E90Post
 


Bimmer Retrofit
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > ConnectedDrive / I-Drive / Navigation Related Discussion > Add Maps On I-Drive



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-23-2008, 03:37 PM   #23
DIM335i
New Member
0
Rep
27
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Greece

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by benyl View Post
Google uses Navteq.
????? This is a joke, right ??? If it's real what you say, then why Google Maps are more detailed than the Navteq's one??
Appreciate 0
      02-23-2008, 10:32 PM   #24
McLuVan
Lieutenant General
McLuVan's Avatar
Vietnam
144
Rep
13,120
Posts

 
Drives: ///M3
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Socal~818~

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DIM335i View Post
????? This is a joke, right ??? If it's real what you say, then why Google Maps are more detailed than the Navteq's one??
+1
__________________
Appreciate 0
      02-24-2008, 02:17 AM   #25
doobie
Private First Class
Germany
1
Rep
105
Posts

 
Drives: 07 e90/335i
Join Date: May 2007
Location: germany

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DIM335i View Post
????? This is a joke, right ??? If it's real what you say, then why Google Maps are more detailed than the Navteq's one??
theres only so much room on a dvd
Appreciate 0
      02-24-2008, 06:00 PM   #26
judec
born to be turbocharged
judec's Avatar
Slovakia
15
Rep
1,347
Posts

 
Drives: Not a bimmer yet
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Slovakia

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via ICQ to judec Send a message via Skype™ to judec
Quote:
Originally Posted by fritz.marton View Post
As far as I know there is no map for Hungary. Eastern Europe DVD doesn't work in E90 Prof navi or do you have other experience?
check on navteq.com, look for eastern europe nav dvd. I suppose it's the profi one and it includes HU maps, as well as slovenia, croatia, poland etc.

__________________
Disclaimer: All this message was written with recycled electrons.

Appreciate 0
      02-25-2008, 11:32 AM   #27
benyl
Lieutenant
Canada
4
Rep
408
Posts

 
Drives: '08 335i, '10 W204 w/m156
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Calgary

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DIM335i View Post
????? This is a joke, right ??? If it's real what you say, then why Google Maps are more detailed than the Navteq's one??
Yes, I spent time making a fake screen shot. Why don't YOU go to google maps and look at the bottom of the map. It says NAVTEQ right there.

There are two things.

1. I-DRIVE is SLOW. It cannot render quick enough. So more details are going to cause it to slow down.
2. Extra details are not required. It just needs to get your from Point A to Point B.
__________________
E92 335iA, AW on BLK, Al trim, Premium, Nav, 6FL, CA, Sport, PDC, Paddles...
W204 C63, OBS on BLK, Carbon Trim, Premium, Performance, Rev Cam, and stock exhaust...
Appreciate 0
      02-27-2008, 01:55 AM   #28
DIM335i
New Member
0
Rep
27
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Greece

iTrader: (0)

Benyl.... Google maps are consulting NAVTEQ.....and also Tele Atlas.... Europa Technologies...PWK and many other companies depending on the countries. Try moving around the google map and they will be shown on the bottom right corner. That's why google maps are much more detailed than NAVTEQ's. They take the best of other navigation companies.
2008 I-Drive is not that slow that cant render quick enough more details. And to go from point A to point B these points musy be listeded on the map....dont you think so? When i mention more detailed maps i mean that there must be listed more cities and not the big cities of each country. Must be listed secondary roads and not only highways. For example... Here in Greece Navteq has the maps of only of one city, Athens the capital of Greece meanwhile Google maps have the detailed map and streets of more than 30 cities.
Appreciate 0
      02-27-2008, 10:04 AM   #29
laurenty
Private
laurenty's Avatar
United_States
2
Rep
77
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 328i
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside, CA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2008 328is  [0.00]
By the way, BMW is switching to Tele Atlas starting in 2008... read the article

http://www.directionsmag.com/press.r...id=16661&trv=1
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:46 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST