E90Post
 


Lux Angel Eyes
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Mechanical Maintenance: Break-in / Oil & Fluids / Servicing / Warranty > red car on lift light....brakes?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-16-2008, 06:11 PM   #1
Sniz
Lieutenant General
Sniz's Avatar
190
Rep
10,572
Posts

 
Drives: e92 335 - gone // e36 M3 turbo
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ellicott City, MD

iTrader: (1)

red car on lift light....brakes?

the red car on a lift warning light came on today when I started my car accompanied by my brake sign on...like my parking brake is engaged...I know its not.

did some research on here and it seems that is has happened to many others. Seems the pad sensor might be bad, or it needs to be reset.

has anyone had this problem recently? Very annoying....I really dont want to take my car to my dealer for something like this.

is there someway I can reset it myself? my pads are newish, had them swapped for low dust models about 10k miles ago. I know they are not worn out.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-16-2008, 06:39 PM   #2
Blk07335i
Captain
Blk07335i's Avatar
United_States
16
Rep
919
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 Alpine White e93 Msport
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Orange County

iTrader: (4)

Send a message via AIM to Blk07335i
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=51049

I've used this three times to reset the erroneous brake service light.
Appreciate 0
      06-16-2008, 06:58 PM   #3
Sniz
Lieutenant General
Sniz's Avatar
190
Rep
10,572
Posts

 
Drives: e92 335 - gone // e36 M3 turbo
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ellicott City, MD

iTrader: (1)

awesome...I will try that tonight
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-17-2008, 07:52 AM   #4
Sniz
Lieutenant General
Sniz's Avatar
190
Rep
10,572
Posts

 
Drives: e92 335 - gone // e36 M3 turbo
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ellicott City, MD

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blk07335i View Post
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=51049

I've used this three times to reset the erroneous brake service light.
ok I tried that and it didnt work. I got into the service reset menu, but there is no picture of a red car on a lift, just an orange one. I reset the orange one but that didnt do anything.

any other ideas?

I really dont want to take this car into the dealership.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-18-2008, 09:14 AM   #5
Sniz
Lieutenant General
Sniz's Avatar
190
Rep
10,572
Posts

 
Drives: e92 335 - gone // e36 M3 turbo
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ellicott City, MD

iTrader: (1)

bump? anyone
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-18-2008, 11:29 AM   #6
Dave_H
Private First Class
Canada
3
Rep
124
Posts

 
Drives: '06 Monaco Blue 325i
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Milton

iTrader: (0)

How many miles? @48K kms I had the car on a lift light come on... no actual maintenance they just wanted to look at the car for some kind of inspection. I doubt they did anything at all but at least I had free parking downtown for the day
Appreciate 0
      06-18-2008, 06:00 PM   #7
Bubbles
Brigadier General
Bubbles's Avatar
Cayman Islands
86
Rep
3,560
Posts

 
Drives: Green Bastard
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bishop Bend

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniz View Post
ok I tried that and it didnt work. I got into the service reset menu, but there is no picture of a red car on a lift, just an orange one. I reset the orange one but that didnt do anything.

any other ideas?

I really dont want to take this car into the dealership.
Reset the front and back brake sensor, then reset the emissions date. That should do the trick.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-19-2008, 11:52 AM   #8
Sniz
Lieutenant General
Sniz's Avatar
190
Rep
10,572
Posts

 
Drives: e92 335 - gone // e36 M3 turbo
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ellicott City, MD

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bubbles View Post
Reset the front and back brake sensor, then reset the emissions date. That should do the trick.
are those resets in the same menu? What does the picture look like?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-19-2008, 12:43 PM   #9
RiXst3r
RiXst3r's Avatar
153
Rep
6,509
Posts

 
Drives: M235i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Ohio

iTrader: (14)

Send a message via AIM to RiXst3r
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniz View Post
are those resets in the same menu? What does the picture look like?
Looks like a circle with dashes around it, there is one for front and back, you have to hold in the button on them for a while until they are no longer in the menu. I just did this last week, took a few tries, but now its all reset. If it doesn't come back on then they are not actually worn, its just the bug, and the fix for the bug is 29.2.... so no way I am goin' in for that!
Appreciate 0
      06-19-2008, 01:36 PM   #10
Sniz
Lieutenant General
Sniz's Avatar
190
Rep
10,572
Posts

 
Drives: e92 335 - gone // e36 M3 turbo
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ellicott City, MD

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RiXst3r View Post
Looks like a circle with dashes around it, there is one for front and back, you have to hold in the button on them for a while until they are no longer in the menu. I just did this last week, took a few tries, but now its all reset. If it doesn't come back on then they are not actually worn, its just the bug, and the fix for the bug is 29.2.... so no way I am goin' in for that!
hell no I dont want 29.2

I'm going to give it a shot today, see if I can reset those sensors. What a PITA.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-19-2008, 05:41 PM   #11
Bubbles
Brigadier General
Bubbles's Avatar
Cayman Islands
86
Rep
3,560
Posts

 
Drives: Green Bastard
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bishop Bend

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RiXst3r View Post
Looks like a circle with dashes around it, there is one for front and back, you have to hold in the button on them for a while until they are no longer in the menu. I just did this last week, took a few tries, but now its all reset. If it doesn't come back on then they are not actually worn, its just the bug, and the fix for the bug is 29.2.... so no way I am goin' in for that!
Thanks Rixst3r, good explanation.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-19-2008, 08:08 PM   #12
Sniz
Lieutenant General
Sniz's Avatar
190
Rep
10,572
Posts

 
Drives: e92 335 - gone // e36 M3 turbo
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ellicott City, MD

iTrader: (1)

ok i tried that, reset the brake pads both front and rear. Both now say reset w/ a check mark, but I still have the same symbol!!!

damnit, I dont want to take this car in.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-23-2008, 05:11 PM   #13
dreamk
Banned
Dominican Republic
104
Rep
9,947
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: south nj

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2007 e90 335i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to dreamk
im having the same issue
Appreciate 0
      06-23-2008, 08:35 PM   #14
shyestsparks
Captain
10
Rep
827
Posts

 
Drives: 335i sedan, 02 Altima VQ35DE-T
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ca

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniz View Post
ok i tried that, reset the brake pads both front and rear. Both now say reset w/ a check mark, but I still have the same symbol!!!

damnit, I dont want to take this car in.
I had the same problem; I tried to reset it several times as I too did not want 29.2; but the problem is that if it's an active fault the red car on the lift symbol will not go away; when I brought the car in, the code was triggered 170+ times (that's after tried 1 last time to reset it before I left to go to the dealer). I was told that the only way is to upgrade the progman.
Appreciate 0
      06-26-2008, 11:30 AM   #15
Sniz
Lieutenant General
Sniz's Avatar
190
Rep
10,572
Posts

 
Drives: e92 335 - gone // e36 M3 turbo
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ellicott City, MD

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shyestsparks View Post
I had the same problem; I tried to reset it several times as I too did not want 29.2; but the problem is that if it's an active fault the red car on the lift symbol will not go away; when I brought the car in, the code was triggered 170+ times (that's after tried 1 last time to reset it before I left to go to the dealer). I was told that the only way is to upgrade the progman.
wow that is just a f'n pitty. Thanks BMW. Way to go

and yes, mine is still there.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-30-2008, 10:27 PM   #16
yemski
Lieutenant
yemski's Avatar
United_States
7
Rep
489
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 1M
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Bay Area

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2011 1M Coupe  [0.00]
Hey Sniz, I'm in the same predicament as you. Turned on my car one day and bam red car on lift, service indicator for both front and rear brakes. Tried the reset and still the red 'brake' indicator stays lit. Now I'm trying to decide whether to take it in and have them install 29.2 or not
Appreciate 0
      07-01-2008, 04:14 PM   #17
Sniz
Lieutenant General
Sniz's Avatar
190
Rep
10,572
Posts

 
Drives: e92 335 - gone // e36 M3 turbo
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ellicott City, MD

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by HKG View Post
Hey Sniz, I'm in the same predicament as you. Turned on my car one day and bam red car on lift, service indicator for both front and rear brakes. Tried the reset and still the red 'brake' indicator stays lit. Now I'm trying to decide whether to take it in and have them install 29.2 or not
i'm just dealing with it until I hear there is a progman that doesnt f up my car!

I might put some black electrical tape over the 'brake' on the dash.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      07-04-2008, 02:44 AM   #18
tek818
Lieutenant Colonel
tek818's Avatar
38
Rep
1,838
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 135i
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2012 BMW 135i  [0.00]
well... allow me to throw a wrench in your theories. I recently had 29.2 put on my car (long story) and a few days ago had the red car on lift come on AGAIN. It had been reset by the dealer multiple times prior to 29.2. I figured I would try the service menu reset, and bam, it worked
__________________
Appreciate 0
      07-04-2008, 07:31 AM   #19
GrandMasterFlash
Registered
0
Rep
2
Posts

 
Drives: BMW E90 320D
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Belfast

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tek818 View Post
well... allow me to throw a wrench in your theories. I recently had 29.2 put on my car (long story) and a few days ago had the red car on lift come on AGAIN. It had been reset by the dealer multiple times prior to 29.2. I figured I would try the service menu reset, and bam, it worked
Hi tek818,
I have the same problem with my car. For a start I'm not sure what firmware version I have but I presume I can find that out from the onboard computer. Can you describe how to got the light to go out please, i.e. the reset procdure? Or is it just the method listed in the link at the top of this thread?

Thanks in advance.
Appreciate 0
      07-04-2008, 07:32 PM   #20
tek818
Lieutenant Colonel
tek818's Avatar
38
Rep
1,838
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 135i
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2012 BMW 135i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by GrandMasterFlash View Post
Hi tek818,
I have the same problem with my car. For a start I'm not sure what firmware version I have but I presume I can find that out from the onboard computer. Can you describe how to got the light to go out please, i.e. the reset procdure? Or is it just the method listed in the link at the top of this thread?

Thanks in advance.
yes, I used the method described here: http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=51049

I reset both the front and rear brakes, and I reset the actual "red car on lift". Turned the car off and on again and was good to go!
__________________
Appreciate 0
      07-07-2008, 09:03 PM   #21
kyleb350
Brigadier General
kyleb350's Avatar
United_States
51
Rep
4,196
Posts

 
Drives: F30 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: LoMbard, IL

iTrader: (6)

Same thing just happened to me at 13,500 miles. I knew the rotors aren't worn and am going to have them looked at tomorrow by the dealer. I'm telling my SA to let me know if the progman needs updating and to what version.
Appreciate 0
      07-07-2008, 09:51 PM   #22
Spool
******
Spool's Avatar
Vietnam
179
Rep
6,164
Posts

 
Drives: A few
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: DC Metro

iTrader: (24)

I got that red car on lift shit too, what is it exactly?
__________________


MKIV 6spd 1000hp Club
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:44 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST