008, 06:13 PM   #55
Chunga
Captain
Denmark
11

 
Chunga's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 black saphire 2008
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Denmark, sealand


Posts: 903
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via MSN to Chunga Send a message via Skype™ to Chunga
Quote:
Originally Posted by E92Vancouver View Post

Thats not easy. On the drawing there are 4 wires for power?
Well - lets try it.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      01-29-2008, 06:16 PM   #56
gIzzE
Major General
United Kingdom
71

 
gIzzE's Avatar
 
Drives: Mercedes ML and 2.8i Z3
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.


Posts: 5,154
iTrader: (2)

That is a stupid way of hardwiring in the E90!!

Just splice into the ciggy lighter, it will turn on/off with ignition then.
Appreciate 0
      01-29-2008, 06:25 PM   #57
Chunga
Captain
Denmark
11

 
Chunga's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 black saphire 2008
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Denmark, sealand


Posts: 903
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via MSN to Chunga Send a message via Skype™ to Chunga
Quote:
Originally Posted by gIzzE View Post
That is a stupid way of hardwiring in the E90!!

Just splice into the ciggy lighter, it will turn on/off with ignition then.
The funny and dum thing: there are no ciggy lighter in the 2008 model. And no flash light. So the nearest power are in the backseat.
The most #%"# thing they ever did. They dont asume anyone need power on the back seat.

But i as wondering if i just put it down under the gearbox cover - then under the power outlet for the MP3 poweroutlet in the arm thing.
There are the wirering obvius.

The PDF thing is just to complicated for me...
__________________
Appreciate 0
      01-29-2008, 09:08 PM   #58
323d
Major
Hong Kong
22

 
323d's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i E90
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: YVR


Posts: 1,436
iTrader: (4)

def gonna try doing the ashtray stand design..

i find kuda too expensive,, i just bought a tomtom one 3rd edition for 120 bucks canadian.. and the stand would cost me 100 bucks ??? hhaha no way..

also, i swap my gps around from 2 cars so i think the ashtray stand idea will be PERFECT!
__________________
ZSP susp//18's 550i reps//blacklines/aftermarket grill//
Appreciate 0
      01-29-2008, 10:17 PM   #59
jaceaholic
thestream.tv
United_States
32

 
jaceaholic's Avatar
 
Drives: e92 sparkling graphite
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: irvine


Posts: 3,104
iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by E92Vancouver View Post
i have seen that post but i need to know how to hardwire it using the cigarette power cord.. anyone have any info on that??
__________________
http://img152.imageshack.us/img152/1087/carsu.jpg
Appreciate 0
      01-29-2008, 10:19 PM   #60
AWD Addict
Chief Executive
35

 
AWD Addict's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 335xi 6spd Coupe
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Boston


Posts: 2,483
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2008 335xi  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by gIzzE View Post
This is in my 1er M-Sport, but do you guys not have something along these lines???



My wife's volvo has that, only it's OE. It's an awesome set up.
Appreciate 0
      01-30-2008, 03:29 AM   #61
Chunga
Captain
Denmark
11

 
Chunga's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 black saphire 2008
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Denmark, sealand


Posts: 903
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via MSN to Chunga Send a message via Skype™ to Chunga
Quote:
Originally Posted by AWD Addict View Post
My wife's volvo has that, only it's OE. It's an awesome set up.
I have seen it. But there are not any model for the 3
__________________
Appreciate 0
      01-30-2008, 03:38 AM   #62
E92Vancouver
First Lieutenant
12

 
E92Vancouver's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 E92 328, 2011 Acura MDX
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Vancouver


Posts: 316
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chunga View Post
I have seen it. But there are not any model for the 3
Just make your own wiring harness like I did or get the dealer to install the Garmin kit for you. The instructions are pretty clear and simple if you want to do it yourself. If you are not electrically or mechanically inclined, just get the dealer to install it. They will charge you $100 for labour.
Appreciate 0
      01-30-2008, 03:39 AM   #63
E92Vancouver
First Lieutenant
12

 
E92Vancouver's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 E92 328, 2011 Acura MDX
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Vancouver


Posts: 316
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chunga View Post
Thats not easy. On the drawing there are 4 wires for power?
Well - lets try it.
There is only 1 wire for power. The Garmin takes power and ground off of the radio harness. It is all plug and play.
Appreciate 0
      01-30-2008, 03:51 AM   #64
Chunga
Captain
Denmark
11

 
Chunga's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 black saphire 2008
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Denmark, sealand


Posts: 903
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via MSN to Chunga Send a message via Skype™ to Chunga
Quote:
Originally Posted by E92Vancouver View Post
There is only 1 wire for power. The Garmin takes power and ground off of the radio harness. It is all plug and play.
But i did not buy garmin. I got the new C620T from MIO. I liked the 3D option they have. And there are a decent phone connection to. Power is here a mini USB - only 2 wire. So it could be an easy installation under the armrest. And then you can also hardwire a soundcable while you are at it.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      01-30-2008, 04:03 AM   #65
E92Vancouver
First Lieutenant
12

 
E92Vancouver's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 E92 328, 2011 Acura MDX
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Vancouver


Posts: 316
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chunga View Post
But i did not buy garmin. I got the new C620T from MIO. I liked the 3D option they have. And there are a decent phone connection to. Power is here a mini USB - only 2 wire. So it could be an easy installation under the armrest. And then you can also hardwire a soundcable while you are at it.
Oh. I see. Then make a wiring harness and wire it into your fuse box.

Take the cigarette adapter. Make it into a hard wired wire harness. Plug it into one ot the many empty slots in your fuse box. It is really quite simple.

Run the wire up behind the radio and out under the trim.
Attached Images
        
Appreciate 0
      01-30-2008, 04:45 AM   #66
Chunga
Captain
Denmark
11

 
Chunga's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 black saphire 2008
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Denmark, sealand


Posts: 903
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via MSN to Chunga Send a message via Skype™ to Chunga
Quote:
Originally Posted by E92Vancouver View Post
Oh. I see. Then make a wiring harness and wire it into your fuse box.

Take the cigarette adapter. Make it into a hard wired wire harness. Plug it into one ot the many empty slots in your fuse box. It is really quite simple.

Run the wire up behind the radio and out under the trim.
looks realy good. But why not just plut the powersupply from the GPS into the cigarette adapter instead of taking it apart?
Is it to prevent bad connection?
And did you just drill a hole in the fuse to get in to the metal?
__________________
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:03 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST