E90Post
 


TNT Racewerks
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board > Will XP MCE work on a mac mini?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-26-2006, 06:39 PM   #1
- Paul -
Major General
 
- Paul -'s Avatar
 
Drives: see above.
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Yorkshire, UK

Posts: 7,266
iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2005 320D SE  [5.00]
2005 645  [4.50]
Will XP MCE work on a mac mini?

As the title says, was thinking about buying a mac mini with all the hype around it now being able to run windows. Has anyone any experience of this?
Also, will a Mac run Windows Media Center?

Cheers.
__________________
- Paul - is offline   England
0
Reply With Quote
      05-26-2006, 09:34 PM   #2
Curt3s
In your rear view mirror making funny faces.
 
Curt3s's Avatar
 
Drives: '06 325i
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: S.F. CA

Posts: 127
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2006 325i  [0.00]
Ive heard that its not "officially" supported but I've heard of folks getting MCE to run on their *intel* macs. Not a standard one though.

One thing to remember though is, as of now there is no support for the Apple Remote in windows XP, so it's kind of pointless.
__________________

'06 325i - Premium - Sport - iDrive Navigation - Bluetooth Cradle - Sparkling Graphite - Grey Interior - Aluminum Trim (GT4 330 Pictured)

"And with the amount of power he has in that BMW he is just leaving them behind right now."
Curt3s is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-26-2006, 09:54 PM   #3
Hunter399
Major General
 
Hunter399's Avatar
 
Drives: F30 335i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 7,757
iTrader: (30)

Wow

I have a macbook pro and i went out today and bought windows to install it on here



and it says that "my firmware is not up to date"

I goto update it and it says that it is up to date


gr...
Hunter399 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-26-2006, 11:15 PM   #4
ages944
Captain
 
ages944's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 325i
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Chicago 'burbs

Posts: 990
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hunter399
Wow

I have a macbook pro and i went out today and bought windows to install it on here



and it says that "my firmware is not up to date"

I goto update it and it says that it is up to date


gr...
lol, installing Windows on a Mac isn't quite "plug n' play" yet...
ages944 is offline   Poland
0
Reply With Quote
      05-27-2006, 11:21 AM   #5
Hunter399
Major General
 
Hunter399's Avatar
 
Drives: F30 335i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 7,757
iTrader: (30)

Well ya I mean i installed everything that they said I had to and it will STILL NOT WORK


Im really annoyed
Hunter399 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:21 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST