E90Post
 


 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > ConnectedDrive / I-Drive / Navigation Related Discussion > Next GEN I-DRIVE Retrofit



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-28-2008, 03:11 PM   #1
gazi8
Private
10
Rep
64
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 330i
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Northern Virginia

iTrader: (0)

Next GEN I-DRIVE Retrofit**COMPLETED**

The new facelift on the 3 series sedan is coming with a new I-drive. The new NAV interface looks really nice (you get the full screen map instead of the split screen all the time) Anyone know if the present I-drive can be upgraded to the next gen I-drive? Besides the new center controller, it seems like its just a software upgrade. I would really like to see if this can be done and if anyone could get info to see how it can be done. Any I-drive guru's out there, please post.

**Page 40 post #879 has a short installation guide**

Last edited by gazi8; 06-11-2010 at 05:02 PM.
Appreciate 0
      07-28-2008, 05:46 PM   #2
gIzzE
Major General
gIzzE's Avatar
United Kingdom
71
Rep
5,170
Posts

 
Drives: Mercedes ML, F25 X3 and 2.8i Z
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

iTrader: (2)

It is a hardware change, they have swapped manufacturers for a start.

You may, and that is may, be able to upgrade but you will need a new CCC, monitor and iDrive controller and for BMW to be able to code it into your car.

Expect to pay around $4000 in parts for this system if buying from BMW, I think most will wait for them to surface on ebay.
Appreciate 0
      07-28-2008, 05:47 PM   #3
apw2607
Major
44
Rep
1,428
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 X5 35d
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Seattle, WA, USA

iTrader: (0)

This has being discussed before, but from current information the new i-Drive system is pretty different. How much of the system architecture has changed remains uknown right now. BMW are using a different supplier from the previous generation i-Drive.

At the very least, you would need a new screen, new controller, new center console (to house the new controller), new i-drive computer, new USB port (different from 6FL and used to import and save music files on hard drive), new telematics module to take advantage of new on-line services).

If the interfaces and wiring are the same, then perhaps its possible to upgrade, but I would imagine it would be pricey.

If the interfaces have changed, I would say it would be extremely tricky and alot of hassle. You would have to find away of getting the current systems (such as HD radio tuner, Satellite radio, or premium audio amplifiers) in your car to work with the new wiring and i-Drive system. You might just want to buy a new car, if you want it bad enough.

And as the poster commented above, BMW computers would need to be able to code it all to your car.
Appreciate 0
      07-30-2008, 07:28 AM   #4
bavarian19
General
bavarian19's Avatar
United_States
233
Rep
18,815
Posts

 
Drives: Car
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: VA

iTrader: (23)

I really don't understand the idrive retrofit. You really might as well trade in for an '09 model. Save up a few bucks and buy a new car if it is that important.
Appreciate 0
      07-30-2008, 08:54 AM   #5
tintivilus
Lieutenant Colonel
tintivilus's Avatar
United_States
20
Rep
1,826
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Lake County, IL

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 E92 335i  [0.00]
2003 325i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to tintivilus
Quote:
Originally Posted by bavarian19 View Post
I really don't understand the idrive retrofit. You really might as well trade in for an '09 model. Save up a few bucks and buy a new car if it is that important.
It's not a purely economic decision. Makes perfect sense if you have a strong attachment to your car, or enjoy the challenge of the project.
Appreciate 0
      07-30-2008, 09:57 AM   #6
Gig103
Major
United_States
15
Rep
1,299
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 Fiat 500 Abarth
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Gilbert, AZ

iTrader: (1)

I'm wondering about the telematics unit - since Google Maps works with '08 iDrive in Canada, I'm hoping just that unit can be retrofit.... We'll see.
__________________
Was: 2008 335xi sedan 6MT Black Sapphire Metallic
Is: 2013 Fiat 500 Abarth Nero (black metallic)
Appreciate 0
      07-30-2008, 11:13 AM   #7
Booster4075
First Lieutenant
Booster4075's Avatar
United_States
14
Rep
388
Posts

 
Drives: E90, 335i
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Northern California

iTrader: (1)

I've been told the new cars on are on a different type of system bus (no more Can), which would make the retrofit very difficult. Unless someone makes an adapter, sounds like it wouldn't work just on principle.

(I love the idea though!)
Appreciate 0
      07-30-2008, 12:56 PM   #8
gIzzE
Major General
gIzzE's Avatar
United Kingdom
71
Rep
5,170
Posts

 
Drives: Mercedes ML, F25 X3 and 2.8i Z
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

iTrader: (2)

It seems the coupe may not get the new iDrive until the facelift next year, so it would seem it is a complete new system and networks in the new cars.
Appreciate 0
      07-30-2008, 04:41 PM   #9
apw2607
Major
44
Rep
1,428
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 X5 35d
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Seattle, WA, USA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gIzzE View Post
It seems the coupe may not get the new iDrive until the facelift next year, so it would seem it is a complete new system and networks in the new cars.
For what its worth, BMW UK put out a press release in the last day or so on the M cars updates for 2009.

All the M cars are getting the new i-drive system (minus the Z4M of course, as that uses the older BMW Sat-Nav system). The fact the M3 coupe is getting it for 2009, I would say 99.9% certain the 3 series coupe will also see the new i-Drive.
Appreciate 0
      07-30-2008, 04:51 PM   #10
gIzzE
Major General
gIzzE's Avatar
United Kingdom
71
Rep
5,170
Posts

 
Drives: Mercedes ML, F25 X3 and 2.8i Z
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

iTrader: (2)

Yeah, I don't know why I said that as I had already posted a pic of the E92 M3 with the new iDrive on another forum.

It must be an age thing!!! I'm loosing the plot!
Appreciate 0
      07-31-2008, 01:34 PM   #11
apw2607
Major
44
Rep
1,428
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 X5 35d
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Seattle, WA, USA

iTrader: (0)

You know, I was looking at the electrical wiring diagram for the E92 M3. The more I looked at it, the more I'm coming to the conclusion thats it doubtful that BMW have changed the overall architecture of the system. If they did, they would have to change many of the other components that interface to the new CIC. Perhaps this diagram doesn't show the true complexity of the situation ... but there might be hope out there to do a retrofit ... ;-)

Items shown in Green are the I-drive and audio systems connected via MOST. The CCC communicates to the other car systems via CAN. The TCU communicates also directly with the Car Access System. Probably when it needs to send a signal when the car is stolen or the alarm goes off.
Attached Images
  
Appreciate 0
      08-01-2008, 05:58 PM   #12
JSpira
Freude am Fahren
JSpira's Avatar
Austria
93
Rep
5,254
Posts

 
Drives: Fünfer, Dreier, +
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New York, München, Wien

iTrader: (1)

The overall architecture is not being changed but I still don´t see the possibility of retrofitting a CIC into a CCC car as being something that is even for the advanced amateur.

One reason is because cars are coded according to VIN which corresponds to how the car is equipped at the factory. That makes it difficult if not impossible to code a CCC car for functionality that the CIC would have.
__________________
Freude am Fahren.

Jonathan




E90 2006 330xi
E90 2006 325i
E39 2003 530i Sport*
E46 2000 328Ci*
E36 1996 328iS*
E36 1992 325i*
E30 1991 318is
E21 1982 320iS*
E21 1979 320 (6-Zyl)*
*retired


Nominated: Most Contributing Member
Appreciate 0
      08-01-2008, 06:06 PM   #13
gazi8
Private
10
Rep
64
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 330i
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Northern Virginia

iTrader: (0)

I agree. I don't think the system is that differrent. I don't even know why people think the monitor should be changed. Its the same size of the existing monitor. This is a subtle change that I like, I don't want to sell the car, start another loan again just because I like the new I drive, I don't even care about the difference between the 330 and 335 engine. I'm sure someone will figure it out as soon as it comes out to the market. As for the previous post, there is a guy in another forum that added the BMW I-drive to his non I-drive car. I think that is much more of a change and challenge than adding the new I-drive to an existing. Anyone with any good info, please submit.
Appreciate 0
      08-02-2008, 03:10 AM   #14
gIzzE
Major General
gIzzE's Avatar
United Kingdom
71
Rep
5,170
Posts

 
Drives: Mercedes ML, F25 X3 and 2.8i Z
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

iTrader: (2)

Any independant workshop with the Autologic system can rewrite your vehicle order, they donwload the file that contains the spec of your car from your car and can modifiy it.
They see exactly what options you have and don't have and can delete some and add others and then send the file back.
Once this has been done upgrades to modules can also be done at your BMW dealer, if doen right they would never even know it wasn't a factory fitted option.
Appreciate 0
      08-02-2008, 03:12 AM   #15
gIzzE
Major General
gIzzE's Avatar
United Kingdom
71
Rep
5,170
Posts

 
Drives: Mercedes ML, F25 X3 and 2.8i Z
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

iTrader: (2)

I think the screen will need to be changed as it is a much higher resolution, however, I am sure the screen we are using now would work, it would just down scale the image, like watching HD on a 480p plasma, would still look good, but can look better.
Appreciate 0
      08-07-2008, 04:02 PM   #16
gazi8
Private
10
Rep
64
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 330i
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Northern Virginia

iTrader: (0)

I haven't seen any spec's on the new I-drive on the net, just seen some screen shots. How do you know the screen is higher def?
Appreciate 0
      08-07-2008, 04:10 PM   #17
gIzzE
Major General
gIzzE's Avatar
United Kingdom
71
Rep
5,170
Posts

 
Drives: Mercedes ML, F25 X3 and 2.8i Z
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

iTrader: (2)

Because BMW have said it is 1280x720, the current one is probably 320x240, definitely no more than that.
Appreciate 0
      08-07-2008, 05:18 PM   #18
ska///235i
***** noob
ska///235i's Avatar
United_States
194
Rep
9,226
Posts

 
Drives: M235i
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Boston

iTrader: (32)

Garage List
2006 325xi  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by bavarian19 View Post
I really don't understand the idrive retrofit. You really might as well trade in for an '09 model. Save up a few bucks and buy a new car if it is that important.
+1 on that, money on the parts plus fees to get it program could well exceed the cost of a trade-in for a brand new car
unless you work for bmw and could get cheap parts
Appreciate 0
      08-08-2008, 05:21 PM   #19
gIzzE
Major General
gIzzE's Avatar
United Kingdom
71
Rep
5,170
Posts

 
Drives: Mercedes ML, F25 X3 and 2.8i Z
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

iTrader: (2)

I think it depends on where you are in the world.

Put it like this, a new 335i with options over here in the UK is £40k ($80k) trade price on a year old one with 12k miles on it at the moment is around £25k ($50k).
Discount on a new 2009 model is around 6% at the moment so you would get it for say £37k, so cost to change for an 09 model is around $24,000.

Adding the new iDrive for a grand or two really doesn't seem so bad to me.
Appreciate 0
      08-10-2008, 10:13 PM   #20
E92Fan
Moderator
E92Fan's Avatar
United Kingdom
103
Rep
5,492
Posts

 
Drives: .
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: .

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gIzzE View Post
I think it depends on where you are in the world.

Put it like this, a new 335i with options over here in the UK is £40k ($80k) trade price on a year old one with 12k miles on it at the moment is around £25k ($50k).
Discount on a new 2009 model is around 6% at the moment so you would get it for say £37k, so cost to change for an 09 model is around $24,000.

Adding the new iDrive for a grand or two really doesn't seem so bad to me.

Gizze, what do you reckon on figuring out if it will be possible to do a retrofit upgrade of the current IDrive system to the new hard-drive version? I agree that the coding shouldn't be as much of a problem as it's made out to be, especially with an Autologic or a full-blown GT1 software running on a laptop
Appreciate 0
      08-11-2008, 05:27 AM   #21
gIzzE
Major General
gIzzE's Avatar
United Kingdom
71
Rep
5,170
Posts

 
Drives: Mercedes ML, F25 X3 and 2.8i Z
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

iTrader: (2)

I am seriously considering buying an OPS head for most programming, I think you can pretty much do what you want coding wise then, even stuff BMW say is not possible.

It's just electronics, everything is possible.
Appreciate 0
      08-11-2008, 01:28 PM   #22
apw2607
Major
44
Rep
1,428
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 X5 35d
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Seattle, WA, USA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gIzzE View Post
Because BMW have said it is 1280x720, the current one is probably 320x240, definitely no more than that.
The screen sizes stays the same at 8.8" for the 3er, screen resolution is up to 1280x480 however.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:12 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST